Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Western Digital Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

The sleek modern Western Digital 3TB My Book Essential USB 3.0 External Hard Drive makes it convenient for you to save your digital files easily. This password protection external hard drive is compatible with both USB 3.0 and USB 2.0. specifications, and offers features such as automatic continuous backup and password protection. This ensures that your private and sensitive data remains safe. The 3TB external hard drive provides you with plenty of storage space for saving your pictures, music, photos and videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation90%53 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Does what it should do

12/21/2012
By ,
HB, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this External HD with Time machine and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Great Value, Fantastic Product

08/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned Western Digital My Books for years. I was very happy to see Western Digital come out with the 3 TB My Book hard drive. If you are looking for a fantastic external hard drive with performance and max storage capacity this is the drive for you. Why buy anything with less capacity, less reliability, or less value; the cost per Gigabyte is the lowest on the market for stand-alone hard drives. Over the past 6 years I have never had a My Book crash; they are well vented for good cooling. I have never lost data with any My Book (I wish I could say that for other brands I have had the misfortune of owning). If you are looking for a more portable external hard drive that runs without external power, then the My Book 2.5 passport 1 TB is great. I also have a few of these. However if you want something with the highest capacity then buy the My Book 3 TB and you will be very happy with its performance and stability. After all you can never have too much hard drive storage. I have been using with laptops since 1985 and have learned a thing or two about external hard drives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Fast and Economical Backup Solution.

09/01/2012
By ,
Eastern Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1 TB HP external hard drive went up in smoke less than two years after I bought it. That is to say, the USB adapter in the case went south -- the drive itself kept on cranking, after I hooked it up with a Frankenstein cable gizmo most hackers would have handy. Before I came to the (now) obvious solution of replacing the HP's case, I'd already ordered the Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive from Walmart. They had the best price and quick, free, Site to Store delivery.
Why Western Digital? As a professional geek (my degree says I'm a Computer Scientist) I've spent far too much of my life trying to save data on dying hard drives -- usually other people's data. Many of those failing drives have been made by one or another of the companies that became S__g_t_. In fact, one of THEIR drives failed in my laptop last month -- (growl). So far in my life, I have had one (count 'em, 1) Western Digital hard drive fail. It was a 500GB 'My Book' in the cords of which one of our dogs kept getting himself tangled. It hit the floor one time too many (an event probably in the double digits) and it finally failed due to compound concussions. I replaced my backup drive with the new 3TB USB 3 Western Digital My Book (and the laptop hard drive with a new WD 500 GB -- but that's another review).
My 2-1/2-year-old HP laptop didn't have USB 3.0. No problem -- the new drive is backward compatible with USB 2.0 computers -- the cable works fine. It was still screamin' fast, but it could do better. I ordered it with the SIIG SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port ExpressCard Adapter -- once that came in, it REALLY started to scream. I shoot a lot of photographs with a digital SLR camera, and I use the 'RAW' format to store more complete picture data. Those files are HUGE -- 20 MB or more each -- and remember that an old floppy disk only holds 1.44 MB. The WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0 roared through backing up my photo directories in short time.
Do you really need a back-up hard drive? Ask yourself if you have anything on your computer you can't easily replace. Kid pictures, tax records, downloaded music (which I'm SURE you paid for), work-related files, and/or saved video games. Do you trust your computer's hard drive to survive mechanical breakdown, electronic failure, lightning damage and viruses? I trusted S__g_t_ and they failed me.
I still trust Western Digital, and I think you should, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
06/21/2011
By ,
Bloomington, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value. Buying online and then picking up in the store saves about $10 over in store price. If you have USB 3.0, this would be a good thing. USB 2.0 backing up 1.4TB took 23 hours. No problem accessing data for applications, USB 2.0 seems to be a good fit for my needs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

A little pricey if you just need the space.

