Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

The Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest looks luxurious and will enhance the interior design of any bedroom. The chest consists of four drawers that provide sufficient space for storing your extra pillows, sheets, and clothing. With its sleek design and dark wood finish, the chest complements both modern and classical bedroom appointments. The drawers feature metallic runners and safety stops for easy sliding and access. Further, the dark wood bedroom drawer chest includes a patented safety mechanism that allows only one drawer to be opened at a time. Get the Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest and pair it with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection to further complete the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.097 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
75
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation84%233 out of 278reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 179 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
142
4 stars
75
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great Product... Have Patience!

08/01/2014
By ,
Reeders, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser is beautiful. The right size for my slightly smaller bedroom.
Packaging protected the dresser during shipment, and there was no damage to any of the pieces when I opened the box.
Just be patient, the directions are specific enough, but you have to follow them carefully.
I like the ability of not being able to open more than one drawer at a time, to prevent the dresser from tipping forward. Take a chance and order this item... You won't be sorry!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Eeeek Scratches!

08/07/2014
By ,
Sealy, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I will start off by saying that the chest is a nice color and nice looking when put together.
It does take a fair amount of time to put together.
Lastly, the three bottom drawers all had notches or scratches in the front of the drawers and we need to find out how to get replacement fronts.
WE took pictures with iPhone, but not sure how I would load them. Hopefully others will not have the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Exactly what I wanted.

02/17/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered two of these for my kids room since they love to pull clothes out. It took 2 weeks to arrive at site to store which I wasn't too happy about but I got it home and it took about 3 hours to put together, I could of done it faster but took my time. The instructions were clear and the pieces aren't hard to tell apart you just have to pay attention to the picture and set them out ahead of time. There was a small crack on the bottom of the top piece of the dresser, it wasn't a big deal though. The drawers were kind of tricky and I had to rearrange them so they glided in smoothly. The one big problem i had is a piece to the top drawer was missing, so I'm going to have to call and have it shipped out. It's a pretty sturdy dresser and I really love the lock feature, it does scratch a little easy but a furniture pen can fix that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

TOTAL Assembly Required

02/04/2012
By ,
Grand Haven, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While this item looks as though it might be sturdy and have a decent appearance after it is assembled, I am in shock that it needs COMPLETE assembly! I have assembled a good deal of furniture purchased from Walmart in the past, but this item arrived in a 4" flat box with over a HUNDRED pieces to assemble! I consider this totally ridiculous. Even the drawers had no assembly what-so-ever, and were all just flat pieces. This situation makes me long for the "good old days" when you bought completed furniture that was already assembled at a reasonable price. I cannot in good conscience recommend this product to anyone except, perhaps, a master cabinet maker. Totally disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful chest

08/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this! It's very sturdy and looks beautiful. It did take a while to build but that was expected. To me the only downside was back part of the dresser. Part of it is that thin wood that you hammer on. Overall it's a great product and I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

A Dented Product with poor labeling

07/26/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product looks just as it was pictured, however the setup was difficult and the product I received had several 2 dents and about a one inch paint chip on the top of the chest. I did not realize the dents and paint chipping until I had completely put the dresser together. This particular product was difficult to put together because 95% of the parts was not labeled. It took about 7-8 hours for the product to be assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Much better than expected

12/04/2012
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great chest for the price. It was of far better quality than I expected. The drawers of the chest are of good depth and width. Another feature of the chest that I did not know before I purchased it, if one drawer is opened, even slightly, the other drawers "lock". This is great safety feature, especially since this was put in a child's room.
It did take about two hours to put together, but for the price, it was well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Hard chest of drawers to assemble for a beginner

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this chest of drawers, and it arrived promptly in mail which was great. However, we have only assembled simple furniture in the past, and this product took two of us more than 5 hours to assemble. There were a lot of different parts to assemble, and although the instructions were detailed and clear, it took a lot of time and patience. The other disappointment was that one of the drawers doesn't close properly - and since you cannot open one drawer until the others are closed, we have had issues with opening and closing the drawers. At one point, all the drawers seemed to lock and it look us a long time to open. The product looks really nice which is a positive, but the other aspects described above have made this a disappointing purchase for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very cheaply made

