Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProForm ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

ProForm ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

With the ProForm 505 CST, you get incredible features for fast results. Compatible with iFit Live, this treadmill delivers workouts powered by Google Maps, training with Jillian Michaels and automatic speed and incline controls. This wireless technology is the ultimate workout experience. The 505 CST also features comfortable ProShox Lite 3 Cushioning and then convenient Quick Speed and Quick Incline controls.
Average Customer Rating:
4.271 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%76 out of 85reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 140 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available
07/07/2011
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this treadmill and for the most part have been very pleased. I was looking for a treadmill that was fairly heavy duty, but wasn't $1000. I researched treadmills for a while, and this brand seemed to be reviewed the best on all the sites. It came in quick with the site to store option, only took about 4 days to get in. You better have at least 2 people to unload the box because it weighs right at 200 lbs, and have plenty of room to assemble. I also recommend assembling in the room it will be used in because it is not easy to move. The directions are fairly clear to understand, and I consider myself very handy, but it still took me about 3 hours to get it fully assembled. Nothing to difficult, just time consuming. A second person is also needed for some of the assembly process. The motor is quiet and features are easy to use. The speakers even sound pretty good with my ipod for treadmill speakers which normally don't. I look forward to seeing what it can do with some extended use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Consider Investing in an Extended Warranty!

12/31/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had only used my Proform 505 CST for three months when the mounting bolts for the drive motor failed and sheared away from the casing. On the positive side, it only took two weeks for Proform customer care to ship a new motor and schedule a servicing technician to repair the problem, which I thought was a very reasonable turn-around time especially during the holidays. If you purchase this model and you run in the 7 to 9 MPH range and log 25+ miles per week on the treadmill, I would strongly recommend paying another $200 for extended warranty coverage as I believe you will get your money's worth. I do not think this treadmill was intended for the stresses of a running foot strike. The service tech said the belt would need replacing at about 1500 miles (approx 15 months of use). I expect the motor to shear off again in the upcoming year (although I will pad under the treadmill to reduce the stress). I only weigh 160 pounds, but I wish I had gone with a sturdier model. This model, I believe, was meant for walking and light jogging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Really pleased with our purchase!

01/30/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well it's only been a couple weeks, but so far we are totally pleased with our purchase. We reviewed a lot of comments & statistics on this & other treadmills b/4 buying, & decided this model had the most positive feedback & the negative ones were things we weren't planning on using it for anyway. It definitely takes 2 to put it together, but if you take your time, it's not that hard. Believe me...my husband & I are normally not good at assembly, but we only had 1 small issue(make sure you follow all the screw descriptions exactly!) & we corrected that quickly. It took us a little over 2 hours to assemble, but it runs beautifully & is great for attaching your Ipod & changing incline & speed quickly. Nice middle of the road treadmill. Don't go super cheap...I think you'd end up throwing it all away in the end. Going super expensive may not be worth the difference. I'm a pretty avid runner, but nobody else is in my family, so it's used for both running & walking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great value for the price

07/01/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was able to get it home from the store himself and put it together within a few hours. I picked this based on alot of research. I am no exercise guru by any means, but didn't want something that was too basic. This more than meets my expectations, even based on the other reviews. I didn't want to spend a fortune on a machine and feel like I have found a good fit. I am very surprised at how quiet this treadmill is. I used to have one that sounded like a car wash every time I started it. I can workout even while the baby is sleeping. There are alot of different programs that would meet my needs. We did purchase the ifit module and have not had a problem. It gives you tons more programs and 2 trainers to workout with and the ability to train for a 10k. We have our treadmill, and router in the same room, so that may be why we have such a good connection. I have not notced the belt skip or being sluggish on any certain setting. It is easy to fold up. I realy am pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Excellent treadmill!

02/22/2012
By ,
Port Hueneme, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a treadmill for a long time, but I kept running across ones that had terrible reviews. After searching for so long, I finally came across the ProForm 505. At first I was leery about another terrible review, but I was pleasantly surprised to find so many people that would recommend this to others. With a deep breath and crossed fingers, I ordered it. It was the best decision I could have made!
The treadmill was easy to put together with two people, the screen is large and allows me to easily see the miles ran, heart rate, pulse and calories burned. It offers many different courses and challenges, and allows me to work at my own pace when I do not want a predetermined route. The belt runs smooth with no catches or noises that should not be there. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that does not want to go to a crowded gym or pay a monthly fee for access to one. The price was a little high at first, but when I stopped to think about how much I would be saving in gym fees it was a no-brainer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Great entry level treadmill!!

