Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Mainstays Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

On a summer afternoon or a cool autumn day, there is nothing like relaxing in this canopy swing/hammock. The Mainstays outdoor swing/hammock seats up to 3 people and features a durable, powder-coated steel frame. With an adjustable canopy and easy-care cushions, this patio swing/hammock is the perfect way to enjoy the outdoors alone or with a few friends. See coordinating Lawson Ridge Collection pieces.  
Average Customer Rating:
4.47 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(404 Reviews) 347
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
264
4 stars
102
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation93%371 out of 400reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
163 Questions | 233 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
264
4 stars
102
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great swing

03/17/2011
By ,
Kannapolis, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 52 year old woman and I put this swing together all by myself. It took me 5 hours, but I did it. The directions are great. Just take your time. I left all the screws and thingys in the package as they were numbered. I cut them out when the directions called for them. The only help I needed was when I was hanging the swing onto the frame. It was a better quality swing than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+138points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Good except for canopy

05/01/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Assembly easy if instructions are followed except for canopy. The Velcro that attaches the cloth canopy does not line-up adequately, regardless of how hard you stretch it! Other than that it's a decent unit. Very comfortable. Don't know yet how it'll hold up in So Cal sun.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Swing In Comfort.

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great buy, I hoped this at 5 other location, and saved over $80.00
Is easy to assemble and has nice cushions. Very Happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

GREAT SWING !!!

03/08/2011
By ,
Galveston County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy, very wide and comfy seating. Holds us and 3 dogs easily. Also bought the swing cover for $15 cuz wanted to keep the pollen off the swing when not using it. The cover is plenty big and I use clamps to keep it on, it didn't stay in place without em. We LOVE it !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Elegant, smooth swinging action, just right

06/05/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been looking for months for a 3-person garden swing after my previous one started falling apart and I couldn't find replacement cushions or a cover. All the new ones I saw looked too flimsy, had horrible reviews, or were too expensive. (There were plenty of nice 2-person swings but hardly any 3-person ones.)
This one looked good in the pictures, reviews were good, and I could see I could buy replacement cushions and top (which I'll do right now and then save them in the basement).
I hired the neighbor kid to put it together, took him about an hour. It's lovely. Works just as expected. The swing is low to the ground which is just what I want since I'm short. We tried opening it to a bed and that'd work pretty cool, too! The top can be easily tilted to block out morning or late afternoon sun, there are two black dials on either side that lock into diff. positions by turning them.
The seat cushions attach to the top of the back frame with a sturdy velcro loop in back, one per cushion in the center top, but unlike my previous swing, there is no velcro fastener at the bottom back of the seat (where it folds), so the cushions have a tendency to slide out a bit. I think putting a few pieces of rubber backing (like you'd put under a slippery area ru)g will work. The pictures also don't show what it looks like without the cushion; there's a single piece of very sturdy canvas wrapped around the bottom and back, dark brown color, very taut so there's some bounce in it when you sit.
All in all I'm extremely pleased with the affordable cost of this swing. I also liked Walmart's "pick up" service (I'm not a Walmarts shopper otherwise), so I didn't have to pay for shipping --- which would've almost doubled the cost -- but just drive up and have one of their associated load it into my car in a long cardboard box. (The box was very heavy.) That worked out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+229points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alexandria, La.
Canopy
Posted 07/07/2011
Where did you find the new Canopy and cushions. I need new ones.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Swing

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

2nd year enjoying it

04/26/2011
By ,
hudson valley NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great swing/hammock. We used it daily all spring and summer last year. I stored the canopy and cushions in the basement during the winter, but left the frame and canvas seat out throughout our Northeast winter.(Too much to take it apart) I did buy the cover for it, but the first breeze blew it off. Don't waste your money on that item.
Even uncovered, the swing is as good as new going into it's second year.
Cushions wash up wonderfully with just soap and water.
Looking forward to another season of enjoyment rocking, swinging, lounging and napping on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love this swing

03/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great swing!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love it!

