Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cooler Master Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Cooler Master Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

The NotePal U2 laptop cooling devise is a simple stand that elevates your laptop to a comfortable viewing angle and allows you to work with a better posture. The aluminum-meshed Cooler Master laptop stand design ensures that heat dissipates quickly to prevent your laptop from overheating. The slim and lightweight design gives you the convenience of taking the Cooler Master laptop stand anywhere and easily stow it away. Two 80mm fans built into this black laptop cooling device will allow you to cool the necessary areas generating the most heat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.521 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%67 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Great laptop cooler!

12/04/2012
By ,
Snohomish, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even better than I expected. The fans are simple to snap on or off to cool the hottest spot. Keeps your computer stationary on the desk - no sliding around at all. The fans are absolutely quiet. Terrific buy for the money. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

You get what you pay for...

03/15/2011
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall: if you are looking for an inexpensive cooler for your laptop this is a good option. even if the fans are broken it *should* allow for better airflow under the unit due to the angled and grated design. if you are willing to risk the chance of a broken fan, this is an excellent deal. and if the fan is broken, its always easy to return things at walmart :D
Pros:
-the angle it puts the computer on makes typing a lot more comfortable.
-the mesh design will allow for greater airflow and heat dispersion even without the fans.
-the laptop can be put on the underside for easy travel.
-the computer is very stable on the rubber pads.
-very quiet fans
-usb power cord has another pass-through adapter, so a usb slot is not lost with this plugged in.
-sturdy design, brushed aluminium
cons:
-one of the fans arrived with the 3 of the 4 little stubs that hold it onto the unit broken off.
-fans are not very powerful
-low rpm
-fans need to be removed to allow easy transport (this would possibly create a situation where the clips could be broken off the fans)
-the usb connect is bulky
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Does what it's supposed to!

01/10/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this product in the mail several days before it was scheduled to arrive, which was a nice surprise! It was a cinch to set up. The fan runs very quietly and the set up of the computer on the platform is actually better ergonomically and I'm not straining my neck any more to see my laptop screen. My only complaint is that it had a strong plastic/chemical smell for the first couple of weeks, especially when the computer was running. So, beware to those of you with chemical sensitivities, but the odor does go away in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Awesome cooling unit!

01/22/2011
By ,
Milton-Freewater, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My lap top was overheating and shutting itself down even though I had it on a flat hard surface. I had trouble finding something big enough for it since it's an 18 in screen, but this cooling unit was one of the cheapest options and it's great! I looked on Amazon and found it cheaper through walmart! I love it and it solved all my overheating problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
oueens ny
Posted 03/05/2013
i purchase this cooler master notepal u2,black but i never get the extra cooling fan as advertise,
0points
Customer Avatar
wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 03/10/2012
This cooling fan is the best it works great and the price is so cheap for such a well made product. I highly recommend this product!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Great cooler.

07/17/2011
By ,
S. Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had and used many notebook cooling devices over the years and my notebooks have lasted a long time, I'm sure as a result. Notebooks die because of heat!! Of all the cooling devices I've ever had, this one was without a doubt the best. Way better than the others. Light weight and portable, fits in notbook bag by cradling the computer, and best of all, the fans are easily removable and can be re-located anywhere you need them to cover (and cool) computer hotspots. Very quiet operation only adds to the features!! Definitely, if you're looking to keep your notebook cooler - around longer, get one of these.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

great product

01/04/2011
By ,
Rocky Face, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PWonderful product. It does exactly what it says it will do: keep your computer from over heating. I only have one problem with it: I use my laptop in bed more than sitting at a desk. The Cooler Master only comes with one strap to keep it strapped down to the computer and while the corner grips help, it would be more helpful to have another strap somewhere. Overall, wonderful product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Worth the price and then some!

