Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

The Ultimate in Mobility Freedom If you are currently experiencing challenges moving around due to leg injury, or surgery, then The Steerable Knee Walker by Drive Medical, is your ultimate solution to mobility freedom.A pain-free alternative to crutches, Drive Medical's Steerable Knee Walker provides you with maximum stability and safety. While most other knee walkers come with two or three wheels, Drive Medical's Steerable Knee Walker comes with a unique 4-wheel frame, giving you the extra support and safety you need and deserve.Because of this, you can now rid yourself of the frustrations that come while attempting to move from one point to another while on cumbersome crutches that can also be unstable. At the end of the day, the Steerable Knee Walker from Drive Medical can help you avoid the unpleasant necessity of having to abruptly bring your life, as well as your career to a screeching halt. Go ahead...Experience the Drive Difference Now!
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(254 Reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation98%249 out of 254reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 156 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Drive Steerable Knee Walker

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Drive Steerable Knee Walker enabled me to come home instead of going into a nursing home after my ankle surgery. Because the doors into the bedroom and bathroom are not wide enough for my wheelchair, I needed something else to help me access these rooms. The transitional care unit where I was immediately after the surgery had the Drive Steerable Knee Walker which was easy to use. I had trouble getting on it from behind as recommended by the physical therapist, but found that if I approached it from the side with the wheelchair I was able to easily get on the walker. I liked it so much I ordered one to use at home. It maneuvers easily and has hand brakes to set when getting on and off or when stopped at the sink. The Drive Steerable Knee Walker has given me a sense of independence that is very important when one can't do most things without help.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

New best friend

02/26/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was in Hawaii where I saw many tourists using knee wheelers. When I broke my ankle there, I searched everywhere for the device. I couldn't find one but was able to order from Walmart. By the time I got home, the knee walker was waiting for me. It was easy to assemble and learn to ride. My only problems came from a sharp edge (near the brake handle)that cut my finger. I have also had my loose pant legs (needed for getting over my cast) get caught up in the rear wheel. I learned to wear cropped pants and move my leg away from the wheel. The freedom of movement with this device is outstanding. It is well-balanced and the brakes are more useful than I ever imagined. The turning radius is very small. I have been able to easily move the wheeler when I needed to. I am able to carry a cup of coffee and steer at the same time. An excellent product. I does need a bag or basket for carrying items.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Great, if you fracture you ankle

08/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is so much better than crutches, which I tried to manage before this came 'rush' delivery. The price at Walmart is good, compared to other websites, and it only took 2 days to get here.The price here in town would have been $350. It was a bit of a hassle for my husband to put it together, as the directions are quite minimal and they don't tell you that one crucial wrench is packed in with the seat. One has to tighten the handle (for which one needs the wrench) and adjust and tighten the seat (relatively straightforward). It moves really easily indoors, especially on tile or linoleum. It takes a bit more to move along rugs. It does OK on sidewalks, too, but it's not so good on asphalt parking lots. The wheels do not have tires, so there is no "cushion". It does go very fast downhill, and I haven't mastered the brakes yet (despite having had this knee-walker for about 10 days now). The brakes seem to be either all on (when you squeeze them) or all off. I found the best way to go down even a gentle slope was to put on the brakes, move my good foot forward, take off the brakes (so my good foot would do the braking), let it go the couple of feet, put on the brakes and repeat the cycle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Wonderful

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked good for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Foot Surgery

03/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I am quite pleased with the Drive Medical 790. I was very apprehensive of having soot surgery as I am a very independent woman and was told I would be non-weight bearing for 6+ weeks.
The walker arrived in a timely manner, undamaged, and my spouse had no problem with the assembly. The steering is smooth and I do not have any issues maneuvering around our home and patio. During the first week it was quite an adjustment and kneeling on the hard cushion seat took a full week to get used to. The steering and breaks work very well. However, one must use extreme caution maneuvering any surface. I have read some reviews where individuals had "falls". I too almost took a spill and it scared me. However, it was not the walker at fault it was user error. Many folks are under the influence of pain medication and as with any medical device one must use the most extreme caution. We also purchased the basket and cup holder and I strongly recommend those items as well.
If the product is put together and used correctly I would recommend this device to anyone who must be non-weight bearing.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Returns your independence while healing

