Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WiFi Unreliable

10/19/2011
By ,
Phx, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit has software problems connecting with WiFi routers even with the latest upgrades from Nokia! Read about it on the Nokia's web site. Nine out of ten times it can not establish a connection with your router in the same room. It pings the router (My router has signal strength LEDs), then drops the connection in less than 0.25 seconds resulting in an error message "WiFi not Found". If for chance it connects, it works excellent. ...So forget using Skipe if you’re not subscribed to the cell towers.
---THE GOOD---
It has nice form factor ...very condensed, and rugged.
Nice keyboard.
Sensitive GPS receiver (5 sats) + A-GPS + Bluetooth GPS (all at once)!!!
Sensitive FM radio (monaural).
Good battery life.
No hassle PC connection.
Nice apps.
---THE BAD---
You need a microscope to see what’s on the screen.
It gets very warm (almost hot) when being use.
Totally unreliable WiFi ... and thinking about roaming an airport hotspot LOL.
Talked to Tracfone about one day in CA then hop a flight to NY, and they indicated issues.
Going to Mexico? Forget that! Trackphone will deactivate you permanently. OUCH
I returnd it 10 days later before commiting to Tracfone.
If WiFi worked, I would have keept it.
FYI: Walmart gives only 15 day to return cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
04/24/2011
By ,
northeastern corner of NYS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really loved this phone but was unable to get the tower strength to use it effectively in my geographic location. There were too many places that the phone didn't work including in and around my home, or just dropped a call. It broke my heart to have to return the phone and buy a Straighttalk phone which operated on Verizon towers instead of ATT. .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Did not meet expectations

03/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very hard to use. Will not perform as advertised. Cheap imitation of a smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

service

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have no problem with the phone itself. Straight Talk customer service is not great. Had a great deal of problem transfering the phone number and adding service period. Perhaps it would be better if some of the customer service was done in the USA. At least when you ask to speak to a supervisor. For close to the same price I can walk into an ATT store and buy their service with a lot less hassle and wasted time. Tnx Don
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Customer Service
Posted 01/17/2012
Transferred my number in less than two hours! I had fouled up my lock code, but when I called the Straight Talk customer service, the rep answered on the 2nd ring and got the coding squared away in about 5 minutes! Oh yes, she had an Indian accent, but that did not inhibit her ability to help me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Best of the Worst?

05/02/2011
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone is a beautiful package aesthetically with a pleasing ergonomic, hand-sculpted form, sleek metalic backing, and a gorgeous, beautiful physical keyboard that functions perfectly and exceeds any Blackberry product. The quality and design of this Nokia is top notch!
However, if you are planning on surfing the internet to any great extent, the Nokia E71 falls far short of the iPhone in the internet experience! I had hoped that the Nokia E71 would be able to surf the internet similar to an iPhone but was sadly disappointed!
As far as unlimited talk and text this phone is clearly a big winner, but the unlimited internet function is wasted on this phone with its disappointing outdated mobile web browser.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Tons of Features! Headache trying to Use them!

02/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a long time Straight talk user, I really started to miss the quality & versatility of my Verizon phone. So because of the huge amount of money I am saving with straight talk, I refuse to pay those high prices from the big mobile company's and decided I would upgrade to this smart phone offered by straight talk. Yes this phone is packed with tons of features!!! The service and price are impeccable, cannot be beat!! However, I have owned several smart phones in the past, and this is by far the most complicated to use! I can't find so many of things I want to. You have to open several different categories and folder's to get the most commonly used things like texting, its just ridiculous to me. Forget trying to find new ring tones! There should be a link to download them from the online music store, but there isn't! There is no option anywhere in this phone to get new ringtones! And the several times I try to log onto the music store it asks me to choose a country, AND FYI* the USA IS NOT AN OPTION!!!* So stupid! So no music downloads, most of the apps are quite pricey, not alot of variety with the apps and the help menu's are not that helpful! It took me 2 days to figure out how to turn the volume up or down for the ringer. It's not right on the side like most phones, the volume keys that are on the side works only the volume for when you are on a call! You literally have to open 3 different menu functions to find it! I really would not recommend this phone to anyone. Nothing is where it should be in the menu's, too many folders and menu's to go thru to find what you want. The phone itself is sleek and stylish, but overall it's just a headache!!!!!!!! Buyer Beware! I am retuning it and looking for a different option!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark, OH
It is hard to use at first.. but can be learned
Posted 06/21/2011
It's taken me about a week to get used to the features of this phone and how to navigate them. They could have made it much more user friendly, I agree. But for the price and features (they are available once you get used to navigating them) I am willing to steep the learning curve. It is also possible to add any commonly used feature to any of 6 custom icons on the home screen for quicker access. It took me a while to figure that out, but I suggest googling "e71 user manual" which leads you to a pdf file that will help explain the various features and how to access them or change them around.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this, however it does not support other programs. Additionally, when it is warm outside it freezes or turn its off. Oh!! the battery only lasts for a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Phone ok, but?

