Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Did not meet expectations

03/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very hard to use. Will not perform as advertised. Cheap imitation of a smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

e71

05/05/2011
By ,
chesapeake ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
had phone for two weeks.... lost internet capabilities and gps... stayed on line for several hours with tech support still not working... love the phone but taking it back .... hope you have better luck for 200 bucks
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Service is fine, phone is lame

09/27/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had no problems at all with call quality, and have had no dropped calls in the two months I've used this phone. HOWEVER, the phone itself is pretty disappointing. The web browser seems to have insufficient memory, and it can't handle loading most of the websites I try to visit, and it almost always locks up before the pages are fully loaded. At that point it takes several minutes for the phone to clear it's memory (or whatever it's doing while it's locked up and not responsive) in order to get back to the main menu. I've tried clearing the cache and privacy data but it doesn't seem to help. Another problem is the GPS... I made the mistake of leaving my Garmin nuvi at home because I thought I'd be able to use the Nokia instead. The Nokia's GPS simply does not work. It can tell me where I am, but it can't give directions to find a location. It had me going in circles around a shopping center, trying to find a road that wasn't even there. Luckily it was during the daytime because it was a very unsafe location, and I'd hate to have been driving through there at night or by myself. My friends and I thought it was hysterical that the Nokia kept insisting that there was a road located back behind the dumpsters in the parking lot.
The camera works okay. The radio loses its signal. Texting works fine. Email is fine, although it only loads 2000 characters in a message and has to reload if you want to read more than that. If you have a lot of graphics or html in your email it will probably lock up. It does sync with my gmail account. Haven't been able to get my google calendar to interface, though.
The interface on this phone, having to tab around with the little arrow is so, so clunky and feels like I'm stepping back in time, maybe back ten years. If you've used an iPhone, you'll feel like this is an antique that should be in a museum somewhere. It's awful.
If you're looking for a very basic cheap phone, this might work for you. If you're expecting easy and intuitive use, you won't find it here. This phone just promises more than it can deliver.
I plan to ditch this phone as soon as my budget allows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/07/2011
By ,
illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I give only 2 stars because the phone service is good but the phone freezes a lot and when this happen do not turn off I have to open the phone and take off the battery put it back and turn on the phone. another issue is the price this are refurbished phones no brand new $200 dollars is too expensive for a second hand phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

service

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have no problem with the phone itself. Straight Talk customer service is not great. Had a great deal of problem transfering the phone number and adding service period. Perhaps it would be better if some of the customer service was done in the USA. At least when you ask to speak to a supervisor. For close to the same price I can walk into an ATT store and buy their service with a lot less hassle and wasted time. Tnx Don
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Customer Service
Posted 01/17/2012
Transferred my number in less than two hours! I had fouled up my lock code, but when I called the Straight Talk customer service, the rep answered on the 2nd ring and got the coding squared away in about 5 minutes! Oh yes, she had an Indian accent, but that did not inhibit her ability to help me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
04/24/2011
By ,
northeastern corner of NYS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really loved this phone but was unable to get the tower strength to use it effectively in my geographic location. There were too many places that the phone didn't work including in and around my home, or just dropped a call. It broke my heart to have to return the phone and buy a Straighttalk phone which operated on Verizon towers instead of ATT. .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

small keys on qwerty keyboard

03/02/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before purchasing this phone. If I had been able to handle it before the ship to store, I would have opted for another phone. The keys are very close together, making txting/typing difficult. I have small hands, I sincerely doubt that anybody with large fingers would be happy with this phone. Also, the guide given with the phone, is vague at best- especially for the "new to the smart phone market people", I had to go on-line and look at an extended version of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

thinkin bout it

11/28/2011
By ,
anderson, in
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's like this folks...
i am planning on buying a smart phone in the very near future... mainly pre-paid internet access...
have been doing research on several pre-paid phones and i still haven't come to a decision...
why? it's all about technology advances verses the $$$.... for example, think bout your home computer.... how old is your computer and what os do u have installed?.... windows 95, 98, millinium(?), 2000, xp.... etc... u get my drift there right?
obviously, the older the os is the less remaining time it will be supported.... think bout that b4 u decide to shell out your hard-earned dollars....
therefore, u should consider purchasing one with an upgradeable operating system..... this phone can not be upgraded as far as the firmware/software os is concerned.... so, in fact, u would be buying an already obsolete piece of electronics....
contrasting to that tho.... all electronics are almost obsolete when u buy them... just something to think about...
this phone obviously has many fine features and is somewhat moderately priced... not to mention several fine reviews from existing owners.... i am almost ready to buy this thing just from reading the reviews....
i am probably confusing a lot of people.... but i've been looking at the specs, os (upgradeable?), onboard ram/rom, phones features, checking out the apps available, service, etc... and so should u.
i might be inclined to spend the extra bucks for a more-supported, more advanced phone.... but somebody said that yesterday bout the obsolete phones of today
so my ending advice is start from the top end and work your way down to your balance of price vs. technology that u can afford... it helped me just writing it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-12points
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this, however it does not support other programs. Additionally, when it is warm outside it freezes or turn its off. Oh!! the battery only lasts for a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Straight talk

