Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whalen Furniture Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Whalen Furniture Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Bring your living room or entertainment area together with the classically-designed Whalen Flat Panel TV Stand. It's ideal for supporting flat panel televisions up to 50" with a maximum weight of 135 lbs. This elegant flat panel TV stand provides ample storage space for your DVDs, gaming consoles and other media with two sturdy interior shelves. A pair of glass doors displays the contents inside the TV stand, and the classic dark espresso wood finish completes the look. Plus, this flat panel TV stand also features concealed cable management, which ensures that all cords and wires are well concealed for a clean, streamlined appearance. The Whalen Flat Panel TV Stand requires assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
38
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation70%109 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 156 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
38
3 stars
16
2 stars
14
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

not at all what I expected

12/22/2012
By ,
cape coral, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wanted a sturdy tv stand for our new 50" TV...this stand was not what we expected. It is not color espresso, it is color brown. The shelves came damaged and they don't even align well. One of the front doors won't close properly and you have to wiggle it so that it can close. We do not recommed this tv stand at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From Whalen Product Expert04/14/2015
Hello We thank you for bringing this to our attention, customer feedback is very appreciated. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We just wanted to follow up. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Service Department you will find our number on the instruction manual. Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture WhalenProductExpert
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Obvious flaws

01/21/2013
By ,
sandusky, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received a totally UNdamaged shipment, therefore, all flaws found had to have been put into the box at the factory! I found a broken corner of the bottom panel; 4 other flaws in the top panel finish and an additional finish flaw in one of the cupboard doors.
Though my contact with their customer service was GREAT!, my initial experience with the QUALITY of Whalen Furniture has been far from acceptable and I doubt I would ever purchase from them again!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From Whalen Product Expert01/14/2015
We apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, I will forward this email to our engineering team. Once again thank you for your feedback.WhalenProductExpert
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Beautiful stand

01/18/2011
By ,
Washington, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful stand, perfect for our 50 inch plasma!! Took me about an hour to build, very easy but dont tighten the hinges or knobs too tight as I did, which caused them to strip! I called customer service and they are sending me a new hinge and knob :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

The picture doesn't do it justice!

09/04/2013
By ,
Mulberry,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to put my new flat screen tv on but everything in the stores were very short. I saw this and checked the height and it was exactly what i was searching for! With tax and delivery to my house this entertainment center was less than $150! It was very easy to put together, took a little less than 2 hours from start to finish. It looks beautiful! It has 2 pieces that fit onto the back that is for cords to wrap around and it came with a marker that is the color of the finish in case it gets a scratch! It was an excellent value, looks beautiful, and has enough height so if you are sitting on the couch you aren't looking down at the tv. I highly recommend this item!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Absolutely Beautiful!!!

11/28/2013
By ,
St.Louis,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my desk now for about a week and a couple of days. And I must say I absolutely LOVE this television stand. It is by far the best television stand I have ever purchased. The wood is absolutely Regal..that's the first word that comes to mind. It is rather heavy but that only shows just how well the wood is. To look at it you would think it was a $300-$400 dollar piece of furniture. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to put it together but I don't regret one minuet of it...it was well worth the time and effort. All the parts came in the box and it was fairly easy from there. I have a 42" Vizio television and it has made my living room look completely new....and the smoke glass doors on front compliments and really adds to the final look.. This is one purchase I'm really glad I made. I Love It!!!..Thnx! Wal-Mart. And it come with instructions and letter stickers like A,B,C. and so on so you'll know just how to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Very Satisfied

01/07/2011
By ,
Shenandoah, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stand looks exceptional, for the price. We shopped several furniture stores - before deciding we didn't want to spend that kind of money for a TV stand for our kids to use in the basement. It did come in several pieces, but, my fifteen year old son was able to put it together (it did take him awhile - but, he had no help.) If you have a lot of components, the wiring does show, however, you'd probably run into that problem with anything that stores equipment such as this(PS3, XBox, Surround and Cable Box). It's very sturdy and doesn't wobble. It would be very easy to add additional shelving, if you find you need it to store movies, etc. For the price (if your willing to assemble)- you can't beat this piece of furniture!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Item was shipped with scratched sides and top

02/12/2014
By ,
Lebanon, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was quite a project to put together. The side pieces had two large scratches on it, and the top had a big cling on sticker that we removed when we were done assembling the item. When we carefully peeled this cling sticker it removed the veneer on the item rendering it completely ruined. I tried calling the help number, was hung up on 6 times, and then re directed to a voice mail for a woman who does not work for this company. I finally sent and email, but so far, have not heard back from the company and have not received a replacement and will have to take the complete console apart to repair it. It took about 4 hours to put it together, so not sure it is worth it. I may take the whole thing back to Walmart and just find another one that is already assembled at another store. Will probably pay more, but at this point, it is probably worth the money. This is a nice looking console, but it is NOT worth the hassle. You cannot put much weight inside it, as it is not wood, but an Ikea like paper product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From Whalen Product Expert09/23/2014
Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you. We have recently implemented new processes to quickly read and respond to online comments – our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the feedback and if this is still an issue we would like to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our customer service dept. at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PSTWhalenProductExpert
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, Ca
Whalen Furniture
Posted 03/04/2014
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will pass this information to our quality engineering team immediately. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feedback is very important for the company. If you could please provide the contact info you called and emailed? This is the first time I heard of our customers being hung up. I apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Perfect fit for small space

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The instructions were a bit confusing: however, the finished product looks great. Not bulky like my last e-center.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Awesome

05/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Came with one side damaged and was a little difficult to assemble but it looks great! Definitely a good buy! Super sturdy and can with my 10mo son climbing and hanging from it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Great Bargain!