05/04/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think the phone is OK, the problem is it's on the GSM Network. Where I live the GSM Network is not the best coverage. So, if you are looking for a nice older version 'Smartphone', this one is a fair buy. Just make sure the coverage where you will use your phone the most this phone / coverage is acceptable. Where I travel GSM is probably the best Network, where I live CDMA is the best Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Good for the more tech savy

06/11/2011
By ,
Newburgh, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are an average cell user and like simple one click steps this may not be the phone for you. It took me awhile to get used to navigating it and the volume buttons drove me nuts because I wanted to change the volume of my ringer, but you can only do that by going to your personalized settings and then selecting the tones category. It's instances like that, that drove me a bit nuts for awhile, but then I got used it. good phone. Great use, nice loudspeaker, efficient for responding to e-mails and a good balance between business and home. I work as a school teacher, but don't have a computer in the classroom. This phone made checking and responding to faculty e-mail a dream.
Its calendar is simple and easy to use. I really have no complaints about this phone other than getting used to navigating around it. So once again, if you're not tech savy get a more user-friendly phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

ok

12/28/2011
By ,
72401
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we purchased 2 Nokia e71s one worked fine the other had a firmware error that kept it from showwing caller ID or text message ID or number. Nokia needs to address the problem and replace thousands of phones. you can download from ovi store programs SymSMS and True Caller and eliminate the problem but the phones need a bug fix. It will then show the IDs with no problem may also need Psiloc Magnifier because text ID is small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Horrible phone

04/08/2011
By ,
Upstate ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had nothing but issues with this phone. I got it as I upgraded from my cheap phone. 2 wks in I got an error message was told it was the phone I had to get a replacement. Replacement comes not even a month having it same error message, told its the phone yet again get a replacement. At this point I got a refund. Not worth the time or energy if you ask me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice Phone

07/29/2011
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice phone. Just a little smaller than I hoped. I was dissappointed at the font size and display screen. It looks so much larger on the site, than in person. I contacted Nokia directly and found that the phone doesn't have as many features as basic cell phones, although it was suppose to be a "smart phone". I usually keep my cell phone for 2 years or more before buying a new one. I don't see that happening with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Low end smart phone

08/21/2011
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is an okay phone for those not needing all the bells and whistles of a decked out phone like the iphone. Screen is okay for messages but not good for looking at websites and some phone apps have to use magnification to see clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71 is

08/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is not as user friendly as some of the previous phones I have owned (Blackberry). The phone can be used as a wifi spot with a free app from Nokia app store. I'm glad I don't have a contract because I abuse phones and once this one dies I am going back to a touch screen phone. Not a bad deal for unlimited everything but I don't use the phone enough to justify having unlimited everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not for vision impaired!

06/20/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Talk only has 2 smart phones. Interestingly enough, both are appear to be discontinued by Nokia! I started with this one, reading rave reviews. They were probably all correct. I had problems as a 50 year old with slightly deteriorating close up vision that I could not see the numbers on the keypad! Way too small! So, I returned this in favor of the Nokia 6790. From what I have done with the features, both seemed fairly equal to me, but the 6790 has a keyboard I can see! Really, it was a good phone, just things were too small for me! Walmart was great about returning it - no questions asked - ok, I did have to admit it was getting old that was the reason for the return -- but besides that, I had no problems returning it to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

01/07/2012
By ,
missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very disappointed with this phone. I had researched many models, and felt this one would be best for my needs, and I liked the design. The reception is good, but it is not user friendly. It's very complicated and there are not many apps available. I do like the keyboard because I was previously using a touchscreen and prefer buttons. I also don't like that it does not thread Text messages. Also, the first week, the camera quit on it, and I had to send it off and have it repaired.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

small keys on qwerty keyboard

03/02/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before purchasing this phone. If I had been able to handle it before the ship to store, I would have opted for another phone. The keys are very close together, making txting/typing difficult. I have small hands, I sincerely doubt that anybody with large fingers would be happy with this phone. Also, the guide given with the phone, is vague at best- especially for the "new to the smart phone market people", I had to go on-line and look at an extended version of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

menu is difficult and it got hot during use

08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
menu is difficult and it got hot during use, battery works only 2 days, actions are slowly
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/09/2011
By ,
Kennewick, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty easy to use and navagate your way through. Sound quality is good as is picture quality. The battery does not last any where near the 10 hours promised, and the phone gets really hot when you make a long phone call or down load something.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Already taking it back.

09/29/2011
By ,
Clarksville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really liked the phone when I got it. I have had it about two or three weeks and it's dropping calls, it constantly pops up a packet data notification(don't know what that is) and suddenly I can't access my online banking anymore. When someone calls me and I answer, there is about a 30 second delay before they can here me. I use to have an iPhone and really missed all the apps, so I love that you can load apps on it. I seems to be built very well, not made of cheap plastic. I am taking it back to exchange it for another phone tomorrow. I hope it's just a fluke that mine is malfunctioning. Walmart was very cooperative when I called, they said just bring it in with your receipt and we will give you another one. I also bought the 18 month warranty with it. I will add to my review after trying the new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next