Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

The 19" Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Aluminum Transport Chair by Drive Medical, available in a variety of attractive colors, is an ultra light transport chair, weighing under 17 lbs without riggings. This transport chair comes with a stylish burgundy aluminum frame and black nylon upholstery. It is also durable and easy to clean. Comes standard with a carry pocket on the back rest to easily and securely transport personal items, seatbelt for added safety, and tool free, height adjustable swing away footrests. The deluxe back release allows the back to be folded down easily, making the chair easy to store and transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
30
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation99%154 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
30
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Lightweight, easy to fold and lift

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the chair for my Mother who is unable to stand or walk easily. I am short, so I needed a chair that was lightweight to get in and out of the car. The back folds down to make a more compact size and the frame is easy to hold onto when lifting. A regular wheelchair was very heavy and cumbersome because the large wheels would get caught as I tried to lift it into and out of the trunk, also there was no place to really hold on as the wheels were in the way.
The Transport Chair is easy to push and to get around by herself, Mom lifts up the foot supports and uses her feet to move around easily. The transfer chair is the perfect solution.
I bought a medium size mesh laundry bag with a zipper and attached it to the inside of the arm rest with plastic cable ties so her purse and other small items are safely tucked away and I don't have to worry about them getting lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

nice & light, lower seat than typical wheelchair

07/22/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primarily used indoors and it rolls well there, although I haven't used it for outside transport yet, so I can't comment about rolling over asphault, ruts, and such. It's light enough my wife can put it in the car herself, something she couldn't do with our prior "lightweight" small (16in seat) wheelchair. The foot rests will have to be lowered for practically all users - even my 5'1" mother-in-law. The seat is approx 4-5 inches lower than most typical wheelchairs. My wife thought it might be that way so the used can shuffle themselves around using their feet on the ground. Because of the low height, she needed a cushion under her to get a better table seating height. A good side effect is that the arms are low enough to go completely under most tables - so one can "belly up" to the table. The folding back handles make it easy for stowing in cars. The swinging footrests don't latch into locked position as easily as they should - I'm thinking that may get better with some use. All in all, a very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

100% Satisfied - this is the one!

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely recommend this transportchair. I am an RN and am very pleased with the quality and simple design. It is 99% assembled out of the box, only requiring that you slip the foot rests into place. **NO tools required** (Tools are included if needed for minor adjustments and maintenance, and come in a handy pouch).
My mother is frail and elderly, and can no longer walk more than 20 feet without having great difficulty, even with a rolling walker. I decided on this transport chair after researching extensively. I am very pleased with our purchase!
It is truly LIGHTWEIGHT and literally turns on a dime. It folds up to a very small footprint and is easy to open and close. It is very well made and sturdy.
We purchased the burgundy chair, which has a wide black seat and black back (not plaid), and it is a good looking device. The seat back has a large pouch with a velcro closure and another smaller pouch with an elastic closure. The seat belt has a simple to use closure and it large enough for a heavy set person.
The price was right purchasing from WallMart on-line and it was delivered on time.
I rate this transport chair a 10 out of 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Better Than Expected

06/14/2012
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching transport wheelchairs on the internet, I concluded this one was probably the best for the money. A friend bought one about a week before I did but he bought it from a specialized website and paid almost double what I paid! It's a great wheelchair and very lightweight, even with the foot rests attached. It folds easily and conveniently and we use it continuously, even around the house. It rolls well on our thick carpets and, of course, even better on sidewalks & parking lots. The only negatives are (1) the latch for the foot rests stick out beyond the chair when the rests are pushed back out of the way -- I bang my shins on them often -- and (2) the distance between the foot rests which requires keeping the feet apart, something my wife has difficulty with. But these minor problems do not alter my opinion that this chair is an excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

So far, so good.

