Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Generic Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Put your creativity to the test with the Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit. With it, you can turn those ordinary items into bowls, candle holders, planters, terrariums and more. It includes an adjustable bottle cutter, 2 cutting wheels, a wedge and a glass tapper. The kit also comes with 5 glass sanding sheets that allow you to position it to cut with ease. In addition, a 24-page, full-color reference guide is provided. This helps to instruct you on how to use this recycling adjustable bottle cutter. Create your own glass designs with innovative ideas. Gift your works of art to family and friends. Turning those everyday items around the house into spectacular pieces is simple with the glass bottle cutter kit. All items included are made with quality to ensure that they hold up against use. It also makes a wonderful gift for those crafty loved ones in your life. The kit is made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation32%14 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Plan to practice using any bottle cutter

03/20/2012
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had hoped bottle cutting would be easier and cleaner. Plan to use some sort of drill type tool with a sanding attachment because it's not easy to get a clean break and sanding is required to make a smooth edge for handling.
I watched Youtube videos about getting a clean break and was sure I could do it properly. However, I learned it will take a lot of practice to develop the skill of making the best score possible to achieve the cleanest break.
This is not a hobby to be entered into lightly and expect to become accomplished quickly. Also, I was terrified handling glass bottles. One shattered into four pieces. Use protective equipment such as heavy gloves and goggles. I also suggest taking the trash can out instead of removing the bag from your trash can to carry it out after it contains all the broken glass from gaining experience.
Since I was fearful handling the glass and didn't get any better at it quickly, I decided to give up the hobby. At least now I know it's not for me. I think the bottle cutter did perform as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

disappointed

03/24/2011
By ,
tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really excited to try this product out. When I got it home I was immediately discouraged due to the quality of the materials. There is no actual manual that shows you an image of the parts and its label (like "part a", "part b"). There is information on the box that instructs you on how to put the device together, but it was not as helpful as it could of been. I mostly feel the instructions are vague and I was better off piecing things together myself using common sense. (check out the side of the box, those are the only instructions you're going to find on how to put it together. So you can verify this for yourself)
Overall I'm not saying its rocket science to connect a few pieces together, simply saying instructions were vague. :)
After I got it together and tried it out, I found that I could not get the blade to score the bottle successfully. Perhaps I had a defective blade. Instructions indicate one should apply no more than 3lbs of pressure to the bottle in order to score it.
If you have a chance to actually view this product in the store I recommend peering inside the box. You'll see what I mean by low quality materials. I would not pay more than ten bucks for this item. Any more than that and I'd feel cheated.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Bottle Cutter

06/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am returning this product, it's a joke.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Great for beginners & intermediate

06/16/2011
By ,
Ravensdale, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine in 2000, it is definitely a tool to practice on until you get it right! The cutting wheel tends to lose its sharpness after about 50 thick glass bottles but it is definitely a good tool.
The plastic form is not the sturdiest but still does the job- Plus the company stands behind their product- I contacted them about replacement cutting wheel and holder and was greatful for the excellent support I received.
It is a little more expensive than it should be but overall it does what is expected.
I use it to make my own drinkware which I sell.
VERY GOOD PRODUCT & COMPANY
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Very nice

03/20/2011
By ,
Mpls, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While hesitant to purchase from reading reviews, I read and went with a womans review stating "read the material, and practice, it works" Not to boost, but my first 3 (beer) bottles had a clean line cut. Wine bottles are 'lil thicker glass and take longer, but most are cutting fine. See that the cutting wheel is wearing away fast however. Also, would like to cut bottles lower than unit lets me, so I put a solid item under bottle to raise the cut line. Not the best but it works. For a first time cutter, I have done better than expected. Would purchase for beginner like me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Worthless