06/28/2013
By ,
Northern Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've wanted a porch swing for years and finally decided to get one. I looked at several and read tons of reviews and decided on this one. It didn't take a horribly long time for my husband and I to put it together and was pretty simple. It is very comfortable and supports the weight of me (at 9 months pregnant!), my husband, and 3 young children. We have had so much fun swinging on it together. :) The seats are comfortable and I like how you can take them off in case it's going to rain. The bed feature is a cool bonus, although we haven't used it that way yet. Looove the canopy as it really helps keep you cool! The only changes I would make on it is making it just a couple inches higher as it feels a tad low as you sit down and adding a second velcro strap to the underside of the seat for the cushions instead of just the one on top. BUT, I'm not unhappy with the height or lack of 2nd strap, just an observation. I would definitely recommend this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great Swing!

03/12/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family absolutely loves this swing. We use it every day. It is very comfortable, relaxing, and sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
niagara falls
i love this swing!
Posted 06/01/2011
i bought this swing about 4 years ago but it sat in my garage for 2 years. finally, last year i had my mom and dad help me put it together. it literally took us 4 hours to put together---3 of us! but in the end it was worth it. i love this swing. however, i left the canopy on it over winter and left the swing outside. it looks likes a tornado came thru and ripped the canopy edges and the bar in the middle is a little bent. thats ok cause it was my fault for leaving it out. im going to buy a replacement canopy from gardenwinds.com for approx $70. i LOVE that this reclines down. and it matches the new patio set i just bought from walmart as well. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great for the whole family!!

03/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother so she would have a comfortable shaded spot to sit while she watches my grandchildren, her great-grandchildren, play in the back yard. She loved it! But...soon several of the great-grandchildren discovered that it was a great swing for them too. The older ones took turns pushing the swing for the younger ones! Then my adult daughters discovered the hammock position of the swing. They decided it would be great for tanning!! I was originally going to get a different swing but I am so glad I purchased this one. The directions for assembly were easy to follow and everything you needed to put the swing together was included, including the tools! It took me about an hour and a half to put it together. The only problem I had was that it takes 2 people to put certain portions of it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Overall solid, nice looking swing...

06/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband, who is not a handyman, put this together in about 3 hrs. Overall it seems like a solid, sturdy swing. The frame seems strong. The seat is comfortable. Haven't tried it yet as a hammock, but my husband did tell me that when you do lay it down to a hammock that you can no longer swing on it. A little deceiving but no big deal. Wasn't really planning on using it as a hammock too much anyway. Gave it four stars for two reasons. First I don't see the fabric on the swing lasting very long. Second, the seat cushions, which are three separate pieces, slide down off the seat a little. Very obnoxious because 3 or 4 inches of seat hangs over the edge of the bottom of the swing and it is not comfortable. As others said I will probably buy some Velcro pads and adhere them to the bottom of the seat to the frame as well. I like the overall modern look of the swing, goes well with my other patio furniture that is also tan and dark browns/blacks. Looking forward to relaxing on it this summer. Glad I purchased it before it sold out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

an awesome product

04/07/2011
By ,
East Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing set, a friend put it together and i WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISEDTO FIND OUT THAT IT TURNS INTO A BED. YYIIPPPPEE!!! I BOUGHT IT ON SALE, BUT FOR WHAT YOU GET, IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY. I SHOPPED OTHER PLACES, AND THEY JUST DIDN'T HAVE THE QUALITY YOU HAVE. THANKS WALMART
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Very Good Swing