10/28/2012
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Quick Shipping. Box is large (6.5 ft long X 4 ft wide) and about 250 lbs which fit in the back of my mini van (without back seats of course) Easy assembly, I did it alone in about 2.5 hours without any power tools. Assembly time would be shorter with a second person. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow! All parts are clearly marked. The machine itself is very nice for the price. Well lit console with a nice display. Quick speed and incline controls are very beneficial when doing interval training. The running platform absorbs shock well!
Cons: Some assembly components could be designed a little better for more efficient solo assembly. The unit does tend to move if on a smooth surface (hardwood floors) when you're at higher speeds so it may need some sort of a higher friction surface! I got a 0.5 inch thick rubber mat. Seems to have solved the problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Poor Quality Control and Slow Warranty Service

11/11/2013
By ,
Plainview, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent hours to assemble the product (it took hours because the machine was heavy and the screw holes were smaller than the screws). Then I connected the power line and turned on, expecting I would run, but the belt didn't run. Instead, I heard a noise in the bottom front box. When I opened the lid of the box, I was so amazed after finding that the motor was not screwed to the metal frame. It was totally detached on the floor of the box and when started it damaged inside the box. The circuit board was also not screwed to the frame. I called the manufacturer. They said it would be covered by the warranty, but it will take 10 days until the parts arrive and another 4 days until the technician makes an appointment with me by phone. Well, it will be faster to return the machine and buy another one. Where is their quality control before shipping the machine to the customer?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Worth the Money

03/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband kept warning me that this treadmill may not be as smooth as the treadmills at the gym. However, I was pleasantly surprised. Running at 4-6 mph, it is very smooth and sturdy. The belt is definitely wide enough and long enough. As a 6' volleyball player, my standards for width and length and sturdiness in treadmills is necessarily high, and they are met.
However, the treadmill does skip--but only slightly and not enough to actually trip--on any speed less than 2.5. Someone smaller and lighter may not have that issue. It doesn't seem to happen as much if I concentrate on having my foot placement in the center of the belt, but if it sneaks out slightly toward the sides, it will skip just enough to be annoying and mess up my rhythm.
Otherwise, it's a quiet, well running machine. I like the display a lot, though the pulse counter isn't very accurate. It folds up well--so well that my mother asked where it was and it was right in front of her. So it's a good machine. I'm really glad we bought it and, in the long run, it will save us on gym memberships and help me get exercise in when kids are sleeping--rain or shine. I'm out of excuses now and I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

3 months of comparison shopping, Proform won.

09/23/2013
By ,
Provo, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a previous treadmill owner, I knew what features I needed and what gizmos I didn't want, without spending a fortune. This treadmill fits my checklist perfectly! A long track, I'm 6'. Shorter side bars, so my long arms don't hit them. A backlit display, glare no longer a problem. MP3/Ipod plug with built in speakers, no more ear buds hassle. Adjustable incline, and quiet motor/belt. Assembly time around 1 1/2 hrs, would have been less if I had a second person and the power cord hadn't been wedged in the base, manf/shipping issue. I had it shipped to my local store to avoid shipping costs. Have help transporting the box, as it is heavy. I would recommend this treadmill to anyone who wants quality and performance at a fair price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Ok machine, came damaged.

03/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took a little longer to set up then the instructions said. Was also disappointed that after I hauled the heavy box op a flight of stairs and went to set it up that it was damaged. The sides are scratched and dinged. Looks like it was packed that way. Now I have to decide to either take it apart and haul it back to the store in pieces? Or live with it. Neither are good options after dropping $650.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Follow up.
Posted 03/17/2014
After I finished setting it up I also noticed that the plastic feet in the back are damaged. Very, very disappointed in this product. Looks like it was built by a ten year old.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Good Product for What You Pay

