Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

The Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest looks luxurious and will enhance the interior design of any bedroom. The chest consists of four drawers that provide sufficient space for storing your extra pillows, sheets, and clothing. With its sleek design and dark wood finish, the chest complements both modern and classical bedroom appointments. The drawers feature metallic runners and safety stops for easy sliding and access. Further, the dark wood bedroom drawer chest includes a patented safety mechanism that allows only one drawer to be opened at a time. Get the Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest and pair it with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection to further complete the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(239 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
65
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation83%198 out of 239reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
65
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

it looks nice but its cheaply made

12/19/2012
By ,
arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
even thought you can open one drawer at a time , so u have to close one drawer before you can open the other one. and the wood is very thing . i guess it look nice ,didnt take that long to put together and i use it all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very elegant

06/03/2013
By ,
Maspeth,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks super beautiful and elegant in my living room but took a while to assemble its also very well for those who have children you know how mucho they love to touch everything and this one locks all the drawer when one is already open so i would100% recommended as a great furniture
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful Drawer Chest-no regrets!

07/21/2012
By ,
Amarillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase as this drawer chest looks beautiful, drawes slide smoothly and it is a great buy for money I spent.
Positive: Beautiful look! It is designed with a special way, so no nails are visible, so there is nothing to cover with those plastic round things that usually come with furniture. Drawers open smoothly and they are easy to adjust. One drawer can only be open when all others are closed (I guess it is a safety feature). It is also easy to assemble. My husband and I spent about 4 hours (use of electrical screw speed up the whole process). Size is perfect for our one bedroom apartment.
Negative: Two pieces were scratched when we pulled them out from the box. Yea, I was sad, but we contacted WalMart and they shipped another chest in 4 days at no cost. Also, keep in mind that this furniture is not a real wood. It still looks nice, but in my opinion you have to be extra careful with that (prevent bumping and scratching) if you want to enjoy this chest for at least 7-10 years. Another minus is that it is heavy, but once again two of us was able to place it into the desired location of the room before we put drawers inside.
Overall, you cannot beat the price! Furthermore, I have a nightstand from the same collection and am really happy with that as well!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

love it

02/21/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price; very sturdy not like Ikea furniture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks nice and very functional

08/26/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The biggest downside of this product was that it takes several hours to assemble. If you have the time and energy it is worth the effort. It looks good and has good instructions on assembly. Some of the hardware could be improved. For instance some of the screws were too soft and had a tendency to to strip. This made it diffuclt to tighten all the assemblies as tight as I would have wanted. This leads to a little wobble in the completed furniture piece.
I would recoomend this for a second bedroom and not a primary used set of drawers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great product great price!

02/23/2014
By ,
Virginia beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dresser! Great value, only draw back in the assembly. Took hubby 4 hours to assemble. As long your prepared for the assembly you will be fine! The end product is worth it! Totally love this dresser!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Better than expected

09/12/2013
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to replace the well worn 3 drawer dressers my husband and I bought almost 13 years ago. We needed something sturdy with plenty of drawer space. I also wanted something that would fit seamlessly into the modern/casual design theme of our bedroom. This 4 drawer dresser fit PERFECTLY. Not only is it a handsome piece of furniture but it is very durable. I must admit that it did take quite some time to put together, but in the end it was well worth the work. The drawers are spacious and definitely not shallow. Obviously the company takes pride in detail and precision and I certainly appreciate that. The safety feature is a real bonus. It does take some getting used to and hopefully we won't break them before we actually do get used to not being able to open more than one drawer at a time. I think someone with smaller children (babies and toddlers) will really appreciate that feature. The only con I would say is that the finish does not hold up well to dings. Even though I tried to be extra careful removing the pieces from the box, I still managed to scratch or ding the finish in 4 or 5 visible places. I don't show my bedroom off to anyone so it's not that big of a deal to me. So, I give it two thumbs up. We've had the furniture for less than a month so if it doesn't hold up over time, rest assured, I will be back. The instructions suggest that you put the furniture together on carpet or the box. I would say the same. With all the maneuvering you have to do, take the extra minute to be sure you have plenty of space and that you are on a carpet or other soft surface. Another reviewer suggested to put the dresser together as close to its actual designated space. I concur. This dresser is heavy and moving it after it's put together and not messing up the finish can be quite tricky. If you have someone who can help you, ask them to help you because this dresser is heavy. Did I mention this dresser is heavy? This dresser is not like other lesser expensive furniture that you might expect to buy from Walmart. It is solid, sturdy, and heavy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

very very nice

09/09/2014
By ,
IND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
and yes friends I would recommend this to you if you looking for a very nice 4-drawer chest : ) BG
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice dresser

03/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this 4/5 star bc one part of the leg cracked when we went to stand it up, exactly as the directions said to. Didn't affect the stability of it, it was one of those cam screws that just popped through the surface of the wood. Kinda hard to explain unless you're looking at it.other then that, it looks so nice put together, bought the long dresser to match and it all looks great. It looks more expensive then it is. The drawers are tricky, people say they don't go in right but they do, it takes adjusting though. I almost paid close to $650 from a furniture store for very similar furniture pieces...before deciding to look online once more to see if I could find something comparable. Many reviews are bad but if you assemble it correctly and carefully, and are careful when you go to stand it up the first Time and caredful when moving it, you'll be fine. The knobs don't look cheap like I thought they did, but you can always change that easily by getting new ones.for the price, it's not that bad at all. I'm very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

I am very pleased with the purchase.

