Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Drive Medical Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
31
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%156 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
31
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Excellent Product

03/04/2011
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Knee Walker I purchased exceeded my expectations. It is so much easier to use than crutches or a wheel chair. It has increased mobility many-fold. It is light-weight and easy to transport, even without utilizing the folding feature. The hand brakes add a safety feature that I was not expecting - you can lock the brakes to mount and dismount. It goes readily in places where the wheel chair will not go. The warning on the handlebars is a nice touch, and I have promised not to travel off-road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Having a great time.

08/12/2011
By ,
Hudson Valley, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had rented a walker similar to the 780 for a month many years ago for my right foot, but needed it for 2 more weeks and had to pay for another month.
This time for my left foot for which I had surgery, I bought the 780 and found it difficult to maneuver in the house and on straight runs it tended to steer left. So I bought the 790 and returned the 780. What a difference especially in the house. It folds nicely to fit on the rear seat of our car and light enough for my wife to handle. For our basement stairs from the ground level to our living area, I sit down and pull or push it up or down the stairs, by the handle and rear wheels.
With the handles folded, a basket on the front gets it the way, but I put one on the rear of the handles which works well.
The cost is worth the purchase, and when I finish, in about 2 months, I will donate it to our Fire Company Ladies Auxiliary loan closet.
What a great replacement for crutches, and everyone comments about how great it works.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

This knee walker has become my new best friend.

03/26/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker is by far easier than crutches or a walker. I had ankle surgery and ended up with a cast up to my knee. No pressure on my right foot was allowed. The scooter glides easily and is small enough to maneuver around doorways and other obstacles. I can easily sit on the cushioned knee rest when the need arises. The price is very reasonable compared to others on the internet. I would highly recommend this to anyone with the use of only one leg.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Just what I needed after ankle surgery

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price was right and was able to pick up at store when promised.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

A must to have for foot injury

08/19/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are recovering of foot injury or surgery, get rid off immediately of your crutches and purchase the most helpful equipment that you could ever have. I used crutches for a week, it was the worst week I ever lived. Until I purchased this scooter.
The same scooter in other sites cost more than double that I paid in Walmart.
I use the scooter in the house, in the office, etc. It is very versatil (foldable, turnable and ergonomically cushion)
I installed a wicker basket on the handle bar so I don't have to carry a purse. People stop me in the stores and comment how cute it looks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Knee Walker

02/22/2011
By ,
Sarnia, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic alternative for crutches as I just broke my ankle. I live in a one level home and can get around quicker than my kids! Just travelled to Jamaica and brought it along ..great for getting through the airport and the main part of the resort. (Had to take crutches for the beach and pool area).
Everyone thinks it is cool and wants to try it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this device!!!

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I fell and fractured by ankle and fibula, I was told I couldn't put any weight on the leg for 12 weeks. I tried a standard walker, but it only took 2 days for the muscles in my upper body to rebel. I am 62 years old and no longer have upper body strength. It got to the point where the only reason I kept taking my pain meds was to ease the muscle pain in my chest and upper back. (Not for the leg). I spoke to my doctor and he recommended a rolling knee walker. After researching on line I found that Wal-Mart had the best price and shipping to my home was only $3.00. It arrived in 2 days. I think that the assembly instructions could have been clearer, but we got it together. I also agree with someone else who reported that the brakes are touchy. So, I also use my good foot to slow me down. Over all I couldn't be happier and I can get around much easier. Thank you Drive Medical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Best Option for Mobility

03/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching renting vs buying, this Knee Walker was an excellent purchase. The first few days after my non-weight bearing foot surgery I used a walker for stability due to the affects from anesthesia and pain medications. When I switched to the knee walker I was extremely impressed with the sense of freedom and ease of use. We took it to a local bike shop and purchased a basket. Going from room to room, I am able to carry most everything I need without asking for help. So far I have traveled over tile, carpet, sidewalks, pavers, and gravel. It is very stable and my husband says it is very easy to fold up and put in the car. After sitting, I can lock the brakes and use it to prop up my foot. Renting a knee walker locally would have cost about the same and the walker would not of had the options of turning and braking. Walmart had this delivered several days earlier than expected which gave me time to practice.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Great support if you can't use crutches!

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I broke my ankle and had surgery ORIF - no way I could use the crutches the ER hospital discharged me with - We had to use my computer chair w wheels to even get me in the house until temporary rented wheelchair & scheduled surgery! Then my daughter found this knee walker- great! Then got a folding commode for near my bed as I was mostly on my own. I can use this alot easier to get around in home and even get to mail room and laundry. Also, I found a free wheelchair loaner from senior center for appointments but this is good for giving you mobility and more independence. I went to my last appointment with it but had my daughter with me! It is thinner and able to get you around independently but would need elevators unless have help to get up a level or few stairs. I can get the mail room faster than you can walk! LOL
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Better than crutches

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had 9 operations on my leg, foot and ankle in the last 2 years (motorcycle accident). I used crutches up until a few months ago when I purchased this scooter. I wish I had it from the beginning. What a great invention. I still use crutches a few times here and there, but 80% of the time I use the scooter, even in the house. It is especially good in big stores. It's a little more difficult than crutches to get in and out of a car, but the neck folds down so it's not that bad. I highly recommend this to anyone recovering from a leg injury. FYI I am 60 years old so even old people can use this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

A Must!!

03/25/2014
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently had ankle surgery. He was struggling with crutches. They were painful and cumbersome. A friend suggested the knee walker. At first I thought it was a bit pricey but I tell you it is worth every penny!! As soon as this was delivered, my husband was scooting around the house and doing things for himself that he could not do with the crutches. Going shopping and doing everyday things is so much easier. He even went back to work a week early with the knee walker. This model is light, has great steering, and is very durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

drivemobile

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice compared to crutches! Steers well breaks on a dime. Only down side is 1) needs a basket to carry stuff. I bought one 2) padding is a little rough and n the knees. I had the word "drive" imprinted on my knee. I put more pads ng and a soft material to cover. Terrific noe
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Much better than crutches.

07/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Safer and better than crutches. The handle bars need to come up a little more for taller people. My husband will be on it for 4 months and will need to be careful with leaning forward because of back problems. It does need a basket.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Game changer

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product and it so much easier than crutches!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Excellent product, very helpful in daily duties

07/10/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The knee walker has been very helpful in maneuvering around the house and also shopping. It is much safer than using a walker and more convenient than a wheelchair. It does not take up much space in bathroom and is great while showering to rest my leg on. Would highly recommend to anyone on non weight bearing status.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

VERY STURDY KNEE WALKER

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST BUILT FOR THE MONEY I HAVE YET TO FIND IN MY SHOPPING!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Great product

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used for a ruptured achilles recovery. Sturdy, relatively light, fits in most trunks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Great

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is great. I tried to order on line but was unable to change the ship to address. I had to contact the IT department to compeat the order.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Great Product

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Really sturdy! Doesn't tip easily!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Steerable Knee Walker 790 Steel,Silver Vein ,Standard

Safe way to get around

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 57 year old man who recently broke his right foot. I started to use crutches to get around but this was pretty precarious. I did a web search for an alternative and found this product. WalMart had the cheapest price, although I think the price could have been lower, perhaps 25-30 dollars (hence the "4" score for value). The Walker was delivered to the door as I requested and paid for. The Walker was extremely easy to assemble. Even though it is not hard to master, I recommend going to the Drive website and watching the video about the unit, then slowly maneuver around the house before being confident about using the Walker safely. The Walker is sturdy and the braking system is effective. This is an excellent way to get around when one foot is out of service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 150 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next