Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

General Electric GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Start your morning with the GE Coffee and Spice Grinder. This blade grinder lets you choose just the right amount of beans to grind for the number of cups of coffee you want to brew, so you can enjoy the perfect cup every time. The cup is also dishwasher safe for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
2.682 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation41%9 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Don't buy this product

12/26/2010
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a Christmas gift at first impression it looks nice. It had a lot of nice feature, but as soon as tried to use it the first time it started smoking during the grinding process, and stop working.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

not long lasting

12/25/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we have had this grinder for almost 3 weeks. it has suddenly stopped working and will not start..i will try to return it to walmart tomorrow.....hope i can get my money back or an in store credit
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 3 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Does the job, but not a perfect grinder

08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would not have bought this if I'd known it was $30. It was the only one above a sign that said 14.99. There seems to be a severe lack of decent grinders under $20, which is why I kept it after I found out what I'd paid for it. It does grind the coffee well, almost too well though. It grinds much finer than the settings suggest. I stop the grinder before it finishes its cycle. I like that it does not get coffee grounds all over my counter, like the burr grinder I had before and took back. The burr grinder made the coffee staticky and it was impossible not to get grounds all over. One very irritating thing is that the lid only goes on one way, though it looks identical on both sides. It always takes me several tries to get it screwed on. It will not run if the lid is not screwed on completely.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 4 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Worst ever!!! Do not buy this!!!

01/13/2011
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to try this product. It offered everything I was looking for, hands free operation, removable parts, a larger grinding capacity and quiet operation.
I should have realized some things are too good to be true.
I ground enough beans for a 12 cup pot of coffee sucessfully. When I tried to grind a second batch of the same quantity, the motor was very loud, didn't grind the beans fully, and finally stopped working and smoke poured out of the back. I immediately unplugged the machine. At $29.88, that was one expensive pot of coffee!
Luckily, I still had the box, found the receipt and plan to take this back to the store. I called GE to file a complaint after finding out I was not the only one to have this problem with this product.
The Rep told me most people had problems with the lid locking in place with the ground contents still in in the machine. Basically there is just overall quality failure with this product.
I'm terribly disappointed in both GE and Wal-mart for continuing to sell an obviously faulty product and for quite a bit more money than most of Wal-mart's other, better quality grinders.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 5 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Do not buy this grinder

01/01/2011
By ,
Palmyra, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After only using this grinder a few times, it started smoking and stopped working. Very disappointing, since it operates so quietly. I see another reviewer had the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Good Coffee Grinder

04/22/2011
By ,
Crownsville, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found several Coffee grinders at various on-line sites - most had good features but all had negatives as well. Not much on-line about this one - the little I found looked good. After trying it, I'm impressed - so far. Easy to use and clean; does the intended job. Have used it twice for several batches in a row with no negative effects. Very positive interlocking pieces reduces mess and facilitates use and cleaning. Product survival will be the real key.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 7 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Affordable and adequate for the task

07/18/2011
By ,
Wake Forest, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grinder about 6 months ago. It has worked well, even through almost daily use. The only time I had problems was when I did not have the chamber or lid fully locked into place. I thought the unit had failed, but realized that it was an operator error, not an equipment error that caused the problem. Since then, I ensure that the chamber and lid are fully locked into place.
My use varies between coarse for French Press or fine for Espresso. I normally grind 3 Tbs at a time as that is the capacity of the French Press and Espresso makers I purchased. The one time I tried to grind a full load, it did seem to leave some beans untouched. Anything below that should be fine though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

What a disappointment!

01/08/2011
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used it one time and now it won't even start whatsoever.
I've had it for about a week, which chaps my bum even more.
I really wish I would of done some research before I decided to foolishly give away $30.00...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Review 9 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Teriffic Coffee Grinder

01/24/2011
By ,
Menlo Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This compact coffee grinder is perfect for our smaller kitchen It's easy to set up and use, and simple to clean. I love fresh coffee, but didn't want an industrial-size grinder/brewer. When I've done my grinding for a day or two, I clean the removable measuring cap & grinding chamber & store the unit out of the way under our cabinet.
As to use, I just set the dial to my type of coffee maker (a drip), the number of cups & push a button. Simple, fast, efficient. I've used 2-3 times a week since Christmas, and haven't had any problems whatever. I wish all my appliances were as well designed and performing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Coffee Grinder

01/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was used three times. I went to ge website and found they do not have troubleshooting for small appliances, they sell. I now realize they do not intend to focus on all products they sell. I will not purchase another GE product due to how much they value customer support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TEXAS
BOO!
Posted 07/14/2011
I bought this grinder for my husband last Christmas. He has used it every day since and it has worked beautifully until today; it ground the beans ununiformly and then stopped working.
Checked Consumer Reports and they suggest the Mr. Coffee IDS77 if you don't want to spend $50 or more. I will be purchasing this one to try out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder
08/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best grinder I have ever had and I have had many. I too had trouble making it run at first but when you get in the habit of putting the lock in the correct position it works every time. Since using this grinder the flavor of the coffee is better for sure. I am buying one for my parents also. I highly recommend this grinder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder
03/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product works great. Very quiet. Had over 1 month use every day. Works best with a good amount of beans 12 cups or more. Much more even grind then others I have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 13 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Works Great

08/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this coffee grinder for 10 months and used it daily during the week. It works great, one of the best coffee grinders I've used! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

A great product

01/18/2011
By ,
Westerly, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. It is solidly built, quiet, and grinds very evenly. It is easy to operate and has good safety features. I even thought about purchasing a second one for the future in the event the manufacturer ever chooses to discontinue this item--one never knows and no product last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Don't buy this product

04/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased 12-24-2010 worked okay about 3 times then quit. If you unplugged it, then turned the blades and plugged it back in, it would work. I did this for about 4 months now it is completely DEAD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 16 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

very short-lived

03/27/2011
By ,
Arkdadelphia, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 of these grinders, thinking the first one that died was a fluke. I have had the 2nd one for about 4 wks and it stopped working today. I will not buy another GE grinder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 17 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Item is Bad

01/15/2011
By ,
Hazleton PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item as a gift. The user used it twice and now it doesn't work I still have the sales slip, hopefully I can get it replaced with another one. I will not get this one however!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

This product stinks

03/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for 3 seconds than went dead
On a 1 thru 10 it rates zero.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 19 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Avoid

01/25/2011
By ,
Wyoming
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit failed after second handful of beans. Lights up but motor does not turn on. Obviously has an engineering issue, evidenced with so many failures after such a short period of time.
Does not show up on the GE website, which might indicate they are aware of a defective product and have removed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 20 for GE Coffee and Spice Grinder

Good coffee grinder

04/06/2011
By ,
Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Been using this unit everyday for 5 mo never a problem nice grinder!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next