Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Mainstays Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

The Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds provide superior light control. These durable, vinyl home vertical blinds is a great choice for patio doors and large windows. Primarily available in white, vanilla, taupe and saddle brown color, these black out window blinds will look fantastic in virtually any room. These blinds have a cord-free, child-safe wand for operation. Moreover, these are easy to install and hang. If you are looking for a blind that effectively blocks sunlight and looks good, then the Mainstays patio door and window covering blinds are a perfect choice.
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(176 Reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation90%158 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 101 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

I recommend buying at store

01/16/2012
By ,
mass
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product on line. When I open the package it came broken and not in it's original package. When I open the box it was just in there like if it was just thrown in there. the frame came broken and some of the plastic hardware came broken as well. The item is very nice though. Just the packaging and care was very poor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Great value for the money

07/25/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these blinds in saddle. They arrived nicely packaged. It was very easy to install (can be mounted inside/ceiling or outside/wall).
I like how blinds look. Although they are made out of plastic, they have a nice texture and look more expensive than they are.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Ogden, UT
QUESTION PLEASE
Posted 07/29/2013
Hi- Do these come with the pieces for the sides of the valance??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
06/11/2013
By ,
wallkill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i think you cant have this item shipped, when i received it the bracket was bent, so i had to use the old one i had already, but good, nice looking product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Looks good but you get what you pay for

05/24/2012
By ,
Iowa City, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this blind and we just installed it a week ago. ALready, two of the panels have broken at the top from nothing more than moving them back and forth in the track. This blind is junk quality. It looks REALLY good so if you need a blind for a place in your house with ZERO foot traffic, this is the blind for you.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Great value for sliding glass door blinds.

05/16/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these for my sliding glass door and they work well. I would describe the quality as good. They are a little difficult to close a first but then once you get the hang of it function just fine. A good price for what you get!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
09/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it.. Can't beat the price.. Perfect.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Great set of blinds

06/07/2011
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Saddle color. These blinds are beautiful. I was expecting a solid sheet of plastic blinds but they are textured. It adds to the decor quite a bit; adds a little class. The measurements are perfect for a standard sliding glass door. They were easy to hang (yes, you want to use wall anchors) and they look very nice. I am very pleased with my purchase. I purhcased 2 since we have 2 sliding doors in our home. The set we hung first was our bedroom. We live in sunny Arizona and we do not have a window in our bedroom, we only have a sliding glass door that faces East where the sun directly beams through the window in the morning like a spotlight. I had "blackout" curtains up and they didn't do the job so I decided to try blinds. They work great and much better than the curtains I had up. I can't wait to get the other set up. The only thing negative I could say is that they don't open completely both ways, in that I mean they close completely (depending on which direction you choose) but only open to open all the way, you can't completely turn them to face the other way. Hope that makes sense. Also, it uses a wand that you turn with your hand to open/close them, instead of a chain or string like the more expensive blinds. None of that bothers me at all, I prefer the wand as we have four cats and I'm sure the chain/string would quickly become a problem with them. I'll keep them and I'll also look for more in other sizes for my other windows. Overall, it was a great purhcase for the price and very nice-looking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Vertical Blinds

03/13/2011
By ,
Windsor, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very surprised at the quality of the product seeing how little I paid for it. The product I got was just amazing. Easy to install and hang blinds. Once up they were beautiful. Did the job they were designed for. I absolutely love them and I am going to purchase another one. Great Item I highly reccommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Great value!!!

03/01/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased the blinds last night and I just love it. They are easy to install and they look like fabric, expensive blinds from distance. They seem easy to maintain and clean. Just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Vertical Blinds

09/01/2011
By ,
Denver Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The directions are vague. Mount the end brackets about 4 inches from the ends and then the middle bracket in the middle. Also I would measure the bracket a half a inch higher than the 84 inches to keep it from dragging on the floor. There are several utube videos on how to install that helped me.
Another factor is that if you want right or left draw you merely flip the unit over and there is only a wand to operate the whole thing. No ropes or chains for children or pets to hung on. For the price this was a nice blind for my sliding patio door. Once I viewed Utube video it was easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

I was Stunned!!