10/05/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Cooler Master because the rather noisy cooling fans on my Dell Latitude were turning on too often. However, I didn't expect the difference to be this amazing. Not only are the Cooler Master's built-in fans extremely quiet but the Dell's fans have yet to turn on since I began mounting the laptop on the new unit.
The setup is easy. Each of the two fans on the cooling unit detach by pressing a button on the side of the fans. You reattach them to the spots where your notebook has air vents on the underside. Then, you connect the fans to one of your notebook's USB ports by means of a plug that has a female connector on its backside. This allows you to use the USB port simultaneously for another device (such as a flash drive or printer) while the unit's fans are operating.
In summary, this is one of the most sensible and inexpensive laptop accessories I have ever found.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Super Quiet, adjustable, replaceable fans

06/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for 2 reasons 1) low noise and 2) cooling ability. I use it for my 15" MacBook Pro, everyday, all day and it works well. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product and highly recommend it.
1) NOISE: This laptop cooler is SUPER QUIET. Loving it! I initially had to check that the fans were on, and they were to my surprise. This alone was worth the price.
2) COOLING: The fans can be positioned where your laptop has hot spots. Hence you can customize the position of the fans. Awesome. If I purchase a new laptop, I can reuse this cooler and adjust the fan locations appropriately. However, there are still some warm areas that are not directly above the fans that are not cooled. Bummer. However, I wonder if additional fans can be purchased?
3) BONUS: The fans are replaceable. You will have to splice the wires together, but still replaceable. In fact, I am wondering if I can splice in an additional fan. I just need to find housing to attach to the existing frame.
SUMMARY:
PROs: QUIET, quiet, quiet!!! Definitely cools above where the fans are placed. Adjustable position of fans. Replaceable fans. Well constructed, sturdy material and should last.
CONS: Adjacent areas to where fans are placed, not cooled as much as I would like. But, I did not purchase a refrigerator. Unsure if additional fans are purchasable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Worked beautifully

10/03/2011
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 17" monster HP Pavillion Laptop which has three fans to cool itself, and under normal usage two of these fans are running and are very noisy. When that third fan kicks in, it's deafening, and even when that happens, the laptop still runs very hot.
Once I set up the cooling stand (which was incredibly easy btw) the laptop had no trouble keeping cool. Only one laptop fan would kick on periodically during heavy usage, but that's it. The two fans on the stands ran quietly and did their job well. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Cooler Master

01/13/2011
By ,
Boise, ID
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this cooler master at amazon.com and it saves you like 8-10 bucks.
I tested the temperature before i placed the cooler and it was around 53-55 degrees Celsius and now it is around 45-48, it made a difference.
The fans are good, but not great, it does enough to get the job done. It has a weird smell to it at first, but goes away. It is very much sturdy. The fans can be placed anywhere and it is connected by usb. I like how it doesn't take up a port because it has one attached behind it.
Overall the product is great so far. I've never had a laptop cooler before but this one is awesome.. comes with a band to hold your laptop, 2 fans, and 1 stand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Cooler Master needs to stick with builders only...

01/31/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ACTUAL PRODUCT MEASUREMENTS: 13-5/8" x 10-1/2" x 2-1/2"
PROS: Great price, looks great, compact. Can remove fans to use minimal space in laptop bag/backpack.
CONS: Bottom/front metal piece tends to warp upwards when laptop is placed on top. Metal is rather thin, flimsy aluminum with edges that can easily scratch laptops. Moveable fans seem like a great thing, but it's just a very clever marketing gimmick. Fans hardly move any air and certainly do not live up to Cooler Master's name and reign as king of computer cooling parts.
If you're looking for something to actually COOL your laptop down (gamers), look for a cooler with larger fans. If you're looking for something to use as a leveler/cooler for placing your laptop on carpet, it will do its job... but it's very uncomfortable to use on lap. This product is ONLY for casual laptop users.
Highest average temp (on table) without cooler: 120F. Highest average temp while using cooler: 115F. While on carpet: 150F and 143F, respectively. Not even worth using.
Choose the Targus Lap Chill Mat for a better investment - better design (bottom is sealed off), cools laptop down a bit more (120F/110F and 150F/138F), and it's made of thick plastic (don't have to worry about scratching your laptop). Just do a quick online search... it runs around the same price as the aforementioned product.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Targus Lap Chill Mat, Black/Gray
 