02/20/2011
By ,
NC, USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Background: I am a semi-pro photographer looking for additional local short-term storage solution aside from my HP Media Smart Server (more long term limited need to access for editing). I am using the WD Dard Drive with a Dell Inspiron Desktop using USB 2.0 under Windows 7 (64 bit).
Western Digital is a reputable brand for all types of storage solutions. This WD drive installed quickly and painlessly; even the packaging is easy to deal with. WD includes a longer than standard USB cable, which was a really nice surprise. The drive IS NOT powered by USB and requires an electrical outlet nearby. NOTE: I strongly recommend you do not install the typical WD software. Instead, rely on backup software already on your OS or Microsoft's Sync Toy (I use to replicate my client photo sessions folders). This will allow you to avoid conflicts I always seem to encounter. WD software is not needed and the drive is pre-formatted. Literally, "plug and play." WD provides little hard copy documentation. However, everything you need is provided (startup poster). For some reason, people are still hung up on the lack of documentation. Everything you need is in the box and any information you could want is on their site. IMHO, the less paper, the better.
Upon installation, the drive was immediately recognized by my computer. The drive is incredibly quiet with no fan noise and I have to look at the light on the front of the unit to determine if it is on unless I have my drives open on my computer. The drive sits upright (or you can lay it down and stack drives) and is barely noticeable next to my computer. The drive comes with a Kennsington lock slot and the ability to password protect drive contents.
Speed: I am not a test freak so my tests are based on practical usage. I transferred 25 GB of Raw image files (about 12-18 mb a piece) in about 15 minutes @ USB 2.0. The drive did not hesitate once during this process (straight copy over as opposed to SyncToy replication). My system backups seem slower, though acceptable. There is no noticeable adverse impact on computer performance when using the drive, so you can easily continue working on other tasks. As I sometimes edit large Raw files directly on the WD drive, I can comment that the speed was more than acceptable for my purposes (using Nikon Capture NX2 and Photoshop CS5). However, pro-photographers would probably need a faster solution.
In summation, I trust WD and find this drive a great solution for my needs. I recommend this drive. If anything changes, I will update my review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
05/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Western Digital is notorious for installing there own software on the drives. The size of this drive makes it difficult to format like you would any other drive.
Once you download the WD software and use it to "unlock" and format the drive it works great.
All 3T in one partition.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

great product we can't live without

07/03/2012
By ,
Richland Hills, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought a 3TB drive from Walmart over a year ago and we love it; we just bought another 3TB drive again from them cause we still need more storage space; we've got family pics, movies, tv shows, music and much more going onto these drives. We couldn't live without them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

WD - Ext. Hard Drive

09/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup , no problems , neat backup feature , lets you setup folders to watch , as soon as an item is added to folder it automatically backs up item. Haven't had any problems from it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Great 3Tb External Hard Drive & included software.

07/13/2011
By ,
Caney, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As I have come to expect from Western Digital over many years of using their products, this one is first class in every way. Every thing was included for a quick installation of the 3Tb drive and the included backup software (on the drive) was easy to install. The USB2 cable was included. I have thousands of photos and many home recorded music files; using this drive gives me a feeling of confidence that I have a current backup copy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
10/17/2011
By ,
McKenzie, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB external drive for the purpose of backing up my video collection. So far the product has worked very well. For a few dollars more, I was able to purchase the 3TB from WalMart as compared to 1 and 2TB hard drives from other electronic stores. The value was exceptional!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Good, but some issues

06/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use this with Windows 2003 Server. When I tried to copy 35 Gb files to the HDD, it fails as I received the HDD. But when I format it NTFS using Windows 2003, then larger files can be copied to the HDD.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
10/19/2011
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this device. I store alot of large photo files and it is very user friendly and has worked well with my Gateway laptop. I really like the fact that it almost installs itself. This is my 2nd WD backup and I will probably buy a 3rd.
Ellen
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
09/29/2011
By ,
98104
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have three of them and i love it. i would recommend to anybody who is looking for a reliable external hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Great product for lots and lots of storage

06/16/2012
By ,
Mena, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my hd camcorder to transfer the video's onto this hard drive. My Hard drives on my computer were filling up pretty quick since the video's were recorded in hd video. So yes I recommend this product for anyone that needs storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
09/04/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup and works well for my intended purpose: backup of my pictures and documents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Good Buy

01/23/2013
By ,
Willowick, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good buy. If you want to get savvy you can delete all the WD stuff it comes preloaded with and hook it up to a netgear WIFI router with USB 3.0 ports (sold here on walmart.com e.g netgear) and have an ultra fast / ultra cheap personal data cloud for your entire house. Whatever your endgame is just make sure you have or can get a USB 3.0 interface to plug it into, the speed difference is jaw dropping. In other words "Great Buy!".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Awesome External HD

10/31/2012
By ,
Marion, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moved all video, music, and photos from my C: drive over to the 3TB drive which freed up 50% of my C: drive. Recording and taking photos of my grandkids sporting events means thousands of clips and photos and here is what's awesome...this thing used very little of its space to do so. Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

So far so good.

05/29/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not my first WD external. I was still running my old external a 1TB Western Digital, a couple of years old. It has run fine and continues to do so, but I have finally eaten up all the space on it and it was time for something bigger. Transferred all of my files to this one with plenty of room to spare. Very good space for the price paid $155 after taxes with free shipping. As long as this one holds up as well and as long as my last one it is a good deal. This is not a hard drive you want to be transporting around frequently. If you are on the go I would recommend a smaller drive as this one requires a plug in to the wall for power as well as the connection to the pc or laptop itself. If you are going to keep this hard drive sitting in one place I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive

Great Price

07/09/2013
By ,
Simi Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already a fan of Western Digital and this was the best price online at the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Western Digital My Book Essentials 3TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
12/28/2012
By ,
Wears Valley, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just plug it in and it does everything all by its' lonesome. Once it is loaded and online, there are variety of things you can do with it. Bunch of storage space in one unit that can be transferred from one machine to another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next