04/23/2012
By ,
Tacoma, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has absolutely nothing to do with HOW you do it. The cutting wheel in this mechanism does not score the glass and is not replaceable with one that is. You can only purchase the same one from the same company. Even if you watch their video, they show you rubbing back and forth and back and forth all around the bottle. That's not how you cut glass. And the video also shows a horrible cut that would take hours to smooth and would never be straight. I took the just cutting wheel part and tried to cut a flat piece of glass and couldn't even get it to score. I compared that with a $6.98 cheap glass cutter that scored the glass in one pass. Even though this just product is just cheap plastic, it would be worthwhile with a decent cutting wheel or the ability to replace it with a better one. I will be returning it for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Armour Botle & Jar Cutter

06/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great can score/cut jars, bottles from beer size to wine and inbetween. One problem it doesn't clip to counter, but does have a lip to fit over edge of counter. So made clips to keep it secure. Utube has videio on one similar-suggest you watch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Didn't do what it was suppose to

12/03/2013
By ,
Attleboro, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the videos made it look easy with this bottle cutter. The blade didn't even make a mark on the wine bottle. Don't waste your money buying this product.
I returned it for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/03/2014
The blade is not supposed to visibly cut the glass. It is supposed to leave a score line that allows the separation to occur when the glass is heated and cooled. The score line is often invisible unless the glass is held up to a light at just the right angle.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

terrible product.. does not work

12/04/2013
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this.. its already packed up in its box in the garage.. a piece of garbage.. I was looking forward to doing a couple of beer bottles and was very very dissappionted.. didn't even score the bottle..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit
08/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed. The design could be better. Not easy to use and I have done stained glass for many years. So, I know how to score and break glass...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit
11/28/2011
By ,
SW Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would only recommend this after a disclaimer. *Maybe, or leaving a blank, was not an option this review allowed me to use.
You need patients and also experience to get close to the results you hoped for. The instructions do tell you to get practice on thinner bottles, such as beer bottles, before attempting wine bottles.
Also watch a lot of videos on this subject, ie: Youtube. There are a few different methods to get the bottle to break cleanly after you make a GOOD score on it. I don't think the hammer from the inside of the bottle (which is included with this) is the best method. It may be for you.
There is enough sand paper included, to get you started. If you decide to stick with it, you will need more supplies or and additional method to sand/grind the rough edges.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

sorry item

11/24/2013
By ,
ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the worst thing i ever bought had no intention of ever working blade would not even touch bottle tried several ways to cut---- plastic hit bottle and no matter what we did it was the worst thing i ever bought !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit
02/20/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too Flimsy to actually work well. Would be more efficient if it was sturdier or made with better engineering.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Jar Cutter Kit poor

04/22/2014
By ,
Brea, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i brought this product to cut some wine bottles i have, but it did not work. It did not even left a mark at all. This does not work to cut bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Great for projects

01/18/2014
By ,
Davenport,IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the Glass bottle cutter to do center pieces for my son's wedding, best buy we have made so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Would never recommend this to a friend!

12/08/2013
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this item shipped site-to-store and picked it up on a Tuesday. I didn't get to open and try it out until Saturday, 4 days after pickig it up. It is made of plastic, which at the price I should have expected. It barely scored the bottles I was trying to cut and of the 3 bottles I did, they all shattered unevenly and jagged. Plan on returning it to store for a refund on Monday.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit
10/25/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very difficult to use. They say practice practice practice, but no amount of practice can improve the quality of the item. Very cheaply made. I was very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Made of cheap plastic

02/10/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The whole thing is made of plastic and with the amount of pressure that would have to be applied to get it to score the bottle I was afraid I was going to break this. Plus I never really did get it to work. So I will be returning it today.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

bottle cutter

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was really bad I am now in the process of returning it. after carefully reading the instructions and being patient it still would not even score the bottle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Armour Bottle & Jar Cutter Kit

Product did not peform as expected

12/30/2012
By ,
Peoria, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were very unimpressed with this item. My daughter received the bottle and Jar cutter kit as a Christmas gift. The "blade" or cutting wheel was dull and it took a long time to cut the bottle. There was nothing on the bottom of the apparatus to hold the bottle in place while turning it to cut causing the bottle to slip. I owned a bottle cutter as a youth and it was much easier to use with better results. The kit was cheaply and poorly made and we will be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next