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First wheelchair purchase. Bought for my mom for a trip to Denver. She's 76, 5'0" and weights 170 lbs. So far, it's been easy enough to push around and maneuver. It is light and super easy to fold for storage. She's been comfortable sitting in it for most of the day. The only con so far is the lack of back support. Might also purchase a cushion to sit on. Have only used it for about five days (airport, city streets, restaraunts, mountains) but so far, I am happy with this wheelchair and would definitely recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

make ur life easier

05/10/2011
By ,
New hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladies , I have a husband not wheel chair bound but can't walk too far lung problem gets out of breath. the other chairs all weighed at least 40 pds..us ladies can not do that fold lift put in trunk. This chair amazing I fold it lift it put it behind my seat in the car . I could not take him out before & I am not a weak person . This chair looks good rides good comfortable has bag.. cup holder for water.So easy to fold up.I think it wieghs they say 14 pds I say not that much..
You can not go wrong price is right also.. It said takes 10 delivery days . I had in two , great company thank you Walmart for coming thru again...
Jeanette
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Very lightweight chair

05/03/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this wheelchair. It is easy to load into the trunk of the car. The only issue I have is that the breaks are a little difficult to engage. We use it daily transporting mom from the bathroom to the living room and back. Good looking, comfortable seating for her. Seat belt is a plus when using up or down hill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Chair

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my mother too push down a long hall from her apartment. It is so light too lift too put in my trunk. She said it is very comfortable too ride in too. Love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Very light weight

11/23/2011
By ,
Charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this chair so that I could take my mother-in-law out shopping with me or to doctor appointments. A regular wheel chair was too heavy for me to lift even with the foot rests off. This one is so light weight, I can l lift it and put it in the trunk of my car even with the foot rests on. Also it is easier to maneuver down store aisles and my mother-in-law can get closer to the merchandise to examine it. It's even easy to get the chair up onto a curb with her in it when there is no ramp available and she says it is very comfortable. It is low enough to fit under a table in a resturant and the brakes on it are easy to lock and release. I can definitely recommend this wheelchair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy
06/13/2011
By ,
Denver Co.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The wheel chair is perfect for what I needed. It is very light weight, easy to use. The only thing that I didn't like was that on the arm of the chair the material split after only using it once. I'm keeping it as is rather than to be without the chair while trying to exchange it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Transport Wheelchair

06/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works wonderfull for my dad transporting him around the house. Its easy to push and small enough to go through the doors of the house confortably.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Just what I needed

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed something lightweight (my dining room chairs are heavier) to help my daughter. Folds easily and stays out of the way..
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Great product just what we needed

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
working very well
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Excellent Portable Wheel Chair

04/23/2011
By ,
West Berlin, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reasonable price and it fits in the trunk of a 2011 Ford Fiesta SES Hatchback without folding the back seat. Durable construction and can handle up to 300 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Happy

05/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were trying to replace our old Medline transport chair that was eight years old, that served us well and met our needs. The drive medical fly light wheelchair was the best transport chair that we found after trying about six other chairs of various brands. This chair is light weight, moves well, and is sturdy. Leg rest extend long enough for people with bad knees that can't bend them that well. The dinner style/desk arms allows the chair to get close under the dinner table. The reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because the seat belt is not long enough for my 160 pound mother.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Wonderfully lightweight transport chair!

03/06/2014
By ,
Carmel, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chair was the perfect choice for my 96 year old father. I have 2 artificial knees, and cannot lift more than 15 pounds. It was important to find a chair I could operate and pack, without assistance, for doctor/dentist visits. This chair is light weight, quickly folds down, and is easily maneuverable. My only criticism is that one of the foot rests does not lock in place as easily or quickly as it should. I'm sure this was just a small manufacturing defect, but I don't know how to get it fixed. This is my only concern or frustration with the chair. Overall, I can honestly recommend this wheelchair with little or no reservation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Love the ease of handling.

02/13/2014
By ,
Ft Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have a progressive lung disease, walking distances is very limited. Also, trying to push a wheelchair is not viable. This gives me the freedom to go out to the show, mall, visiting neighbors, etc. Of course, I need a pusher, mostly my husband, but it is easy to transport and use. Delivery was prompt. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

Very light and easy to use

12/29/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This transport chair is wonderful. It is very light and manageable. Easy to pack up and lift into back of vehicle. This is the lightest model I saw online and it is a blessing! Foot pads are easy to swing around to the side and easy to take off and place back on when needed. As a daughter and nurse, we are so happy we bought this for mom! Plenty of room for her to sit and it holds up to 300 lbs even though she is average size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

So easy!

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great wheelchair after my accident. It is so light and easy to manage. It is as light as a stroller and easy to push. Very practical for short trips. The only con is since the wheels are small, you tend to get stuck in dips or at larger curbs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair, Burgundy

FANTASTIC!

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is light-weight, so I can easily pick it up and it fits right into the trunk of my small car. Easy to put together. It fits easily in the aisles of stores, and has given my friend and me loads of fun going shopping together again.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next