Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Western Digital Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

In a home, several devices need to have a central storage location for commonly accessed files. With the Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media, you can consolidate your media in one location for everyone on your wired or wireless network to access and enjoy. Whether you are home or away, you can access files on your Mac, PC, Smartphone and iPad with this My Book Live home network drive. Automatically back up your PC and Mac computers to one safe place and stream videos, music, and photos to your connected TV, game console, or media player. This personal cloud storage drive has a built-in, high-powered CPU with the required horsepower to help your system handle the most demanding applications. It also includes iTunes server support to manage music collection. With a CPU speed of 800 MHz, work without delay and compromise. This Western Digital network drive is very easy to set up and easy to find on your network.
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Awesome NAS - I LOVE it!!

09/26/2011
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome NAS! Little to no effort to implement into my home network - incorporation went flawlessly, w/o a hitch or a glitch. Other then some initial set-up questions, it was "plug & play" - (with both my Win7 & XP systems). It also works flawlessly with my Roku 2-XS {to stream to Roku, you will have to use a predesigned script, but there are many great ones available from Roku designers & set up your web server settings (Win7)} & my Xbox 360s (Xbox,s were good to go right off the bat, as WD MB Live is DNLA compliant)! Works great for both storage & streaming!! Only had it for a few months now, but absolutely LOVE it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

NAS is the way to go for additional storage!

03/26/2011
By ,
Savannah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WD Mybook Live is perfect if your looking to add additional storage to your home computers. It is simple to set up and easy to use. You can back up all your files from any computer in your home and store all of your music and pictures in one location so that anyone with access to the network may access the files. I highly recommend this product if you are looking for additional storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Idaho
What is the write speed?
Posted 07/30/2011
I bought a different WD NAS drive and can only get a max of 5 MB/s even with a gigabit lan router. The specs on your drive say the read speed is up to 100 MB/s but it doesn't say what the write speed is. What write speeds are you averaging?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Well worth the time and money. A great product.

08/20/2012
By ,
Artesia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and use.
Works better than I expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Does exactly what it suppose to!

12/20/2012
By ,
LakeJackson, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Very satisfied with it. Have not used it for backup of computers yet, but have many pictures an documents and I am able to access from anywhere and my iPad and iPhone 4S.
Half the drive was taken by manual and setup files that you can get off the website. They are hidden several levels down making it hard to find out why so much of your drive is already gone!!!
Also, the manual totally misrepresent the app wd2go and wad photo. It makes you think you can only access your data from the app only once then you need to get set up with new code numbers. Once you enter the code and in the app you can access your data all you want every day. They need to say that. I was going to send it back until I understood how it works. Manual needs updating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Very Good Network Drive.

06/11/2013
By ,
Louisville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Laptop did not recognize the Network Drive because I have Windows 7 Home Premium ... it requires Win. 7 Professional or better for Windows Backup to work (I need to upgrade) ... I should have read more reviews before choosing a Drive so I'm still giving this drive 5 stars.
WD's Website has Instructions and Software that you can download & install in order to use the Drive. After I installed the WD Software, I used it to backup my Laptop HD to my new Network Drive. I used WD's "WD Link" Software to Map the Network Drive's Partitions (assigns Drive Letters) .. it has 4 partitions ... one partition is for PC Backup ... one partition (public) is for videos, music, ect. that you want to share on your Network ... one partition is for Personal Files that you don't want to share on the Network ... and one partition is for Time Machine Backup. After I mapped the Network Drives, I could access them from my laptop and copy files to any of the Drives (E: through H:). I will need to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional in order to get Full use of this Network Drive. I also need a Blu-Ray Player with a Network port since my HDTV is not a Smart TV. If you have Windows 7 Professional or better, you should have no problems with this Network Drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Great Stuff

12/21/2012
By ,
Cocoa Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect! Cloud services watch out. This is the best solution for small enterprises to keep all files in one location.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media
12/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product seemed great when we first set it up, but ended up not working after about 2 days. We had used it to store a lot of important data, and it was disappointing to worry about losing a lot of that, especially after only a matter of days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
-2points
Review 8 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Excellent Cloud

04/16/2013
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a personal cloud and it has far exceeded my expectations on how easy it was to setup and use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

Great Product ...but

04/07/2013
By ,
NH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's not working for me because Windows Home Premium version of Windows 7 is not supported.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media

network issues

10/16/2012
By ,
mew york ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
some of my lower powered pc's had some issues with this connected to the network. it cause the dreaded BLUE SCREEN on one of them. it made me return the item and purchase a WD passport 2TB for around the same price. otherwise GRAT project!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 11 for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media
01/19/2013
By ,
Winder,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wonderful,I can control all the files stored on the drive around the house and the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Western Digital My Book 2TB Live Network Drive Home Media
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5