05/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a poor candidate for crutches or a walker because of carpal tunnel, I could not wait for this scooter to arrive.
It has more than delivered for mobility around the house, and also when moving carefully on concrete or a stone walk.
The only reason for the four star rating rather than five is because a necessary Allen wrench required for installation was NOT included in the box, nor was that need mentioned in the product literature packed with the unit. Drive Medical should easily be able to remedy this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

such a great deal

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife had foot surgery and the Knee Walker made her life so much easier to get around. The Knee Walker allowed her to get around every where she wanted to go. Definitely a great product at a great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

excellent tool

01/12/2013
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super fast delivery, excellent quality. has given me back my mobility even during my injury. crutches are cumbersome, unsteady and gawky, while the rive 790 is sleek and smooth, creating the illusion of full mobility during rehab from my ankle fracture/surgery. I work as an RN and while I could not return to trauma nursing with this aid, I was allowed to mentor students and conduct clinical rotations with the walker aid. The brakes are strong and confident, the large wheel provide stability and assurance in locomotion, the padded knee rest doubles as a seat during long clinical hours and the handlebars serve a second purpose as a backpack holder, allowing me to transport files, and even coffee, from place to place. The knee scooter has given me back 70-80% of my pre-injury mobility and allowed me to get back to at least most of my life, even though I will not be allowed to bear weight for another 2-3 mo.
Only draw back is a caution to beware of debris in the path of the front wheels, even small parking lot pebbles can cause a strong twist in the steering, use caution when in areas with ground debris and stairs are next to impossible, make use of wheelchair access ramps and use keep a cautious speed and all will be well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker
10/18/2011
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently had surgery on my heel. I had some of the bone on the top of my heel removed and a little of the Achilles tendon repaired. This knee walker is awesome. I rented one from a medical equipment store and it was not as sturdy nor comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

A Must!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently had ankle surgery. He was struggling with crutches. They were painful and cumbersome. A friend suggested the knee walker. At first I thought it was a bit pricey but I tell you it is worth every penny!! As soon as this was delivered, my husband was scooting around the house and doing things for himself that he could not do with the crutches. Going shopping and doing everyday things is so much easier. He even went back to work a week early with the knee walker. This model is light, has great steering, and is very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

make a difficult situation a bit easier

03/01/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is sturdy and certainly enhances mobility. The locking mechanism works great. It makes a good seat to use picking up dropped items and a good foot rest when out of bed to keep the foot elevated. So lucky to have it instead of the walker and especially instead of the crutches.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Lose the crutches

08/21/2013
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. I opted for the 17lb aluminum unit. The unit was very well thought out and well constructed. The front and rear wheels are spaced such that the rear wheels don't hang up on the door frame when turning into the opening and the unit is extremely menuverable while still being very stable. It has low friction wheel bearings and low rolling resistance, non-skid urathane wheels that make it a delight to use...easily faster than a person walking when used on a smooth surface. The dual locking brakes make the walker very controllable and keeps it stationary when used at a sink or in the bathroom. The knee cushion is comfortable. The finish is a very durable, heavy duty powder coat. The folding handlebars are convenient for loading the unit into a car.
This unit made my broken leg bearable and many of my co-workers feel that I'm having way too much fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker

Knee Walker

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent choice for those going through any kind of foot, or ankle surgeries where they will need to be non weight baring. My insurance company denied coverage for this item but I was surprised how affordable and useful this has proven. While waiting for ankle surgery, my right foot became infected. So I am currently on the mend from that but still waiting for surgery to fix my broken right ankle. The doctor told me to be 100% non-weight bearing on my foot until the surgery could happen. I have never been one who could stand or use crutches, Just can't make them work for me, but this product takes that problem out of the picture. Easy to order, easy to use and definitely fits the bill for non-weight bearing. It is a shame more medical insurance carriers do not cover this type of product especially for diabetic patients.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 246 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next