Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

The Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter keeps your coffee hot and fresh. You can use it when you're on the go, in the office or at home to make the last cup of coffee taste just like the first one. The stainless-steel Mr. Coffee thermal decanter is designed for durability. It's vacuum sealed, so your coffee doesn't have that warmed-over taste. The carafe holds up to eight cups of coffee or another hot beverage.
Average Customer Rating:
3.655 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation69%20 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Looks good,coffee stays hot,but can't pour coffee.

12/01/2012
By ,
Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is no way to find a way for the coffee to pour with the cover on. You must remove it completely. You shouldn't have to do this!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Good replacement coffee pot

08/29/2013
By ,
Meffa, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this after breaking my glass pot on the granite counters. I wasn't necessarily looking for a thermal decanter, but it definitely keeps the coffee warmer longer than glass (1.5-2 hours). For those saying that you need to take the top off to pour, a quarter twist until the arrow point to the spout will do the trick. Overall it is what I wanted and won't shatter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter
04/03/2013
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read some not so favorable reviews but decided to try it anyway and I am very glad I did. I brewed the coffee in the glass pot first, I just preferred it that way, while soaking the decanter in hot water from faucet then filled decanter when coffee was done and put decanter on heat for the remaining two hours. The coffee stayed hot for almost 7 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

completes the coffe maker!

03/04/2011
By ,
Marble Falls, Texas(near Austin)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes the Mr. Coffee complete. It turns off the hot plate and the coffee is amazing since it isn't hovering above a heat source. Worth the extra money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Turns Coffee Maker Off

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the basic coffee maker for some time and decided to get the thermal carafe. I made sure the items were compatible. I first tried the thermal carafe on delay brew. I woke up to nothing. So I pressed "brew now". The coffee maker beeped and turned itself off. I thought I may have had a tiny bit too much water in the reservoir so I just brewed with the glass carafe. I went through this whole process again the next day with less water with the same results. The coffee maker recognizes that the thermal carafe is in place, but will not brew the coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

have to warm first

05/29/2014
By ,
mohave valley, arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
thought this would save me money on elect. forget it. you have to run hot water in it for five minutes or your wasting your time. i had no idea you had to warm the pot up before using, it will be going back today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Not as good as glass-lined thermos, but good

06/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit replaced a Krups glass-lined thermos-type decanter, which was superior. This unit is far better than most stainless steel carafes, but doesn't compare to glass.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Attractive, but could hold heat longer

01/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appears very durable and easy to clean; but coffee only remains hot for about an hour/warm for two. Any saving of electricity from not using the glass carafe and hot plate, is lost from the use and bother of using very hot water to warm the insulated carafe. But is is attractive and, of course, not as easily broken as glass.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Unique

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the only Mr. Coffee that uses this decanter. The wife can have her blend first; I make mine second, in the glass decanter. Great idea.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Perfect for people who like to sit outside

05/21/2013
By ,
Allentown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mother's day was great. My family and I had a nice dinner out on the back porch and when it was time for dessert I didn't have to keep running into the house to freshen up the coffee. The carafe is great and it holds 3 large cups of coffee or 4 smaller cups of coffee. Just enough for two people without wasting coffee. And with the price of coffee these days it's one thing you don't want to waste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Thermal decanter

03/11/2013
By ,
WINCHESTER IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
AFTER RECIEVING THE THERMAL DECANTER INSTRUCTIONS INSIDE SAID FOR BEST RESULTS FILL WITH HOT WATER AND LET SIT FOR 5 MINUTES BEFORE BREWING. SO I DID THAT AND IT DID STAY KINDA HOT AFTER BREWING. BUT FOR ME ITS EASYER TO JUST POP MY CUP IN THE NUKER FOR 1 MINUTE TO GET MY COFFEE HOT. THIS DECANTER LOOKS GOOD SITTING IN THE COFFEE MAKER THOUGH
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Actually replaces carafe of several models.

07/04/2011
By ,
Edmond, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr. Coffee is owned by Sunbeam now. My Sunbeam glass carafe (for the familiar model 6171-115--available previously at Walmart) hit the floor. Other Mr. Coffee models appeared to have the identically shaped and sized carafe (with"Mr. Coffee" painted on instead of "Sunbeam," of course). Many makers did fit this correctly at the store. So, I obtained this very economically--considering pointless replacement with glass--only a few dollars less. A good value.
It works fine with this Sunbeam model but is limited to 8-cups vs. 12. It doesn't turn off the hot plate on the Sunbeam--yet, for what it's worth, the coffee won't heat up much via the hot plate, if at all--the decanter certainly is well insulated. Also, the lid of this decanter screws on tightly and won't leak--thus, it may prove unnecessary. to transfer coffee to a thermos or a coffee "pump" for transporting (glass is a better insulator than stainless steel, nonetheless),To brew coffee, the lid must be screwed on fully (don't force)--to pour freely, open the lid a half turn.
Generally, I like to use a Hamilton Beach Brewmaster--that won't last forever but does have a timer. Using this with my traditional coffeemaker makes choosing which maker to use a tossup--really, not having to worry so much about dropping a very hot and fragile glass carafe is quite welcome. When my Brewmaster starts leaking--I won't replace it-- I'll use this! If it proves necessary, I'll purchase another appropriate coffee maker with a timer--or even use a crude "vacation" timer.
I recommend highly this quality product--if it fits your capacity needs and coffee maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Not reliable.

12/27/2011
By ,
Pratt, Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this item for Christmas. It had a big dent in it so, without using it, I returned it for a refund. With the Walmark card refund, I purchased another one that looked fine. I used it and it leaked so bad it could not be used. It ruined a pot of coffee. It leaked around the seam near
the top. I do not want to go back to the same store and get an item of the same shipment as I think the whole shipment must have been damaged in transit. The boxes all looked a little smuched. I will try again , later, when a new shipment is in, as I think the the product will be very useful if I can get one that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Does not keep the coffee hot for very long.

03/18/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was disappointed with how long it kept the coffee hot. I have had better thermal urns.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter
08/13/2012
By ,
Anderson Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned the Decanter. It looked nice, but I was still having to use the 'nuker' in the afternoon to warm up coffee. It just didn't hold the warm well enough. Even not talking the lid off.. (just loosening it), it still wouldn't keep the coffee warm enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

This coffee decanter is exactly what I need...

01/17/2014
By ,
Abilene Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This decanter keeps the coffee hot for much longer than glass decanters do. It is exactly what I need and was glad to be able to order it from WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Glass is better

06/01/2013
By ,
illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poorly designed, Coffee doesnt remain warm very long. Wouldnt purchase this again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Excellent Coffee Pot

12/14/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a replacement for a thermal coffee pot and purchased this one. It is excellent. It matches nicely with other kitchen accessories. Love the stainless steel look and low profile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Had to mop & troubleshoot

07/15/2013
By ,
middle ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got up to find that half a pot of coffee had gone into the pot, and half was all over the counter and floor.
Turned out the little check valve (that clear, plastic doodaddy) in the lid was installed upside down. Oops. Three screws, turned it over (big, flat end down, little pointy end up), now all the coffee goes in the pot, and the steam from the coffee keeps the valve shut (piping hot beverages for several hours, anyway)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 8-Cup Thermal Decanter

Thermal Carafe

11/05/2011
By ,
EASTERN WA STATE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this carafe because my husband drops and breaks the glass ones. This one can also be broken but it is heavier so hopefully, he will hold on to it a little better. It also keeps the coffee warmer for longer periods. Great price, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next