Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for BEAR GRYLLS Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

BEAR GRYLLS Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

The Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife is highly reliable and versatile. This knife is indispensable for any survival kit and comes in handy during extreme situations. Ideal for mountain trekking, this ultimate survival knife with its sharp cutting edges can easily pierce through even the toughest materials. The serrated blade makes cutting a cinch. Unlike any fixed blade cutting tool, the Gerber Bear Grylls survival knife incorporates innovative features like a stainless steel pommel for hammering, a sheath with built-in fire starter and a diamond sharpener. Ergonomic slip-resistant rubber handle of this Gerber knife offers maximum grip while handling it. The blade of this Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife is mildew-resistant, which makes it highly durable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%84 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 47 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Great knife for the price

07/29/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own knives made by TOPS, SOG, and other makers that cost $100+. This knife is not one of those, but for the price, I don't think you can find a better knife. I would compare this to many K-Bars which are good knifes. I like this better. It feels lighter but yet it is substantial. The metal piece on the end of the pommel is great for hammering. It is "grippy", you're not going to drop it. The sheath is great with the built in sharpener and fire rod. The orange highlights aren't for covert ops but will make it easier to find if you drop it. For camping or an emergency situation this is a great knife.
I also own both the scout knifes from this series. The small one I carry every day in my pocket. It is light weight but incredibly versatile and very non-threatening. The other is a bit large for EDC for me, but a good solid knife. You can buy all three of these for under $100 at Wal-Mart. I thought they may be a gimmick, but Gerber and Bear turned out a nice set of knives that could save your life in an emergency situation. For the money these knives are outstanding!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

you have to get this knife

02/13/2011
By ,
tompkinsville ,Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
im a big camper and i love bear grylls show man vs wild. and i think this is the greatest survival knife i have ever owned. it has everything u could ever need in a survival knife, and its tough as nails i mean u cant hurt this thing. ive used it for every thing from skinning animals to cutting down 6-10 inch trees. it has a fire striker(that actually works), a hammer itergrated in to the pommel, a really nice dimond sharpener, a safety whistle, and survival tips and surface to air rescue signals. all built in to the sheath which in itself is great nylon with balistic shell. overall its just a great adition to any camper or hunters gear list...............
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

good deal...

03/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i ordered this knife i was kind of expecting it to be a gimmick, but it is made by gerber so i thought i would try it out. it actually is a pretty solid piece of gear to have! the knife itself is basically the same as the gerber LMF II but you also get the fire steel with the sheath. the sharpening tool on the backside is not as good as an actual stone (IMO) but if you are in the bush and need to sharpen your blade it will do the job. the fire steel works exceptionally well and is very conviently integrated into the design of the sheath. the only knock i have is the ugly orange color!! as that is only an aesthetic downer about the knife it didn't affect my five star review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
Bright Orange Handle comment
Posted 12/22/2011
I am a Deer Hunter. And I can tell you when you are cleaning a deer, you allways put your knife down during the gutting. I have lost my knife because it blends in to the leaves and brush and most likley I kicked it (knife) as well. But the Bright Orange Handle is a Great Idea not to loose the knife. My hunting Knife is now a bright Orange handle by another Mfg. Orange is a great idea.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

A must for your B.O.B. (Bug Out Bag)!

08/13/2011
By ,
Bethlehem, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have spent hours finding this knife at the best price and this is the place. I purchased on-line through Wal-Mart instead in store and saved $10.00. E-Bay sells for $60-$80 all day long and I only paid $39.00. Meets and exceeds my expectations. Very durable and well built. I was unsure about the bright orange colors but have grown to like it. It's color not naturally found in the wild and makes it easily visible if misplaced. The only thing I might improve is adding cowhide leather to back top half of the sheath. I prefer to leave my shirt untucked covering most of the blade and sheath. The nylon is irritable to my skin even with tucking in my undershirt. You Tube this knife to find several reviews, good pros and cons can be found here.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Extremely cool knife!

07/08/2011
By ,
Sedro-Woolley, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this knife to my husband and dad for Father's Day. Then our 12 year old son earned his own mowing lawns. They all love them. This great knife is $10 cheaper if you order it on line (or order it on line to pick up in the store the same day). You will only pay $39.99 instead of $49.99. The flint may come out if you don't make sure you hear the "clicking" sound when you push it into the bottom of the sheath. If you would like to purchase extra flints for the future as my husband and son would like to do, Gerber indicated that they will be available for purchase soon.
Watch the product video at Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Good solid knife

04/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay, so the name on it is a little cheesy but the knife itself is not. It is a solidly built knife that really holds nothing back. The stock is really solid. The blade is built to handle pretty much whatever life throws at you. The only draw back in my opinion is the hip-sheath. The firestarter works and the whistle is loud (not sure exactly where to fasten that though).
The sheath doesn't have a way to tie down the bottom around your leg and honestly it'd be nice if the whole thing could be worn lower than it's designed to be. It would make sitting more comfortable but hey, it's still a great knife that is built to last.
I carry this with me whenever I go out camping or on extended hikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Best $50 knife you will find

04/03/2011
By ,
Midland, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Out of box the knife was a little dull. The knife quality is excellent and is made to be a very durable tool that you can rely on. The fire starter works better than most fire steel systems. It throws some serious sparks. The handles pummel is very beefy and would have no problems functioning as a small hammer. There are better knifes out there, but no where close to $50. After I take this knife out on a couple of trips, I will post a long term review of how well this knife can hold up to real world conditions and how well it can hold up to different environments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Best survival Knife

04/21/2011
By ,
Medford oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great knife to have. All the featured are good quality and work better than I expected. High quality sheath. Great price. I cant wait to get the machete to go with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Does the job!

