Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summer Infant Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Summer Infant Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

The Summer Infant Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail is essential for your child when transitioning from crib to bed. Security, ease-of-use, price and value all combine in this great infant bed rail product.
Average Customer Rating:
3.357 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation64%9 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

So many peices I gave up!

07/05/2012
By ,
Chicago area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I saw that there are 2 bedrails that go under the mattress. I bought this one called the out of sight bed rail from Summer Infant. What a MISTAKE!!! It is so complicated that even my husband gave up trying to put it together. I returned it and bought the other bed rail that is called Hide Away from a company called Regalo. The Regalo bed rail went together MUCH easier than the Summer bed rail and it works perfect! Just an FYI...in case someone else is trying to make the same decision, hopefully my review can save alot of people the hassle I went through. Buy the Regalo Hide Away bed rail.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 2 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
09/30/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this product would be perfect for our queen size bed that we use for our granddaughter, I was wrong. There are so many parts and if you don't get it set up just right it will not work. When we finally got it put together, it is very hard to pull out and slide back from under the mattress and snapping the rail in place is almost impossible. I would definitely look for another product to use as rails for a toddler.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+32points
Review 3 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
12/31/2011
By ,
middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 2yr old that now sleeps on a bunk bed. The rail covers the 80% of the side of the twin bed and its perfect cause my son moves a lot while sleeping. You do need to have a hard base to secure it too, but even do the one his bed have is just 1" wide its perfect. The mattress makes enough pressure to keep the rail in place and we are extremely happy with it. Excellent quality and super easy to assemble, my husband didn't need to help me at all, just followed the instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

NEEDS wood between mattress and slide rail to work

01/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits a twin bed great!! You'll need a piece of plywood or something between the mattress and the slide rails though or you'll be hurting your fingers jamming them in between before you are able to slide the bed rail in and out!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 5 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
11/12/2011
By ,
Sharon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bed rail to use for my grandchildren when they visit and need to nap at our house. Quite pleased with the quality of the rail and very satisfied with the service I received ordering this item on Walmart.com with the Ship to Store option. I will definitely use this service again and I will probably order another bed rail for our other extra bedroom. I would recommend this item to others-----I am very satisfied with it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 6 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

Not worth it.

07/27/2012
By ,
Temecula, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased 2 of these for two toddlers transitioning into their "big" boy beds. I was very disappointed..there are an incredible amount of parts to assemble. It was quite difficult! The instruction manual is mainly pictures with no words of explanation. After I finally got the first rail assembled it was super flimsy. Needless to say, both bed rails were returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Review 7 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

Good bed rail

06/25/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So after purchasing the Regalo brand bed rail, this one is 1,000 times better. I left my review for the Regalo brand and as for this one, it came with good instructions, easy to put together, was actually white not off white like the Regalo one. I like that its longer and taller than the other bedrails which is good for smaller children who are transitioning from crib/toddler bed to a regular bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

This product was just what I was looking for.

03/13/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was just what I was looking for and the price was just right too. I've been using it and it works very well. It is well made and sturdy. It was easy to put together. Anybody who has children or has children who visit with them would love this product. It keeps those little rollers safe and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
06/17/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bed rail was not easy to put together, it had so many pieces, We wanted it to take with us on vacation but its so big and bulky it wont fit in the car. I'm returning this one and will continue looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 10 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

Poor design, easy to assemble but difficult to use

11/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish, Don't buy it. It is out of sight, because you use it once, then never use it again.
Contrary to other reviews it is not difficult to assemble, but...
The photo's make the rail look vertical, it isn't, it leans into the bed at quite an angle.
It's clamping mechanism means it leans tight into the mattress, so you cannot get sheets, blankets etc around the mattress without lifting the mattress completely from the bed each time. An then you'll have to go through the hassle of repositioning the mechanism again.
The single bar separating the 2 ends of the under-mattress mechanism means they often move at an angle, making the rail difficult to move in and out under the mattress.
No good for sprung bases, as the mechanism sits between mattress and sprung base.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

Good safety rail, excellent strength and design.

10/29/2012
By ,
Interlachen, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to prevent my wife who has alzhiemers and is very petite, from falling out of bed again. She had fallen in the middle of the night earlier and broke her collar bone and I did not want a repeat. This is very sturdy and is virtually the full length of the bed and it does a superb job. The one drawback is that with its slide under the mattress design I cannot utilize this functionality due to insufficent space to obtain leverage, and insufficient strength due to this combined with modern thick (heavy) mattresses, so I have to partially disassemble and remove the siderail to get her into the bed. This is not a very hard task to unsnap the rod connecting the ends and spread them to remove the rail. I am very happy with the product overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail

Great for just one sided

10/09/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine to use on a twin bed and it works great! Sturdy and stays securely in place. I don't think it would be big (long) enough to use on a queen bed. The only problem I have with it is after purchasing it, I found it in a Ross store three weeks later for $22.00. And....it had two sides, not just one bedrail! Ugh, doesn't always work that way.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
12/30/2012
By ,
Bradenton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little difficult to put together. All picture directions no words. Pin and screw must line up which is not in picture. Otherwise very good quality and good looking on the bed. Washable cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Summer Infant - Out-of-Sight Extra-Wide Bed Rail
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5