10/29/2013
By ,
Bethel, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these chests. They do "look" nice; however they both broke apart while putting them together. They are made from pressboard and one slight twist of a screw too tight or move of the chest makes it break apart. Would not recommend this chest.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice dresser

03/08/2011
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only owned this dresser a few days now, but I love it. It took a few hours to assemble by myself, but it wasn't difficult. I also purchased the matching nightstand. There are a couple of small blemishes on the drawers which I should be able to color in easily with a marker, but that is really my only complaint. It turned out much nicer than I thought it would for the price. It was perfect for my bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

eye-catching!

10/13/2012
By ,
Ocean Shores, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Other than a couple scuffs on the edges of drawer faces (possibly from rubbing against other parts inside the box) it looks beautiful and adds to any room. It did take a while to put together, but the instructions were fairly clear. It holds a lot, stands strong, and will be used for a long time. Even though it is made of particle board, I think age and use will add to its character.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

dresser buyer

04/07/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the wooden part did not have holes to screw on like other similar wooden parts. One little chip and faded scratch on some sides of the front drawers.
The FedEx delivery person would not bring this 121 lbs product on the second floor at the door. He or she left it on the apartment office for us to ask the apartment associate to deliver it on our door.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
08/25/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser took a while to assemble, but was a nice sturdy piece of furniture. Nice lookinging, and works well. It was delivered well ahead of schedule and not a piece scratched. People who see it think it was delivered from a major furniture store. My daughter loves it! She is 19 years old so it is not just for a baby's room. Drawers are spacious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Love my Furniture!

01/12/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the entire bedroom set of this furniture. It really adds a classy feel to my room. I love it, and it's perfectly functional. Just like any other dark stained wood it can scratch so be careful during the assembly process and while moving it in the room. I hope you decide to buy this set and love it as much as I do! INCREDIBLE VALUE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
02/20/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I a bsolutely love it!!! it looks wonderful in my daughters room. htere were no marks on it when i recieved it and the instructions were very easy to follow. I would definatly buy sauder again!!I've always had good experiances with them!! this is not the first sauder furnituer i have bought and i've never had a bad experiance!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
09/18/2012
By ,
Columbus Junction, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser came well packed- even covered in plastic wrap- which was nice since I picked it up on a rainy day. Unlike other reviewers I had NO damage to any pieces. It was in great shape. It took me about 4 hours to put together by myself, but I was taking my time. There are a lot of parts, but I found the instructions very easy to follow, far more so than some I've used in the past.
The dresser itself is beautiful-exactly what I was looking for. The body of the dresser seems very heavy duty and while the drawers seem of good quality- I'm unsure whether it would stand up to a child or teenager- but that was the quality I was expecting for the price. I did not install the drawer actuators so that I can open more than one drawer at a time- I read other reviews of other Sauder products with this feature that had problems with it-so chose not to. It is easy to leave this part out.
I looked at numerous dressers at furniture stores that were of the same quality as this- but $200-300 more- so I feel it was a great deal.
I like it so much I will probably purchase the six drawer dresser for my older teenagers room.
Very classy looking and a great addition to my bedroom for a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
09/19/2012
By ,
Dyersburg, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the price. It came in perfect shape. It took several hours to put together but was worth it in the end. Very sturdy and well constructed. The drawers were bigger than a chest I bought from a local furniture store. I am super happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Horrible buy..

04/22/2013
By ,
atlanta, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought to of these drawer chests 6 months ago and a month later everything fell apart. One cracked down the middle, the other cracked also and all the drawers fell apart also. Waste on money, please do not buy, you will regret it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
11/07/2011
By ,
Far Rockaway, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product, it's worth the money. Nice design, will give your bedroom a lift. Comes together beautifully - very sturdy - built to last a while. One thing to mention though... it's very heavy - be prepared to put some muscle into the lift. I recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha
08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such a cute dresser for a great price. We bought two of them and it took my hubby about 4 hours to put together the first one and a little over an hour for the second one. They're super cute and don't feel cheap at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 257 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  13 Next