Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

The Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest looks luxurious and will enhance the interior design of any bedroom. The chest consists of four drawers that provide sufficient space for storing your extra pillows, sheets, and clothing. With its sleek design and dark wood finish, the chest complements both modern and classical bedroom appointments. The drawers feature metallic runners and safety stops for easy sliding and access. Further, the dark wood bedroom drawer chest includes a patented safety mechanism that allows only one drawer to be opened at a time. Get the Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest and pair it with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection to further complete the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(292 Reviews) 270
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
83
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation84%246 out of 292reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 192 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
147
4 stars
83
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very elegant

06/03/2013
By ,
Maspeth,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks super beautiful and elegant in my living room but took a while to assemble its also very well for those who have children you know how mucho they love to touch everything and this one locks all the drawer when one is already open so i would100% recommended as a great furniture
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful Drawer Chest-no regrets!

07/21/2012
By ,
Amarillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase as this drawer chest looks beautiful, drawes slide smoothly and it is a great buy for money I spent.
Positive: Beautiful look! It is designed with a special way, so no nails are visible, so there is nothing to cover with those plastic round things that usually come with furniture. Drawers open smoothly and they are easy to adjust. One drawer can only be open when all others are closed (I guess it is a safety feature). It is also easy to assemble. My husband and I spent about 4 hours (use of electrical screw speed up the whole process). Size is perfect for our one bedroom apartment.
Negative: Two pieces were scratched when we pulled them out from the box. Yea, I was sad, but we contacted WalMart and they shipped another chest in 4 days at no cost. Also, keep in mind that this furniture is not a real wood. It still looks nice, but in my opinion you have to be extra careful with that (prevent bumping and scratching) if you want to enjoy this chest for at least 7-10 years. Another minus is that it is heavy, but once again two of us was able to place it into the desired location of the room before we put drawers inside.
Overall, you cannot beat the price! Furthermore, I have a nightstand from the same collection and am really happy with that as well!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks nice and very functional

08/26/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The biggest downside of this product was that it takes several hours to assemble. If you have the time and energy it is worth the effort. It looks good and has good instructions on assembly. Some of the hardware could be improved. For instance some of the screws were too soft and had a tendency to to strip. This made it diffuclt to tighten all the assemblies as tight as I would have wanted. This leads to a little wobble in the completed furniture piece.
I would recoomend this for a second bedroom and not a primary used set of drawers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

love it

02/21/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price; very sturdy not like Ikea furniture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great product great price!

02/23/2014
By ,
Virginia beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dresser! Great value, only draw back in the assembly. Took hubby 4 hours to assemble. As long your prepared for the assembly you will be fine! The end product is worth it! Totally love this dresser!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Better than expected

09/12/2013
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to replace the well worn 3 drawer dressers my husband and I bought almost 13 years ago. We needed something sturdy with plenty of drawer space. I also wanted something that would fit seamlessly into the modern/casual design theme of our bedroom. This 4 drawer dresser fit PERFECTLY. Not only is it a handsome piece of furniture but it is very durable. I must admit that it did take quite some time to put together, but in the end it was well worth the work. The drawers are spacious and definitely not shallow. Obviously the company takes pride in detail and precision and I certainly appreciate that. The safety feature is a real bonus. It does take some getting used to and hopefully we won't break them before we actually do get used to not being able to open more than one drawer at a time. I think someone with smaller children (babies and toddlers) will really appreciate that feature. The only con I would say is that the finish does not hold up well to dings. Even though I tried to be extra careful removing the pieces from the box, I still managed to scratch or ding the finish in 4 or 5 visible places. I don't show my bedroom off to anyone so it's not that big of a deal to me. So, I give it two thumbs up. We've had the furniture for less than a month so if it doesn't hold up over time, rest assured, I will be back. The instructions suggest that you put the furniture together on carpet or the box. I would say the same. With all the maneuvering you have to do, take the extra minute to be sure you have plenty of space and that you are on a carpet or other soft surface. Another reviewer suggested to put the dresser together as close to its actual designated space. I concur. This dresser is heavy and moving it after it's put together and not messing up the finish can be quite tricky. If you have someone who can help you, ask them to help you because this dresser is heavy. Did I mention this dresser is heavy? This dresser is not like other lesser expensive furniture that you might expect to buy from Walmart. It is solid, sturdy, and heavy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

I absolutely love it!!!

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this chest for my first apartment, so I was really on a tight budget considering the fact that I would be spending a couple dollars well to furnish my place. So when I found this, I couldn't have asked for better, especially for the price. It looks just as good as the pictures display and it looks classy. I have been to many furniture stores and I could not find a chest that is of such good quality for such a low price.
The drawers are very deep and can hold quite a bit of things. They also have a locking device which only Allows you to open one drawer at a time; it took me some time to get used to that, but you can always skip that section when doing the installation. The chest is also very very sturdy.
The installation took 2 people. One person could have done it but since I'm not very handy, I had to ask a friend for help. It took approximately 2 hrs to assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Excellent piece of furniture for the money!