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this dresser for my daughters bedroom. The color is exactly as pictured. It definitely has a more expensive look than the price. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Love it

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really beautiful piece. Does take a while to set up......should be a two person job. Made in USA, and you can tell!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

It was easy... and it looks fantastic!

12/31/2013
By ,
Fowler, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drawer chest looks just as it does in the picture. My fiancee and I put it together, all we needed was two screwdrivers (we are 24-25), the instructions were very straightforward. The package is very heavy so you will need two to carry it, make sure you place it where you plan on keeping it before adding the drawers. The expresso color makes it look like expensive wood (it is plywood). However, it is very sturdy and elegant looking. When you put the two sides together make sure it is laying on the ground so that you can push it together and it is even before tightening the screws all around, If you try to do this standing up it is likely you will damage the product because you are connecting many pieces at once and if you leave gaps the drawers will not fit.
Take your time building it, do not be in a rush, you don't want to scratch it.
I am very pleased with my new drawer chest, best price for value, first time ordering from Walmart and I have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Excellent

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes about 4 hours to build but you can see its good quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks great...be ready for assembly time

01/27/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price we paid...this is a good bargain. Be very careful upon assembly--my husband stepped on a piece and cracked all the screws out of one side--luckily he's handy and could redrill in other places to make it work. Shipped in sturdy box (extremely heavy) with excellent packing but there was an indent in the side panel and finish chipped off in a very small area--I don't believe it was caused in shipping but not noticeable where this is positioned so it was no big deal and I am not a picky person.
I've always liked Sauder products and this does look nice for a budget piece. Don't expect high end hardwood quality but for the price, it looks very nice and sturdy. The four drawers surprisingly hold more than I anticipated. The color is a very deep dark coffee ground brown.
If you are picking up at the store--you'll be surprised at how heavy it is but the box is compact enough to fit in a standard size car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Chest of drawers

05/05/2011
By ,
Livermore, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this piece looks much more expensive than it is. It's a Sauder product and in general, we find they make good, sturdy furniture pieces. Took maybe an hour and a half to put together, but went together fairly easily. The only problem we had is that it was scratched and chipped in a few places, which weren't noticable until it was all put together. We used a furniture "scratch eraser" pencil and it disguised the marks well. For the price, this is a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

looks good, poor materials

07/18/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This chest arrives in many, many, many pieces. Assembly was not difficult, but was time-consuming. It is made of pressed wood. Once assembled, it seems reasonably sturdy, but some sections are rather flimsy (top back is a piece of cardboard, drawer bottoms are VERY thin). It is rather difficult to get the drawers to be level. Mine are close, but not really how I'd like them to look. The drawers also slip out of position very easily and are sometimes difficult to pull open. Since I won't be using the drawers daily and I've invested several hours of my life in assembling it, I'll keep it, but if it was something I would use daily, I believe I would return it. I suppose I should have questioned the rather low price more than I did! I don't plan to purchase something like this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Lovely

01/22/2011
By ,
Tucson AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is beautiful color and all it looks just like the pictures. It was a bit scratched as all of the other furniture I have ordered has been but I chose not to send it back. There is a locking feature on these that is great it only allows you to have one drawer open at a time witch prevents little children from climbing on it. Overall I love this piece and would purchase it again. It is made from particle board so please watch out for putting glasses on it that might sweat or any other moisture it will swell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Modern Look

02/10/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this dresser with the night stand, it was quite easy to put together but a bit time consuming.
But the parts are not too strong so one of the boards broke during assembly and i had to have it sent back. However the nigh stand is working perfectly fine and so far the replacement dresser has not given any problems.
Shipping was very quick and there was no nicks or damage to the exterior of the pieces.
But you have to be careful when putting it together.
Overall, good product for the price and gives my room a very chic and modern look.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

My 9 yr old picked this for his room!

08/12/2014
By ,
albuquerque, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son liked the way this dresser looker online and wanted it for his room. I read the past reviews and liked what I read and decided to purchase 2 of them for both my sons. I can't say enough how happy I am with the way they look and how solid they are when put together. They are worth every penny and most of all my boys like the way they look in their room. HAPPY CUSTOMER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful chest

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this! It's very sturdy and looks beautiful. It did take a while to build but that was expected. To me the only downside was back part of the dresser. Part of it is that thin wood that you hammer on. Overall it's a great product and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 218 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next