Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

The Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone from Straight Talk delivers all the features you need. This Straight Talk cell phone brings you the convenience and flexibility of no activation fees, contracts, monthly bills or credit checks. This Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone has Bluetooth wireless technology for transferring and receiving files effortlessly. Capture the special moments with the VGA camera and share them instantly to your friends with the MMS picture messaging facility. Senior citizens and people who have hearing issues will find this Samsung prepaid cell phone with hearing aid compatibility extremely useful. With mobile web, you can look up on information anytime and anywhere. This Samsung camera mobile phone runs on lithium ion battery and boasts an impressive performance with up to 5 hours talk time and 8 days standby time. The flip design makes it interesting to carry around.
Average Customer Rating:
2.771 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation41%14 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

I hate this phone and I hate Straight Talk!

03/31/2011
By ,
Cental Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone in November 2010. It worked alright at first. Kinda sluggish. My main problem with it is that I barely get 2 bars any where I go. That was alright, because I live in the middle of nowhere and most Cell providers don't offer services out here whatsoever. Last month, I renewed my plan.. I couldn't use it for the first 2 days. I had to call tech support (if you could even call it that) to finally get it to work. 3 days before my service end date, the words "Unregistered Sim" appeared on my screen and I could no longer make or receive calls or texts! I called "tech support" again. I was on the phone with them for over a hour punching in codes, taking my battery out, taking the sim card out. Over and over again! It still didn't work so they had to "escalate" it. I was told to call back in 24-48 hours. I called back they STILL have no clue what is wrong with my phone. I will not be paying for another month. This phone is garbage and so is their customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Great value

11/12/2010
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an iphone and i love it to death but in so cal att's recpetion really stinks and i dont have one phone call where my call doesn't get dropped. After 6 months I got fed up with the situation so I got this phone to make phone calls without my calls getting dropped. It is a SUPER BASIC phone and doesn't have all the bells and whistles like newer phones do, but it is a great phone if you just want to make phone calls and text, def not good for web browshing. I have had this phone for about 3 weeks now and I have only gotten one dropped call, I was suprised. I called in to activate the phone after I bought it and it was activated and ready to go within a matter of 5 minutes. If straight talk gets more phones like the iphone, then i would def cancel my phone plan right now and go with them. it is a great deal because for unlimited everything is it a fraction of the price of what you would normally pay with a contract cell phone. Bottom line, if you talk and text a lot, and you want a phone with just those basic features, this is a good phone for you, but if you are looking for a phone that does a lot, keep looking
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+132points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

DON'T DO IT!!!!!

05/13/2011
By ,
fayetteville, nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phones themselves are ok but the Straight Talk service is AWFUL!!! Maybe you will get lucky and have a "honeymoon" period of time but when your phone cuts off inexplicably or needs service thats when it will all fall apart!!!!!
My husband and I got these phones because they were simple,inexpensive and sounded like a good deal..I don't want to reprogram a sub in the Atlantic with my phone..I just want to make the occasional phone call..
We got the phones, turned them on and things were fine for the first month. The second month, four days after the turnover, my phone is deactivated...the bank says they have taken the money, my phone says it has 26 days of service.
I call customer service, I can barely understand them, their English is so bad. After being put on hold 1000 times.. they say my DEBIT card is invalid (apparently not invalid enough to NOT take my money) then they say I need to pay $90 to get my phone reactivated...but they can't explain HOW they came up with the $90 amount..then they say we didn't pay for one of the phones when we ordered them 2 months ago
(how is that even possible??? if we didn't pay for them we wouldn't have received them???)
This weirded me out..so I looked on google
(may I suggest"googlestraighttalkcomplaints")
I may have to take a $30 hit because it looks like
I won't be getting my money back...and it also looks like a lot of people are having trouble with double and triple charges..so watch your bank account like a hawk!!!!!
Just pathetic....you lost a customer BIG TIME!!
So yeah....I'm going to cancel this..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Straight Talk

03/06/2011
By ,
Naperville, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
deplorable customer service; CS rep's hard to understand. one hand doesn't know what the other is doing. My phone still is not working and they cannot seem to fix problem. 100.00 wasted.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

More then expected!

