Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whalen Furniture Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Whalen Furniture Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Bring your living room or entertainment area together with the classically-designed Whalen Flat Panel TV Stand. It's ideal for supporting flat panel televisions up to 50" with a maximum weight of 135 lbs. This elegant flat panel TV stand provides ample storage space for your DVDs, gaming consoles and other media with two sturdy interior shelves. A pair of glass doors displays the contents inside the TV stand, and the classic dark espresso wood finish completes the look. Plus, this flat panel TV stand also features concealed cable management, which ensures that all cords and wires are well concealed for a clean, streamlined appearance. The Whalen Flat Panel TV Stand requires assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
31
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation70%95 out of 136reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 140 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
31
3 stars
15
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

not at all what I expected

12/22/2012
By ,
cape coral, fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wanted a sturdy tv stand for our new 50" TV...this stand was not what we expected. It is not color espresso, it is color brown. The shelves came damaged and they don't even align well. One of the front doors won't close properly and you have to wiggle it so that it can close. We do not recommed this tv stand at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Obvious flaws

01/21/2013
By ,
sandusky, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received a totally UNdamaged shipment, therefore, all flaws found had to have been put into the box at the factory! I found a broken corner of the bottom panel; 4 other flaws in the top panel finish and an additional finish flaw in one of the cupboard doors.
Though my contact with their customer service was GREAT!, my initial experience with the QUALITY of Whalen Furniture has been far from acceptable and I doubt I would ever purchase from them again!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Beautiful stand

01/18/2011
By ,
Washington, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful stand, perfect for our 50 inch plasma!! Took me about an hour to build, very easy but dont tighten the hinges or knobs too tight as I did, which caused them to strip! I called customer service and they are sending me a new hinge and knob :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

The picture doesn't do it justice!

09/04/2013
By ,
Mulberry,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to put my new flat screen tv on but everything in the stores were very short. I saw this and checked the height and it was exactly what i was searching for! With tax and delivery to my house this entertainment center was less than $150! It was very easy to put together, took a little less than 2 hours from start to finish. It looks beautiful! It has 2 pieces that fit onto the back that is for cords to wrap around and it came with a marker that is the color of the finish in case it gets a scratch! It was an excellent value, looks beautiful, and has enough height so if you are sitting on the couch you aren't looking down at the tv. I highly recommend this item!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Absolutely Beautiful!!!

11/28/2013
By ,
St.Louis,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my desk now for about a week and a couple of days. And I must say I absolutely LOVE this television stand. It is by far the best television stand I have ever purchased. The wood is absolutely Regal..that's the first word that comes to mind. It is rather heavy but that only shows just how well the wood is. To look at it you would think it was a $300-$400 dollar piece of furniture. It took me about 2 1/2 hours to put it together but I don't regret one minuet of it...it was well worth the time and effort. All the parts came in the box and it was fairly easy from there. I have a 42" Vizio television and it has made my living room look completely new....and the smoke glass doors on front compliments and really adds to the final look.. This is one purchase I'm really glad I made. I Love It!!!..Thnx! Wal-Mart. And it come with instructions and letter stickers like A,B,C. and so on so you'll know just how to put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Item was shipped with scratched sides and top

02/12/2014
By ,
Lebanon, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was quite a project to put together. The side pieces had two large scratches on it, and the top had a big cling on sticker that we removed when we were done assembling the item. When we carefully peeled this cling sticker it removed the veneer on the item rendering it completely ruined. I tried calling the help number, was hung up on 6 times, and then re directed to a voice mail for a woman who does not work for this company. I finally sent and email, but so far, have not heard back from the company and have not received a replacement and will have to take the complete console apart to repair it. It took about 4 hours to put it together, so not sure it is worth it. I may take the whole thing back to Walmart and just find another one that is already assembled at another store. Will probably pay more, but at this point, it is probably worth the money. This is a nice looking console, but it is NOT worth the hassle. You cannot put much weight inside it, as it is not wood, but an Ikea like paper product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, Ca
Whalen Furniture
Posted 03/04/2014
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and we will pass this information to our quality engineering team immediately. We try to cover everyone’s needs and expectation. Customer’s feedback is very important for the company. If you could please provide the contact info you called and emailed? This is the first time I heard of our customers being hung up. I apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
We appreciate your time to write to us and at the same time thank you for purchasing Whalen furniture.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Very Satisfied

01/07/2011
By ,
Shenandoah, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stand looks exceptional, for the price. We shopped several furniture stores - before deciding we didn't want to spend that kind of money for a TV stand for our kids to use in the basement. It did come in several pieces, but, my fifteen year old son was able to put it together (it did take him awhile - but, he had no help.) If you have a lot of components, the wiring does show, however, you'd probably run into that problem with anything that stores equipment such as this(PS3, XBox, Surround and Cable Box). It's very sturdy and doesn't wobble. It would be very easy to add additional shelving, if you find you need it to store movies, etc. For the price (if your willing to assemble)- you can't beat this piece of furniture!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

TV stand

08/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bottom shelf delivered bent. Assembly directions not always explanatory. Missing one important screw we needed to put together. Once put together, it looks nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Great Bargain!

