Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Black & Decker Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

The CHV1210 Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac combines superb performance and ease of use with its compact body, lightweight construction and ease in handling. The handle offers firm and easy grip. Use it in your car or around the house for small, quick cleanup jobs. As it is a cordless hand vac, you can carry it to wherever you need to use it. Although small in size, it can be used on carpets, upholstery, bare floors and stairs. This Black & Decker hand vac features a slim nozzle that allows you access to hard-to-reach places while the large mouth design coupled with its powerful cyclonic action effortlessly picks up large debris. The cyclonic action also effectively forces dust and dirt away from the filter, adding years of use to this appliance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.354 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%72 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Great Hand Vac if you have pets

07/30/2011
By ,
West Deptford, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this hand vac because we have a dog and cat who shed like crazy and I was tired of dragging out my vacuum just to pick up the dust bunnies created by our pets. We have hardwood floors throughout our home and this hand vac is perfect for going around the edges of the living room, dining room and kitchen plus the 6 steps that lead upstairs (we have a split level house) and picks up all that pet hair in just a few short minutes. I even use it in place of my dustpan & brush after I have swept the floors. I love this little machine! My kids like to use it when they clean their rooms. Speaking of the kids, the vac has been dropped a few times but it still works like a champ.
It comes with a hook to hang the vac on the wall. We keep it by the back door to keep it handy for picking up the dirt the kids and dog track into the house. It also has a washable filter, but I haven't washed it yet so I can't say how it holds up.
I had a cheaper hand vac a few years ago that was a waste of time and I almost didn't buy this one because I thought they were all the same, but boy am I glad I gave this a try. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

BUY IT.

08/13/2013
By ,
Santa Clara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this 2 years ago.
I have it plugged in behind the kitchen table and I grab it just about every day for SOMETHING around the house. I vacuum out the high chair, vacuum up crumbs from my two little boys, pick up piles I have quickly swept up. I grab it for a quick vacuum out of the car. I vacuum off the furniture, I even vacuum out my purse! (when I'm cleaning it out).
SUCTION IS AMAZING
BATTER LASTS FOREVER (i'm sure it helps I keep it plugged in when not using it)
CLEANING OUT THE DIRT IS SUUUUUUPER QUICK & EASY!!! (i almost enjoy it:))
Okay, so IF I HAD to give a negative it would be when my little boy got it once and tried turning it on he accidently got the release button on the "junk compartment" and it spilled all over the floor. Luckily, I popped the canister back on and sucked it all back up.
There is NOTHING this guy CAN"T do. The passageway is large and nothing ever gets lodged! Chalk that up to great suction and a large airway.
Yeah, that's all:)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Great for fast clean ups!

03/29/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dust buster to replace an older one I had for years. It has great suction and the long nozzle is what I was looking for to get into the tight spaces I clean up daily. It's easy to empty and clean. Works great for constant bathroom touch ups! I'm very pleased with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Love the DustBuster

11/11/2013
By ,
Londonderry, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiny vac is perfect for cleaning up my minivan after chauffeuring around my kids and their friends. The suction is strong and picks up most debris before it turns into a real mess. Most days, I keep it in my trunk and pull it out when needed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Excellent suction

12/21/2010
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to replace other brand of hand vac. that died. Over the years we have had several brands that the batteries eventually died and we replaced because new batteries cost almost as much as a new vac.
This Vac has the best suction that I have ever seen in a hand vac. It is almost as good as the large vacuums that plug into the wall.
Don't know how long it will last, but it is starting out GREAT.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Fabulous!!!

10/02/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 4 dogs and hardwood floors. This vac gets in all the little nooks and crannies, around the barstool feet and chair legs where the tumbleweeds collect. Great suction and I'm very pleased with the battery life.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Poorly designed

12/18/2013
By ,
Tampa, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The base of the unit is too narrow (and the unit itself is round). If you don't put it down exactly on the base or if it gets nudged it will roll over. If it's on a flat surface (floor, middle of table) it's OK. It just rolls over. But if it's near the edge of a table or counter top it will fall on the floor and the latches that connect the nozzle to the unit will break (first hand experience). And breakage is not covered in the warranty. Taping the nozzle to the unit works for a while, but is not an ideal solution.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

$$ Dust Buster $$

12/26/2010
By ,
Hawthorne, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great little cordless hand held unit, Great for cleaning up the crumbs under the kitchen table, also great for cleaning the RV, truck and car. Lots of power for such a small vac. easy to empty and clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

It can pick up glass!

