Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

On a summer afternoon or a cool autumn day, there is nothing like relaxing in this canopy swing/hammock. The Mainstays outdoor swing/hammock seats up to 3 people and features a durable, powder-coated steel frame. With an adjustable canopy and easy-care cushions, this patio swing/hammock is the perfect way to enjoy the outdoors alone or with a few friends. See coordinating Lawson Ridge Collection pieces.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 332
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
99
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation93%358 out of 385reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
145 Questions | 211 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
99
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very comfortable outdoor swing!

03/13/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put it together all by myself! And promptly took a nap on it - Perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Overall solid, nice looking swing...

06/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband, who is not a handyman, put this together in about 3 hrs. Overall it seems like a solid, sturdy swing. The frame seems strong. The seat is comfortable. Haven't tried it yet as a hammock, but my husband did tell me that when you do lay it down to a hammock that you can no longer swing on it. A little deceiving but no big deal. Wasn't really planning on using it as a hammock too much anyway. Gave it four stars for two reasons. First I don't see the fabric on the swing lasting very long. Second, the seat cushions, which are three separate pieces, slide down off the seat a little. Very obnoxious because 3 or 4 inches of seat hangs over the edge of the bottom of the swing and it is not comfortable. As others said I will probably buy some Velcro pads and adhere them to the bottom of the seat to the frame as well. I like the overall modern look of the swing, goes well with my other patio furniture that is also tan and dark browns/blacks. Looking forward to relaxing on it this summer. Glad I purchased it before it sold out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Design Flaw

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so horribly disappointed!- I ordered this swing with an anticipated delivery date of May 23, 2014 via Fedex. Fedex delivered this over 100lb box to the wrong house 2 blocks away; when notified they promised to have the driver go and pick it up and deliver it to my house on the 24th as I'm a disabled VET. This never happened and I have not heard back from them since. So I had to pay $75 for a handyman to go to the house where this item was sitting on the porch to retrieve this swing.
Now after finally getting it set up -I have to return this product as there appears to be a design flaw. The left side of the swing seat is only 2 inches away from the left leg stand and rubs the stand when you sit in the swing. The right side of the swing seat is over 6 inches away from the right stand legs, and since the hook holder is fixed there is no way to adjust the swing so that it is centered within the frame.
SO I'm out $75 on a Memorial Day weekend of all things, and have to return this to the local store since there is no way I can ship this back. And I now have to pay someone else to dismantle the unit and return it to the local Walmart....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love this swing!

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching hundreds of swings and looking for something affordable, my search came up with this 3 seat swing. I bought it about a month ago and have used it every day since.
The shipment was received when it was promised and in good condition. I had some confusion when putting it together, but customer service - the number on the box - was helpful, if not entirely polite. The instructions are hidden inside the part that ends up being the seat bottom.
I put it together by myself - female, average build under 130 pounds, average competency at this kind of thing. I got help at the very end to put up the canopy. It took about 2-3 hours and was well worth it! You have to place it on even ground or find a way to make up for an uneven surface or the swing bangs against the side.
It looks better than I expected. The brown looks classy, surpassing my expectations of what I could purchase off walmart.com. Th iron parts that I thought would look cheap really don't, especially in this color.
This swing is comfortable. It doesn't swing when it folds down flat, but you can sleep peacefully, and it's easy to move the back up and down. The canopy can take a beating in windy conditions, so I'm not looking forward to hurricane season, having to take it down or bring the entire thing inside.
I'm very, very happy with the purchase and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

an awesome product

04/07/2011
By ,
East Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing set, a friend put it together and i WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISEDTO FIND OUT THAT IT TURNS INTO A BED. YYIIPPPPEE!!! I BOUGHT IT ON SALE, BUT FOR WHAT YOU GET, IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY. I SHOPPED OTHER PLACES, AND THEY JUST DIDN'T HAVE THE QUALITY YOU HAVE. THANKS WALMART
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very Good Swing

07/09/2011
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ama 64 yr old woman in good shape. I had Walmart pack it in my pickup and then opened the box while in the truck so I could take it to my back deck piece by piece, too heavy to take all at once. I have put many things together before but even so it took about 3 full hours to construct. Not difficult, all tools included, just a lot to do. The end paid off for the work, since I just love the finished product. I am 5 ft 4 inches tall and can lay out completely without bent legs. I put a pillow under my head and I am in heaven. The swing mechanism is very smooth and it justs keeps swinging away doesn't want to stop. I put a drop of oil on both springs at the top that connect the swing to the top and wow it really goes even better now! This is sturdy and good quality. The adjustable canopy is a nice feature and it is thick enough to do a good job at blocking the sun. The canopy is a bit too snug and I really had to pull to get all 4 corners covered. Other than that the only negative is when you make it into a flat bed. You can feel the middle support and to be comfortable you must lay to one side or the other. I don't care because I can lay flat when it is in swing position. I think really tall person may not like this swing since it sits fairly low to the ground. All in all I am very happy with this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Warped

04/16/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the same swing for 2 years until it was damaged by a storm. I bought another one just like it and assembled it fine. Unfortunately the swing is warped and the back of the seat hits the left side of the posts as you swing. Too bad... Taking it back, and moving on to search for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Nice Swing

03/12/2011
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice swing, very comfortable and easy to install. Not a heavy duty but for this price, I would say that this is the best that you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great swing for the price.

