Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Summer Infant Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Summer Infant Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

The Summer Infant BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034 is a portable, versatile device that lets you watch your little one closely even from a distance. It uses 100 percent digital technology to establish a secure and private link between you and your baby. You can watch your baby s activities on the 2.5-inch LCD display screen. You also have the option to pan, zoom or scan using the remote control, to get a better perspective on the activities. The Summer Infant baby monitor features a standard rechargeable battery, which can run up to 10 hours when fully charged. Further, the range of 400 feet helps you carry the portable parent unit to anywhere inside your home and still keep a close watch on your tot. The digital color video baby monitor relays color video during the day and it automatically switches to black and white night vision mode during the night for better visibility. The one-touch on/off feature makes nighttime operations easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.248 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation84%97 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Does the job, but could be better

07/12/2011
By ,
Columbia, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently purchased this after my other Summer infant day and night video monitor camera went blank (after 2 years of use). I like that the monitor is slimmer and easier to carry around than my previous one, however the clip on the back is poorly designed and often falls off if I have it clipped on my pants and bend over. It also doesn't have the best picture (I think my old one was clearer) and definitely cuts out (loses the signal) a lot more than my old one. It also only has 5 volume settings (unlike my old one that had a wheel to adjust the volume) and the lowest volume is still pretty loud. This might not be an issue for some, but my daughter likes to sit in her crib and talk for awhile in the morning, so I like to keep it low. If she's not crying, I don't want to be woken up too early! The one thing I like most about this is that you can adjust the camera by pushing a button on the monitor. This is nice when my daughter has moved just out of vision in her crib (we have it hanging from the ceiling and you can see most of the crib, but she manages to get out of view sometimes!) Overall, it does the job but I'm not super impressed. I've been looking at other cameras and I may end up returning this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Peace of Mind

11/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter recently had a baby, and I purchased the Summer Infant Video Monitor for her because every time she went in the baby's room to check on baby, she would wake up to the sound of the door opening. Sometimes the baby is just repositioning herself or dreaming, so having a viewing monitor is an excellent way to know if baby is really awake or not before entering the room. The monitor is small but super clear and the product is quite simple to use. The battery life is about a day, so you will need to charge it at night, but you can still use it while it is charging. I would especially recommend this product for new moms! My daughter can now have somewhat of a normal pattern in her day now that she uses this device, and that is so comforting!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

LOVE IT

11/15/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched video monitors extensively before settling on this one. I love it!! The pan and zoom is the best feature and it is controlled on the parent unit. Very user friendly. Easy to mount on wall...takes one screw and you can see the entire bedroom. Invaluable when you need to see baby without disturbing baby. Does not make noise in baby room when you pan. Very quiet. Battery life on parent unit lasts all night and then I recharge it before naps. Some people mentioned the green light; i could care less, but you could always cover it with electrical tape. LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Excellent monitor!! Recommend buying!

05/08/2011
By ,
Hagerstown, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I researched a lot of video monitors for weeks and ended up choosing this one for our 2 year old son. We love it! The picture is great day and night (remember-this is not an LCD HD TV so don't expect it to be crystal clear-especially at night!), sound is great and has great range. We use it outside and in the detached garage too. The one touch button on top is great to quickly turn the video on and off. The panning is AWESOME! We can see every inch of our son's room! Great for when he is playing in his room. Camera is very quiet when panning, can hardly hear it when you are in the room. The zoom is just a one time zoom in-zoom out-however works ok if needed. More of an extra and we would have bought it without the zoom. Battery life is good...just follow charging instructions to preserve battery life. Great size-light weight. Haven't hooked it up to the TV yet, however cables are provided for this. Additional cameras can be added and we will when our 2nd one arrives. It does interfere with our home wireless on occasion, but not enough to call it an issue. Overall, excellent product and highly recommend buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, AR
Question about adding cameras
Posted 09/06/2011
I saw you mentioned buying additional cameras, if you buy two for the same room, will they show up on different channels or how does that work?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

AWESOME Camera - but.....

