Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Drive Medical Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

The 19" Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Aluminum Transport Chair by Drive Medical, available in a variety of attractive colors, is an ultra light transport chair, weighing under 17 lbs without riggings. This transport chair comes with a stylish burgundy aluminum frame and black nylon upholstery. It is also durable and easy to clean. Comes standard with a carry pocket on the back rest to easily and securely transport personal items, seatbelt for added safety, and tool free, height adjustable swing away footrests. The deluxe back release allows the back to be folded down easily, making the chair easy to store and transport.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(133 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
25
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%131 out of 133reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 92 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
25
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Perfect chair for my 84-year-old mother-in-law

12/14/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chair is a great value: well built/assembled and very durable; easy to load in and out of car due to its light weight; mother-in-law says it is very comfortable, especially with the added seat cushion. We've taken her several places and the chair rolls and manuevers with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Lightweight, easy to fold and lift

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the chair for my Mother who is unable to stand or walk easily. I am short, so I needed a chair that was lightweight to get in and out of the car. The back folds down to make a more compact size and the frame is easy to hold onto when lifting. A regular wheelchair was very heavy and cumbersome because the large wheels would get caught as I tried to lift it into and out of the trunk, also there was no place to really hold on as the wheels were in the way.
The Transport Chair is easy to push and to get around by herself, Mom lifts up the foot supports and uses her feet to move around easily. The transfer chair is the perfect solution.
I bought a medium size mesh laundry bag with a zipper and attached it to the inside of the arm rest with plastic cable ties so her purse and other small items are safely tucked away and I don't have to worry about them getting lost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

100% Satisfied - this is the one!

12/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely recommend this transportchair. I am an RN and am very pleased with the quality and simple design. It is 99% assembled out of the box, only requiring that you slip the foot rests into place. **NO tools required** (Tools are included if needed for minor adjustments and maintenance, and come in a handy pouch).
My mother is frail and elderly, and can no longer walk more than 20 feet without having great difficulty, even with a rolling walker. I decided on this transport chair after researching extensively. I am very pleased with our purchase!
It is truly LIGHTWEIGHT and literally turns on a dime. It folds up to a very small footprint and is easy to open and close. It is very well made and sturdy.
We purchased the burgundy chair, which has a wide black seat and black back (not plaid), and it is a good looking device. The seat back has a large pouch with a velcro closure and another smaller pouch with an elastic closure. The seat belt has a simple to use closure and it large enough for a heavy set person.
The price was right purchasing from WallMart on-line and it was delivered on time.
I rate this transport chair a 10 out of 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

nice & light, lower seat than typical wheelchair

07/22/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Primarily used indoors and it rolls well there, although I haven't used it for outside transport yet, so I can't comment about rolling over asphault, ruts, and such. It's light enough my wife can put it in the car herself, something she couldn't do with our prior "lightweight" small (16in seat) wheelchair. The foot rests will have to be lowered for practically all users - even my 5'1" mother-in-law. The seat is approx 4-5 inches lower than most typical wheelchairs. My wife thought it might be that way so the used can shuffle themselves around using their feet on the ground. Because of the low height, she needed a cushion under her to get a better table seating height. A good side effect is that the arms are low enough to go completely under most tables - so one can "belly up" to the table. The folding back handles make it easy for stowing in cars. The swinging footrests don't latch into locked position as easily as they should - I'm thinking that may get better with some use. All in all, a very good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Perfect for our needs

03/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight, sturdy, easy to open and collapse to stow in my small SUV, perfect to transport my 90 year old mom with security to her appointments, shopping and restaurants. Great value for the money. One minor flaw that should be adjusted by the manufacturer: the detachable wheels come off too easily when closed and in the trunk, and then they have to be reattached for each use. Not difficult, but in rain and wind, it can be a bit of a nuisance. I still would recommend this chair to anyone who is thinking about it. It has changed my mother's ability to access her world...a very important thing at age 90.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

make ur life easier

05/10/2011
By ,
New hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladies , I have a husband not wheel chair bound but can't walk too far lung problem gets out of breath. the other chairs all weighed at least 40 pds..us ladies can not do that fold lift put in trunk. This chair amazing I fold it lift it put it behind my seat in the car . I could not take him out before & I am not a weak person . This chair looks good rides good comfortable has bag.. cup holder for water.So easy to fold up.I think it wieghs they say 14 pds I say not that much..
You can not go wrong price is right also.. It said takes 10 delivery days . I had in two , great company thank you Walmart for coming thru again...
Jeanette
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Very lightweight chair

05/03/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy with this wheelchair. It is easy to load into the trunk of the car. The only issue I have is that the breaks are a little difficult to engage. We use it daily transporting mom from the bathroom to the living room and back. Good looking, comfortable seating for her. Seat belt is a plus when using up or down hill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Better Than Expected

