Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nook NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nook NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

The Barnes and Noble NOOK Color eBook Reader offers a range of popular applications like email, video and web browsing. Now, not only can you read e-books but you can also connect to the internet to search for them online. The eBook Reader has a 7 inch, full color, VividView touchscreen, which displays 16 million colors. The Nook color e-Reader offers a wide viewing angle and has a reduced glare feature to make reading easy on the eyes. Its Wi-Fi access enables the user to shop for more than 2 million e-books, newspapers and magazines online. The 7-inch touch tablet has a special read to me feature, which is especially designed for children. The device comes with an 8 GB memory that can be expanded up to 32 GB, allowing you to store a large number of e-books and other important data. The Nook color eBook tablet is user-friendly and comes with a quick-start guide. It also features an installed rechargeable battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 189
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%200 out of 221reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
160
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
11
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Great!!

03/10/2011
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is well worth the money
I have a Sony Pocket reader PRS350 and a Cruz reader and now a NOOKcolor and thw NOOKcolor is far better than the other two, although the Sony with it's eink is pretty great in it's own way
but Rooted it is much better, much more like a I-pad and far less espensive
as a matter of fact the only plus or minus the I-pad has over the NOOKcolor now that I rooted it, is it's size (screen) or is that the minus?
it is biger but that is a draw back because it not as compact to tug along on the road or ro put in the office heck I even cary the NOOKcolor in my pocket at work sometimes, I usually wear Dockers at work, but I can download games, apps ans do most anything I want, so I see no advantage to the I-pad 1
now the 2 will have cameras and Bluetooth
other than that I will stick with my rooted NOOKcolor, PS it still get books just like the stock software intended- I read alot
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Nook Color

03/05/2011
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this product for sight to store after researching for months all of the e-readers out there. Though it's more expensive, it definately has way more options than the rest of them, and I use them all. There was something wrong with the power cord connector of the nook; Walmart replaced the Nook for me no questions asked. No problems since. My husband's been able to download music and hundred's of free books already. We did have to buy a mini SD card to expand the memory. I have yet to actually pay for a Nook Book; there are so many free ones out there. I also love that there are so many font and back-light options so I don't have to strain when I read. I found that I actually read a lot faster with this too; nearly twice as many pages a day as I do with a reg. book. I recommend that you buy a book style cover for it immediately and put a protective screen on it. My kids showed me how fast if can get smudgy and dirty. I love it, glad I waited to get the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 3 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Not your mother's e-reader

04/27/2011
By ,
Waynesboro, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my NOOKColor yesterday and immediately upgraded the software to V1.2. The Gmail, Google Calendar and Contacts work flawlessly in their respective applications. You can attach files from an optional SDHC card to Gmail using the web browser. YouTube videos look great without studder issues. You can play videos (ripped to 752X416 at 2500 bit rate with an AAC sounder encoder with Handbrake). The videos look great. The book/newspaper reader is very good as is webrowsing. I'll probably move to electronic newspapers now. Unlike the iPad, the NOOKColor does not have any cameras. This will allow me to take it to places where cameras aren't permitted. For me it is the perfect entertainment solution for business and personal trips. My brief case just dropped 3-4 pounds.
The NOOKColor is Android-based. I hope B&N will unlock the full potential of this great device in future software upgrades.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 4 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

LOVE MY NOOK COLOR

03/28/2011
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this last month as a retirement gift to myself and I LOVE it. The reviewer who was unable to change the background color may have had a defective Nook... there are five background settings, including night read. You can choose from several fonts, six font sizes, three line spacings and three margin settings. It's so nice to read in the dark without a light or reading glasses. Have also enjoyed reading outside and in the car during the daytime.
I have not found the internet to be slow, but it may be depending on your wi-fi signal.
Paper vs. electronic is a personal choice; I'm with the reviewer who said you can get through a book much more quickly on the Nook.
Now I just need to get a library card so I can borrow books!
If you are looking at e-readers, I highly recommend saving up for the Nook Color.. also recommend a case and screen protector!
Hope you find this helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 5 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

I LOVE MY NOOK COLOR!!!!

