Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

On a summer afternoon or a cool autumn day, there is nothing like relaxing in this canopy swing/hammock. The Mainstays outdoor swing/hammock seats up to 3 people and features a durable, powder-coated steel frame. With an adjustable canopy and easy-care cushions, this patio swing/hammock is the perfect way to enjoy the outdoors alone or with a few friends. See coordinating Lawson Ridge Collection pieces.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.483 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 332
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
99
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation93%358 out of 385reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
146 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
255
4 stars
99
3 stars
14
2 stars
10
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

an awesome product

04/07/2011
By ,
East Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing set, a friend put it together and i WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISEDTO FIND OUT THAT IT TURNS INTO A BED. YYIIPPPPEE!!! I BOUGHT IT ON SALE, BUT FOR WHAT YOU GET, IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY. I SHOPPED OTHER PLACES, AND THEY JUST DIDN'T HAVE THE QUALITY YOU HAVE. THANKS WALMART
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very Good Swing

07/09/2011
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ama 64 yr old woman in good shape. I had Walmart pack it in my pickup and then opened the box while in the truck so I could take it to my back deck piece by piece, too heavy to take all at once. I have put many things together before but even so it took about 3 full hours to construct. Not difficult, all tools included, just a lot to do. The end paid off for the work, since I just love the finished product. I am 5 ft 4 inches tall and can lay out completely without bent legs. I put a pillow under my head and I am in heaven. The swing mechanism is very smooth and it justs keeps swinging away doesn't want to stop. I put a drop of oil on both springs at the top that connect the swing to the top and wow it really goes even better now! This is sturdy and good quality. The adjustable canopy is a nice feature and it is thick enough to do a good job at blocking the sun. The canopy is a bit too snug and I really had to pull to get all 4 corners covered. Other than that the only negative is when you make it into a flat bed. You can feel the middle support and to be comfortable you must lay to one side or the other. I don't care because I can lay flat when it is in swing position. I think really tall person may not like this swing since it sits fairly low to the ground. All in all I am very happy with this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Nice Swing

03/12/2011
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice swing, very comfortable and easy to install. Not a heavy duty but for this price, I would say that this is the best that you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very comfortable outdoor swing!

03/13/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put it together all by myself! And promptly took a nap on it - Perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love it.

03/28/2014
By ,
Vista CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing hammock. Even after reading the comments about poor directions. Don't believe any of those comments. The instructions were easy to read and understand. All the parts were individually labelled.
I am a 50 year old female. And I put this together in about 2 hours. By myself!!
It's well made. I would highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

good product except...

05/13/2011
By ,
SoCal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had a previous generation unit, so bought the new replacement- better cushions now... THE ONE gripe I have is: the 2 side arms that the hammock hangs from, have their holes all drilled in different places, resulting in the hammock seat tilting forward, making you tip forward, and nearly falling forward! Careful instr. review and measurements revealed it's the hanging holes- I can fix this but what a hassle & disappointment!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Survived Sandy

12/14/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cannot say enough about this swing! We used it all summer in both the swing & locked hammock positions. In preparing for Hurricane Sandy I was worried about wind so I removed the canopy and cushions and brought them in the house. I put the swing in the locked hammock position and placed a 25 pound folding table on top to weigh down the swing. We ended up having four feet of water in the yard - the swing is the only thing that stayed in its original place!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

swing/hammock

03/22/2011
By ,
Las Cruces, N.M.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Everything is ok with the swing/hammock except the cushions, they only have a velcro on the back but the seating part is constantly moving off, there is nothing to hold the seat in place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

comfy

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I like the swing the best of all my outdoor furniture. Easy to put together, very comfortable and I like that the shade can be adjusted to block the sunlight. I bought the tan swing along with some of the better homes and garden sling furniture and it went together very well. I like that the top can be taken off very easily for when we are expecting windy storms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nj
adjustable shade...
Posted 05/28/2011
i was wondering whether it would adjust. thanks for the review, "comfy".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

3 seater swing w/canopy

05/11/2011
By ,
S. Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The swing is nice looking. Nice swinging motion. I do not use the canopy, but instead use it to lay over the swing to keep the birds from pooping on the cushions. The swing is on our front porch. If you move it, use two people or the side support legs will not move with the swing as it should if were one solid piece. There needs to be another support for connecting the two sides. Other than that, I am enjoying my swing, and so far, would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great value!

06/09/2011
By ,
Byron, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolute great value on sale for $148. The frame is powdered coated to a nice deep brown speckled type of finish, and seems very well made. All hardware is separated out in their own little compartments and NOT thrown together in one bag. It took me about 2 hours (alone) to put together, but I was also doing some other stuff at the same time, so I'm sure it could have gone together faster. Only had to call the hubby out when I wanted to hang the swing on the frame.
I am so impressed with the look of this piece that I bought some clear exterior spray paint to go over the edges and welded parts because I do not want this thing to rust. I want it around for many years. Although none of the powder coated finish was even scratched. So I don't think it would rust anytime soon even if I didn't take the extra precaution. Nothing like my daughter's swing set that rusted out after 1 year. I plan to keep it outdoors, not in a screened porch. The cushions even have velcro to hold it to the back of the frame, but they are very easy to get off to tuck away in a deck box in the event of rain. Overall, I am one happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great piece of garden furniture