03/03/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was with A T & T for 13yrs and luckily I did not renew a contract with them otherwise there would have been a contract cancellation fee. After reviewing straight talk and by word of mouth I decided to give them a shot.. I am extremely happy with the service also, on their facebook page the person from Straight Talk will answer any questions, the value is excellent for the prepaid cards, $30.00 or $45.00 depending on your needs and can switch between the two anytime, much cheaper then A T &T. As for this phone I find the screen small compared to the old phone I had with A T & T and its difficult to see for web access which I never use anyways.. I am now use to this phone and it fits comfortably in my pocket. Would definately recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

horrible

02/16/2011
By ,
camden, ME
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
broke in two weeks, camera is junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

A really hardy phone.

04/09/2012
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this phone in January 2011 when I knew I would be starting school. It was my first cell phone and I couldn't have had a better experience with it. I never had a single problem with it and I had it for more than a year (I bought a droid-type phone in March, 2012). This phone is the hardiest little thing I've ever had. It's been dropped multiple times, was rarely turned off, and through it all it worked perfectly. I didn't have any issues with dropped calls or spotty coverage. Even out in the country I got internet access and everything. It's a very basic phone, but for someone who only needs to check emails, Facebook and Twitter, or who needs a simple phone to call and text, this is a great phone for you. I have a fancy new phone now, but there are still things I miss about this phone, the long battery life being one of them. I only had to charge it once every few days, as opposed to multiple times a day with the one I have now. I can definitely say I would recommend it because I already have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Great phone for seniors

02/10/2011
By ,
Colton,Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone but a little simple for some. I am a senior and only use it for talking & reading text messages. I ordered it from Walmart on line and paid the mere $2.97 to have it delivered to my home. Well it showed up a day early and I called Straight talk to switch my number. 12 hours later it worked great and I love it. I have bought a few phones from Walmart and always had great service.
Great friendly service from Walmart and I love the service... Thanks so much :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Samsung T255

03/30/2011
By ,
Lordstown, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in December 2010 and used for cross country trip. Very disappointed in clarity as many said the speech was garbled and had to use my Sprint phone most of the time. Price was right but am going to trash this one and upgrade to one with a better microphone. Speaker is poor quality so listening to calls is a chore. Would not recommend this phone unless you are just interested in using it occasionally for non-important calls.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

01/22/2011
By ,
PENSACOLA, FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THE WORLD CHANGES TO MUCH, EVERYTONE EXPECTS MORE FOR LESS. 100 YEARS AGO PEOPLE WOULD OF LOVED THE BASIC CELL PHONES, THAT WE TAKE FOR GRANTED AND COMPLAIN ABOUT. IVE OWNED QUITE A FEW PHONES WITH DIFF PROVIDERS, BOTH PREPAID AND PLAN PHONES. TRUE THIS IS A BASIC PHONE. WE ALL ARE LOOKING FOR LESS EXPENSIVE WITH NO CONTRACTS. THIS IS A GREAT BASIC PHONE AN I LOVE MINE, HAD IT 4 MONTHS NOW AND NEVER LOST SIGNAL. I REMBER 10 YEARS AGO, CELL ONE I THINK IT WAS LIKE .35 A MIN, NO WEB, NO EMAIL, NO TEXT. AND WE WHER ALL HAPPY. AND NOW UNLIMITED 45.00 PER MONTH. U BETTER QUIT COMPLAINING AND BE HAPPY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Functional, not great

12/25/2010
By ,
Lenoir, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought two of these phones because my wife and I were both going to switch. I was the guinea pig. Let's just say my wife is not interested in switching anymore. The phone's antenna does not pick up well. We have friends with Straight Talk, and their LG phone can pick up in infinitely more places than this phone. It is also very small, which makes it very slippery.
It is a functional phone, but it is not the best value on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Decent phone, but has its bad points....