01/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far a great product. I love the fact that you can read, listen to music, either from your mp3's that you download or from the Pandora internet radio, surf the web, and shop for books right from your Nook! The web browser is pretty fast and as long as you have wi-fi, you are good to go. It was easy to register and set up and I had mine up and running in about 15-20 minutes. Believe me, you can't go wrong here. And what's really not to love?? It's durable, not flimsy at all, and it's in color. The battery life is decent and you can download all the books you want including magazines and newspapers. And I hear that B & N are bringing more apps to download by the end of January, so you will have even more for bang for your buck and you don't have to spend $600.00 to have it. It's not the Ipad of course, but it's second best in my opinion. I'm happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Review 6 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Hours of enjoyment

02/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nook Color has been one of the best investments I have made. With its full touch screen it is easy to use. The wifi connection makes it ready to use anytime. One of the best benefits is being able to read in a dark room, with the screen being able to dim or brighten to your comfort level to avoid eye strain. And the internet radio can make reading a relaxing pleasure!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 7 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

great purchase

03/26/2011
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this item from WalMart.com and in the afternoon of the same day I purchased from WalMart a hardwire/WiFi router. My husband hooked it up for me the same day and by the evening I was reading from my NookColor. It is very easy to maneuver, the backlight is great, no glare. I can read in bed at night and not disturb my husband or read in the daylight while camping because the screen is not washed out by the sun. I can carry this small device and read numerous books and magazines without lugging around anything bigger than a tablet. Absolutely great!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+180points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shoreview minn.
nook
Posted 01/17/2012
is this as good as the ipad or better then that i just want to what is better ty
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Impressive, More than a eReader

12/27/2010
By ,
Aliso Viejo, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The NookColor is my second reader. I upgraded from my Amazon Kindle. What an upgrade. This thing is remarkable, really. I find myself checking e-mail, and quick web searching more and more often with this thing. The built in browser works surprisingly good. I can get decent free Wi-fi signal around town, and even with just a single bar it still works well. Found my home network in an instant, all by itself. I just put in my password, it did the rest. Battery life : Not bad, even for a color display. I get about 12 hours with combo web, music, reading. Takes about 3 hours to recharge on average. I just plug it in at night and forget, ready in the morning. File Types : MSWORD DOC support. I was leaning towards the Sony reader until the Nook supported the word docs. MP3's - works great, plus you can have Pandora open and running while reading books or web surfing. Decent sound quality. GLARE : Yes, but never a problem for me. Don't know what people are complaining about there. Increasing the backlight makes it go away. MicroSD memory card up to 32gb. Holds a ton of music, pictures, books, docs, etc. I have a 4gb in it now loaded with MP3's. THE BAD : fingerprint magnet. Touch-screen also takes some getting used to, not to mention the menu system. Took me a day to pretty much figure it all out without the manual. One tip though... GO TO B&N and set up your account from a computer first. No, you can do so without giving them a Credit Card. I use gift cards to make purchases online. Summing it up: I did a lot of research before purchase, even handled all the others. The NookColor just looked the best overall. It's not a computer, but has a lot of real world usefulness. I don't use my cell phone for e-mail or web surfing, so this reader fills in a nice gap. P.S.> It won't recharge while plugged into your computer. It's a voltage thing. However, the USB wall charger also charges my cell phone, MP3 Player. So you get a 20dollar usb charger out of the deal in exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+818points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Mexico
AWESOME!!!
Posted 05/31/2011
I have owned the Sony Pocket Edition Ereader and the Nook Wifi 3g ereader. I have played with friends Kindles and Cruz. I purchased the Nook color so my daughter could have my Nook. This is my favorite out of all of them! I literally take it everywhere! There have been a couple of glitches like my shelves emptying, but the pros definately out weigh the cons and the customer service on the phone and online is awesome. I currently have over 500 books on my NC, most of which were sideloaded from other places than B&N. The apps that are available are increasing weekly so that's good, but I have an android phone, so most of the apps are for my kids. I have apps to help my son with his math and writing and I've sideloaded movies to it. The speaker is not very loud, so I purchased an IPOD external speaker and it works great. This is the best ereader I have found, and being a basic tablet is just a bonus.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

FINALLY!!!!

01/25/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I tried two other color readers before I broke down and spent the extra money for the NOOK. The only complaint I have is that I didn't buy this sooner! Within 5 minutes of getting it out of the box I had both magazines and books downloaded. The two other color readers I returned were not capable of viewing magazines on. It connects quickly to wi-fi, and has a ton of extras! I am a crossword addict, and it comes loaded with crossword puzzles, chess, and sudoku. The color is very sharp and clear! The B&N website is very easy to navigate and buy from. I am in love!!! I would recommend this to anyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+23points
Review 10 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Awesome Ereader

12/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This the the best ereader and I have reviewed just about all of them. You will not make a mistake when you purchse this ereader. It is a alittle more in cost but worth every cent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+263points
Review 11 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Nook Color

12/27/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this for Christmas. I am not the sharpest when it comes to electronic devices, but I love to read. In a matter of minutes, I had this product registered, and had books downloaded and was reading by Christmas afternoon. Great item. Easy to use. I recommend this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+222points
Review 12 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

