Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vivitar Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vivitar Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Turn professional with the Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod. This heavy-duty tripod retracts to only 29.3 inches, making it ideal for travel or storage. This professional tripod features 3-way panning head and has vivitar tripod quick release feature that allows you to remove your camera quickly as well as direct your lens in whatever direction you choose. The tripod extends to a maximum height of 74.8 inches with leg locking system. It weighs roughly around 4 pounds, so carrying it around is pretty easy. The Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod stands on rubber feet and holds your camera or camcorder steady so you can eliminate shake or motion blur every time you take a shot. So get the perfect shot and explore new possibilities in photography with this heavy-duty tripod.
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%18 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Great tripod - exceptional value!

07/15/2011
By ,
College Park, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: This is an excellent tripod and includes a carry case. An extraordinary value for such a very, low price.
Strength: Very solid; supports my Nikon D7000 with 70-300m lens without shake or blur.
Flexibility: The legs have the quick-release locks which makes it fast and easy to extend or retract. The leg locks are very secure once locked in place. The tripod also comes with a quick-release plate for the camera. It is also very convenient and easy to use.
Awareness: (I don't necessarily consider these negative since this is an inexpensive tripod, but be aware..) -- 1) The tripod is a bit heavy and not recommended for long hikes. 2) The quick-release plate is convenient, but is proprietary (not Arca-Swiss compatible). If you require another plate, it's difficult to find the plate if searching for it under Vivitar brand; however, the identical plate is made by Sunpak and can be found easily as Sunpak Quick Release Plate for Ultra 757 Tripod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Review 2 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

One happy customer

03/14/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a tall tripod that can hold my nikon d200 with the external flash without sliding or feeling "wonky". This exceeds my expectations and the price can't be beat. The last one I bought (same brand) for almost 3 times the price a few years ago, and it wasn't as tall. just in case you're wondering why I had to buy a new one within a few years... my old tripod lived in the back of my van and took a beating. It finally broke after one of my kids stepped on it. Great product, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 3 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Excellent Tripod

04/17/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All I can say is, "WOW, WOW, WOW". I can't believe the superb quality of this product for only $39.00. I am a professional photographer and this is a professional tripod. In other stores, this tripod would cost you beyond $100.00. This is the tripod to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Review 4 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Good product -except!

01/02/2013
By ,
Western MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have dealt with Vivitar for years although this is my first purchase from them in awhile. They sold out a few years ago -it does not sit well with me. Their customer service department has an English problem. First I love the tripod. It is tall enough and certainly heavy (a good trait in a tripod for a real photographer.) My problem is a full side of the plastic head was broken off. The broken edges were tacky with glue from where the factory hoped to fix it and sell a second at first prices. Customer service insisted that I pay return postage for their broken product. I took it back to Walmart and got a prompt refund. I did go to the Vivitar website and left a message -it has been three weeks with no reply. My plan is to reorder it and check it over very closely. If need be I will order and refund all Winter to get a product that is not broken. They ship it in the colorful shelf box which is not adequate protection for shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 5 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Excellent for the price: solid

01/15/2013
By ,
West Bath, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a sturdy tripod. It is not what you want to backpack with, but it will hold your DSLR and big lens still. The aluminum legs are of significant diameter. The quick release plate is essential for those that want to move their camera rapidly from the tripod to handheld. The pan movement is smooth. The built in levels do their job. The tripod legs have both points and rubber tips at their ends (you screw out the rubber to cover the points if you want. The only concern is the plastic fittings ... but at this price, you cannot expect more. If you are going to play rough with the tripod and sling it about in all weather and temperatures, then get an all metal one. The first tripod I ordered had a plastic part broken in transit (the box had a gash in it) ... so I returned that and reordered (this time it was shipped with another cardboard box outside the regular box the tripod came in and arrived safely). I am quite satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 6 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod
07/21/2011
By ,
venice,florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tripod for my purposes. Uneven ground, steady sight, and folds up and stores nicely in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Best low cost and stable tripod

07/16/2013
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seen a lot of tripod and most of them are costly , I just took this one and I am so satisfied , stable , pan head is smooth and the overall feel is very good . It is perfect for my Canon 5D Mark II with the 24-105 Lens , I was looking for a stable and long tripod at a good price and this fits perfectly .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 8 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Good tripod

08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I take it on long bike rides with my Nikon D90 and it works great. There are however a few things I would have liked to have seen on this tripod:
1. Detachable head.
2. Shorter body, but retaining maximum height. They could have done this by having shorter legs with 3 releases as opposed to 2.
3. Alternate way to lock the three legs other than the leg brace. The Leg brace doesn't allow the tripod to spread the legs so that the head reaches closer to the floor. This is imperative for low height reflection shots.
4. A shorter head panning handle (or even better, a knob handle), the handle is very long, making it difficult to look at the viewfinder of the camera. However, it can be removed once the head is positioned.
I would give this tripod a 4.5/5 because of the points above, but I wouldn't remove a whole star. All in all, I still would recommend this tripod to a friend. However, for an extra $10 you might want to look at the Dolica Floor Standing Tripod, 62". If the 4 points above are deal breakers for you, then a professional $100 tripod (body only) and $50 head might be best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

LOVE THIS tripod

12/23/2011
By ,
greensboro,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a less sturdy tripod before, I searched online and read and read reviews of tripods, but brought this one. This is a sturdy tripod and it will hold my camcorder in place because the head secures when tightened. I tried to move the head after I tightened it and the head wouldn't move. The legs on this tripod is sturdy. It appears to be a well made product and it has a carrying case. This is an excelland product for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 10 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Above Expectations for first impression quality

08/25/2012
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More substantial a piece of equipment than I expected. A good value for the price. I have not used it much yet but expect it will do well. I am 6'4" and a tall tripod is a good thing.
The tripod was shipped in its product packaging only and during shipment punched a hole in the box and subsequently cut a 1-1.5 inch split in the storage bag. The tripod itself was undamaged except for a small burnished spot in the paint on a bracket. In the big picture not a big deal at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 11 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Professional Tripod at a great price!

01/13/2012
By ,
Aurora, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my boyfriends birthday because he left his in another country. It was shipped to him promptly.. He called me so excited to say it is WAY better than the one he had.. He said it is sturdy and a very professional setup.. He is quite pleased with it and thinks I spent a fortune on it! I'll just let him think that, even though the price was awesome! Thanks for such a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Great Value

04/10/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a tall tripod to hold a video camera for recording myself playing guitar. This tripod is very sturdy, even at his tallest. For the roughly $40 that it cost, it is a fantastic tripod. I almost bought a more expensive one that was twice the price thinking it would be of my minimum quality, but I took a chance on this one. I don't regret it one bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Great buy on a tripod

02/07/2013
By ,
Manhattan, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with this new tripod. The various adjustments--height, level, add and remove the camera, etc--are easy to make. The tripod is very stable, and it is a good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod
11/19/2012
By ,
Pembroke Pines, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a tall professional tripod and this fits the bill perfectly. It is excellent and I couldn't ask for a better price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 15 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod

Outstanding for the price

07/28/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy
Well constructed
Buy this and you won't regret it, and the price is right!
I am 6'4" and I need a taller tripod and this one does the job and some.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod
12/06/2012
By ,
jacksonville,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a Good value for a small price !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Vivitar 74.8" Pro Tripod
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5