11/27/2010
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone on Black Friday which included the service plan along with it. It works great, once it was activated, however the intital setup experience was not so great. I called to activate the phone and it took 6 hours to get a number assigned to my phone before it could work. Then the web browser would not work. I reached out to Straight Talk through Facebook and they worked with me to resolve my phone problems and got it properly working as of 10am Saturday. The web browsing on it, its tiny at best, and you cant really make anything out except for the text. The screen clarity is okay at best, its not going to make you go WOW for that matter. Has a fair amount of wallpapers and ring tones. Call quality is good , but due to the cell tower thats a 5 minute walk from my house, if I am near that tower the phone signal fluxuates. Have not gotten any dropped calls so that is great. Overall this phone while it has a few quirks was okay for the price because of the free $45 card included in the box for Black Friday but had this not be the case, I would suggest to find a phone with a bigger screen and text with better clarity. Only bought it because it was a no brainer value and an impulse buy....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Very poor sound quality

04/26/2011
By ,
Minneapolis Mn.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The T255 Samsung phone.
I have a poor time trying to hear when people call me or I call them.
The speaker must be junk as the volume is low (yes I have it set on 7 and outdoors) and it sometimes crackles and looses the voice momentarily.
I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Is there a way to upgrade to a differant model ??
I think there might be a reason on why they do not offer this model at thw Wall Mart that I shop at.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

a waist of time...

12/27/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i ordered this phone 3 weeks ago and ordered overnight shiping and got it 4 days later and have ben on the phone with costomer service for 2 hours at a time and they all say the samething that is it will work in 24 hours but it never does it also ruined my old phone in the process of switching my number and waisted a 30 dollar card so in all i have about 100 dollars tied up in this nonworking phone so over all straight talk came out before it was ready to they have alot of issues to fix and it was a waist of my time and money for your own good bypass this product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Breaks Down Fast

05/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this phone for free on Black Friday with an unlimited plan. It worked well at first and was pretty user-friendly. However, after a few months I noticed that I sent a message, but it didn't go to the 'Sent Messages' folder. Instead, it went to the 'Drafts' folder. After that, some sent messages would go to the 'Sent' folder while others would go to 'Drafts.' Calls were usually pretty good, but sometimes it would cut out.
After a little over 5 months the camera wouldn't take pictures right - the coloration was weird. And soon after that I turned my phone on one morning and it said the SIM card was rejected. I tried turning it off and back on, taking the battery out and reinserting it, taking the SIM card out and reinserting it. Finally, I called StraightTalk and they sent me a new SIM card. When that arrived, I put it in, but the phone still rejected it.
Yes, I had dropped my phone a few times over the course of our time together, but I hadn't dropped it recently. The last time was about a month or two prior to it rejecting the SIM card. However, my sister has the same model and as far as I know, she hasn't had any problems with hers. Still, I will not be purchasing another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Don't buy!

05/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I purchased this phone for my husband because he likes a flip phone and wanted one with a camera. It sounds like you are stuck in a barrel when you talk on it along with a static fuzzy noise. It does not pick up well either. I recommend the more expensive slider. It's more expensive but works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Not worth buying!

02/04/2011
By ,
Paragfould, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid
Camera Phone is not worth the money i paid for it. It says it has Bluetooth & a camera which is almost impossible to use at all. Theres no way to change the color of the scroll line so people who has less than good vision can see to use it. It shuts off mulitple times a day on its own, in the middle of a call or text which is very annoying. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

warning

03/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this producted and when i went to activate it there was an error with it and now i have to wait for them to send me a box to send it back to them to have it fixed so now i am without a cell for a month but i am being rembursed for the service card so i guess it isnt all bad
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

not worth it

11/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the quality of the phone is not great but for the price sufficient for a kids pay as you go. The process getting set up with straight talk was a nightmare which took 3 weeks and a letter to head office to finally reslove. I guess as always you get what you pay for. Expensive rubbish.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung T255 Prepaid Camera Phone

Great you looked at the review on this trash phone

02/02/2011
By ,
Kansas City, Mo.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this phone around christmas time and we got the phone turned on and working that night BUT not 2 weeks after we had it the thing went exorsist on me! I was scrolling through my texts and it didn't stop. I went scrolling through my phone book and it did the same thing every now and then it will no service on me! So to fix that I have to actually shut the phone off and turn it back on. THEN the dictionary will not perma save the words you saved or entered. If you shut the phone off then you have to re-enter the words again while texting ( time Consuming) all in all horrible phone. Cricket has better phones then this one! I am now going to have to buy a more reliable phone that hopefully would be better then this one! Good Luck if you get this phone maybe it will work for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next