Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

The Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest looks luxurious and will enhance the interior design of any bedroom. The chest consists of four drawers that provide sufficient space for storing your extra pillows, sheets, and clothing. With its sleek design and dark wood finish, the chest complements both modern and classical bedroom appointments. The drawers feature metallic runners and safety stops for easy sliding and access. Further, the dark wood bedroom drawer chest includes a patented safety mechanism that allows only one drawer to be opened at a time. Get the Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest and pair it with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection to further complete the look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
73
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation84%229 out of 274reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 179 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
73
3 stars
23
2 stars
22
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Very elegant

06/03/2013
By ,
Maspeth,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks super beautiful and elegant in my living room but took a while to assemble its also very well for those who have children you know how mucho they love to touch everything and this one locks all the drawer when one is already open so i would100% recommended as a great furniture
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Beautiful Drawer Chest-no regrets!

07/21/2012
By ,
Amarillo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this purchase as this drawer chest looks beautiful, drawes slide smoothly and it is a great buy for money I spent.
Positive: Beautiful look! It is designed with a special way, so no nails are visible, so there is nothing to cover with those plastic round things that usually come with furniture. Drawers open smoothly and they are easy to adjust. One drawer can only be open when all others are closed (I guess it is a safety feature). It is also easy to assemble. My husband and I spent about 4 hours (use of electrical screw speed up the whole process). Size is perfect for our one bedroom apartment.
Negative: Two pieces were scratched when we pulled them out from the box. Yea, I was sad, but we contacted WalMart and they shipped another chest in 4 days at no cost. Also, keep in mind that this furniture is not a real wood. It still looks nice, but in my opinion you have to be extra careful with that (prevent bumping and scratching) if you want to enjoy this chest for at least 7-10 years. Another minus is that it is heavy, but once again two of us was able to place it into the desired location of the room before we put drawers inside.
Overall, you cannot beat the price! Furthermore, I have a nightstand from the same collection and am really happy with that as well!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Looks nice and very functional

08/26/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The biggest downside of this product was that it takes several hours to assemble. If you have the time and energy it is worth the effort. It looks good and has good instructions on assembly. Some of the hardware could be improved. For instance some of the screws were too soft and had a tendency to to strip. This made it diffuclt to tighten all the assemblies as tight as I would have wanted. This leads to a little wobble in the completed furniture piece.
I would recoomend this for a second bedroom and not a primary used set of drawers.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

love it

02/21/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price; very sturdy not like Ikea furniture.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great product great price!

02/23/2014
By ,
Virginia beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dresser! Great value, only draw back in the assembly. Took hubby 4 hours to assemble. As long your prepared for the assembly you will be fine! The end product is worth it! Totally love this dresser!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Better than expected

09/12/2013
By ,
Longview, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to replace the well worn 3 drawer dressers my husband and I bought almost 13 years ago. We needed something sturdy with plenty of drawer space. I also wanted something that would fit seamlessly into the modern/casual design theme of our bedroom. This 4 drawer dresser fit PERFECTLY. Not only is it a handsome piece of furniture but it is very durable. I must admit that it did take quite some time to put together, but in the end it was well worth the work. The drawers are spacious and definitely not shallow. Obviously the company takes pride in detail and precision and I certainly appreciate that. The safety feature is a real bonus. It does take some getting used to and hopefully we won't break them before we actually do get used to not being able to open more than one drawer at a time. I think someone with smaller children (babies and toddlers) will really appreciate that feature. The only con I would say is that the finish does not hold up well to dings. Even though I tried to be extra careful removing the pieces from the box, I still managed to scratch or ding the finish in 4 or 5 visible places. I don't show my bedroom off to anyone so it's not that big of a deal to me. So, I give it two thumbs up. We've had the furniture for less than a month so if it doesn't hold up over time, rest assured, I will be back. The instructions suggest that you put the furniture together on carpet or the box. I would say the same. With all the maneuvering you have to do, take the extra minute to be sure you have plenty of space and that you are on a carpet or other soft surface. Another reviewer suggested to put the dresser together as close to its actual designated space. I concur. This dresser is heavy and moving it after it's put together and not messing up the finish can be quite tricky. If you have someone who can help you, ask them to help you because this dresser is heavy. Did I mention this dresser is heavy? This dresser is not like other lesser expensive furniture that you might expect to buy from Walmart. It is solid, sturdy, and heavy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice looking chest.