06/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will be the first to admit, I am a Mom whom wants to see what my baby's doing in her crib. I'm not happy with just hearing...when my husband purchased this I was skeptical to say the least. Now I'm extremely happy with it! I can see her clearly, the zoom is wonderful (a little grainy at times, but found that it's more an issue with lighting than anything).
The features are: Zoom (AWESOME when wanting to check to see if her eyes are really closed) / Screen Brightness adjustment (great for when you're moving from inside to outside) / Adding more cameras - Maximum of 4 (a double edged sword... Great option if you want to call Summer company and order them at $80 each.)
In the end, I'm very happy with this camera. As for some of the other reviews that says they aren't receiving the picture in color, it's probably because they have the lights turned off in the room. When our daughters lights are on, everything is in color, but when she's sleeping the room is dark enough it sends the camera into 'night mode' giving you a blue-grayish screen. To me, it doesn't matter, and if you're not picky about what color your child is being viewed at, you won't notice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Love it!

03/01/2011
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent months trying to find a monitor and after reading reviews I ended up with this one!! Could not be happier! Love it! We live in a two story and it works from all the way upstairs to all the way outside! Lighting is awesome and love the fact that you can zoom in and pan the entire room if you want!! Don't know what I would do with out it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Pretty good monitor

10/09/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally had the Slim & Secure monitor but returned it for this one b/c I have twins and thought a camera that panned and zoomed would be more useful to me. The Best View's resolution is not nearly as crisp as the Slim & Secure's. That was disappointing. But the panning feature is really nice so I'm glad I switched for that reason. I didn't get any interference from either monitor with my wi-fi or cell phones. The Best View monitor does make a clicking sound when it's right next to my alarm clock. Not sure why but if I move it 4+ inches away the sound stops.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

i love it!!!

11/03/2010
By ,
New york, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is awesome... i have had other highly rated video monitors, and none compare. the picture and sound are crisp... the zoom and scan feature is really great- you can scan the whole room, and zoom in on your child's face (great feature for the new paranoid mom that needs to check if her kid is breathing every few minutes). the batter life is pretty decent when compared to other monitors (none really have an exceptional batter life). the only thing that bothers me, which i think is an energy saver option, is that the screen turns black after several minutes of non-use... u can return the image by pressing a button, so no biggie (and you can probably change that option, i just havent read the manual yet)... aside from that... you couldnt ask for more out of a monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Very satisfied with this monitor

07/11/2013
By ,
95670
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did a lot of research on video baby monitors and this one got the best reviews. Now that I own it, I definitely agree. This has been a great monitor and Walmart's price was by far the cheapest. The clarity of the video is really good, even at night and the sound clarity is good, even on the lowest setting. The camera was easy to hang on the wall and it's nice that I can adjust it using the monitor. I find myself using the zoom button a lot to make sure my little one is breathing :) The only downside to this monitor is that the battery charge does not last that long (one full day of on and off use on average). But that hasn't been a big issue for me since I usually just use it at home and have easy access to the power cord. Also, the wording on the power button and zoom button rubbed off w/in a week of use. That also has not been a big issue. I would highly recommend this monitor!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

My New Best Friend

11/01/2010
By ,
Logan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this monitor!!! I did a lot of research on what video monitor I wanted to buy and this was the one I decided on. My favorite feature is the pan/zoom. It is really nice because I can see in every part of my daughters room cause I have cats that like to sneak in there. Although there is only one zoom setting (zoom in, or zoom out. no in between) it works great for what I use it for. It picks up the slightest sounds which can be a good or bad thing. I think the color in the daytime is pretty good and the night vision is awesome! It is pitch dark in my baby's room and I can still see her on the monitor perfectly which is one thing I worried about. I think this monitor is great and I already recommended it to a couple of my friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Overall good monitor...would buy it again.

07/25/2011
By ,
Greenville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This monitor works well...I had read some previous reviews where people said the audio was too loud but you can adjust the volume and even turn it off if wanted so not sure what they were talking about. The picture is a little grainy but other than that this is a really good monitor..definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Very good baby monitor.

07/08/2011
By ,
Dacula, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only negative comment is that the range in our home was limited in certain rooms especially the further you were away from the camera. Sometimes only 40 feet away I would get an "Out of Range" indication. As I moved closer to the camera then I could get the video. It is a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Wouldn't want to be without it

03/07/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have twins who have very bad reflux and this monitor has really been helpful in seeing when one of them is having trouble.
I really like this one better than the first two I had. This one your able to scan the room and zoom in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

The best monitor out there for the money!

