Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
38
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation99%202 out of 205reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
161
4 stars
38
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

"Skippy" has been life changing

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product so much, I named him Skippy. It has allowed me far more freedom and mobility than crutches or a wheel chair ever could. I'm able to get through narrow doorways that I can't on the wheel chair. I'm able to go shopping and long distances that my arms and shoulders would never tolerate on crutches. Plus Skippy is much smaller and lighter than a wheelchair so it is far easier to transport. Moreover, I think it is much healthier because it allows me to stand and mimic walking more normally than crutches do. I'm also able to do more as I'm able to stand erect comfortably with one knee on Skippy rather than trying to balance on one foot. The knee rest is shaped so you can rest your knee the long way or crosswise. So I'm able to cook and do dishes, etc. while standing at the counter.
The product itself is strong and durable, rolls smoothly. It required very little assembly and is adjustable for height of both the handles and the knee rest. The handles fold down easily for transport.
If you are going to be foot or ankle infirmed for any length of time, then this is the product to get.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great, if you fracture you ankle

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Amazing Mobility Machine!

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on crutches while waiting the arrival of my Steerable Knee Walker (SKW) .... Once here, it has made such a big difference on my shoulders and back. The ride is really smooth and comfortable on the leg/knee. Although I still need crutches to get up and down stairs in my home, overall I love the SKW.
I've needed several surgeries on my left ankle and wasn't looking forward to being on crutches AGAIN. I can truly say the SKW has made a BIG difference on my road to recovery.
Before making the purchase, my husband and I called different medical supply companies that rent the SKW . The price for rent on a monthly basis was $95 - $120 for which I would need at least 2-3 months. So, it would seem more reasonable and cost effective to make the purchase rather than rent. After all the buy was $185 (including tax)...do the math, wouldn't you?
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Freedom from Crutches !

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife recently underwent a difficult foot surgery. She must remain non weight-bearing for at least a month. The doctor's office had a list of locations where a knee walker could be rented. They ranged between $25 and $35 per week.
For that amount of money, we determined it would be wiser to purchase rather than rent. The knee walker sold by Walmart.com is excellent. The quality is very good and it only took a couple of minutes to assemble out of the box. Our thanks to Walmart for allowing access and purchase of this product at a very fair price!
The mobility provided by this knee walker if outstanding. I highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

zoom zoom

12/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased knee scooter to help me get around after having several surgeries on my feet. It was cheaper to buy then rent as I was needing for several months. I like that I can lock the brakes to make getting on and off easier and safer. I use it around the house and in stores makes shopping alot easier than using crutches especially stores that do not provide wheel chairs or electric carts.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great Scooter!!

12/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to work. Need space tho so getting into a regular sized bathroom doesn't work because it is too long to turn it around. Glad I got it though for going out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

New best friend

02/26/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Driving Diva

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After sustaining a foot fracture and undergoing surgery, I needed a way to get around. I won't be able to walk on my foot for about 10-12 weeks and knew that crutches would not be a satisfactory solution. I first rented a Drive 790 scooter for one month and found it to be ideal. Realizing that 2 more months rental would cost more than buying my own scooter, I searched online for one to buy. The Walmart price was great and included free shipping. I needed it sooner than the free shipping would permit, but 3 day delivery only cost $4.97 which I considered to be a bargain. My Drive 790 arrive on schedule and is a welcome addition to my daily existence. I highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee walker is kneerly perfect!

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I truly love my knee walker. It beats crutches and regular walkers by miles. It is truly freeing and makes you ambulatory on one leg. Ankle surgery won't keep me down now.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Good investment

11/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Preparing for the first of two foot surgery's I was sent to the local medical supply company to get a knee walker. After getting it home and doing the math, I realized they were charging my insurance $120.00 per month for 3 months. I am having both feet done, which means this would be a $720.00 bill. I had surgery on a Tuesday and decided to order the Drive Knee Walker on Thursday. It arrived on Saturday. Was concerned when I ordered it about if the brakes locked. Yes, it has two locking brakes and was easy to set
.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Zippin' around on wheels

12/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this item is lightweight and easy to assemble. the cushioned seat is very soft and not hard to rest your knee and leg on. You can also use it to prop your leg up on when you're sitting in a chair. The wheels roll smoothly and quietly. It is very easy to get around on and maneuver. It has really been a lifesaver after my foot surgery.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having ankle surgery this item has helped me get around more than anything else. Very pleased with this item
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Put the crutches away

12/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seat doesn't fit in as tight as I would like has a little wobble but is everything I wanted and very well built, rolls great, great buy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next