Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
32
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%159 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
32
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Excellent Product

03/04/2011
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Knee Walker I purchased exceeded my expectations. It is so much easier to use than crutches or a wheel chair. It has increased mobility many-fold. It is light-weight and easy to transport, even without utilizing the folding feature. The hand brakes add a safety feature that I was not expecting - you can lock the brakes to mount and dismount. It goes readily in places where the wheel chair will not go. The warning on the handlebars is a nice touch, and I have promised not to travel off-road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great support if you can't use crutches!

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I broke my ankle and had surgery ORIF - no way I could use the crutches the ER hospital discharged me with - We had to use my computer chair w wheels to even get me in the house until temporary rented wheelchair & scheduled surgery! Then my daughter found this knee walker- great! Then got a folding commode for near my bed as I was mostly on my own. I can use this alot easier to get around in home and even get to mail room and laundry. Also, I found a free wheelchair loaner from senior center for appointments but this is good for giving you mobility and more independence. I went to my last appointment with it but had my daughter with me! It is thinner and able to get you around independently but would need elevators unless have help to get up a level or few stairs. I can get the mail room faster than you can walk! LOL
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Better than crutches

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 9 operations on my leg, foot and ankle in the last 2 years (motorcycle accident). I used crutches up until a few months ago when I purchased this scooter. I wish I had it from the beginning. What a great invention. I still use crutches a few times here and there, but 80% of the time I use the scooter, even in the house. It is especially good in big stores. It's a little more difficult than crutches to get in and out of a car, but the neck folds down so it's not that bad. I highly recommend this to anyone recovering from a leg injury. FYI I am 60 years old so even old people can use this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A Must!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently had ankle surgery. He was struggling with crutches. They were painful and cumbersome. A friend suggested the knee walker. At first I thought it was a bit pricey but I tell you it is worth every penny!! As soon as this was delivered, my husband was scooting around the house and doing things for himself that he could not do with the crutches. Going shopping and doing everyday things is so much easier. He even went back to work a week early with the knee walker. This model is light, has great steering, and is very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Independence back

07/23/2014
By ,
Montana U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is well built and I also bought the basket made for it so that I can carry some things on my own. I could not get around on crutches because they were too painful for me. The knee walker has made my life so much easier. I can zip around my house in no time. I love the way it folds down with one lever and travels easily. My only regret is that I didn't get it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great For Long Trips Outside

07/22/2014
By ,
New York City, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because right after I tore my Achilles' I was scheduled to have friends visit me in NYC. If you know anything about NYC it is NOT very handicap friendly so I knew I would need something to help me get about while showing my friends around the city. This walker was indeed a life saver and helped me keep pace with all my friends. On crutches, it is just impossible to not slow everyone down.
In terms of comfort, it feels great on any smooth surface. Outside on city sidewalks is where there can be some issues. The first day running all around the city in my walker did irritate my knee from all the bumps in the sidewalk. After I got home, I iced up for the night and decided the next day out I would place a memory foam exercise mat on the walker. It made all the difference in the world. I continued to use this technique for the next few days and had no issues at all. I used the walker to scoot around the Central Park loop while my friends coasted on bicycles, I crossed the Brooklyn Bridge with the walker, and visited many museums during their 4-day stay.
This isn't to say the pad on the walker isn't naturally soft. For inside use it's plenty comfortable. But for extended use - and I'm talking 8-12 hour days on the city - the memory foam helps out a lot. And for those wondering, the walker is fairly light. As I transitioned around the city, I always had one friend carrying a crutch that allowed me to move up and down subway stairs while they carried the walker up. It was no issue at all for them.
I'd recommend getting the walker if you want some of that freedom back. I was going stir crazy the first week of healing but getting the walker helped me realize I'm not stuck inside while healing for the next few months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Gets me where i need to go with ease.

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only regret is that I didn't get the basket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

drivemobile

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice compared to crutches! Steers well breaks on a dime. Only down side is 1) needs a basket to carry stuff. I bought one 2) padding is a little rough and n the knees. I had the word "drive" imprinted on my knee. I put more pads ng and a soft material to cover. Terrific noe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Much better than crutches.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safer and better than crutches. The handle bars need to come up a little more for taller people. My husband will be on it for 4 months and will need to be careful with leaning forward because of back problems. It does need a basket.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Game changer

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product and it so much easier than crutches!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Excellent product, very helpful in daily duties

07/10/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker has been very helpful in maneuvering around the house and also shopping. It is much safer than using a walker and more convenient than a wheelchair. It does not take up much space in bathroom and is great while showering to rest my leg on. Would highly recommend to anyone on non weight bearing status.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

VERY STURDY KNEE WALKER

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST BUILT FOR THE MONEY I HAVE YET TO FIND IN MY SHOPPING!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great product

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used for a ruptured achilles recovery. Sturdy, relatively light, fits in most trunks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next