Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Average Customer Rating:
4.749 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
148
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%184 out of 187reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 141 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
148
4 stars
34
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Excellent Product

03/04/2011
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Knee Walker I purchased exceeded my expectations. It is so much easier to use than crutches or a wheel chair. It has increased mobility many-fold. It is light-weight and easy to transport, even without utilizing the folding feature. The hand brakes add a safety feature that I was not expecting - you can lock the brakes to mount and dismount. It goes readily in places where the wheel chair will not go. The warning on the handlebars is a nice touch, and I have promised not to travel off-road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great, if you fracture you ankle

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This Knee Scooter has saved my life.

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knee walker keeps me from asking someone to wait on me. I can wait on myself. I can shop in WalMart if I need just a few items that I can put on my handle bars. I can go to work and move around the office freely. It fits easily in the trunk of my car. Lightweight. I had surgery on the left foot 2 yrs ago and rented a knee scooter and that was my first experience. I was amazed how easy it was to use at my age. I decided this time to buy my own knee scooter for the other foot. But with the dip in the sit now it would even work better for knee surgeries. I give this product the highest rating you can give and the best price. Thanks WalMart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great alternative to crutches!

10/26/2014
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the past I rented a knee roller as an welcome alternative to crutches. This time I purchased one from Walmart as itwas cheaper than renting!
Quality exceeded my expectations. I ordered it on line and it arrived for pickup at a store in half the projected time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great for anyone with foot or ankle injury.

10/23/2014
By ,
Sandy Hook, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful product much better than crutches for mobility. It folds up easy for transportation. Glides easily on concrete, floors or blacktop but not so good on gravels. The only thing that would make this better would be nobly or mini bike tires for all terrain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Sturdy well built product.

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Model 790 Knee Walker - Fantastic

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knee walker has helped me 100% to get around without help while recovering from ankle surgery, which will be a long 6 weeks plus. Much safer than crutches and regular walkers. Glad I read reviews on other knee walkers and some stated they had purchased non-steerable ones, then returned for the steerable...I took that advice and purchased this model....(steerable with brakes), fits easily through doorways and moves effortlessly over rugs, tile, etc., only way to go!!!!! Great product and I highly recommend to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Exactly as Advertised

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw this was the cheapest I could find and at Walmart no less. I was afraid. However, when you need one, you need one RIGHT NOW. Walmart was the only on line location I could get it next day. When the difference is next day or a week from now, and you can't walk without it; that is a life changing difference. Well, got it next day! And boy, was I wrong, this is an A # 1 exactly as advertised device! I highly recommend, both it and Walmart's on line service. Made all the world difference to my wife's mobility. It's strong, well made, smooth to operate, and folds down the handle to get in the car. Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Better than crutches

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 9 operations on my leg, foot and ankle in the last 2 years (motorcycle accident). I used crutches up until a few months ago when I purchased this scooter. I wish I had it from the beginning. What a great invention. I still use crutches a few times here and there, but 80% of the time I use the scooter, even in the house. It is especially good in big stores. It's a little more difficult than crutches to get in and out of a car, but the neck folds down so it's not that bad. I highly recommend this to anyone recovering from a leg injury. FYI I am 60 years old so even old people can use this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

best knee walker available

10/07/2014
By ,
richmond, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my mom who either had to use crutches or a walker with no pressure one one foot. visited medical supply companies and the knee walkers they sold were impactial. you had to jump them to make turns, easily losing your ballance. i searched google for knee walkers, drive came up, walmart had it bought it, works awesome, rolls very easy, good brakes very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

New best friend

02/26/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A Must!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently had ankle surgery. He was struggling with crutches. They were painful and cumbersome. A friend suggested the knee walker. At first I thought it was a bit pricey but I tell you it is worth every penny!! As soon as this was delivered, my husband was scooting around the house and doing things for himself that he could not do with the crutches. Going shopping and doing everyday things is so much easier. He even went back to work a week early with the knee walker. This model is light, has great steering, and is very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

make a difficult situation a bit easier

03/01/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is sturdy and certainly enhances mobility. The locking mechanism works great. It makes a good seat to use picking up dropped items and a good foot rest when out of bed to keep the foot elevated. So lucky to have it instead of the walker and especially instead of the crutches.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next