05/03/2011
By ,
Redondo Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We're delighted with this swing/hammock. I love the way that the cushions can be removed for cleaning and/or to avoid damage from the weather in the winter. It took two of us a couple of hours to put it together. All the parts are very clearly labeled but I advise double-checking that you're using the right parts in the right places before you tighten the screws (we had to undo the screws a couple of times). So probably a good idea to read through the instructions before you start. A couple of minor problems - there weren't enough washers and we had to (marginally) increase the size of one of the holes with a drill because the screw wouldn't fit through it. But we're so happy with the final result and use it every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Not what I expected :(

04/22/2011
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good for the price but I suggest you rather spend a little more for a better quality swing that you can enjoy for years...
Let me start with what is good...
- was not so hard to assemble.
- like the feature that it can be turned in to bed
Now, What is bad...
- Not so good assembly instructions...stickers to mark the parts were missing or pilled. Being an engineer it was not so difficult to figure out but someone who never assembled a thing may have hard time. - Cheap Cushion Material (got allergy, now covered with cotton bedsheet) - Swing is so light in weight that it moves on floor (beware if you have slippery floor - i am using it indoor in a florida room) - good for seating but not for comfortable seating
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Lengthy assembly; hammock feature is worthless.

02/06/2014
By ,
Orange, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This swing took a long time to assemble. The seat arms (parts #6 and #7) had their labels switched, and two of the three canopy braces (part #12) had their plastic end caps inserted wrong (rotated out of place) at the factory. Figuring out why some parts did not fit together, and then fixing the problems added to the already lengthy assembly time.
The swing is unusable as a hammock because a pair of metal bars running the length of the hammock bed lie just under the user's back. It's like trying to sleep by balancing one's body over a horizontal pole.
The swing is a little too low to the ground for my comfort, and the rubber feet popped off too easily when I dragged the assembled swing into its final location. Other than that, the product at least seemed to be solidly built. All things considered, I would NOT recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Arrived missing screws

03/25/2014
By ,
Orange, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It arrived 4 days later than promised AND all the screws need to assemble the swing/hammock were missing. Have to wait another 1 week for those to arrive after I called them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Lovely Swing!!!!!!!!!!!!

05/26/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a swing to sit by the lake in my backyard. Saw this at Walmart and decided it was for me. I was a little hesitant since it had to be assembled but with two people it was a piece of cake! Bought two pillows for it and I just love sitting and swinging. I really like the fold down option into a hammock that could either swing or be stationary. It is built sturdy and should give a few years of enjoyment. Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3
06/22/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Swing is nice - HOWEVER there were alot of missing parts. When I called the company, I was told it would take at least a week to have them shipped to me. Make sure all parts are there before leaving store. I now have a swing frame, and the rest in pieces. If it wasnt such an Inconvenience I would take it back and purchase from some where else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Design Flaw

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so horribly disappointed!- I ordered this swing with an anticipated delivery date of May 23, 2014 via Fedex. Fedex delivered this over 100lb box to the wrong house 2 blocks away; when notified they promised to have the driver go and pick it up and deliver it to my house on the 24th as I'm a disabled VET. This never happened and I have not heard back from them since. So I had to pay $75 for a handyman to go to the house where this item was sitting on the porch to retrieve this swing.
Now after finally getting it set up -I have to return this product as there appears to be a design flaw. The left side of the swing seat is only 2 inches away from the left leg stand and rubs the stand when you sit in the swing. The right side of the swing seat is over 6 inches away from the right stand legs, and since the hook holder is fixed there is no way to adjust the swing so that it is centered within the frame.
SO I'm out $75 on a Memorial Day weekend of all things, and have to return this to the local store since there is no way I can ship this back. And I now have to pay someone else to dismantle the unit and return it to the local Walmart....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Comfy and convenient

06/11/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping online and this was the only covered swing that appeared worth buying. It was quite easy to build (about 1hr, on my own). The hardware is nicely laid out and labeled in a plastic thermo-formed sleeve. The tubes have a very uniform (and probably) durable powder coated paint. And the cushions appear to be of good quality. They are comfortable. The ability to turn this swing into a flat bed (à la hammock) is a wonderful thing. :)
The only painful part of this purchase was the delivery. Walmart uses a freight carrier that offers 4-hr delivery windows. And they require a signature. There was no way for me to wave it (like I do with purchases from another large online vendor). Who has 4 hours to sit around to wait for a freight company. Thus, we played ping-pong with the delivery window a few times. Based on this, I will avoid buying from Walmart online in the future and get stuff shipped to the store instead...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Birmingham, Alabama
Some disappointment, but still love it
Posted 03/27/2014
This is the second one I have bought in the past few years. Can't remember exactly how long (maybe 2 to 3 years# since I bought the first one, but the frame did start to rust pretty quickly. Also, the differences in the first one second one are: thicker cushions on the first one, first one came with two throw pillows, the canopy went on much better on the first, did not have any velcro #the canopy will barely velcro on the ends of this new swing). This time I sprayed all the metal pieces with clear matte finish rustoleum to protect it from rusting so fast. Overall I do still like or wouldn't have bought a second one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Warped

04/16/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the same swing for 2 years until it was damaged by a storm. I bought another one just like it and assembled it fine. Unfortunately the swing is warped and the back of the seat hits the left side of the posts as you swing. Too bad... Taking it back, and moving on to search for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 333 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next