Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nextbook Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nextbook Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

The Next2 Tablet by Yifang features a 7.0" touchscreen display to listen to music, watch movies, view photos and E-Book Reader lets you read your favorite books. The 7.0" color TFT display allows you to navigate your multimedia easily. The Android 1.5 operating system keeps you up to date with the latest applications.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation59%13 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Great ebook reader ....

12/30/2010
By ,
east NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an ebook reader, not a 'tablet' in the sense an iPad or Samsung Galaxy Tab is. This item is miscatagorized by Walmart.
If you want a a device to read books on, and maybe listen to music while you read, or do light Web surfing on then this is a great little device. You can also load and view your pics and most videos on it. It is an LCD screen, and like all the other LCD's it does not work good outside in the sunlight.
The Next2 uses a resistive screen (hence the low price) however it is surprisingly responsive compared to most others. The screen resolution is rather low, but anything other than super high resolution photos look fine on it.
There is no Android Market on the Next2 (that is a Google thing, not Nextbook) but it does have it's own app store with many good apps. You can side-load other apps from other places if you know what you are doing, but many won't run because of the lack of phone functions and the older version of Android (1.5). If you want a serious tablet to get work done on, prepare to spend at least $300 on a tablet and pass this one by.
I use my Next2 for reading books and the news (what it is designed for), keeping up on Facebook and Twitter, email, and a few other minor things which it is perfect for. If you want more than that you should be looking at the iPad or one of the more expensive Android tablets (i.e. Samsung, Archos, etc.)
The homescreen cannot be changed on this ereader, what you see is what you get until someone figures out how to Root it. Replacement 'Launchers' will not install, so you are stuck with one home screen and what Nextbook put on it. This is one reason why this item should be in the eReader catagory, not the Tablet Computer catagory as Walmart lists it.
I knew ahead of time what I was buying, and am very happy with the Next2. If I want more functionality, I will fire up the laptop. I love using my Next2 on the morning trip to the 'lavatory', however my wife is constantly yelling for me to get out of there since it is easy to get caught up in what you are reading instead of what you are supposed to be doing in there!
If you want a full blown full featured 'tablet' device, this is not for you. If you want a book reader with light internet surfing and Facebook/Twitter functionality, with a little audio/video capability, then the Next 2 is what you want.
My Next2 stays next 2 me at all times, and even comes with a nice protective case for when I am out and about. Worth the money for what it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Review 2 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Had to send it back

01/04/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my son. He enjoyed it while it was working, but it soon came to the point where it wouldn't charge. Then we couldn't turn it on at all. He hasn't even had it 2 weeks. We're sending it back!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 3 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

DOES ALMOST EVERYTHING

12/26/2010
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just received my next2 and it was easy to setup.
have been using the wifi. For the money it is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

best idea ever

12/29/2010
By ,
stockton ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this...my daughter told me my grandson was too young for a laptop or netbook sooo i read about this he can still surf the net and she downloaded games and his favorite books to read sooo it was a win win for everyone thanks oh yes my grandson is 8yrs old
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Not Happy Very Disappointed

01/15/2011
By ,
Rexburg
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for collage. I enjoyed it while it was working, but it soon came to the point where it wouldn't hold a charge, and turn on. I have had it for over two weeks and it was not reliable. I've been having problems opening the browser. Contacted tech support, reset the device, still having problems. I tried to call customer service, and discovered that there is no customer service. It has a slow reaction time, you cannot take notes on it, just reading the books it has on it and I was unable to keep the stylist from getting lost. There are better systems out there for the money. I am taking it back!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

great reader

01/23/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall a great reader, my only disapointment was that you can't download all the free andriod apps like you can on a droid phone, which happens to be the reason I choose this model in the first place. But if you want a fancy color ebook reader, this is a great choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Very cool, easy to use, great price

03/15/2011
By ,
Beaver Dam, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. I've downloaded a couple library books and books from Borders.com with no problem. Android OS is a little different than Windows, but easy to navigate. Great price, great product. Love the color display, way better than the Kindle black & white. Definitely recommend to others. The only drawback is the case is kinda cheaply made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Great & Disappointing

01/09/2011
By ,
Yucca Valley, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product itself seemed to be great. It did exactly what we wanted it to. However, we returned it because of the third party preloaded applications which could not be deleted. This was to be a Christmas gift for our teenage son. We did not appreciate the direct link to pornographic content. To access it you do have to sign up and pay a monthly subscription. Nevertheless this is still an influence that we do not want in our home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

More than a disappointment

01/11/2011
By ,
Forest Park, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been having problems opening the browswer. Contacted tech support, reset the device, still having problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Very Disappointed

01/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The device stopped charging. Returned the product. Great while it worked. I tried to call customer service, a couple of weeks ago, and discovered that there is no customer service. You cannot leave a message and the website only has the manual that comes with Nextbook.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

NOT SO GOOD

12/28/2010
By ,
san antonio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
purchased for my 9 year old son..i was trying to manuever around to teach my son and was not impressed. too slow and touch screen is horrible. you have to continiously tap the screen to select the option. its annoying to trying to figure out if you should tap lightly or hard. the keyboard is terrible ... you attempt to select one key and another letter is selected. after about 10 minutes of trying to get to various screens but unable decided it wasnt worth it. this will be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

great gift at a great price

12/28/2010
By ,
Sacramento, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this as a gift for 13 yr old. While it doesn't do EVERYTHING he would like it still keeps him entertained. Some of the game apps don't work but it does tell you that when you open the app store and most of the apps are free so thats good. Overall its pretty great for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen

04/14/2011
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased it for my wife and and according to her, it is well liked by co-workers and they're making purchases also. It is also my wife's new best friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

DON"T BUY!!!

03/18/2011
By ,
Radcliff, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The directions are not real clear making it difficult to use. 5 days after I received it it WON'T CHARGE!! I tried everything & it will NOT work! Am returning it & I will be getting a Nook!!! Save your money folks, don't buy this one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 15 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

its ok

12/30/2010
By ,
grand lake ok
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this item was ok for what it was, it did get on line with wifi access available but i needed something with 3g so i splurged a little, took this one back and went and purchased an ipad, i really really enjoy it, it does everything and more, but as for this item it did work really well, and if it would have had 3g i would have loved it too
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

Too Expensive

01/01/2011
By ,
Superior, WI.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is to expensive for what you get, The item is hard to use, reacts very slowly to commands and is very limited with the google 1.5 operating system. There are better systems out there for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

a most have

01/19/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glad to have one but the books are hard to find free downloads.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

love it

01/19/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the product works great, I can not sit on the couch and read or surf the internet easily no more laptop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS

excellent.

02/07/2011
By ,
burbank ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very useful item,especially for all the books ,it was a gift for my daughter. she is in college, very happy,again it's very useful. thx.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Next2 Tablet 7" Touchscreen Entertainment Tablet & eBook Reader with Google Android OS
03/11/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
product runs slow and is equiped with Adobe player which is a nightmare no tech support only by email and they don't talk english or understand the problem to help.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next