Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not as expected

12/07/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone last summer to replace on older straight talk phone that had died. I bought this one on a friend's recommendation. I hate this phone. It is constantly freezing. There are a number of things it claims it can do that it simply cannot do. The phone, although hoooke up correctly, will not allow me to post pictures to the internet. It times out and freezed within seconds of attempting. Maybe I got a lemon; I don't know. I do know, however, that I would tell everyone to stay clear of this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Nokia E71 Freeze/Lock up
Posted 12/08/2011
I would check your Firmware, make sure you are on the newest version. Also, make sure onboard RAM/ROM is not maxed out (i.e. you have a ton of contacts, music, or photos store locally). The phone needs to be turned off periodically for an extended period and then turned back on so it can automatically download any updates. I hope this helps you. It really is a good phone if you give it a chance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Tons of Features! Headache trying to Use them!

02/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a long time Straight talk user, I really started to miss the quality & versatility of my Verizon phone. So because of the huge amount of money I am saving with straight talk, I refuse to pay those high prices from the big mobile company's and decided I would upgrade to this smart phone offered by straight talk. Yes this phone is packed with tons of features!!! The service and price are impeccable, cannot be beat!! However, I have owned several smart phones in the past, and this is by far the most complicated to use! I can't find so many of things I want to. You have to open several different categories and folder's to get the most commonly used things like texting, its just ridiculous to me. Forget trying to find new ring tones! There should be a link to download them from the online music store, but there isn't! There is no option anywhere in this phone to get new ringtones! And the several times I try to log onto the music store it asks me to choose a country, AND FYI* the USA IS NOT AN OPTION!!!* So stupid! So no music downloads, most of the apps are quite pricey, not alot of variety with the apps and the help menu's are not that helpful! It took me 2 days to figure out how to turn the volume up or down for the ringer. It's not right on the side like most phones, the volume keys that are on the side works only the volume for when you are on a call! You literally have to open 3 different menu functions to find it! I really would not recommend this phone to anyone. Nothing is where it should be in the menu's, too many folders and menu's to go thru to find what you want. The phone itself is sleek and stylish, but overall it's just a headache!!!!!!!! Buyer Beware! I am retuning it and looking for a different option!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark, OH
It is hard to use at first.. but can be learned
Posted 06/21/2011
It's taken me about a week to get used to the features of this phone and how to navigate them. They could have made it much more user friendly, I agree. But for the price and features (they are available once you get used to navigating them) I am willing to steep the learning curve. It is also possible to add any commonly used feature to any of 6 custom icons on the home screen for quicker access. It took me a while to figure that out, but I suggest googling "e71 user manual" which leads you to a pdf file that will help explain the various features and how to access them or change them around.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

OK phone but service is spotty.

05/23/2011
By ,
Oneonta, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think this could be a marginally useful smart phone, if you could live with the lack of a touch screen, gravity sensor, and Android operating system. The real deal breaker for me is the spotty service in the area. Just because you have a strong ATT signal in your area does not mean you have good data packet signal. Also, you may be in a weak 3G area and able to make phone calls, but still unable to use the internet or email features.
I don't know how to evaluate performance in your area without buying the phone and trying it, but you should know going in that it may not work very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Best of the Worst?

05/02/2011
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone is a beautiful package aesthetically with a pleasing ergonomic, hand-sculpted form, sleek metalic backing, and a gorgeous, beautiful physical keyboard that functions perfectly and exceeds any Blackberry product. The quality and design of this Nokia is top notch!
However, if you are planning on surfing the internet to any great extent, the Nokia E71 falls far short of the iPhone in the internet experience! I had hoped that the Nokia E71 would be able to surf the internet similar to an iPhone but was sadly disappointed!
As far as unlimited talk and text this phone is clearly a big winner, but the unlimited internet function is wasted on this phone with its disappointing outdated mobile web browser.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/15/2011
By ,
grand rapids, mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
honestly when i baught this phone everything seemed fine it worked great until 2 months after i got it didnt work. all my pictures, videos, contacts, and music got randomly deleted and still does. the memory and sim card wouldnt work and then it would, my texting stopped and couldnt text or make phone calls, ever since i got this phone i have had nothing but problems and still am. i would never buy another phone like this one ever again and i feel bad for who ever buys this phone... It may look like a good phone but trust me it isnt. I suggest you save your money for a phone that will actually work. Its so not worth 200 dollars
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Did not meet expectations

03/16/2011
By ,
Atlanta, Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very hard to use. Will not perform as advertised. Cheap imitation of a smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Phone ok, but?

05/04/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think the phone is OK, the problem is it's on the GSM Network. Where I live the GSM Network is not the best coverage. So, if you are looking for a nice older version 'Smartphone', this one is a fair buy. Just make sure the coverage where you will use your phone the most this phone / coverage is acceptable. Where I travel GSM is probably the best Network, where I live CDMA is the best Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

08/16/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews, which persuaded my purchase of the E71. However, I didn't need the phone for business purposes, and I'm not real phone savy/educated. Maybe for others the E71 is great, but I didn't care for it. To start with, it's too heavy!! If you carry your phone in your (shirt) pocket like I do, you won't like the weight of this phone. I didn't like the small size of the keys or the font, and several of the settings. I went to the Nokia site which did not have the E71 listed, and my numerous attempts to update the phone were unsuccessful. This phone was not user friendly for this casual phone user. **However, setting up the phone to include porting my phone number with Straight Talk was very easy. I t took less than 30 minutes to activate the new (E71) phone with my existing phone number.
I tried the E71 for about a week and ended up returning it at my local Walmart. The return was very easy. I bought a Nokia E5 as a replacement for the E71, and I like the E5 a lot. Easier to use, lighter weight, it's very similar to a Blackberry. NOTE: If you want to keep your existing phone number, you must buy the new phone and activate it BEFORE you return the other phone.
Overall, very pleased with Straight Talk and the Nokia E5, not a fan of the Nokia E71.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice phone, wrong service provider

