Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vicks Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Vicks Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer, Model # V150SG2UPC. With Steam Guard, Nightlight, Automatic Shut-off, 1.5 gallon capacity for 18-24 hour operation per filling
Average Customer Rating:
3.831 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(272 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
21
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation76%208 out of 272reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 198 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
69
3 stars
21
2 stars
21
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Small footprint, holds lots of water

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced my 8 year old model with the newer version. The new one has a smaller footprint but seems to hold more water than the old one. I like this new one MUCH better than the old one. The only thing that is a bit irritating is it has a notch in the top that you have to line up with a notch in the base in order to seat the heating unit into the tank. Must be a "safety feature" of some kind. With a full tank the steamer will run for about 8 hours. It automatically shuts off the heating unit when it runs low on water, but you do have to unplug it to shut it completely "off".
This vaporizer delivers a lot of humidity in a short amount of time. I use it all winter long, not just when someone is ill. I turn it on for a couple hours each day to keep the air from getting too dry. Works great!
I steamers over humidifiers so that I don't have to deal with the mildew problems that small humidifiers have. Steam is always fresh and clean!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Handy for those bad colds

07/30/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I get sick, I get in a knockdown-drag out fight with my sinuses (me being the one knocked down), which causes a lot of breathing complications after the cold is gone. I will have a cough for months. This handy-dandy vaporizer, however, makes the cough pass much faster. I find that if I can spend enough time around it, it works better at relieving my chest congestion than Mucinex (and if you look at the price of the two, it becomes clear what is the better value). We've had this thing for quite a while (years now) and it has consistently provided more relief of cold and flu symptoms than any cold medicine. Other things you may want to know: it's quiet (sounds like rain outside or a quiet coffee maker without the hissing), I don't find the light to be that bright but I'd probably sleep through a nuclear explosion (you could probably put a piece of tape over the light if it bothers you), you don't have to fill it that often, and if you want more steam, add more salt! Very simple to operate, great value, best cold and flu relief for me. Highly recommend it :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Great for the price

12/16/2010
By ,
Presque Isle, ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Noticed there aren't alot of people that are giving this positive reviews. We happen to think this vaporizer *it is not a humidifier* works awesome for it's cost. For less then $20 bucks, it's extremely simple to operate. Put water into tank up to the fill mark *make sure not to overfill, it "spits" water* and plug into the wall. If you look closely at the steam guard, you can see the steam this unit is making. After a few hours, glance again and the water level is dropping. If there isn't enough steam for your liking, add a pinch or two of salt. This will make the water hotter, therefor creating more steam.
Only problem I've found, is if you put in too much salt, the unit tends to die quickly. We learned this the hard way, first unit lasted 6 months, but the replacement we purchased is working awesome *bought the same unit again, just using less salt* Very easy to clean as well, once every few weeks let it soak in pure vinegar for 20 minutes, rinse throughly, and continue with your regular use.
Maybe you can purchase other vaporizers / humidifiers for $100, but compare prices, for $20, you can't go wrong!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+227points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn,NY
Rave Reviews inspired purchase
Posted 12/08/2013
Just received this purchase today Saturday and did read and follow directions in manual but had not steamed until after reading your comment in regards to adding salt. It worked!!!! Thanks. Had to buy two of these since I,ve got a bronchial infection and head cold. My head and ears are congested. My mother has pneumonia, cold and CHF. Hopefully it will help us both. Thanks to all reviewer's comments which has helped me to buy product.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Hurricane WV
cleaning out the salt
Posted 01/08/2012
soak it in vinegar for a few hours, it should eat the salt out without hurting the unit. it works well for cleaning up the coffee maker too, just put in the top, and start a cycle.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Bang for your Buck