So Glad I Got This

01/02/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About 2 weeks ago I got my first Nook/3G and I was really happy with it. Then on a recent trip I stopped into a Barnes and Nobel store and I saw the color and oh my goodness. I Returned the Nook/3G went for the Nook Color and I am so happy that I did. The one thing that sold me right away was that the screen is Back Lit and for somone that loves to read in the dark with out distrubing people, this is the right e-reader for you. The Complete touch screen responds great and I love how you can truley keep all your book organized and completely customize your front pages. I would recomment this to all who you love to have the great E-Reader..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 13 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Best E-Reader out there

01/08/2011
By ,
Vineland, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using the Nook Color since Christmas & it has been great. I like using all of the different functions, like surfing the web & checking up on face book. Could not believe how fast the books download into the Nook. Just about done reading my second book & will start on my third shortly. I take it to work & read during my break & lunch periods, a big plus is that the building has wi-fi so I can read my local newspaper for free during break & saved money from not buying the paper anymore. A great product overall. I've check different readers for about one year this is the best one out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 14 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Nook Color

06/09/2011
By ,
Statesboro, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this item for about a month now and I'm very happy with it. Before I got the Nook Color, I was seriously thinking about getting the iPad but I've saved so much money by just getting this instead. Now that it has been updated, it functions just like a tablet and when I think about it, this is really the only tablet/e-reader I'll ever need with just the right enough features and apps. Keep in mind, this is first and foremost an e-reader so for it to do all the additional things it does is really cool. If I get tired of reading I just browse the web, Facebook, the news,check my email,watch videos on Youtube, or play a game or listen to music. How cool is that? All of this and more for an affordable price. You can't beat the Nook Color. This is the one to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 15 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Color Nook is Off the Hook!

04/29/2011
By ,
SF Bay Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is fantastic! The color quality is amazing, I feel like my magazines and books are in HD. You will not be disappointed and you will want to read, read, read when you get this.
I am now a reading egghead because I can't put my Nook down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 16 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Wow

01/05/2011
By ,
Greendale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husb got me the regular nook and right after christmas, the higher priced one went on sale. I immediately traded it in, since i had not used the other yet. I have the kindle and it is a dinosaur compared to this product. A friend at work told me about this so I was immediately intrigued. I am still learing it but WOW, what an amazing product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+110points
Review 17 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Too Limited

06/24/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This device has so much potential. It is a nice, comfortable size and the screen is surprisingly pleasant for reading. The major shortcoming is that it is neutered. It supposedly has Android 2.2, but there's no way to get to the real Android, rendering this device pretty useless for anything beyond ereading, since few of the 100 or so BN apps are free and all seem to be more expensive than they are everywhere else, including the Android Market and Amazon's Appstore. I planned to download the Kindle app, as well as several other mainly functional apps, but I can't even download Gmail or Youtube or even a free calculator. It is really ridiculous, and I plan to return this over-priced, money grubbing brick asap. If all you want is an ereader, I see no reason for this purchase, especially for nearly $300, including tax. A regular nook or kindle will suffice. If you think you're purchasing an ereader with Android as a bonus, look elsewhere. Now, I'm researching the regular tablets, and I will just install the Kindle and Nook apps because I want a multi-functional device. Not simply ebooks with color, pictures, etc.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Review 18 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

LOVE IT!

05/11/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love my new Nook Color! It is a great reader and also functions as a nice basic Tablet PC as well. With the newer update, it does email, flash websites, facebook! It even has some awesome apps you can download like Angry Birds, coloring for kids, kids math games, and organizers, sudoku, crosswords, word searches. Also you can download interactive kids books. My whole family loves it and we would love to own a few more lol! Mostly I hog it for my reading though. lol The battery life is less than a kindle-type reader, but I can easily read all day and play games on one charge and I just charge it at night like I do my cell phone. And I tend to read four or five hour stretches plus the kids end up playing games on it so the life isn't bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 19 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

superior book reader

02/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for magazines, yet easy to carry around. You can still read in direct sunlight and also download your music to it. Right now it can be hacked and turned into an android tablet. The only strike against it is the 8 hour battery life, if you go with a regular Nook it can last a week on a charge. If you do not need the web surfing or the color screen get the Nook. If you want a magazine reader or a web surfing device with plenty of power then get a Nookcolor
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 20 for NOOK Color by Barnes and Noble

Awesome E-Reader

01/11/2011
By ,
WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am an avid reader and was looking for something to reduce the clutter all my books create. After countless hours of research I decided the Nook was the perfect e-reader for me. My dad and husband bought me the Nook Color for Christmas and although I had to return the first one due to freezing and glitching I am very pleased to report that the second one I got hasn't had any problems!! I love that from now on all my books will be in one place and the fact that it has an expanadable memory slot up to 32GB...I don't think i'll ever run out of room! Another cool feature is that you can browse the web and play games. Barnes and Noble also offers free books and the ability to "Lend" them to others who also have the Nook. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is b/c I had to return the first one. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves to read :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 190 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next