02/01/2011
By ,
Dallas, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television stand was a great buy. Bought it because it sits a little higher than most which is exactly what i was looking for. Plus, my 1 year old daughter cant smack my plasma anymore.lol. I was very pleased with this product. the quality was better than most.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

so you know read this

08/12/2014
By ,
granite city illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK n case you were wondering the shelves inside are glass and the top is glass. It looks real nice took 3 in half hours to put together I recommend having a power drill to drill in your screws so it takes less time doing it by hands why it took so long. You do have to make some of your own screw holes its definitely a two person job. I suggest if you have a toddler that you use some sort of cord on the door handles they will likely want to open the doors. It weighs 110 pounds I recommend having it shipped to you. Its nice well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

expensive looking stand

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new tv stand!! I ordered this stand on a Saturday right after ordering a 50 inch tv and by Wednesday it was at my door! Its definitely something that 2 people need to work together to put together!! I was gonna try to put it together alone but glad I asked a friend for help with.. it arrived in perfect condition and looks good in my living room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Very nice looking TV stand

05/03/2014
By ,
Granite Falls, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I put this together in about an hour. It wasn't too bad. The directions were clear overall and the parts and small pieces were very clearly labeled and separated which was very helpful. This TV stand is very nice looking and very heavy. It doesnt feel flimsy or cheap. It looks great in our family room. We are very happy with our purchase overall and recommend this TV stand. Great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Looks and works perfect!

01/14/2011
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not too hard to put together, looks super classy and elegant. Very happy with the quality. Would definitly buy again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Looks ok from a distance

03/26/2014
By ,
Mount Washington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item is certainly a case of getting what you pay for. The laminate is coming off where the corners meet. The doors do not line up properly and there is a bead of glue showing all around the glass panes. I purchased this to use in my bedroom and would have returned it, but I am over the hassle of this piece of furniture. This is definitely moving out with my oldest child when he flies the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego, Ca
Whalen Furniture
Posted 04/11/2014
Thank you for purchasing Whalen Furniture and please accept an apology for any inconvenience we may have caused you. Please call our Customer Care team (Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 4:30pm PST) . And our Customer Care team can provide you with the best solution to your problem.
Contact information is listed in you instruction manual.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Wonderful!

01/28/2012
By ,
Livonia, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had been looking for something for quite a long time since my son had become mobile and loved pulling up on everything and playing with cords and buttons. This piece was exactly what we were looking for; taller than average, doors, very solid, not super expensive. We got all of these things in this piece!
It was not fun to put together but it wasn't hard, just tedious. It took about an hour. It's incredibly sturdy and looks amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Good to prevent toddler from touching equip.

06/23/2012
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have a 55" tv that is mounted on the wall. We needed a stand to prevent our two year old from touching the cable box and blueray player underneath. This does the job. We had to leave the knobs off so he couldnt open the doors. He knows how to open the child proof locks. It is tall enough so that he can not climb on top and touch the tv hanging high. We purchased this stand for those reasons. It was the only one we could find that was tall enough to prevent his climbing with a glass front. However.. once assembled which took awhile... the doors were never even. Even after all our adjusting attempts (40 min later) as stated in the assembly directions. The doors do not look even at all.. one is hanging a little lower than the other. If we were able to adjust those doors our rating for this product would have been higher. In the instructions it states hinges may shift during shipping.. but we were never able to get them positioned the correct way.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Great product easy to assemble

02/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I set out looking for a stand that would keep my toddler from going after all of my components. I had hoped for a stand with an integrated mount thinking that would be the safest but couldn't find one with a closed compartment area. After reading reviews on this product I was a little hesitant but decided it was the best I could find. I am so glad I went with it. It looks amazing, not cheap at all and my son can't reach the tv which is exactly what I wanted. It was extremely simple to put together, coming from a 23 year old woman who is about 100 pounds, I was able to do it all by myself in a couple hours. It was a little tedious but not overly so and I didn't have a drill handy and was able to do everything I needed with just a screwdriver. It did have a couple small Knicks but in the very organized package of screws and other supplies, was a wood marker that matched the color perfectly and now you can't notice a thing. Very happy with this purchase. Looks great and you can't beat it for the price. Would recommend to everyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Nice TV Stand

12/18/2013
By ,
Poughkeepsie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this TV stand very much. It sits the TV up high so you don't have to think about putting it up on the wall. Handsome looking piece of furniture with plenty of storage space for your cable box, vcr, dvd player, and accessories.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

Whalen TV Stand - Excellent Product

11/27/2013
By ,
Lakeside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me about two hours to assemble. I don't assemble a lot of things so I was a little intimidated but just read instructions slowly and carefully and it really wasn't that hard in the long run. Very sturdy, looks beautiful. Like that it is taller than most tv stands. Would recommend to anyone. Great price, great quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whalen High TV Stand, for TVs up to 50"

You get what you pay for

06/13/2014
By ,
Tracy, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have this tv stand in my living room...from a distance it appears to be nice but close up you can see the cheap fake, press wood look! there is a marker included to help with any touch ups. The doors do not line up properly and even with the glue the stand still wobbles! I have tightened it up many times and it still wobbles. I'm really close to taking it apart and returning it to Walmart for a refund!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 122 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next