Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Singer Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

The Singer Sew Essentials Storage System is perfect for storing all of your sewing notions and supplies. This Singer sewing box features a hard plastic outer shell, making the content safe for travel. It also features a molded plastic handle for conveniently portability. The handle can be folded when not in use. The two outer pockets can be used to store patterns or small books. For easier spool storage and retrieval, 40 spokes are provided inside the case. A small compartment is provided to store small essential supplies and a larger compartment for scissor and other larger items. The built-in pin cushion helps you keep needles safely in place. You can keep up to 30 needles inside a needle case that is included in this sewing storage box. It also includes a seam ripper that makes unpicking stitches a breeze. Precisely, this portable sewing kit has everything you would require for your sewing project.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation70%21 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Not a good idea!

07/14/2012
By ,
Hilton Head Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I saw this same EXACT storage system being sold on HSN. I read their reviews, then started checking out reviews on-line. I started with Wal-Mart to see if they even carried it. Sure enough, it was completely the same excet it was $10.00 cheaper! Off I went to Wal-Mart and thank God I opened the box (with permission) to compare it with the reviews I had read. This product is made VERY poorly. Everything was made with very cheap plastic and as the reviews had portrayed, the spools of thread (which had only STRANDS of thread on them) fell out as soon as I opened the case. I think they expect you to keep the cardboard template over the spools all the time, in the closed position. The outside pockets will barely hold 2 patterns, and the plastic compartments inside would never suffice for ample room for notions needed. I ended up buying a very pretty sewing basket made out of beautiful material for $19.97. I bought all of the notions that the "Storage System" offered PLUS more, and ended up with a very well-made, put-together Sewing Basket that I know I will have for many years to come, at a great total that I knew I could afford. If you are serious about your sewing hobby/business, it is so well worth choosing items that you know you won't have to replace for many years to come. "Following with my gut" sure saved me alot of stress , aggravation AND money that I undoubtedly would have had to endure otherwise! Doing my homework has paid off once again! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Horrible quality...DON'T PURCHASE.

02/23/2013
By ,
Worcester, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this sewing kit because it was displayed next to the Singer sewing machine I bought at the same time. I've recently started a small from-home clothing business and needed to start with the essentials. I am extremely disappointed with this entire kit and every time I have to use something in it, I get more and more infuriated. I quit using the actual plastic kit long ago, as the latch was extremely frustrating and hard to open, the spools usually fell out, and the small side drawers constantly slid out. However, I'm still using the supplies and so far, virtually everything has been of the cheapest, poorest quality. The thread is weak, thin, and frayed, and has multiple times broken off while I'm in the middle of sewing a piece. I got down to the spool one time and the thread again broke off because of unfinished rough plastic edges on the middle of the spool itself, which made the rest of the thread unusable in my machine. The needles appear to all be the same size and have such small holes that it's extremely difficult to get this poor quality thread through them. When I tried to use the thin, flimsy needle threaders that came with the set, they won't even fit into the eye of the needle. The pincushion is too small and seems to be hard in the middle, as half the time, it's difficult to even push pins into it. The bobbins that came with the kit are too small for use in my sewing machine, which is a Singer Esteem II, nothing unusual. While the kit has a couple dozen different colors of thread, there is no white, which was frustrating, as it required yet another trip to the store. There is NOTHING about this kit which I have been pleased with and I am now working slowly to replace everything I wasted my money on. I purchased it originally because of the Singer name and reputation, but my advice to anyone else would be to NOT purchase this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

sewbox

04/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terribly unhappy with product, poorly made. Cheap, small amounts of thread on spools and thread cheap that it broke. Side cases would not stay shut and once opened, everything would fall out. Best thing was the plastic case! I took everything out of case and using what I can salvage of the $ 57.00 spent on this product that is not worth $10.00 to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

It's going back to the store!

06/22/2012
By ,
Pahrump, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The case is horrible! It's hard to get closed because the side drawers keep popping open. But my biggest complaint is that all of the spools of thread fall out when you open it! There should be something to hold the spools in!! I bought this today and after opening it (very carefully) and having a bunch of spools would fall out multiple times, it's going back tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

I dread opening this thing!