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The box came in just a few days and was VERY heavy so I knew I had bought something of somewhat value. It took me around 4.5 hours to put together. Hardest part was the safety measure they have so you can't open more then two drawers at once. Which me being 60 years old probably could have forgone that step but didn't.
I loved the part in the instructions about 1/2 way through where there is a picture of a beverage. It says, "Time for a refreshment break". Thought that was funny. I laughed and thought it should have shown a liquor drink. lol
A few of the parts did have either a dent or scratch but with a black marker was able to cover it up pretty good.
The drawers are very sturdy and pull out nicely. It looks like I paid a lot of money for this piece.
It says to not put a TV on top of it but I did. To those who say it is very heavy to move, I just put those gliders under each leg and I use ONE finger to push it to where I wanted it.
Overall this is a great item for the price and has a very expensive look.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice dresser

03/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this 4/5 star bc one part of the leg cracked when we went to stand it up, exactly as the directions said to. Didn't affect the stability of it, it was one of those cam screws that just popped through the surface of the wood. Kinda hard to explain unless you're looking at it.other then that, it looks so nice put together, bought the long dresser to match and it all looks great. It looks more expensive then it is. The drawers are tricky, people say they don't go in right but they do, it takes adjusting though. I almost paid close to $650 from a furniture store for very similar furniture pieces...before deciding to look online once more to see if I could find something comparable. Many reviews are bad but if you assemble it correctly and carefully, and are careful when you go to stand it up the first Time and caredful when moving it, you'll be fine. The knobs don't look cheap like I thought they did, but you can always change that easily by getting new ones.for the price, it's not that bad at all. I'm very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Good for the price

06/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dresser is nice looking and the drawers pull out smoothly and push in quietly. It just doesn't feel super solid, but for the price I'm happy. It's for my five year olds room so the size is perfect. It was put together in about 2 1/2 hours.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Tricky drawer asssembly

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would give this a 5 star review but after it was totally put together the drawers would not open. Of course it was the weekend and I got no reply for 2 days. I had to take the back off and disengage the safety mechanism on 1 drawer. Follow the instructions closely and look at the photo as the pictures do not show how important it is to get the clips in exactly the right spot (I mean with less than 1/16" difference). I left 1 unhooked in case it happens again and it is fine now. It arrived with a little damage to the outside of one of the side panels but not enough to wait a week to get a new one. It is pretty heavy and you should assemble very close to where it will be used as you won't want to move it much. Bear in mind it is not per-assembled and does not give you many opportunities for picking it up after it is assembled. After we touched up the dent on the side and got the drawers working we love it. We have added a night stand and I have a bookcase that needs to be put together. This will finish off our sons room. Love the color. Almost black, but it is not black as many reviews say. It is definitely a dark wood tone. Jamocha, not black. I would be leery to buy for a toddler or infant as it definitely has a life span of less than 20 years. It is great for our son who will be out of the house before it goes. You get what you pay for. I would by this over again. We have several Sauder products and I love the price point and the ability to match pieces.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

My Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this chest because, first of all, it was a breeze to assemble; but after assembling, I love the extra space it provides for my seasonal clothing. It is the perfect solution I was looking for.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

looks good, poor materials

07/18/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This chest arrives in many, many, many pieces. Assembly was not difficult, but was time-consuming. It is made of pressed wood. Once assembled, it seems reasonably sturdy, but some sections are rather flimsy (top back is a piece of cardboard, drawer bottoms are VERY thin). It is rather difficult to get the drawers to be level. Mine are close, but not really how I'd like them to look. The drawers also slip out of position very easily and are sometimes difficult to pull open. Since I won't be using the drawers daily and I've invested several hours of my life in assembling it, I'll keep it, but if it was something I would use daily, I believe I would return it. I suppose I should have questioned the rather low price more than I did! I don't plan to purchase something like this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

A good purchase

06/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to install and working good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder

06/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks nice, but disappointed in finish. Scratches and dents way to easy. A bear to put together also.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sturdy but came with a scratch on top

06/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a decent dresser for the price but seems it can scratch easy and does show all marks, as in fingerprints etc. Yet I went with the darker wood, so I just covered the scratch with permanent marker.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

It was easy... and it looks fantastic!

12/31/2013
By ,
Fowler, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This drawer chest looks just as it does in the picture. My fiancee and I put it together, all we needed was two screwdrivers (we are 24-25), the instructions were very straightforward. The package is very heavy so you will need two to carry it, make sure you place it where you plan on keeping it before adding the drawers. The expresso color makes it look like expensive wood (it is plywood). However, it is very sturdy and elegant looking. When you put the two sides together make sure it is laying on the ground so that you can push it together and it is even before tightening the screws all around, If you try to do this standing up it is likely you will damage the product because you are connecting many pieces at once and if you leave gaps the drawers will not fit.
Take your time building it, do not be in a rush, you don't want to scratch it.
I am very pleased with my new drawer chest, best price for value, first time ordering from Walmart and I have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice!

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase! It's a very nice piece of furniture for the money. Two of the drawer fronts were damaged during shipment. I contacted Sauder and they shipped 2 new drawer fronts within two days, no questions asked. The dresser took a few hours to put together by myself. The dresser is very solid and sturdy. Very pleased overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Decent piece

05/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was kind of difficult to put together (we also bought the night stands with it). There were a few pieces missing so it sat half put together in our room for a week or so, but sauder was very helpful and got our missing pieces to us no questions asked. I like the way it looks, especially for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

good value

05/31/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recomend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 271 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next