Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Sauder Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Add a touch of elegance to just about any bedroom in your home with this Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand. It is made of a durable wood construction and features an attractive finish that would work with a wide variety of decors. This oiled-oak nightstand coordinates with other pieces in the Shoal Creek collection (sold separately). It has an open shelf that can be used to store decorative accents or books. This contemporary nightstand also has a single drawer with metal runners for smooth opening and closing. T-lock safety stops help prevent the drawer from slipping out. This handsome Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand would make a great addition to a master bedroom or guest bedroom. It comes with all necessary hardware and instructions for easy assembly. Manufactured from 97 percent recycled materials, this oak nightstand is also a good choice for environmentally conscious decorators.
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%99 out of 114reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
63
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak
04/19/2011
By ,
Southwest Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice product. Great looking, exceptional value. Very easy to assemble. I did it by myself and it took approximately 2 hours. All the parts were in the box and when I was finished the table was actually level demonstrating spot-on manufacturing and assembly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Great nightstand.

04/22/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sauder nightstand is awesome. It looks like I paid way more than I did for it. It assembles with ease and is very sturdy. The finish on it looks like real wood. The drawer has metal rails, no plastic, like many out there. It also has what is the most nifty adjustment screws on the rails that I've ever seen. They help you align the drawer on both sides perfectly. The MDF material used is very durable and smooth on the unfinished sides. Sauder has some really innovative assembly techniques used on this nightstand. When it's assembled you don't see any screws on unfinished areas at all. Except, of course the outside of the back panel. But then it's goes against a wall, right? Sauder customer service is also top-notch! I needed them on another item I purchased last year. And replacement parts were sent right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Excellent buy for the money

09/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived sooner than expected. Packaging was exceptional. Excellent directions. Together within 2 hours. Not complicated at all. Even the drawer worked the first time. I was worred about that part. The web-site picture is very, very close to the actual wood color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak
07/30/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed an inexpensive set of nightstands for our spare bedroom. They arrived quickly and looked exactly as pictured. Husband put them together. He's very handy with all things and has put together flat pack type furniture many times over the years. Still had a bit of a hard time putting these together. His complaint was there were too many parts and screws for such a simple design. Despite that time consuming task, all the holes were drilled correctly and lined up so he didn't have to make any alterations or jiggle pieces into place. When finished, this is a very heavy, sturdy piece and looks wonderful and it color matched an existing antique oak bed. I would note that this is still particle board type material so don't put wet drinks on it or it will peel and pucker the surface. I would get a piece of glass or plexiglas cut to fit the top if it were to be used on a regular basis.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Great for Tight Budget!

09/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just bought my own place and with only being 21 needed something cheap that looked nice and these fit the bill 100%. They are heavy and sturdy. Cheaper looking then some other furniture but cannot beat for the price. Took me about 2.5 hours to put 2 night stands together and I am ignorant when it comes to putting stuff together!
Highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Nicer than expected!

10/30/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed smaller night stands since our bedroom is not very large and we have a king size bed. I purchased them first to see if the quality was there, before purchasing other pieces of this style. Rather than purchasing a very expensive bedroom set (we have kids and other priorities) I decided to try Sauder. The color/style is very nice. They have some weight to them so they definitely do not feel cheap. It took my husband about 40 minutes (each) to put these together. It wasn't that difficult at all. I'm looking forward to purchasing the two matching dressers and mirror!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

nitenite

04/18/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The stand seemed to be well packed but did have one broken piece (the top) upon un-packing. I contacted Sauder and a replacement piece was shipped out within 2 days at no charge. I was able to assemble it in an hour after receiving the replacement piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Great product

10/19/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this because I needed soemthing to match or somewhat match our antique wood head board. They are awesome! They match almost perfectly! I just wish that they sold more in the oiled oak look! The nightstands are sturdy and are made out of thicker wood not just particle board. This is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Really nice piece of furniture

03/13/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This wasn't my first furniture purchase at Walmart, and my first experience wasn't very good, so I went in with low expectations. But this is a really nice nightstand! It looks nice, it's really sturdy, and it's well engineered. It even has a built in adjustment screw to align the drawer. The drawer was sticking a lot at first, but I oiled the tracks a little, and now it's perfect.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Sturdy. Looks great!

07/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The nightstands are heavy and sturdy. I'm not sure how well they stand up to scratches and wear yet. It took almost 1 hour to put together the first one and then 30 minutes for the second one. I really like them!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

What more could one expect?

03/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice piece of furniture for the price overall, assembly took about a hour for the first one and less time for the second one.Be careful not to scratch the finish because it is micro thin and one should use a towel or a piece of carpet to assemble on. The instructions were vague so you may have to think your way thru some parts of the assembly but after you get it assembled I think you will be satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Directions not the best.

03/17/2014
By ,
Albrightsville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The quality is what I expect from Sauder. The directions were not the greatest. Had to go back and undo a couple of things to make a piece fit. Ok when I finally got it together. Bought two and took me about an hour each, while I was watching tv.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Very useful

05/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to put together. .. All you have to do is fill low directions... they really give good directions, very easy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Looks really nice

01/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The nightstand is a great feature to the bedroom set. It actually looks really nice, easy assembly, and pretty good quality. Bigger than it looks from the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

As expected

03/21/2011
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product is just as I expected for the price. Easy to put together when you follow the instructions. I purchased 2 of them and am happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Only okay

03/19/2012
By ,
Lafayette, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was relatively easy to assemble, and I am not all that handy! This is a solid and stable product. Now, for the criticism... From the front, this nightstand looks great. From the back-side, not so hot. The backing is one of those cardboard pieces that you tack on with little nails, and the top piece is only finished on 3 of the 4 sides - very odd in my opinion. I actually purchased this to use as a side table in my living room rather than a nightstand. But... I already put it together, so I'm keeping it and will put it next to my couch (which sits against the wall) instead of between the recliners, where I really wanted it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Overall happy with the product

10/24/2013
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This nightstand is nice, it took awhile to put together the instructions are a little hard to understand. We bought 2 of these for our bedroom and one of them was a little wobbly after being assembled, one of the legs was shorter than the other 3, I put a little felt on the bottom of the leg and it worked just fine. The color of these are really nice and they are a good size. The drawer slides on the drawer is what made me want to purchase these, they open and close really really well. Definitely worth the money, but if you want real wood and superb quality you are going to need to spend more money than $70.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Good purchase

02/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy assembly, looks good, unexpected fast delivery; very satisfied
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Great product!!!

11/16/2013
By ,
POUGHKEEPSIE, NEWYORK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the other reviews and here's the straight info. If you have basic skills and a screw driver you're all set!! It's a breeze AS LONG AS YOU READ the INSTRUCTIONS. The product is AWESOME! Yes, its partical board, if your looking for wood good luck finding it at 69 bucks. This is the best looking BOARD I have ever seen. It's gorgeous, heavy and looks expensive. It's packed well and all the parts were there. (Worth mentioning these days)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Shoal Creek Nightstand, Oiled Oak

Almost Good

11/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There are three times during the assembly that require parts to slide on other parts. These were the most difficult and trickiest part of the assembly, and in one of the situations one of the parts cracked. The part cracked due to a groove not being cut wide enough so that the part sliding down the groove experiences a lot of stress. I was also a bit disappointed that the table must go against a wall since the back has exposed "engineered wood" that has no laminate covering. A person approaching the table from behind sees this exposed engineered wood, which is not the same color as the laminate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next