Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

This Drive Medical Transport Wheelchair Aluminum in burgundy weighs only 14. 5 lbs so it's light and easy to get around in. The ultra lightweight transport chair is 19" and has a weight limit of 300 lbs. This Fly Lite Transport Chair, Burgundy Frame comes with carry pocket on backrest and companion drink holder, plus a seat belt for added safety. Outfitted with attractive plaid-style nylon upholstery, this ultra lightweight transport chair has tool-free, height-adjustable swing-away footrests. The Drive Medical Transport Wheelchair Aluminum features 8" casters in rear and 6" casters in front and the back folds down for storage and transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%98 out of 100reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Perfect chair for my 84-year-old mother-in-law

12/14/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chair is a great value: well built/assembled and very durable; easy to load in and out of car due to its light weight; mother-in-law says it is very comfortable, especially with the added seat cushion. We've taken her several places and the chair rolls and manuevers with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Perfect for our needs

03/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight, sturdy, easy to open and collapse to stow in my small SUV, perfect to transport my 90 year old mom with security to her appointments, shopping and restaurants. Great value for the money. One minor flaw that should be adjusted by the manufacturer: the detachable wheels come off too easily when closed and in the trunk, and then they have to be reattached for each use. Not difficult, but in rain and wind, it can be a bit of a nuisance. I still would recommend this chair to anyone who is thinking about it. It has changed my mother's ability to access her world...a very important thing at age 90.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Wonderfully lightweight transport chair!

03/06/2014
By ,
Carmel, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chair was the perfect choice for my 96 year old father. I have 2 artificial knees, and cannot lift more than 15 pounds. It was important to find a chair I could operate and pack, without assistance, for doctor/dentist visits. This chair is light weight, quickly folds down, and is easily maneuverable. My only criticism is that one of the foot rests does not lock in place as easily or quickly as it should. I'm sure this was just a small manufacturing defect, but I don't know how to get it fixed. This is my only concern or frustration with the chair. Overall, I can honestly recommend this wheelchair with little or no reservation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Lightweight, easy to fold and lift

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the chair for my Mother who is unable to stand or walk easily. I am short, so I needed a chair that was lightweight to get in and out of the car. The back folds down to make a more compact size and the frame is easy to hold onto when lifting. A regular wheelchair was very heavy and cumbersome because the large wheels would get caught as I tried to lift it into and out of the trunk, also there was no place to really hold on as the wheels were in the way.
The Transport Chair is easy to push and to get around by herself, Mom lifts up the foot supports and uses her feet to move around easily. The transfer chair is the perfect solution.
I bought a medium size mesh laundry bag with a zipper and attached it to the inside of the arm rest with plastic cable ties so her purse and other small items are safely tucked away and I don't have to worry about them getting lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Love the ease of handling.

02/13/2014
By ,
Ft Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have a progressive lung disease, walking distances is very limited. Also, trying to push a wheelchair is not viable. This gives me the freedom to go out to the show, mall, visiting neighbors, etc. Of course, I need a pusher, mostly my husband, but it is easy to transport and use. Delivery was prompt. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

nice & light, lower seat than typical wheelchair

07/22/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primarily used indoors and it rolls well there, although I haven't used it for outside transport yet, so I can't comment about rolling over asphault, ruts, and such. It's light enough my wife can put it in the car herself, something she couldn't do with our prior "lightweight" small (16in seat) wheelchair. The foot rests will have to be lowered for practically all users - even my 5'1" mother-in-law. The seat is approx 4-5 inches lower than most typical wheelchairs. My wife thought it might be that way so the used can shuffle themselves around using their feet on the ground. Because of the low height, she needed a cushion under her to get a better table seating height. A good side effect is that the arms are low enough to go completely under most tables - so one can "belly up" to the table. The folding back handles make it easy for stowing in cars. The swinging footrests don't latch into locked position as easily as they should - I'm thinking that may get better with some use. All in all, a very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Very light and easy to use

12/29/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This transport chair is wonderful. It is very light and manageable. Easy to pack up and lift into back of vehicle. This is the lightest model I saw online and it is a blessing! Foot pads are easy to swing around to the side and easy to take off and place back on when needed. As a daughter and nurse, we are so happy we bought this for mom! Plenty of room for her to sit and it holds up to 300 lbs even though she is average size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Difficult to tilt up. Leg rests wide span,

04/19/2014
By ,
Sebastopol Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The chair was light but it was a real stress on my back to get my 165# mom over a 1" threshold. Also, her feet didn't fit comfortably on the foot rests. Too wide spread. I do have back strain but returned to using her 32# chair w/large wheels.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

sturdy and lightweight

01/18/2014
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was delivered promptly and exceeds expectations. It is well built and very light, easy to fold and the seat is lightly padded.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

100% Satisfied - this is the one!