01/02/2014
By ,
fallbrook, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this last night because i couldn't take my extremely dry nose and sore throat. It did take me a while to get the right amount of salt that it needed but after that it is a dream. Maybe i put too much salt(i got inpatient with the two pinches at a time) because mine pumps out quiet a bit of steam(but water doesn't spew out) so it runs out of water fast. But for a better feeling nose i don't mind refilling it at night.(i'm up anyways) I think i might clean it out and add less salt so it can keep going longer. Overall i love this thing. it's cheap and a great product. If you're thinking of getting this one or a more expensive one, get this one. it's so simple to use and has great results. I don't know how long it will last but as long as it gets me through this winter. i'm happy. i can't really expect it to last me forever because the price is so cheap but it doesn't bother me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CT
Vicks Warm Steamer
Posted 09/17/2014
Whats up with the salt? Why on earth do you need salt? Where do you put that and why?
Thanks,
Dawn
0points
Customer Avatar
Lawrenceburg, KY
Would love your opinion after having it a year
Posted 02/28/2014
I really would like to know if you feel that same after having it a while. When we first got ours, we were just so relieved to be able to breathe again. Now we've had it two or three years. It makes too much noise especially when it gets low on water, which is very often, and we almost have to stand over it to get any steam. It gurgles a lot. You can't see steam coming from it or feel it, so I'm not sure why it runs out of water so fast. The salt is a problem and ours always has black sediments in the bottom, It bulky and finding a place to put it where it might actually help has been a problem. We put a towel on a TV table and put it on that. It's heavy when it's full of water and we worry constantly about knocking it over. I'm looking for a really good humidifier now. We have allergies and asthma and the heat pump forced air heat is not helping. I'm finding more negative reviews than positive. The positive all come from someone who has had them a short time. I would have written a positive for this one after a short time too but now, we don't even bother to bring it up from the basement. It isn't worth the trouble. Good luck.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Just makes the room too steamy or not enough

12/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I add salt to make it more steamy or not enough its hard to keep track of that because im upstairs so I bring salt upstairs. its kind of loud when it squirts out but I doesn't do much for me. I got it because it doesn't need filter I did return one that I actually did notice was good but the filter replacement is too muchThe windows gets steamed up im sweating but I do not know if it is actually doing vaporizer effect...even when I do it accurately with the salt and water. It is shaped really weird to fill water in a sink. So I use bathtub too heavy to take downstairs to use sink. I close my door so its probably why it is really steamy I do not use anymore because I didn't notice anything but I will probably try and again not that its colder weather and heaters is on.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Wonderfull for better air quality and baby's cold.

12/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen many vaporizors in the past, but never had to have one myself until my 8 month old grandson came down with nasty cold. His pediatrician recomended a warm vaporizor to run to help his stuffy nose. This type will moisten the air through the house if you run gas heaters, thuslty robbing the air of any moisture and making it hard on sinuses. Once I started usung this model paired with Vicks vapor solution and a couple of pinches of salt, I immediately noticed a better quality in the air through my house by the second day. I placed this in the living room and had one in the bedroom where my grandson slept. Keep in mind that ou have to regualry monitor the water lever as to not run the unit dry and burn up the vapor unit (the center part the steam comes out of). I used reular tap water instead of distilled water. We also used it during the begining of spring to keep the pollen and dust down for my daughters allergies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Disappointed

03/18/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have used this unit for the last couple of years considering the cost of under $20..however I had to buy between 2 or 3 units a year because the vaporizers only last for 3-6months at a time. I have two young children that can and will get sick easily especially during the winter months. The heat elements would clog up very easily and quickly. I would need to put quite a bit of salt into the unit to get it to start..if I added to much I would have to start over. I would have to fill the vaporizer twice a night to get maxium usuage out of it...with two children needing the same steam we would go through the water a lot. I am planning on buying something else needing the durablity to last longer, and its not dependable. I am also disappointed that Walmart only sells one vaporizer in the whole store..since my children's doctor has said that vaporizers work better than humidifers..but overall for the cost you are getting what you are paying for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
From ManufacturerTechSupport11/14/2013
I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with our product. However, this unit l is backed with a limited warranty. Please contact one of our customer support agents and let them know about the issue you're having. You can reach us by calling 1-800-477-0457 (M-F, 8-7PM EST) or by e-mailing ConsumerRelations@kaz.com. Hope this helped!HoneywellSupportTechnician
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

The Vicks Steam Vaporizer Still Works Great!