01/16/2012
By ,
Hastings, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife wanted a treadmill and she showed that she liked using one with our old one that had quit working. I liked the new Proform treadmills that I had seen in some of the Walmart stores and thought I would try one. I liked the better Golds Gym treadmill in the stores but see absolutely no value in the arm components so I couldn't bring myself to buy that one. I figured this treadmill would be a step higher up and would have the arm exercise waste. It arrived very quickly, a full week before the original estimate. It was fairly easy to assemble (estimate at least 2-3 hours to get it done). I was missing the rubber feet but I was still able to assemble and test the treadmill.
I think it's louder than the one we previously had (a healthclub-level treadmill) but likely quieter than most basic units. My wife is very happy with it and has been using it religiously. I think a desirable treadmill needs to have a large belt area and this one fit the bill. It has a longer and wider track than most entry level treadmills out there.
If you are missing parts, go to the website to handle it. When I called, it was December 30, they were closed. I waited until the next week. I called and got 'in queue'. Eventually I began filling out the registration on the Proform website - that's when they called me. I had been in-queue for 4 hours! Once I talked to the customer service rep (who was very helpful and friendly) all was taken care of. The missing 'feet' showed up in less than a week.
All in all, a good purchase with limited headaches - and my wife looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

A good treadmill.

10/07/2011
By ,
Dixon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill is my first one. A friend of mine had suggested about this equipment. So I decided to go ahead and buy it after doing some research. I have had it for only two weeks now. I put it together my self although help of a second person could have made it easier. The owner's manual have very clear and illustrative instructions to assemble it. Any body with a little mechanical know-how should not have any problem to set this baby up. The body parts appear to be built quite strong and solid. I weigh about 144 lbs and am about 5 ft. 8 in. tall. For myself the moving belt is adequately wide and long. For a taller person, the arms may not be very high specially when you put the treadmill on higher inclination. I have not tried the built in workout programes yet as I am still getting used to it. I have been using the basic speed and incline controls which both work fine for a beginner like myself. The built in workout programes appear to be quit involved. The digital display is very clear to read and understand. The motor is fairly quiet. So far this treadmill has performed very good and I sure hope it works good for a very long time. Over all I have a good rating for this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Slows down on it's own

04/23/2012
By ,
Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a good treadmill. I had issues putting it together as the cross bar that holds the console up had predrilled holes that were too small. The replacement part came quickly so that wasn't much of an issue at all.
The issue I have is that this treadmill slows down and speeds up on its own and it's quite frustrating. I can have it at a 6 which is a good running pace for me and without touching anything it starts slowing down to the point where I am walking. I have searched a solution online and have tried loosening the belt but that doesn't seem to work. The only thing left is to reconfigure it but that seems silly to have to do with a brand new machine.
When it works, it works well and is quite which is why I gave it 3 stars. If I could get the slowing issue fixed it would be perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Quietest Treadmill I have heard

03/07/2011
By ,
East/Central Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill took me 45 minutes to put together. Very easy! Super quiet as I can walk on it & watch TV and never hear the machine run. I would definately recommend buying this one. I'm impressed & it takes a lot to impressed a 58 y/o woman!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+203points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Nice Treadmill!!

03/08/2011
By ,
Marysville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this about two weeks, but it's a great product. The screen is easy to use and well lit. I LOVE the option to plug in my IPOD and have the speakers right there, so I'm not messing with the earbuds falling out. Very nice so far :)
Not horrible to assemble either.. Only downfall is that the parts aren't really marked, so you have to pay close attention to the sizes .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

Very Nice Treadmill

02/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 6' and 220 LBS and this treadmill works great for me. The pre-loaded excercise programs work extremely well as well as the speakers and I-Pod connection. My wife is only 5' 2" and it works perfect for her as well. Set up is a breeze if you know how to use a wrench and a screwdriver. I did it by myself and it only took about half an hour. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good quality treadmill that won't break the bank
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

A great product at a great price

09/08/2011
By ,
Northern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This treadmill is very quiet, smooth and easy to use. The LCD panel lights up so it is very easy to see. Constantly shows the speed, distance, calories and laps (each a quarter mile). Has so many extras that I have not gotten around to using them all yet. The assembly took a little for two people but fairly easy to understand instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available
03/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been running for over 10 years and I decided to finally buy a treadmill for when the weather forbids me to run outside. I have to say that this treadmill is very sturdy and I have fallen in love with it. I think it is worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available

It's worth the price!

10/21/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only used this item for a couple of weeks but is working great. It took my husband and i about a 1 hr 1/2 to build it. It's what I've been looking for; folds up, can plug in my ipod, and more :) It is a pretty big size so make sure you have room in your house to put it especially if your going to be folding it.
p.s. Build it in the same room you want to have it in because it is a bit difficult to move, especially if you boyfriend or husband is not around..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ProForm 505 CST Treadmill - Assembly and Delivery Available
03/06/2012
By ,
Clever Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very happy with my purchase. I weigh 275 and the machine is as strong as the ones at the fitness center. Very happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next