09/26/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I came across these vertical blinds in my search I could not believe it. I had been searching for months for some way to separate this one weird, rectangular room in my home that had apparently been an "after-thought add on, into 2 smaller rooms without going into major construction. My husband agreed that he could have one side for his (very messy) computer area and I could have the other for my dining room (albeit it small), area. I tried screens, drapes, hanging beads, etc. When I found these, it was as though they were custom made for us! The size, the color, everything was perfect! I never even considered vertical blinds because I thought they would be expensive just for what we wanted. You could have knocked me over with a feather when I saw $29.00. They installed so easy, just had to cut off a couple inches off the bottom, and you even tell. This was a true find, shipped & received so fast, and where? Of course, right here at Walmart.com!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

cheaply made

06/13/2013
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mine arrived with the packaging in perfect condition, but there was a dent in the metal rod thing anyway. Poor quality control..
Since it didn't interfere with the blinds and would be covered by the valance anyway, I chose to keep them. Everything about these blinds is thin and I don't think it will last the year with every day use. The plastic blinds themselves are very thin and super easy to trim with the dullest of scissors. Because they're not attached at the bottom they swing whenever you open or close them. If you open the blinds a portion of the way, they tend to bunch up in odd places. They don't evenly space themselves. Sometimes one or two just don't want to close all the way so I've got to manually straighten them out.
They're really cheaply made and I wouldn't recommend them for anyone who plans on keeping them for any length of time. You have to be very gentle with these blinds.
However, they are super easy to install, and they look ok on the sliding door. The main thing is they keep the glaring sunshine out of my family room which is why I bought them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

You get what you pay for!

06/24/2011
By ,
Tyler, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought these blinds about a year ago and the wholes that the slats are held by keep breaking causing them to keep falling off. I've reinforced them with heavy tape at the top but at times that does not hold them in place. Some of the blinds have even started cracking for falling off. We have these blinds on a sliding glass door that is in high trafficked area of our house. If you are getting these for a door that is not used a lot then these would be great for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Near Morgantown, WV
A fix
Posted 08/27/2013
I had that happen to one of the slats. I simply turned it upside down, used a hole punch
(for paper), made a hole- and inserted it back on the plastic clip. Works like a charm.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
04/13/2013
By ,
Marble Falls,Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First one received was defective and had to be returned - flaw wasn't noticed til it was installed - had a crease that ran all the way across the blind, causing it not to close. Slats had sort of a "wavy" appearance. The track failed the morning after installation and blind wouldn't open nor close. Real hassle to take down and return, but thought perhaps it was just a fluke, so I reordered the blind since previous reviews seemed to indicate the product was a good one . So far this one appears to be okay, but slats don't close very tight, so there's a slight amount of light that comes through around the slats. I've tried to readjust them, but nothing seems to help. Don't want to risk "playing" with them too much for fear of breaking the hole (it isn't reinforced - just punched in to the slat) used to attach slat to the holding tips in the track. The corner clips for the side-valance are very hard to clip on - a very tight fit. Also, the holding brackets can be seen across the top of the blind. Recommendation: Don't throw away your packing before you install and are satisfied - you'll need it to return the product if not satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Great Blinds

07/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds are fantastic and the texture is great! I've paid a whole lot more, for a whole lot less quality, in the past. I am so pleased, with this product, that I have all ready recommended these to friends and family. I, only, wish there were more colors to choose from.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
06/23/2011
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These blinds in the saddle color are very nice. They darken the room if desired. The wand is bigger than the last set I had and has a good feel when using. A quality blind at an excellent price. The only thing about these is the valance does not have the little sides, but I don't consider this important enough to return them. I wish that that fact was stated on line, because if so it would have prevented me from having to call the manufacturer to find out. Much nicer than the white set I bought at Lowes. I love this color.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
07/16/2011
By ,
Christina Lake, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This blind is an excellent product for the cost. I used them to cover the windows in a guest cottage that I built. It was moderately easy to cut the rod shorter for smaller windows, and I cut the vanes on my chop saw. I purchased four of the blinds and cut down three to varying sizes. the forth I used as it came out of the package. For about $160, all four windows in the cottage were covered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Good product for the price

01/25/2012
By ,
Columbus, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Six months ago I purchased a new home and needed some nice blinds for my sliding glass door. After looking at the price of the blinds at Lowes and Home Depot I decided to look online at Walmart. I placed the order after reading the positive online reviews from others who had purchased the blinds. I must say that the reviews were right, the blinds worked well. I ordered the Sable (beige) color and I am pleased with my purchase. I would recommend them to others. I have had several compliments on how beautiful the blinds are and they are surprised when I tell them they were purchased from Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"

Good value

05/09/2011
By ,
Chatsworth, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
they didn't include those plastic wall anchors, seems they could have/should have. Other than that a nice, easy to install unit. Shipping was slow- they arrived over a week late.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Room Darkening Embossed Vertical Blinds, 78" x 84"
08/16/2011
By ,
hamilton al.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i would not recommend these blinds to anyone! you can open them only about halfway before they stick and the slats fall off. i have ordered lots of things from walmart but this is the worse thing i have ever bought. i am sorry .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next