04/12/2014
By ,
San Diego, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was not too difficult to put together. My husband did it surrounded by four little grandchildren. I like the fact that the awning is more sleek than previous swings I had. Cushions are very comfortable. Looks great on the patio.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Lengthy assembly; hammock feature is worthless.

02/06/2014
By ,
Orange, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This swing took a long time to assemble. The seat arms (parts #6 and #7) had their labels switched, and two of the three canopy braces (part #12) had their plastic end caps inserted wrong (rotated out of place) at the factory. Figuring out why some parts did not fit together, and then fixing the problems added to the already lengthy assembly time.
The swing is unusable as a hammock because a pair of metal bars running the length of the hammock bed lie just under the user's back. It's like trying to sleep by balancing one's body over a horizontal pole.
The swing is a little too low to the ground for my comfort, and the rubber feet popped off too easily when I dragged the assembled swing into its final location. Other than that, the product at least seemed to be solidly built. All things considered, I would NOT recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

nice option for patio

05/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This looks very nice all set up on the patio. The sun shade is very helpful. The option to lay it flat is a huge bonus (I have a preteen so it appears it might be necessary!) It is comfortable for two to sit on, three adults may be much but mom and 2 kids it's great. It swings smoothly and is easy to adjust to the laying flat position. When you can't decide between a chaise, a swing or a couch, this fits the bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very comfortable swing!

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Swing was easy to assemble but had lost some hardwear during shipping (box was ripped and plastic packaging containing washers was busted open). Love the feature of the folding swing as it is very comfortable in both positions. The cushions that come with this swing are very nice and I can see them holding up for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

good product except...

05/13/2011
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had a previous generation unit, so bought the new replacement- better cushions now... THE ONE gripe I have is: the 2 side arms that the hammock hangs from, have their holes all drilled in different places, resulting in the hammock seat tilting forward, making you tip forward, and nearly falling forward! Careful instr. review and measurements revealed it's the hanging holes- I can fix this but what a hassle & disappointment!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Survived Sandy

12/14/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cannot say enough about this swing! We used it all summer in both the swing & locked hammock positions. In preparing for Hurricane Sandy I was worried about wind so I removed the canopy and cushions and brought them in the house. I put the swing in the locked hammock position and placed a 25 pound folding table on top to weigh down the swing. We ended up having four feet of water in the yard - the swing is the only thing that stayed in its original place!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very relaxing!

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our new swing!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Awning needs to be thicker/stronger

05/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Everything is good except the awning. Very cheaply made, probably won't last 1season. Instructions very easy to use. 2 people really makes it easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Arrived missing screws

03/25/2014
By ,
Orange, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It arrived 4 days later than promised AND all the screws need to assemble the swing/hammock were missing. Have to wait another 1 week for those to arrive after I called them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love this swing!!!

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this swing with the intention to swing with my two babies boys and enjoy the beautiful weather. This Swing is great for that, exactly what it looks like in the picture and is super comfy! Very well made and very attractive to the eye. Took me about 25 minutes to put together, super easy didn't even need the hubby's help and came with all the tools needed. Great swing! Might even get another one for our lower deck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great looking swing at an affordable price.

05/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems the product is so popular that none of the Walmarts in denver metro carries a display piece. After talking to a Walmart rep in the store i ordered it online. Walmart mailed the product in four days for less than 3 extra dollars. The shipment was large and i am glad that it was left by the garage and not at the edge of the driveway. I opened it and transferred individual pieces to the deck in the backyard. I along with my cousin was able to assemble the swing in a couple of hours. In retrospect, i think one person can assemble it alone. The swing looks rich and sturdy. My son likes it so much that he immediate gets to the swing as soon as he gets back from school. Great value and i recommend whole heatedly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

comfy

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I like the swing the best of all my outdoor furniture. Easy to put together, very comfortable and I like that the shade can be adjusted to block the sunlight. I bought the tan swing along with some of the better homes and garden sling furniture and it went together very well. I like that the top can be taken off very easily for when we are expecting windy storms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nj
adjustable shade...
Posted 05/28/2011
i was wondering whether it would adjust. thanks for the review, "comfy".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 333 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next