02/07/2011
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two weeks after my purchase, Straight talk is still showing that my phone has not been activated although I am able to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Disappointment

02/07/2011
By ,
colorado springs, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recently lost my simple straight talk phone so I decided to upgrade with a new phone I enjoyed to have. Just to find out this particular model doesn't recieve service where I live. I feel disappointed when I find a decent phone on a valuable service that doesn't work in "My Zip Code". Evidently the GSM Smart phone service that is offered by straight talk (Trac-Fone) is very limited. I live in CO and tried every zip-code on the front range with no luck. Straight talk should not sell a phone in a zip code where they have no service. i.e.80918
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

good phone, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

02/07/2011
By ,
chattanooga, tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the phone itself is great, but i have had so many problems with customer service i have about lost my mind. My advice is to just get another number and not have yours ported..if only i had done that i would have been much happier..i truly believe customer service has no clue what they are doing after getting a million diff. answers from them. Stay away from customer service if you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

08/16/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews, which persuaded my purchase of the E71. However, I didn't need the phone for business purposes, and I'm not real phone savy/educated. Maybe for others the E71 is great, but I didn't care for it. To start with, it's too heavy!! If you carry your phone in your (shirt) pocket like I do, you won't like the weight of this phone. I didn't like the small size of the keys or the font, and several of the settings. I went to the Nokia site which did not have the E71 listed, and my numerous attempts to update the phone were unsuccessful. This phone was not user friendly for this casual phone user. **However, setting up the phone to include porting my phone number with Straight Talk was very easy. I t took less than 30 minutes to activate the new (E71) phone with my existing phone number.
I tried the E71 for about a week and ended up returning it at my local Walmart. The return was very easy. I bought a Nokia E5 as a replacement for the E71, and I like the E5 a lot. Easier to use, lighter weight, it's very similar to a Blackberry. NOTE: If you want to keep your existing phone number, you must buy the new phone and activate it BEFORE you return the other phone.
Overall, very pleased with Straight Talk and the Nokia E5, not a fan of the Nokia E71.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice Phone

07/29/2011
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice phone. Just a little smaller than I hoped. I was dissappointed at the font size and display screen. It looks so much larger on the site, than in person. I contacted Nokia directly and found that the phone doesn't have as many features as basic cell phones, although it was suppose to be a "smart phone". I usually keep my cell phone for 2 years or more before buying a new one. I don't see that happening with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not for vision impaired!

06/20/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Talk only has 2 smart phones. Interestingly enough, both are appear to be discontinued by Nokia! I started with this one, reading rave reviews. They were probably all correct. I had problems as a 50 year old with slightly deteriorating close up vision that I could not see the numbers on the keypad! Way too small! So, I returned this in favor of the Nokia 6790. From what I have done with the features, both seemed fairly equal to me, but the 6790 has a keyboard I can see! Really, it was a good phone, just things were too small for me! Walmart was great about returning it - no questions asked - ok, I did have to admit it was getting old that was the reason for the return -- but besides that, I had no problems returning it to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice phone, wrong service provider

08/17/2011
By ,
Reidsville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my daughter and she loved the phone but we ended up returning it because this phone runs off of AT&T and has very limited service in our area. I bought her another Straight Talk phone, which isn't as nice and doesn't have the features that this phone has but runs off of Verizon; therefore, she has much better service. I would only recommend this phone if you have AT&T service now and you are happy with it.
Pros - Attractive phone with handy features
Cons - Runs off of AT&T, heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Low end smart phone

08/21/2011
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is an okay phone for those not needing all the bells and whistles of a decked out phone like the iphone. Screen is okay for messages but not good for looking at websites and some phone apps have to use magnification to see clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Phone ok, but?

05/04/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think the phone is OK, the problem is it's on the GSM Network. Where I live the GSM Network is not the best coverage. So, if you are looking for a nice older version 'Smartphone', this one is a fair buy. Just make sure the coverage where you will use your phone the most this phone / coverage is acceptable. Where I travel GSM is probably the best Network, where I live CDMA is the best Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

ok

12/28/2011
By ,
72401
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we purchased 2 Nokia e71s one worked fine the other had a firmware error that kept it from showwing caller ID or text message ID or number. Nokia needs to address the problem and replace thousands of phones. you can download from ovi store programs SymSMS and True Caller and eliminate the problem but the phones need a bug fix. It will then show the IDs with no problem may also need Psiloc Magnifier because text ID is small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71 is

08/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is not as user friendly as some of the previous phones I have owned (Blackberry). The phone can be used as a wifi spot with a free app from Nokia app store. I'm glad I don't have a contract because I abuse phones and once this one dies I am going back to a touch screen phone. Not a bad deal for unlimited everything but I don't use the phone enough to justify having unlimited everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next