Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Average Customer Rating:
4.753 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%191 out of 194reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 143 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
35
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Excellent Product

03/04/2011
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Knee Walker I purchased exceeded my expectations. It is so much easier to use than crutches or a wheel chair. It has increased mobility many-fold. It is light-weight and easy to transport, even without utilizing the folding feature. The hand brakes add a safety feature that I was not expecting - you can lock the brakes to mount and dismount. It goes readily in places where the wheel chair will not go. The warning on the handlebars is a nice touch, and I have promised not to travel off-road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great, if you fracture you ankle

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Driving Diva

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After sustaining a foot fracture and undergoing surgery, I needed a way to get around. I won't be able to walk on my foot for about 10-12 weeks and knew that crutches would not be a satisfactory solution. I first rented a Drive 790 scooter for one month and found it to be ideal. Realizing that 2 more months rental would cost more than buying my own scooter, I searched online for one to buy. The Walmart price was great and included free shipping. I needed it sooner than the free shipping would permit, but 3 day delivery only cost $4.97 which I considered to be a bargain. My Drive 790 arrive on schedule and is a welcome addition to my daily existence. I highly recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Not an easy assembly

11/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Knee walker works well, but was difficult to assemble and directions were less than clear. There were no directions for adjusting to personal size. Physical therapist at the hospital tried and was unsuccessful. My husband is an engineer and was able to get it assembled and adjusted, but not without problems in the process.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great Value

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing works great. Easy to put together and easy to handle. Bets crutches every time. Great value too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Not as heavy as other walkers and well made

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third time I have needed a knee walker, so I decided to buy one instead of rent one. The other knee walkers I rented were in various states of disrepair and fairly heavy (difficult to get in and out of cars). This walker has a nice design (brake lever for each hand, high frame between wheels for better step/obstacle clearance, easy to use folding handlebar release, comfortable knee rest), and is much lighter than other knee walkers I have used. I am very happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Knee Walker is a great way to get around when you have to be off your foot. It is easy to put together.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

New best friend

02/26/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great Product for the price

11/02/2014
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this drive knee scooter Three weeks ago at Walmart.com. It works well with no problem. I like the looks. I like the padding. I like the steering of it. I was able to use the kneeing seat in two different positions. It has two hand breaks with wheel locks. It is light weight. It is easy to folded and carry. It easily fit in my car trunk. It rides smoothly on carpet, floor, parking lot, sidewalk, etc. The price ($199) was good and it worth the investment. The delivery was quick less than five days. I will recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Lifesaver when you have a foot injury

11/02/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a foot surgery where I could not put weight on foot for two weeks or more. I could not manuver crutches. I was at a loss till I remembered seeing someone using one of the scooters. Your price was amazing compared to the cost of renting one. I was completely satisfied upon recieving the scooter. Easy to assemble, so very easy to use and made my life almost normal during my recuperation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This Knee Scooter has saved my life.

10/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knee walker keeps me from asking someone to wait on me. I can wait on myself. I can shop in WalMart if I need just a few items that I can put on my handle bars. I can go to work and move around the office freely. It fits easily in the trunk of my car. Lightweight. I had surgery on the left foot 2 yrs ago and rented a knee scooter and that was my first experience. I was amazed how easy it was to use at my age. I decided this time to buy my own knee scooter for the other foot. But with the dip in the sit now it would even work better for knee surgeries. I give this product the highest rating you can give and the best price. Thanks WalMart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Better than crutches

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 9 operations on my leg, foot and ankle in the last 2 years (motorcycle accident). I used crutches up until a few months ago when I purchased this scooter. I wish I had it from the beginning. What a great invention. I still use crutches a few times here and there, but 80% of the time I use the scooter, even in the house. It is especially good in big stores. It's a little more difficult than crutches to get in and out of a car, but the neck folds down so it's not that bad. I highly recommend this to anyone recovering from a leg injury. FYI I am 60 years old so even old people can use this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

excellent tool

01/12/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery, excellent quality. has given me back my mobility even during my injury. crutches are cumbersome, unsteady and gawky, while the rive 790 is sleek and smooth, creating the illusion of full mobility during rehab from my ankle fracture/surgery. I work as an RN and while I could not return to trauma nursing with this aid, I was allowed to mentor students and conduct clinical rotations with the walker aid. The brakes are strong and confident, the large wheel provide stability and assurance in locomotion, the padded knee rest doubles as a seat during long clinical hours and the handlebars serve a second purpose as a backpack holder, allowing me to transport files, and even coffee, from place to place. The knee scooter has given me back 70-80% of my pre-injury mobility and allowed me to get back to at least most of my life, even though I will not be allowed to bear weight for another 2-3 mo.
Only draw back is a caution to beware of debris in the path of the front wheels, even small parking lot pebbles can cause a strong twist in the steering, use caution when in areas with ground debris and stairs are next to impossible, make use of wheelchair access ramps and use keep a cautious speed and all will be well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next