Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

The Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest looks luxurious and will enhance the interior design of any bedroom. The chest consists of four drawers that provide sufficient space for storing your extra pillows, sheets, and clothing. With its sleek design and dark wood finish, the chest complements both modern and classical bedroom appointments. The drawers feature metallic runners and safety stops for easy sliding and access. Further, the dark wood bedroom drawer chest includes a patented safety mechanism that allows only one drawer to be opened at a time. Get the Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest and pair it with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection to further complete the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(237 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
65
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation83%196 out of 237reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 173 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
120
4 stars
65
3 stars
19
2 stars
21
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
07/24/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, It's great. We did sight to store shipping and had not one scratch. A friend came to see our new room and she was amazed when I told her this was my new Cheep Wal-mart dresser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

difficult to put together but worth the effort

11/08/2013
By ,
San Luis Obispo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my new dresser - it looks great, very sturdy and matches the rest of my bedroom furn. The only problem I had was putting the drawers together. None of the particle board pieces had letters on them (even though it shows them with letters in the directions) so it took me a while to figure what went with what. Once I figured out how to put the pieces together it went smoothly.
One thing I did to help me not lose anything was to take all the screws, nails, etc. and put them in their own small zipper sandwich bag and labeled the bag so when I needed them I just looked for the bag with the right letter. Very simple but saved so much time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks great!

11/24/2011
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Directions are great, just have to take your time & follow them correctly. Took several hours but not a bad piece for the price! Just overwhelming at first to see all the pieces. Need patience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful Product and SIMPLE Assembly

05/13/2013
By ,
Endwell, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was leery about purchasing this product only because of the reviews detailing assembly horror stories. Well, I did not have that experience at all. The instructions were very detailed and clear, assembly was easy, and the product was perfect, aside from one area where the finish was rubbed away. I assembled the dresser myself and it took about 3 hours -- that's including several breaks. I'm impressed with the quality and the features. I also purchased the mirror which is just as nice.
It is helpful to assemble on a carpet, both for movement, and to protect the finish. Once it's assembled, it can be moved easily without the drawers. Please note that the dresser package weighs about 130lbs, so you'll most likely need help hauling it into your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very handsome dresser!

12/17/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two, now. Very sturdy. Drawer operation is very smooth. Nice roomy drawers! Using in Master Bedroom.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
11/29/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not recommended, not easy to put together missing assembly, broken pieces , for this price not way
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
10/24/2012
By ,
Wilkes-Barre, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together. Finished product is very nice. Did arrive with some scratches but they were easy to cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks Like High-End Furniture

02/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice, sturdy, high quality piece. I'm going back for the night stand. Made in USA!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
06/13/2012
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found parts of the instructions confusing, though the finished product was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

GREAT QUAILITY. LOOKS GREAT...

02/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took awhile to put together, but great quality and drawers work perfectly. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Heavy

05/28/2012
By ,
Metairie, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good material, nice quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Best dresser I ever bought

08/07/2012
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was more than I expected for the money. Furniture at this price point is usually mostly paper. I was expecting a full paper backing, but half was pressed wood. The drawers have paper bottoms, but they are much sturdier than I expected. It takes about 2.5 hours to put this together by yourself, but you don't need any special tools, just some patience. The instructions were easy to follow, just be careful when you get to the drawers because they are a little tricky. The finish and hardware are gorgeous. I was worried about the height for my seven year old, but it turned out perfect. He can even use the top drawer just fine, and there is a locking mechanism that keeps him from opening more than one drawer at a time. So I felt safe putting his TV on top.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Smart looking dresser

02/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser is very nice looking and extremely sturdy. It is a great buy for the home and relatively painless on your budget. Great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

HEAVIER THAN HECK AND CONSTANT DRAWER TROUBLE

10/25/2012
By ,
Michign
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dresser was ridiculously heavy and difficult to assemble.
I have had constant trouble with the drawers locking shut, locking open, etc.
One of the most frustrating things is that they cannot handle much weight. Without over stuffing them, the bottom sags, which causes it to catch and not close all the way. The front cover came off of one of the drawers when trying to fix it.
I wish I would not have waited too long to return it. Even though it's heavier than heck, I would have brought it back. It's poor functional design begins to fall apart and frustrate quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great value but set your expectations

08/17/2013
By ,
Washington DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Know that this is not solid wood furniture and that it is laminated engineered wood. If you understand that and know the differences between the two then this is a great value if you don't mind having engineered wood furniture. It does what it's supposed to, the safety feature that only allows one drawer to open at a time works well. this took about an hr to assemble. Also, Sauder is great about replacing damaged parts, I had 2 pieces where the edges were either crushed or had the laminate rub off. They sent me replacement parts within a week. Overall, very happy, but keep In mind that since this is engineered wood, it does have sharp corners in places like the top of the chest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Not bad for a novice furniture builder. :-)

04/09/2013
By ,
Reseda, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 6.5 hours of putting this beautiful piece together by myself I really love how it looks in the bedroom. Although I did not mind doing this all by myself I would recommend you have two people or a hard flat surface like a large work table to assemble it together.
The only draw back I saw is that the pre-cut holes for the locking mechanism they use to assemble the legs and side of dresser is not deep enough. When you tighten up as instructed it beaks apart the wood so you will need to apply some liquid nails to it. Also be careful as to not put any pressure on the sides until EVERYTHING is assembled.
The drawers were easy and fun to put together and I was surprised I got them right the first time with no adjustments needed. The color of the unit is a dark chocolate brown and will go with any dark pieces you have. Oh one more thing make sure you lay everything out so you can check to make sure all the pieces are there and I used a re-chargeable screwdriver which made a difference. Also when the company packs the screws they should package them in a separate bag and not all thrown together. I believe this is the reason why there were not enough screws as per the instructions, but other than that I would recommend this beautiful piece to anyone who asks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

acceptable

01/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would call this mediocre acceptability. we like the style and the look the price is affordable for those on a budget the quality is mediocre. if you're careful and take your time putting it together it should do the job as expected. we were disappointed that a touchup pen was not included. I would recommend this to anyone on a budget with the patience and the ability to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very nice piece of furniture.

02/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the quality of the furniture. Very durable. So satisfied that i will be ordering the matching nightstands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Cheap and missing pieces

07/14/2012
By ,
Fairmont, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This took my husband over three hours to put together. After he got almost the whole thing put together, we found out we were missing some of the screws for the drawers, so we had to try to make do with what we had. When we put the drawers in the dresser the top drawer was completely off and could not be pushed in. The holes are predrilled so these were apparently done wrong. He tried to make his own just so we did not have to return the whole dresser after it was already all put together so the drawers now rub and are not straight. We are thinking that we are just going to return it to the store and go with something else. I like the look of it, but it is made very cheap. Hopefully everyone else will have better luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Damaged

01/17/2014
By ,
Beverly Hills, fl.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When the product arrived the box was badly damaged and when opened I found that the top of dresser had dent in it at the front edge. Other than that it's nice and was easy to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 216 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  11 Next