05/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For me, this works GREAT. I use this to suck up my pile after I sweep a floor instead of sweeping into a dust pan. It even sucked up broken pieces of glass on 2 different occasions. It picks up cat litter and cat food with no problems. I have owned it for about 5 months so far and hopefully it lasts a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Helpful product

02/19/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product, especially for a cordless hand vac. It is handy to use in places a corded vac would not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

So glad I got this!

08/19/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a toddler, so I'm constantly having to bring out the broom and dustpan to clean up cheerios, cracker crumbs, etc. I have been holding off on buying a hand vac because I thought they were all expensive and I just couldn't bring myself to spend a bunch of money when the dustpan works well enough. I finally broke down and got one a few days ago and I am so glad I did!
You have to charge it for 24hrs before the first use, but I couldn't wait to try it out. I let it charge for a couple hours then tried it, but of course it died after 5 seconds or so. I let it charge overnight and used it all over the house the next day. I was not disappointed! I was able to do touch-ups on my (hardwood) living room floor, 2 bedroom floors, cobwebs in the living room and bathroom, and little spots here and there throughout the house before it died completely! It held the charge very well and recharged pretty quickly.
My only complaint is that it is a little difficult to empty out completely with the filter right in the middle of the opening, but it's not that hard to pull stuff out with my fingers. It comes with a little hook to mount it on the wall, and you can feed the power cord up through it so that it doesn't fall down. The price on this one compared to some others is great! I absolutely LOVE this vac!
Pros: Suction, Cord Length, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design, charge time
Cons: narrow opening for emptying
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Better than Expected

05/24/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was specifically looking for a hand vac that I could use to do quick clean up of cat litter and hair. I was considering another one that was specifically made for pet hairs but ended up going with this one because it had better reviews. I've been using this 2 or 3 times a day for a month now and it works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Much worse than older less expensive models

12/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There is little redeeming about this dustbuster compared to a 2yr old 9.6v dustbuster.
It is much cheaper built. The wall mount does not charge it, so you have to manually plug it in anyway.
The dust bowl is small compared to the older model.
The filter is a cheap paper filter that needs to be replaced every 6-9 months. The older unit had a far superior pleated filter with a plastic prefilter. The older and less expensive model also include attachments for crevice and upholstery. Neither are included in this unit.
In short this unit will blow lots of air for a short period of time. Will fill up quickly, need to be cleaned frequently, need to have the filter replaced frequently, doesn't come with attachments and it inconvenient to charge on the wall mount.
I find nothing to recommend it. Best thing is Walmart's return policy which I intend to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas City
Agree to disagree
Posted 05/03/2013
I too had an older Dust Buster that I loved. Someone actually stole it off the wall of my house (during a burglary) but failed to take the wall charger- DUH lol
This was many years ago. I have had several other similar machines but they never were much good - the worst was the "Dirt Devil". NO POWER - period.
I bought one of this model about a month ago and NOW I remember how handy these things are.
I do agree with your complaint about the wall mount not including the electrical source - that was the only thing I was disappointed with. Otherwise I think they have improved the technology and I know the new model will get into tighter places than the old model.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Excellent

08/10/2013
By ,
gloucester mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very powerful use it for vehicle and around the house touchups.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Unacceptable

02/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I charged the unit as per the instructions before the first use. It worked OK, but the motor began to slow down almost immediately and the battery was dead within 10 minutes. Each time I recharged it, it got worse and within a couple of days it wouldn't run at all. I'm returning it and plan to check out other brands; I won't take a chance on another B&D.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Great hand vac

10/18/2011
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little dust buster holds a charge well and has very good suction. I can sweep and dust my entire 1st floor and one flight of stairs with power to spare. Empties easily with little or no mess. I am ordering another as the only vac needed to be used on the 2nd floor. It is a very good product.
Pros: Suction, Ease of Use, Size & Weight, Design
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Pretty powerful vacuum

01/03/2013
By ,
Patterson, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had bought this identical vacuum for my garage a year ago and it has served me fantastically well. It has great suction power for a cordless and runs for about 15 minutes on a single charge. Decided to buy another one for the laundry room due to good experience with it. By far the best cordless vacuum I've owned.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Good suction

11/10/2013
By ,
Seattle
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good suction but the battery dies out fast! Overall, im happy to buy this product
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Great Dustbuster

06/24/2014
By ,
Whittier
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Deserves the 5 stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker Cyclonic DustBuster Hand Vac, CHV1210

Great Product

04/17/2012
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum. After fully charging I used it to do all the area rugs in my house. It really holds a charge. It's good for cat litter too and also picking up crumbs from a 2 year olds snack time. I have had several hand held vacuums over the years and this is one of the best.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next