06/14/2012
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching transport wheelchairs on the internet, I concluded this one was probably the best for the money. A friend bought one about a week before I did but he bought it from a specialized website and paid almost double what I paid! It's a great wheelchair and very lightweight, even with the foot rests attached. It folds easily and conveniently and we use it continuously, even around the house. It rolls well on our thick carpets and, of course, even better on sidewalks & parking lots. The only negatives are (1) the latch for the foot rests stick out beyond the chair when the rests are pushed back out of the way -- I bang my shins on them often -- and (2) the distance between the foot rests which requires keeping the feet apart, something my wife has difficulty with. But these minor problems do not alter my opinion that this chair is an excellent buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Excellent Portable Wheel Chair

04/23/2011
By ,
West Berlin, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reasonable price and it fits in the trunk of a 2011 Ford Fiesta SES Hatchback without folding the back seat. Durable construction and can handle up to 300 lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair
06/13/2011
By ,
Denver Co.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The wheel chair is perfect for what I needed. It is very light weight, easy to use. The only thing that I didn't like was that on the arm of the chair the material split after only using it once. I'm keeping it as is rather than to be without the chair while trying to exchange it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

great light weight transport chair

09/13/2014
By ,
Bent Mountain, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect to keep in the car when shopping. It takes up little room and is easy to get out and put back in the car. It's given my husband a sense of security when out running errands and allows him the freedom to sit down when he becomes to tired.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Great product for caregivers!

09/11/2014
By ,
louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very light weight and very easy to handle. I bought this for my elderly mother and liked so much, I ordered another for mother-in-law. Walmart delivered to my front door freight free! Thanks Walmart for providing me this product at such a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Wonderfully lightweight transport chair!

03/06/2014
By ,
Carmel, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This chair was the perfect choice for my 96 year old father. I have 2 artificial knees, and cannot lift more than 15 pounds. It was important to find a chair I could operate and pack, without assistance, for doctor/dentist visits. This chair is light weight, quickly folds down, and is easily maneuverable. My only criticism is that one of the foot rests does not lock in place as easily or quickly as it should. I'm sure this was just a small manufacturing defect, but I don't know how to get it fixed. This is my only concern or frustration with the chair. Overall, I can honestly recommend this wheelchair with little or no reservation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Outstanding pereformance. Highly recommended

06/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price and performance. We looked for a companion chair that was sturdy, well built, and light weight. This chair meets all of our criteria with a remarkable low price compared to others. It came completely assembled. The wheels were attached, it is maroon with a black seat and weighs less than 15 pounds. It is easy to fold up and put in the back seat of our Honda CRV. I added a couple of simple modifications. Felt pads where the leg attachments hit the frame when folded up ( quieter and will keep the unit looking new), and also two approximately 9 inch velcro strips, from the frame and wrapped around the leg attachments, so each leg attachment is firmly held in place when they are unlocked and not removed from the chair( to keep them from swinging back and forth). My wife also uses the chair as a walker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Love the ease of handling.

02/13/2014
By ,
Ft Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since I have a progressive lung disease, walking distances is very limited. Also, trying to push a wheelchair is not viable. This gives me the freedom to go out to the show, mall, visiting neighbors, etc. Of course, I need a pusher, mostly my husband, but it is easy to transport and use. Delivery was prompt. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Very light weight

11/23/2011
By ,
Charlotte
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this chair so that I could take my mother-in-law out shopping with me or to doctor appointments. A regular wheel chair was too heavy for me to lift even with the foot rests off. This one is so light weight, I can l lift it and put it in the trunk of my car even with the foot rests on. Also it is easier to maneuver down store aisles and my mother-in-law can get closer to the merchandise to examine it. It's even easy to get the chair up onto a curb with her in it when there is no ramp available and she says it is very comfortable. It is low enough to fit under a table in a resturant and the brakes on it are easy to lock and release. I can definitely recommend this wheelchair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Very light and easy to use

12/29/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This transport chair is wonderful. It is very light and manageable. Easy to pack up and lift into back of vehicle. This is the lightest model I saw online and it is a blessing! Foot pads are easy to swing around to the side and easy to take off and place back on when needed. As a daughter and nurse, we are so happy we bought this for mom! Plenty of room for her to sit and it holds up to 300 lbs even though she is average size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Very light and easy to get in/out of car

06/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my dad but to help my mom who at 77 years old is struggling to get my dad's 25 pound transport wheelchair in and out of the car for his daily radiation treatments. This is much lighter and she is having no problems handling it. It has really made a difference for her. I will say that I weighed it and it is closer to weighing 16.5 pounds than 14.5 pounds, but still a very, very light chair and is also very sturdy so I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

Atractive lightweight foldable transport chair.

02/15/2014
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Transport chair is the most light weight chair in it's class (a major decision point). Easy to fold up and transport in the car. Seat belt is easy to use. Quick release foot rests sticks out a little further than desired but spouse is only 5'1". Nice burgundy color makes it easy on the eyes. Price point also beats out other comparable chairs. Walmart on-line shopping experience was easy and included free shipping to our front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Drive Medical Fly Lite Ultra Lightweight Burgundy Transport Wheelchair

sturdy and lightweight

01/18/2014
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This chair was delivered promptly and exceeds expectations. It is well built and very light, easy to fold and the seat is lightly padded.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next