08/17/2011
By ,
Reidsville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my daughter and she loved the phone but we ended up returning it because this phone runs off of AT&T and has very limited service in our area. I bought her another Straight Talk phone, which isn't as nice and doesn't have the features that this phone has but runs off of Verizon; therefore, she has much better service. I would only recommend this phone if you have AT&T service now and you are happy with it.
Pros - Attractive phone with handy features
Cons - Runs off of AT&T, heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice Phone

07/29/2011
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very nice phone. Just a little smaller than I hoped. I was dissappointed at the font size and display screen. It looks so much larger on the site, than in person. I contacted Nokia directly and found that the phone doesn't have as many features as basic cell phones, although it was suppose to be a "smart phone". I usually keep my cell phone for 2 years or more before buying a new one. I don't see that happening with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not living up to expectations

01/05/2012
By ,
Central Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this phone for the internet capability. When I go to a website, I get a "timed out" message. Still trying to work that out. Had to call support for a different issue, very helpful and resolved the problem. Have enjoyed phone so far, wish I had bought it sooner!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/29/2011
By ,
Tucker, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well- I'm little on the "phone illiterate" side so this is a love/hate relationship.
I love phone but have had ut 2 wks and still cant figure out all it can do. : )
It also does not work very well in my home. Works fab everywhere else. very
slow load up with things like FB, myspace, but that isdefinetely not a requirement.
Phone was cheaper on line than store & have enjoyed ease of getting messages,
email, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Low end smart phone

08/21/2011
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is an okay phone for those not needing all the bells and whistles of a decked out phone like the iphone. Screen is okay for messages but not good for looking at websites and some phone apps have to use magnification to see clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71 is

08/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is not as user friendly as some of the previous phones I have owned (Blackberry). The phone can be used as a wifi spot with a free app from Nokia app store. I'm glad I don't have a contract because I abuse phones and once this one dies I am going back to a touch screen phone. Not a bad deal for unlimited everything but I don't use the phone enough to justify having unlimited everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

01/07/2012
By ,
missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very disappointed with this phone. I had researched many models, and felt this one would be best for my needs, and I liked the design. The reception is good, but it is not user friendly. It's very complicated and there are not many apps available. I do like the keyboard because I was previously using a touchscreen and prefer buttons. I also don't like that it does not thread Text messages. Also, the first week, the camera quit on it, and I had to send it off and have it repaired.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

thinkin bout it

11/28/2011
By ,
anderson, in
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's like this folks...
i am planning on buying a smart phone in the very near future... mainly pre-paid internet access...
have been doing research on several pre-paid phones and i still haven't come to a decision...
why? it's all about technology advances verses the $$$.... for example, think bout your home computer.... how old is your computer and what os do u have installed?.... windows 95, 98, millinium(?), 2000, xp.... etc... u get my drift there right?
obviously, the older the os is the less remaining time it will be supported.... think bout that b4 u decide to shell out your hard-earned dollars....
therefore, u should consider purchasing one with an upgradeable operating system..... this phone can not be upgraded as far as the firmware/software os is concerned.... so, in fact, u would be buying an already obsolete piece of electronics....
contrasting to that tho.... all electronics are almost obsolete when u buy them... just something to think about...
this phone obviously has many fine features and is somewhat moderately priced... not to mention several fine reviews from existing owners.... i am almost ready to buy this thing just from reading the reviews....
i am probably confusing a lot of people.... but i've been looking at the specs, os (upgradeable?), onboard ram/rom, phones features, checking out the apps available, service, etc... and so should u.
i might be inclined to spend the extra bucks for a more-supported, more advanced phone.... but somebody said that yesterday bout the obsolete phones of today
so my ending advice is start from the top end and work your way down to your balance of price vs. technology that u can afford... it helped me just writing it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-12points
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

small keys on qwerty keyboard

03/02/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before purchasing this phone. If I had been able to handle it before the ship to store, I would have opted for another phone. The keys are very close together, making txting/typing difficult. I have small hands, I sincerely doubt that anybody with large fingers would be happy with this phone. Also, the guide given with the phone, is vague at best- especially for the "new to the smart phone market people", I had to go on-line and look at an extended version of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

good phone, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

02/07/2011
By ,
chattanooga, tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the phone itself is great, but i have had so many problems with customer service i have about lost my mind. My advice is to just get another number and not have yours ported..if only i had done that i would have been much happier..i truly believe customer service has no clue what they are doing after getting a million diff. answers from them. Stay away from customer service if you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Straight talk

02/07/2011
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two weeks after my purchase, Straight talk is still showing that my phone has not been activated although I am able to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Disappointment

02/07/2011
By ,
colorado springs, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recently lost my simple straight talk phone so I decided to upgrade with a new phone I enjoyed to have. Just to find out this particular model doesn't recieve service where I live. I feel disappointed when I find a decent phone on a valuable service that doesn't work in "My Zip Code". Evidently the GSM Smart phone service that is offered by straight talk (Trac-Fone) is very limited. I live in CO and tried every zip-code on the front range with no luck. Straight talk should not sell a phone in a zip code where they have no service. i.e.80918
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next