04/17/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharp, tough and complete! It has everything and more that I would even expect from a knife. I fish, camp and hike and use the knife for everything and it hasn't failed. Buy it and use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

You cant beat it for the price!!!

08/01/2011
By ,
columbus, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would expect this knife to cost alittle more than 40 bucks. It has multiple features that are very usable, not like some other knives that you pay for the gadgetry. Good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

BG Knife

03/11/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice knife, good for camping, hiking or if you get stuck in a situation im sure it would meet its expectations. Nice grip, good features. Serration very sharp out of the box, front part of blade needed a little sharpening before i'd use it, a little dull. other than that its worth a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife
05/01/2011
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice knife for the money,It's not a hammer,saw or hatchet its a knife! use it as such and you will be satisfied! Seems well made and thought out,like the fire starter! Sure it's not a $300 dollar knife,not made out to be.But I'm very happy with the product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Good Knife

05/05/2011
By ,
Weatherford, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw alot of good reviews on this knife and only a couple of bad reviews. I decided to purchase it anyways. After getting the knife I want to know what those people who did not like the knife did to it. This is a well built knife. The blade is factory sharp. No knife come out of the box ready to shave. It is Survival knife. Not a Straight razor. GOOD PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

The Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate fixed Blade

10/25/2014
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is one of the best blades that I have ever own
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Innovative design...

07/05/2011
By ,
Sugar Land, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this knife as part of my home emergency hurricane/flood survival package...For the price paid, this Gerber Bear Grylls knife is very well made...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Saved my life

12/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
K i'm a 16 year old kid and i work out on a ranch so i thought i need a good knife so i saw the Gerber Brand and thought i'll get that knife well it ended up saving my life i went to check cows in the middle of no where and i wrecked my four wheeler and got knocked out didn't wake up until night time my phone broke in the wreck and all i had was the knife a coat and a flashlight and being a big fan of Man vs Wild i kind of knew what i was doing used the fire starter thing and started a fire and made a little make shift shelter using the actual knife to cut branches needless to say i made it throw the night and was found that next morning by my boss this knife saved my like and now i carry it every where i go
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

very good knife

12/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very high quality and I have had no problem with it yet evrything on it is made of either high quality rubber or metal some is plastic but it is high quality plastic exept for the wistle it is not so but it has had no probloms it has a few scratches but you can't expect a knife to stay perfect forever right the wistle is very loud and the flint striker works great so does the knife sharpener some people said they where worried about the flint striker falling out of the case but i am not worried about that at all it is very sacure in that case this knife also comes with a hammer on the bottom I haven't tried that out yet but that looks good too overall I think that they have done a very good job on this knife and I look forward to summer when I can go out in the woods and use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

WOW AWESOME!!!! GERBER WINS AGAIN!!!!

08/08/2011
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very tough durable and practical. most survival knives look more like swords so this one was a pleasent suprise as its just right in blade length and handle length. the fire starter is so simple started all my weekend campfires with this knife and striker. the only thing i would change is the sheath as it doesnt carry well on the belt as it sits funny but nothing but a nitpick as i cant think of anything i would change about this knife excellent blade very heavy for splitting small wood and sticks etc. will also be using this for deer hunting because this is going to preform awesome for skinning/boning the animal. first class company go GERBER and Bear Grylls!!! great team!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

Great knife for the bush.

02/08/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was all and all a great knife. It comes with a sheath, a Ferrocerium firestarter, a whistle, a small Bear Grylls pocket survival guide, and, of course, the knife itself. I am quite satisfied with this knife. It seems quite durable, and came nice and sharp. It comes with a slicing edge, and a saw edge. Half serrated, and all that. The knife itself clips in very secure to the sheath, as well as the firestarter. I personally LOVE this knife; and while the diamond sharpener on the back of the sheath isn't the best sharpener, it's a better alternative than sharpening with a stone found by a creek. The tip or "butt" of the handle can be used as a hammer to strike stakes, nails, or whatever. The handle is rubberized and is quite easy to grip. All in all, this is a great knife, and is totally worth the money for what you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Fixed Blade Knife

great knife

04/28/2011
By ,
wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i got this knife i didnt really think it was going to be to good but the minute i held it i knew it was going to be good the knife came sharp the pumel doesnt break the handle has a really good grip also the sheath is good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next