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely recommend this transportchair. I am an RN and am very pleased with the quality and simple design. It is 99% assembled out of the box, only requiring that you slip the foot rests into place. **NO tools required** (Tools are included if needed for minor adjustments and maintenance, and come in a handy pouch).
My mother is frail and elderly, and can no longer walk more than 20 feet without having great difficulty, even with a rolling walker. I decided on this transport chair after researching extensively. I am very pleased with our purchase!
It is truly LIGHTWEIGHT and literally turns on a dime. It folds up to a very small footprint and is easy to open and close. It is very well made and sturdy.
We purchased the burgundy chair, which has a wide black seat and black back (not plaid), and it is a good looking device. The seat back has a large pouch with a velcro closure and another smaller pouch with an elastic closure. The seat belt has a simple to use closure and it large enough for a heavy set person.
The price was right purchasing from WallMart on-line and it was delivered on time.
I rate this transport chair a 10 out of 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Atractive lightweight foldable transport chair.

02/15/2014
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Transport chair is the most light weight chair in it's class (a major decision point). Easy to fold up and transport in the car. Seat belt is easy to use. Quick release foot rests sticks out a little further than desired but spouse is only 5'1". Nice burgundy color makes it easy on the eyes. Price point also beats out other comparable chairs. Walmart on-line shopping experience was easy and included free shipping to our front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Excellent

04/15/2014
By ,
Winfield Park, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was bigger and lighter than anticipated... no problem lifting it into the back of my van. The seat is a little wider and that's perfect for my mother in law to squeeze something extra in.
The pouches on the back of the seat are great for putting little things.
I love this chair! It's less than 15lbs!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

make ur life easier

05/10/2011
By ,
New hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladies , I have a husband not wheel chair bound but can't walk too far lung problem gets out of breath. the other chairs all weighed at least 40 pds..us ladies can not do that fold lift put in trunk. This chair amazing I fold it lift it put it behind my seat in the car . I could not take him out before & I am not a weak person . This chair looks good rides good comfortable has bag.. cup holder for water.So easy to fold up.I think it wieghs they say 14 pds I say not that much..
You can not go wrong price is right also.. It said takes 10 delivery days . I had in two , great company thank you Walmart for coming thru again...
Jeanette
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Great Value

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what we needed and as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

IS THE WEIGHT I WAS LOOKING FOR.

04/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I AM SATISFIED WITH THIS PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Very light for easy loading/unloading

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased for elderly mother for shopping trips and social events, works exceedingly well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Satisfied all our requirements - no surprises

03/11/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described in the product details, no surprises and satisfied all our requirements.
Have not started using it yet.
Shipping was timely and in good condition. Very minimal assembly required - I love this part
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Very lightweight chair

05/03/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this wheelchair. It is easy to load into the trunk of the car. The only issue I have is that the breaks are a little difficult to engage. We use it daily transporting mom from the bathroom to the living room and back. Good looking, comfortable seating for her. Seat belt is a plus when using up or down hill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

good value for the price

04/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for older people like myself, the chair is extremely light weight and easy to manage.
the only assembly required is to attach the foot rests to the chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Transport Wheelchair Aluminum, Burgundy Frame

Better Than Expected

06/14/2012
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching transport wheelchairs on the internet, I concluded this one was probably the best for the money. A friend bought one about a week before I did but he bought it from a specialized website and paid almost double what I paid! It's a great wheelchair and very lightweight, even with the foot rests attached. It folds easily and conveniently and we use it continuously, even around the house. It rolls well on our thick carpets and, of course, even better on sidewalks & parking lots. The only negatives are (1) the latch for the foot rests stick out beyond the chair when the rests are pushed back out of the way -- I bang my shins on them often -- and (2) the distance between the foot rests which requires keeping the feet apart, something my wife has difficulty with. But these minor problems do not alter my opinion that this chair is an excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next