12/06/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wanted to post an update to my review from last October 2012 - when we were on our 2nd winter with the same vaporizer. Guess what, we pulled out the trusty Vicks Steam Vaporizer again for our 3rd year in a row - and it fired right up. This will be our 3rd winter with the same one. In addition, we are going to buy another one this year just for our bedroom. The current one is for the main floor. I highly recommend this product especially if you have a cold (get the pads too: they work!) Thanks Vicks. *Suggestion: Every time we run our Vicks Vaporizer right out of storage we place a few good shakes of salt into the tub - to jump start it. If any of you have trouble getting steam right away - try a few good shakes of salt and it should start right up for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hollywood, Fl
Vicks Vaporizer Model v150SG2UPC
Posted 01/20/2014
Will all the pads work on this model. Or should I be looking a certain pads
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Great unit and easy to set up and use

10/25/2013
By ,
Webster, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this item home and immediately put it into action. My only criticism is the instructions seem a little too conservative concerning the amount of VapoSteam to get a decent amount of medication in the steam and the amount of salt to get the steam going at all.
I know the salt amount depends on water hardness but i have a Culligan water softener and I still had to almost triple the amount of salt that the instructions call for to get a good steam flow.
But your own experience will be your best guide just don't be afraid to go beyong the instructions a bit...but always a small amount at a time.
Otherwise it kept our bedroom well humidified and helped us get to sleep easier even with our respiratory infections.
And you can't beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Vaporized

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Son had a cold with a persistent cough especially in the evening . Vaporizer performed flawlessly right out of the box. Just add water to the fill line and a couple of pinches of salt waited 5 minutes and we had steam.
Best of all my son slept the entire night and the warm steam minimizes bacteria growth.
Great Product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Pay a little more and get something that works

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price is great on this product but performance poor. It would not produce steam unless we put salt in the tank. It says to do this but not every time you use it. It does last all night but doesn't do what we bought it for. Taking it back today and spending a little more money. You get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Mine works great

02/06/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy this product because of all the negative reviews. When I went to my local Walmart, it was on special for $10 so I figured I couldn't go wrong for that price. I've had it for almost a year and it's been fantastic. I use it when the sparks start flying in the house or during a sinus episode so the unit gets used regularly in the winter. I've never had to use salt to get more steam and clean up is very easy. The grey scaling effect is kind of gross in the tank but a little soak with vinegar takes care of everything about once every 2 weeks. A full tank goes 16-18 hours before needing a refill. Easy to use, easy to clean and a great price. What's not to like?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+126points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Works SO well! I love it!

11/18/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer for 3 years now (same unit) and have NEVER had any issues, it still works like new. I have never added salt (I actually didn't know you could do that until I read some reviews below) and never used the spot for the vapor rub, I just use it to add moisture to my room when I sleep. It is so simple to use. I used to have a humidifier that cost me $100 and it worked horrible and leaked water when trying to get it going compared to this unit.
*P.S. there will be some black floaties at the bottom of the machine when you go to refill the water. It is normal and is part of the filtering. If you read the manual it explains it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Quiet Storm

12/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works amazing and is whisper quiet. Use it at the office and don't even realize it's on. Get's really dry in here in the winter. Those does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Great Product

12/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The humidifier works exactly as I had expected. It was a great value considering how inexpensive it was. On the box it says it lasts about 18 hours. Some times it feels like it lasts longer than that, which is always great. The only down side is that you have to change the water alot because it develops precipitate in it which can be kind of annoying, but other than that it's a great humidifier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Very Good

12/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This one works very well in my opinion. I live in the desert of Arizona. You can use tap water as long as you are willing to clean the scaling left behind. I broke mine trying to clean it, but I would buy another one. I just ordered the Vicks V750, which is a newer warm mist design. This does make the room warmer by about 3 degrees. It does NOT leave white "dust" all over everything like my Hunter ultrasonic vaporizer does. The white stuff is whatever is in the water ,minerals or chlorine? The ultrasonics are the better option if you don't mind spending money constantly on bottled or distilled water, which will not create the white "dust".
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Great buy!

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is great to have warm vapor during winter. Not expensive for that size.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

little waterer

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works as we expeccted it to work, just fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

Fire hazard.

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to take this back. I plugged it into three different outlets and it through the breaker on all three. I felt the cord and if felt like it was melting within a few seconds of plugging it in.
Recommends this product? No
From ManufacturerTechSupport12/17/2014
We recommend that you extend the power cord fully before use. Failure to do so could cause overheating.HoneywellSupportTechnician
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vicks Warm Steam Vaporizer V150SG2UPC

only moderately humidifying

11/26/2013
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After frustration with expensive humidifiers with fancy filters, I went back to this simple type, buying two for my small home. I have one in my bedroom and one in the living room, but on cold days when the central air runs a lot, there is still static electricity in the air. This unit seems to work best when it's full, waning as the water level goes down. There's quite a lot of weekly maintenance, yet I do like these little workers better than the big models that cost 10x as much. If they keep chugging for the whole winter, I'll be satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 223 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next