Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Asus ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Asus ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Indulge your visual senses with the ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor Black (VE208T). It features a 20-inch LCD flat-panel display with LED backlights for energy-efficient operation. With a high dynamic contrast ratio of 10,000,000:1, the ASUS widescreen monitor delivers exceptional image quality for watching movies or playing games. Use the Splendid Video Intelligence Technology of this LED backlit monitor to help select image settings for different modes to ensure the best possible color and image fidelity. With a fast response time of 5ms, you can enjoy smooth playback for games, videos and movies. The built-in stereo speakers offer clutter-free, quality audio. This ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor Black (VE208T)has HDMI connectivity that delivers high definition audio and video in a single cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation85%17 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

so far, so good!

12/14/2012
By ,
St Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll be starting to work from home soon & dual monitors was a must - so I decided to buy two of these & they're great so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

great monitor

08/31/2012
By ,
Moulton, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lot of options on the monitor itself I wasn't expecting. like a button that changes the screen brightness that toggles through a Scenery, Standard, Theatre, Game and Night Mode. Can also adjust the speaker volumes and standard monitor things like contrast and brightness. Screen in standard is very bright to my eyes so I reduced it greatly to around 50% and is much easier to look at now. This should also extend its life by working the lights less hard. No dead pixels and easy set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Tinny sound and Brilliant colors

04/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a monitor with speakers and that's what I got. I was expecting better sound, but for the low price can't expect stereo surround sound.
The display colors are brilliant and high quality. It's just that the sound is below par. You may need to boost the sound with an extra speaker system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

inaccurate description. No HDMI port

11/20/2013
By ,
Ventura, California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I copied this from actual description listed "This LCD computer monitor has HDMI connectivity that delivers high definition audio and video in a single cable". Upon receiving this today was extremely disappointed to find out no HDMI port on monitor. Sad that a TRUSTED name in computer equipment would make such a mistake. Now I have to repack it up and return it having to wait for a replacement
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Integrated speakers are not great or loud enough

03/06/2014
By ,
04072
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Integrated speakers are not great or loud enough on certian usages like facebook videos...
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
I agree about the sound
Posted 04/04/2014
The speakers are "tinny" sounding. I trashed my standalone speakers attached to my computer which had brilliant sound and throught a monitor w/ built-in speakers would be an improvement. But this model monitor is not an improvement. I'm stuck with it.
The good: the Color is so brilliant it will blind you. Easy to assemble.
The bad: Trying to adjust the color and use the controls was cumbersome.
The bad: The manual (not!) and accompanying start up guide was poorly printed, poorly written and hard to understand. The START Guide was written in extremely smallish, teeny tiny letters and for every language on earth. I just wanted something in English and in big print.
The bad: No tech support phone# in the manual. You have to go online and get a 1-800# for ASUS. (Is this a Japanese company?)
This was an inexpensive monitor, so I guess if you want great sound you have to pay double and triple for a better brand name. I'll probably keep this around for a year and then trade up.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Nice monitor

02/19/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good image, size, shape. I mostly bought this monitor because it has nice little speakers built-in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)
05/26/2011
By ,
Morrow, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My purchase was very easy and smooth. No problem with the ordering or pick up from site to store process. This was the first time I used this method and it went very smooth and I will probably use it again when ordering. I love my new monitor it has helped with my vision and I no longer have to strain to see things. Very good experience. Not disappointed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)
08/26/2013
By ,
Pittsfield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this monitor because it has dvi connection. It's an excellent monitor with a large screen and sharp image that doesn't strain your eyes. Added bonus is the built-in speaker (poor sound quality for watching movie). Love that I was able to set the screen to 4x3 instead of the widescreen mode.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Very nice monitor!

08/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent monitor. The speakers are not that loud but at least it has them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

very nice

11/06/2013
By ,
lowell ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This monitor is so functional i love it. I have set up in my bedroom and i can just watch movies by laying on my bed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Where's the sound?

06/18/2013
By ,
San Angelo, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love everything about my new monitor except the sound--I have no sound. The directions for hookup are lousy, even though it was relatively easy to install. I don't speak French, German, or any of the other languages shown. When the monitor sound did not work I tried to hook up my old speakers but they would not work with this monitor. The graphics are absolutely beautiful!! The price was right making this an excellent value. Even without the sound I would recommend this monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)
02/07/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this computer specifically for the HDMI hook up which comes on certain models and apparently you don't know what model you are getting??? I cannot now hook this up to my apple mini because it does not have the HDMI connection on the monitor, after waiting 2 weeks for it to come, slightly frustrated. Have to find an apple store to get a special piece to hook up with vga, more waiting.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Overall good. poor controls placement.

07/13/2013
By ,
Greenville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Monitor has good clear display and sound is good. The larger screen has made gaming and videos better. The controls are under the monitor and to me guess work as to which adjustment I will get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

monator was given as gift was perfect

05/19/2013
By ,
muskegon mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
service was great thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)
01/17/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great monitor! Only downside is the speakers are a bit iffy when it comes to sound quality
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

Top notch, as advertised

08/25/2012
By ,
Eastern Penna
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation easy, Great picture & colors, Price beats BEST BUY for same item, Available for pickup sooner than estimated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

trini gal

11/11/2012
By ,
mobile AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good LCD, easy setup. reasonably priced.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)

excellent monitor

02/22/2012
By ,
Tucson,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A GREAT MONITOR.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for ASUS 20" Widescreen LCD Monitor, Black (VE208T)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5