07/09/2011
By ,
Montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ama 64 yr old woman in good shape. I had Walmart pack it in my pickup and then opened the box while in the truck so I could take it to my back deck piece by piece, too heavy to take all at once. I have put many things together before but even so it took about 3 full hours to construct. Not difficult, all tools included, just a lot to do. The end paid off for the work, since I just love the finished product. I am 5 ft 4 inches tall and can lay out completely without bent legs. I put a pillow under my head and I am in heaven. The swing mechanism is very smooth and it justs keeps swinging away doesn't want to stop. I put a drop of oil on both springs at the top that connect the swing to the top and wow it really goes even better now! This is sturdy and good quality. The adjustable canopy is a nice feature and it is thick enough to do a good job at blocking the sun. The canopy is a bit too snug and I really had to pull to get all 4 corners covered. Other than that the only negative is when you make it into a flat bed. You can feel the middle support and to be comfortable you must lay to one side or the other. I don't care because I can lay flat when it is in swing position. I think really tall person may not like this swing since it sits fairly low to the ground. All in all I am very happy with this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Rust after only 8 months!

04/30/2011
By ,
Northern Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Swing frame started rusting only after 8 months! Guess you can't leave it outside during winter months. We didn't have anywhere to put the frame but we did put the swing part in our basement for the winter. Expected better durability out of the frame I guess. Oh well, live and learn. Now I gotta try and match the paint so I can sand and re-paint it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Nice Swing

03/12/2011
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice swing, very comfortable and easy to install. Not a heavy duty but for this price, I would say that this is the best that you can get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Survived Sandy

12/14/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cannot say enough about this swing! We used it all summer in both the swing & locked hammock positions. In preparing for Hurricane Sandy I was worried about wind so I removed the canopy and cushions and brought them in the house. I put the swing in the locked hammock position and placed a 25 pound folding table on top to weigh down the swing. We ended up having four feet of water in the yard - the swing is the only thing that stayed in its original place!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Great value!

06/09/2011
By ,
Byron, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an absolute great value on sale for $148. The frame is powdered coated to a nice deep brown speckled type of finish, and seems very well made. All hardware is separated out in their own little compartments and NOT thrown together in one bag. It took me about 2 hours (alone) to put together, but I was also doing some other stuff at the same time, so I'm sure it could have gone together faster. Only had to call the hubby out when I wanted to hang the swing on the frame.
I am so impressed with the look of this piece that I bought some clear exterior spray paint to go over the edges and welded parts because I do not want this thing to rust. I want it around for many years. Although none of the powder coated finish was even scratched. So I don't think it would rust anytime soon even if I didn't take the extra precaution. Nothing like my daughter's swing set that rusted out after 1 year. I plan to keep it outdoors, not in a screened porch. The cushions even have velcro to hold it to the back of the frame, but they are very easy to get off to tuck away in a deck box in the event of rain. Overall, I am one happy customer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

Love this swing!

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After searching hundreds of swings and looking for something affordable, my search came up with this 3 seat swing. I bought it about a month ago and have used it every day since.
The shipment was received when it was promised and in good condition. I had some confusion when putting it together, but customer service - the number on the box - was helpful, if not entirely polite. The instructions are hidden inside the part that ends up being the seat bottom.
I put it together by myself - female, average build under 130 pounds, average competency at this kind of thing. I got help at the very end to put up the canopy. It took about 2-3 hours and was well worth it! You have to place it on even ground or find a way to make up for an uneven surface or the swing bangs against the side.
It looks better than I expected. The brown looks classy, surpassing my expectations of what I could purchase off walmart.com. Th iron parts that I thought would look cheap really don't, especially in this color.
This swing is comfortable. It doesn't swing when it folds down flat, but you can sleep peacefully, and it's easy to move the back up and down. The canopy can take a beating in windy conditions, so I'm not looking forward to hurricane season, having to take it down or bring the entire thing inside.
I'm very, very happy with the purchase and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mainstays Lawson Ridge Converting Outdoor Swing/Hammock, Tan, Seats 3

comfy

04/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I like the swing the best of all my outdoor furniture. Easy to put together, very comfortable and I like that the shade can be adjusted to block the sunlight. I bought the tan swing along with some of the better homes and garden sling furniture and it went together very well. I like that the top can be taken off very easily for when we are expecting windy storms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nj
adjustable shade...
Posted 05/28/2011
i was wondering whether it would adjust. thanks for the review, "comfy".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 348 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next