01/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Item shipped quickly and arrived without damage with all the necessary parts.
The chest is for my 77 year old father, he put most of it together by himself and I helped with the back and drawers. It's your typical furniture assembly, pay attention to the instruction details and you will have no problems.
End result is a very nice looking and sturdy piece of furniture. The color is dark, but not so dark it looks black. Drawers are spacious and open and close smoothly. Looks like it cost a lot more than it did.
Only down side is that it emits an awful chemical smell that is still going strong a week later. My Dad says he can't smell it, but I can.
Shopped around online and found Walmart had the best price with free shipping. Saw other chests that cost $100-$200 more that don't look half as nice as this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Hard to assemble, damaged in transport

01/20/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I liked the look of the chest, but it took over 3 hours to assemble due to all the parts for the frame and the drawers. It wasn't difficult, just time consuming (the bad instruction booklet didn't make it easy). And several of the larger wood pieces came with chips missing due to the shipping of the product, so instead of black veneer you can see the particle board underneath. It wasn't packed as well as it should have been and the boards inside shifted and rubbed against each other in shipping. I now have to fill in the places with exposed particle board and repair some cracked boards on the front. I would probably not buy another one of these. The price is good, but the end product is not of high enough quality control.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Nice dresser

03/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this 4/5 star bc one part of the leg cracked when we went to stand it up, exactly as the directions said to. Didn't affect the stability of it, it was one of those cam screws that just popped through the surface of the wood. Kinda hard to explain unless you're looking at it.other then that, it looks so nice put together, bought the long dresser to match and it all looks great. It looks more expensive then it is. The drawers are tricky, people say they don't go in right but they do, it takes adjusting though. I almost paid close to $650 from a furniture store for very similar furniture pieces...before deciding to look online once more to see if I could find something comparable. Many reviews are bad but if you assemble it correctly and carefully, and are careful when you go to stand it up the first Time and caredful when moving it, you'll be fine. The knobs don't look cheap like I thought they did, but you can always change that easily by getting new ones.for the price, it's not that bad at all. I'm very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

looks elegant & nice design to it

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks very nice the color is blackish brown took about 2 hours to put together the top is very heavy so I would put it together wherever it plans to be not move it around too much it should of came with glue too glue the wood sticks to put in the hole when building I just used my own I love how the drawers look and large inside too
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Dresser

01/25/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dresser had quite a few nicks and scratches. It looks really nice once put together. We had an issue with the locks on the drawers. We had to call Stauer in order to get our drawers opened.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Love it!

01/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lovely looking dresser, easy enough for me to put together but did take 3 hours! Instructions direct well. My only concern is the top draw get stuck sometimes. I know it is the plastic piece that connects on the side inside to control the draws to not open at the same time. But other than that it looks expensive and I'm happy with my purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

easy to build, easy on the eyes

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new chest of drawers. I was able to put it together by myself. The only problems I had were because I didn't fully read the directions but after reviewing them again everything went smooth. The chest looks great in my bedroom and I look forward to working on the dresser.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Love it!!!

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dresser has a very nice style. Love the color. The drawers are safe for my baby. It is very sturdy. Thinking about getting another one for my daughters room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

looks expensive

01/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice, looks really nice and very sturdy. Was hard for one person to put together.. I'm 68 but took my time and it came out good. Excellent price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

my dresser

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this dresser, its really nice, lots of space inside. The only complaint is yes it takes a long time to assemble. For the price, it's worth it. I would recommend. Hope this helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Simple is elegant

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This price was easy to put together and the finished product was rich & sturdy. Ordered the dresser from another site and it arrived in poir conditon. Walmart delivery was much more efficient... No damage. On the flip side if your dresser or chest arrives damaged sauder will be all to happy to assust.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Classy!

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The completed product is beautiful. Although it's fabricated wood, it seems pretty strong. It's heavy, so it's hard to get upstairs. It also takes a long time to assemble. It's worth it, though, if you're looking for something nice at a reasonable price. Made in the USA too!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Great dresser!

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price, this is a great dresser! Did take a few hours to assemble, but worth it in the end.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek 4-Drawer Chest, Jamocha

Better than I expected

01/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews I still took a chance and purchased not one but two shoal creek dressers and I'm happy that I did especially at the price I got it for! It took me about 2 hours to put together not complicated at all . I'm extremely happy with this purchase !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 253 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next