Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Marcy Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Marcy Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

No more gym membership fees. No more annoying drives to and from the gym. No more sweaty locker rooms and dirty showers. Home fitness has never been easier. Have everything you need to stay in shape right in your own home with the Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980. Get your swell on whenever you want in the privacy of your house.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%15 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Just plain awful

12/28/2011
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i thought it would be good but it came with messed up equipment, missing parts, and the cable couldnt even take over 100 pounds without snapping. I would look somewhere else for a good workout.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980
03/23/2011
By ,
KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gym is what it says it is, a solid compact piece of equipment, for home use, that gives you a variety of exercise options. While not of the level found in "Y"s" etc., it looks like it will work well for average home use. So far, with a little imagination I have been able to work on just about every area I have wanted too.
It does take a while to assemble, but instructions are pretty good. I put it together alone. I did find one place where it would have been better to tighten a couple of bolts earlier than instructed.
It appears to be well built for the price. My wife who travels a lot says it looks to be of better quality than some she has seen in hotel exercise rooms.
I did go to the hardware store & buy spring clips to replace the chain links that come with it. What come with it works fine but takes time to change set-ups. The clips make changes fast & easy. (doesn't give me time to think about how tired I am between changes.) I might also add another short piece of chain to add a couple of other exercise options.
Overall this was everything I had hoped it would be in this price range. It even has a couple of features normally found only on more expensive units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Simply awesome but a few small issues.

09/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine has taken over from many traditional bench or free weights and allowed me to push harder and go further. As a complement to a free weight home gym it is exceptional. It has a lot of exercise options but the big problem with it is that there are not quite as many as you would like/expect for both the size and space it takes up (often a concern with setting up a home gym) and for the price. Personally I love it and see past those flaws but maybe they would be a problem to others. I recommend checking out which exact exercises it does, these are all it will do - I have tried improvising, it doesn't work - and decide if these are enough before buying. One other thing, I know the instructions for these things are always bad, I've built many of their type, but I found these instructions particularly indeciferable and infuriating. It took a great deal of patience and a lot more time than I expected, however once it is together it feels super sturdy and totally solid. So overall it's getting 'good's from me not the 'excellent's it narrowly missed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Great Home Gym

03/05/2011
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gym was very easy to put together and works great. All of the exercises work great and it has plenty of weight resistance for the average guy.
I've worked out at a gym for 15 years and I'm impressed with this home gym.
You won't become Mr. Universe with it but it will help you build muscle and stay in shape.
Just make sure the cables are very tight. Do this by using the cable adjuster. This is important for the gym to work correctly.
The cables do make a little noise but nothing to annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980
11/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this home gym and love it. You can use it in the convience of you own home without paying high prices at the gym. If you are looking for a weight machine, look no further...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980
01/19/2012
By ,
Sunrise,Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Everything I need I guess I can cancel my gym membership now. Perfect for me and my teenage sons only thing I didn't like was the instruction could have been more detail took about 3 hours but still i love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980
03/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall a good gym. Haven't had much time to use it, doctors orders, but my dad likes it. It takes a while to setup. Took 3.5 hours and i had two workers put it together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

good value

02/25/2011
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a very good product and value. the only draw back is the top weight gets stuck sometimes at the top of the bars that guide the weights. but i love this home gym.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Great home gym

11/02/2011
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good all around home gym. You can do about any type of weight workout you could want on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Marcy home gym - great value

02/19/2012
By ,
Austin, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A lot of home-gym equipment turns out to be really inferior in terms of quality or workout. This Marcy (bought mostly for my wife but used mostly by me) turned out to be an exception.
SPACE: Remember that you have to get behind the weight stack to set weights, and you have flye motions, so don't back it up against a flat wall in the corner; the machine is actually set up to fit diagonally in a room of normal size. Place the base feet flush against the two walls.
ASSEMBLY: The terrifying instructions, with all the cable diagrams, actually turned out to be very easy in practice. Takes a little while, but easy. Just keep your parts organized. My main concern was the weight masts which have little holes on one end and I couldn't tell which way they went; turned out the holes served no purpose whatsoever, so it didn't matter!
QUALITY: Everything's quite solid. I've done multiple workouts with nothing coming loose, bending or whatever.
WORKOUT: The thing works you hard! I was impressed. I'm 20-years ex-Infantry and know my way around weight machines. This gives you a GOOD range of basic workouts, and the available weights will push the limits of all but a dedicated bodybuilder. The cable/pulley arrangements mean that different exercises will provide differing resistance levels, so while the stack is 150# true weight it can wind up being greater than that in resistance weight.
DISADVANTAGES: As with any "do-all, be-all" machine it just physically can't offer the benefit of a roomful of Hammerstrength machines. Biggest issue is a limited range-of-motion with some excercises, notably flyes (quite bad) and lat pulldowns.
OVERALL: The machine impressed me. I'm having a lot of fun with it, and I consider it a terrific value. Easy to assemble, solid, safe and versatile. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Starter

03/14/2011
By ,
Tulsa, Ok.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good home gym for starters, which my son is 14 and I am starting him on this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Don't waste your money!

04/11/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The gym was easy to assemble and lasted for one week before the cable broke under about 60 pounds of lift. Don't bother calling for replacement parts -- Ipex (Marcy) does not honor their warranty. They've given me the run around for six months over a cable. I found a replacement at a 3rd party parts supplier. Do yourself a favor, spend more and get more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Home Gym

04/18/2011
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice gym meets my expectations. It would have been great if the seat was adjustable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

I love it!

12/30/2011
By ,
Jackson, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This home gym has been great for my whole family. A variety of exercises my be performed on this gym. It is Sturdy and provides enough weight to tone and define. Good for beginners. Very easy to assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

great for a work out

04/26/2011
By ,
upper marlboro md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i had a older marcy home gym stepped up to more weight love the system
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980
03/07/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marcy Home Gym, MWM-980

Awesome!!

09/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 16 and i got this product for my birthday.....There are only few cons and many pros
Cons-
To long to assemble
Pros-
Perfect amount of weight
Save money over years rather than going to gym
Most exercises i would have done at gym
Sturdy
AND MORE...
Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.