05/07/2012
By ,
Peachtree City, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome monitor! It may not be the cheapest monitor out there but its worth every penny to have the camera be able to pan and zoom. A stationary camera is fine until your baby starts to flop around around in bed from end to end and etc. If your camera doesn't move you might not beavle to tell exactly what your looking at. My sister in-law has a camera that is stationary and she asked me to watch her baby for a minute the only problem was I didn't end how the baby was positioned when she layed her down so I wasn't sure if I was looking at her head or butt! LOL The pan and zoom camera will fix that! The picture is very clear day or night and the reception is darn good!
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Great baby monitor!

01/10/2012
By ,
Philadephia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before this monitor I had the summer black and white little tv baby monitor and it worked good for 3 years. Just recently it started having problems with static but my cat half chewed the wire and it was dropped many times so I'd say it did very well for the abuse it was put thru. But now I have 2 kids and I wanted a baby monitor that I could view both kids with without all kinds of additional cameras in the room. This is a great baby monitor. The battery life is good, its portable so I can take it anywhere in the house and still get a good picture. The pan goes all the way around the room and from the floor to the ceiling which is great too. The picture is color but at night when its on night mode its black and white which is fine because you can still see the kids clearly. The sound is good. a little lower than my old monitor but the lights turn red if the baby is crying so even if you cant hear them all that well you will be able to see when the lights turn red. The zoom is good too but it only lets you zoom one time which is about 3-4 feet closer to the object your trying to view. The only ~~CON~~ about this baby monitor is that it has a battery saving option where it shuts off the video after about a minute, you can still hear and the lights will still turn red but it just shuts off automatically and you can push the button on the top and turn it back on but it will again shut off the video in a minute to conserve the battery life. The only way to keep the screen on is to leave it plugged in which they say not to do all over the instructions because it will effect the battery life. Overall I think this is a great baby monitor I just like to be able to look over and see my kids on the baby monitor at all times since I have a 3 year old who gets out of the bed sometimes and is very quiet about it...lol So anytime I hear the slightest noise I turn the video on to make sure he is still in his bed. Oh and when you are panning the room the camera is very quite too when it moves around, if your in the room you wouldn't even notice it moving unless you looked over at it which is a good thing so it doesn't wake up the kids when your panning. Overall great baby monitor and great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Buy one

08/19/2012
By ,
cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish I had bought a video monitor with my first child! The convenience is so worth the price! If we hear the baby we can press the video button and see what he's up to without getting out of bed. If he moves around in bed we can move the camera view from the handheld device without getting up. We live in a small house and have had no interference from other electronic devices. The only issue we had had is that if we are outside there are occassions where we will lose the signal. It is usually corrected by moving around and changing the direction of the handheld device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Crystal Clear Sound & Crisp Picture

11/11/2010
By ,
West Bloomfield, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this baby monitor! I had the Mobi one before, but returned it because of the static and horrible buzzing sound it made. The picture on the Summer Infant is crystal clear and the pan/zoom feature works great! I can see everything my baby is doing even when she rolls all around her crib. The sound quality is great even when turned all the way up. Since it's digital, there is no static! Definitely worth the money to have a peace of mind that you can see your baby anywhere in the room and no more restless nights with buzzing in my ear. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Worth it!!

08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful product that can zoom in and rotate to pan around the room. Our baby is all over her crib and we can find out where she is and zoom in to see if her eyes are open, if the binky is in her mouth and even see her breath. I wouldn't say the picture is as clear as the one on the website but still amazing technology! You can even plug it into your tv to have a larger view! The distance is great we just washed our cars yest while she took a nap! She is 3 months old and we are finally able to have a little freedom and still know she is safe and sound!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Must Have!! Great Video baby monitor!

04/16/2012
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with this video baby monitor. We had a summer day and night video monitor four years ago. We used the old monitor for over 2 yrs and then gave it away b/c we weren't having anymore kids! Ha! They've made a lot of improvements since then. We like the fact that we can move the video monitor with the handheld device. The handheld device is very easy to use, slim design, great quality picture, and with good sound quality. Definitely would recommend this video monitor! Good luck, and congratulations on your new bundle of joy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Summer Infant - BestView Digital Color Video Baby Monitor, 28034

Definitely works for us

04/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did quite a lot of internet research before ending up with this video monitor. I bought a Lorex first but had a very annoying buzzing sound constantly, which made for restless sleep! This product's screen is a nice size and the night vision is pretty clear. I think the night vision could be better on any monitor for a clearer picture but I found this one pretty good. The sound is very clear. I am satisfied with this product and would recommend it.
The only reason for the 4 stars is I always believe a product can work better and cost less!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 99 total reviews