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Totally useless-pathetic airflow forced thru holes

10/18/2011
By ,
stockton, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had great hopes for this because my new Asus laptop runs hot. This is not by 'feel' but have installed very accurate temp measuring software, "SpeedFan 4.44" that displays six different laptop temperatures, GPU, hard drives, case temp, both CPU processors, etc.
I placed the fans directly under the hottest part of the computer and ran for 30 minutes. Not one single temp parameter dropped one degree.
At first, I thought the fans were not running, but they are, and the airflow is feeble and pathetic. It's easy to understand why other viewers thought the fans were quiet. Well, that's because they barely work. Worse, they must push this very small airflow through holes in the cooler stand so almost nothing reaches the laptop.
Tomorrow I will find out if Walmart's return policy is any good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Good product

05/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a good product for the price. I have a HP laptop and it gets really hot when I play games on it. It'll shut down because it gets overheated. This really helps. It cools it right down. It is very quiet and the adjustable fans are great. The only con is that you can't adjust the angle of the surface that the laptop sits on. It's still a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Lots of options at a small price

04/09/2011
By ,
Annabella, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My computer was having issues where it would shut down when viewing video online. The internal fans could not keep it cooled down. The Cooler Master comes with 2 fans that you can install at any location on the bottom of the aluminum mess so that you can customize where you need the most airflow. Very easy to use and it seems to do the trick. They are powered via a USB that connects to your computer and has a pass-through feature so that you can still use that USB port for other connections. Overall this has been a great purchase. The only down side that I could pass on is that the amount of airflow seems to be a little low, it would be nice if the fans ran a little faster, but all-in-all, this is a great purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Great Product

01/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using this for about 2 weeks now - about 8 hours of constant use 5 days a week (for my work laptop). It's been great! No problems at all. I love that the USB plug has another slot on the end so it doesn't take up one of the precious USB slots on my computer. I love that the fans are move-able - my laptop started to get a little warm and I was able to move the fans VERY easily (to places a normal cooler would never reach) and it immediately helped. I love the angle - it makes typing and looking at the screen at work more comfortable. And it's quiet. The only issue I can see is that it wouldn't be comfortable on your lap. But it's perfect at work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Great for larger laptops.

08/27/2011
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my new Probook (15.6") and it fits great! I love the 2 adjustable fans and my laptop stays cool. I keep my laptop on almost 18 hrs a day and it has been running great. The fans are quiet and there's even a usb port on the usb itself you can still use the port! This part is a little flimsy but it stays put. There are little pads on the top and bottom to keep your laptop in place and those also are great. This is meant for use on a sturdy surface. I had to buy one of those portable laptop desks because the gummy pads at the bottom slip off if placed on an uneven surface. For the price I'm quite pleased. Hope this helps:)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Keep your Cool

01/07/2011
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well designed, well made by a top notch company and sold for a rock bottom price by the world's greatest retailer...who could ask for more.
Keeps the chips cool and off the lap, have not needed to plug in the fans yet, but tested them to be very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

design does the job

01/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to buy a laptop cooler after buying one before, which didn't satisfy the need, but having seen this Master Cooler product meets the kind of performance I want, cooling the parts where intense heat is present, also sturdy fans are silent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black
09/17/2012
By ,
Spencer, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great, well built adjustable for any laptop you can put the fans anywhere on the grid you want. Made my laptop run cooler, put it at a better angle to work with. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cooler Master NotePal U2, Black

Best Laptop Cooler

10/21/2011
By ,
Guam
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good laptop cooler, quiet and the fans are movable so you can place anywhere under your laptop. it has a extra usb port and very sturdy too. i have three kinds of laptop coolers but this one is the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next