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good concept, but I dread opening it. Every time I do, some of the spools fall out and all of the little compartments fly open and spill. Nothing stays securely in place. As most reviewers have said, the quality of the thread is terrible. It breaks very easily and I ended up just throwing it away and using my own thread. Don't waste your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Not worth the price

04/16/2011
By ,
Pequot Lakes, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unless you keep the storage case upright and open very carefully all of the spools of thread fall out, and the side pockets for patterns are slightly narrower than the patterns, so you can only jam in 1 pattern on each side! Came with lots of black thread, but only 1 very small spool of white! All in all, not worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Low quality

04/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor quality thread...loose thread ends popping out from the spools. Items included are a joke such as the tiny pin cushion or the toyish scissors and stich opener. Spools of thread are smaller than what the look like in the picture. On top of that it was obvious that the threads were broken on the spools and the quantity and not just the quality is minimal. The case is ok. Not worth the price. We only opened it and immediately decided the quality is sub-par. Not what we expected...quite dissapointed. Not what we expected from Singer. We will be returning it straight away.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Buyer beware

01/03/2013
By ,
Lebanon, Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This sewing kit is adequate, i.e., the contents are quite helpful for one on his/her own who wants to mend and maintain clothes. The problem is the overall container. It's well designed, but it's rather cheaply made and, as a consequence, not as robust as it really needs to be, given the frequency with which one can expect to use it. Some of the contents are on the cheap side, but one can always upgrade as the need arises, e.g., thimbles. Overall, it's worth $20; however, it's not for kids who won't handle it as carefully as necessary and will undoubtedly break it. For what it's worth, it's better than anything else I've found. I suppose that classifies it as the least bad choice rather than the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Great for organization.

09/06/2012
By ,
Chicago,IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The kit provides easy selection of thread and accesories.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

ok for beginner & on sale

01/24/2012
By ,
des moines, ia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this when I bought my first sewing machine here recently. Its a very cheap case, the side containers dont stay shut when its closed. The spools all fall off everything you open the darn thing and its rather difficult to open. Overall, it did come with everything thing I needed to get started and it was on sale at the time for $19.99. I do small crafts so it worked for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

good to keep toddlers out of your things

03/01/2013
By ,
Bellingham, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love all the compartments and you can swing open the sides instead of opening the whole thing. The only thing I don't like is that it's a little hard to open wide and if you put any scissors or other things in the bottom basket area they want to fall out if you open it tilted and most times you have to tilt it to get it open. I do love everything else that came with it and all the features, it's very handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System
07/07/2012
By ,
Loveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I originally bought this product for myself so when my daughter expressed interest, I bought her the same thing and she is very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System
08/23/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is great to have and the price is excellent, the case is completely stocked for all the crafty sewers. I highly recommend this product...
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Great product for the price.

11/29/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Great for the beginner and travelers

08/15/2012
By ,
Dever, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sewing box helps to keep things neat and it's great when I need to travel with my sewing machine. The scissors that come with it are surprisingly of good quality and are very sharp too. The side panels are perfect for holding my extra buttons and other small tools that I use too. This is a beginner's treasure box. It has everything you will need to get started and the pins are pretty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Great for a beginner

12/02/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am hoping that this will last. The item has the Singer name, but it is really kind of cheap in person. I will probably take everything out and put it in some more sturdy. Nice assortment of different threads. The scissors, seam ripper all look cheap and not appearing to last the distance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Great storage system

06/22/2011
By ,
Glen Rose, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I received this after many years of not sewing, this had everything I needed to get started again in a compact, easy to carry and store, unit. I bought this one for my daughter who has just started sewing crafts. It keeps it out of the hands of her 2 year old so she doesn't get into things she doesn't need to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

Outstanding storage for the young beginner.

12/20/2013
By ,
Martinez, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sorry I had to return the merchandise. Her other grandmother had already purchased this item. But I think my granddaughter would have enjoyed this item greatly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

excellant

11/15/2013
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent. Just the right size
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Sew Essentials Storage System

great for beginners or expert sewers

09/22/2012
By ,
kenton tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this package it has every color thread I needed although the needl threaders dont hold up very well broke after one use the rest of the items are wonderful i would reccomnd this for beginners as well as expert sewers I use mine every day
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next