02/01/2011
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television stand was a great buy. Bought it because it sits a little higher than most which is exactly what i was looking for. Plus, my 1 year old daughter cant smack my plasma anymore.lol. I was very pleased with this product. the quality was better than most.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

exactly what I want

05/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly what I want one part come damage but they have an excellent customer service I give ☆☆☆☆ because they could made it with a better quality materials other than that i love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Looks and works perfect!

01/14/2011
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too hard to put together, looks super classy and elegant. Very happy with the quality. Would definitly buy again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Whalen tv stand

11/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst piece of junk we ever purchased!
Recommends this product? No
From Whalen Product Expert12/02/2014
Please accept an apology for the inconvenience we may have caused you. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feedback is very important for the company. We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture.WhalenProductExpert
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Good to prevent toddler from touching equip.

06/23/2012
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have a 55" tv that is mounted on the wall. We needed a stand to prevent our two year old from touching the cable box and blueray player underneath. This does the job. We had to leave the knobs off so he couldnt open the doors. He knows how to open the child proof locks. It is tall enough so that he can not climb on top and touch the tv hanging high. We purchased this stand for those reasons. It was the only one we could find that was tall enough to prevent his climbing with a glass front. However.. once assembled which took awhile... the doors were never even. Even after all our adjusting attempts (40 min later) as stated in the assembly directions. The doors do not look even at all.. one is hanging a little lower than the other. If we were able to adjust those doors our rating for this product would have been higher. In the instructions it states hinges may shift during shipping.. but we were never able to get them positioned the correct way.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Great product easy to assemble

02/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I set out looking for a stand that would keep my toddler from going after all of my components. I had hoped for a stand with an integrated mount thinking that would be the safest but couldn't find one with a closed compartment area. After reading reviews on this product I was a little hesitant but decided it was the best I could find. I am so glad I went with it. It looks amazing, not cheap at all and my son can't reach the tv which is exactly what I wanted. It was extremely simple to put together, coming from a 23 year old woman who is about 100 pounds, I was able to do it all by myself in a couple hours. It was a little tedious but not overly so and I didn't have a drill handy and was able to do everything I needed with just a screwdriver. It did have a couple small Knicks but in the very organized package of screws and other supplies, was a wood marker that matched the color perfectly and now you can't notice a thing. Very happy with this purchase. Looks great and you can't beat it for the price. Would recommend to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

all right for a cheap item

10/15/2014
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the size and the glass doors, color could have been blacker. It was very difficult to put together, took 3 1/2 hours to assemble it. The shelf's would not fit across from each other. I had to off-set them (shelf's), pins would push out when I tried to put the pins on the opposite side at same level. Had to put a board under my DVD player on the bottom shelf to get it above the lower wooden part of the glass door to play it (I had other items on the top shelf). Doors would not level out, I tried and tried to get them straight, just gave up. Had a lot of scratches on it when I received it, used up the entire pen marker to cover all of the scratches. It would have been way too much trouble to return item, so I just kept it!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
From Whalen Product Expert11/10/2014
“Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. We appreciate the time you took to provide feedback. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-866-942-5362 M-F 8:30am to 4:30 pm PST.”WhalenProductExpert
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Surprise it is Broken

03/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Back legs are weak. A joint was cracked where wood was joined together.
Recommends this product? No
From Whalen Product Expert04/13/2015
Hello thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture
We apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer, I will forward this email to our engineering team. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation at your earliest convenience, please contact our Customer Service Department . They will assist you in getting out replacement parts, instead of having to pack it up and taking it back. You will find our phone number on the instruction manual. Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture! WhalenProductExpert
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Great Buy

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stand was exactly what I was looking for. I had shopped around and could not find a stand with the dimensions I needed, specifically the height. the material is a good, heavy quality, not the cheap particle board, and the instructions were clear and easy to follow. It took me about an hour by myself to put it together, and I do not consider myself a handyman in the least. I have received several compliments on it and people are surprised to find out it came from walmart. I would definitely recommend to others, and I could not find a cheaper price for the height and quality elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

A great piece of furniture!

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was the best piece of furniture I purchased for such an excellent price!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Missing pieces

02/26/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All the pieces were not in the box. The directions for assembly was confusing. I will never order anothe item that has to be assembled.
Recommends this product? No
From Whalen Product Expert03/02/2015
Hello We thank you for bringing this to our attention, customer feedback is very appreciated. Our goal is that every customer is a satisfied customer. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our product. I will forward this feedback to our quality management team. We apologize for the inconvenience. Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture. WhalenProductExpert
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next