Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/15/2011
By ,
grand rapids, mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
honestly when i baught this phone everything seemed fine it worked great until 2 months after i got it didnt work. all my pictures, videos, contacts, and music got randomly deleted and still does. the memory and sim card wouldnt work and then it would, my texting stopped and couldnt text or make phone calls, ever since i got this phone i have had nothing but problems and still am. i would never buy another phone like this one ever again and i feel bad for who ever buys this phone... It may look like a good phone but trust me it isnt. I suggest you save your money for a phone that will actually work. Its so not worth 200 dollars
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

e71

05/05/2011
By ,
chesapeake ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
had phone for two weeks.... lost internet capabilities and gps... stayed on line for several hours with tech support still not working... love the phone but taking it back .... hope you have better luck for 200 bucks
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

OK phone but service is spotty.

05/23/2011
By ,
Oneonta, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I think this could be a marginally useful smart phone, if you could live with the lack of a touch screen, gravity sensor, and Android operating system. The real deal breaker for me is the spotty service in the area. Just because you have a strong ATT signal in your area does not mean you have good data packet signal. Also, you may be in a weak 3G area and able to make phone calls, but still unable to use the internet or email features.
I don't know how to evaluate performance in your area without buying the phone and trying it, but you should know going in that it may not work very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Service is fine, phone is lame

09/27/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had no problems at all with call quality, and have had no dropped calls in the two months I've used this phone. HOWEVER, the phone itself is pretty disappointing. The web browser seems to have insufficient memory, and it can't handle loading most of the websites I try to visit, and it almost always locks up before the pages are fully loaded. At that point it takes several minutes for the phone to clear it's memory (or whatever it's doing while it's locked up and not responsive) in order to get back to the main menu. I've tried clearing the cache and privacy data but it doesn't seem to help. Another problem is the GPS... I made the mistake of leaving my Garmin nuvi at home because I thought I'd be able to use the Nokia instead. The Nokia's GPS simply does not work. It can tell me where I am, but it can't give directions to find a location. It had me going in circles around a shopping center, trying to find a road that wasn't even there. Luckily it was during the daytime because it was a very unsafe location, and I'd hate to have been driving through there at night or by myself. My friends and I thought it was hysterical that the Nokia kept insisting that there was a road located back behind the dumpsters in the parking lot.
The camera works okay. The radio loses its signal. Texting works fine. Email is fine, although it only loads 2000 characters in a message and has to reload if you want to read more than that. If you have a lot of graphics or html in your email it will probably lock up. It does sync with my gmail account. Haven't been able to get my google calendar to interface, though.
The interface on this phone, having to tab around with the little arrow is so, so clunky and feels like I'm stepping back in time, maybe back ten years. If you've used an iPhone, you'll feel like this is an antique that should be in a museum somewhere. It's awful.
If you're looking for a very basic cheap phone, this might work for you. If you're expecting easy and intuitive use, you won't find it here. This phone just promises more than it can deliver.
I plan to ditch this phone as soon as my budget allows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Tons of Features! Headache trying to Use them!

02/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a long time Straight talk user, I really started to miss the quality & versatility of my Verizon phone. So because of the huge amount of money I am saving with straight talk, I refuse to pay those high prices from the big mobile company's and decided I would upgrade to this smart phone offered by straight talk. Yes this phone is packed with tons of features!!! The service and price are impeccable, cannot be beat!! However, I have owned several smart phones in the past, and this is by far the most complicated to use! I can't find so many of things I want to. You have to open several different categories and folder's to get the most commonly used things like texting, its just ridiculous to me. Forget trying to find new ring tones! There should be a link to download them from the online music store, but there isn't! There is no option anywhere in this phone to get new ringtones! And the several times I try to log onto the music store it asks me to choose a country, AND FYI* the USA IS NOT AN OPTION!!!* So stupid! So no music downloads, most of the apps are quite pricey, not alot of variety with the apps and the help menu's are not that helpful! It took me 2 days to figure out how to turn the volume up or down for the ringer. It's not right on the side like most phones, the volume keys that are on the side works only the volume for when you are on a call! You literally have to open 3 different menu functions to find it! I really would not recommend this phone to anyone. Nothing is where it should be in the menu's, too many folders and menu's to go thru to find what you want. The phone itself is sleek and stylish, but overall it's just a headache!!!!!!!! Buyer Beware! I am retuning it and looking for a different option!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark, OH
It is hard to use at first.. but can be learned
Posted 06/21/2011
It's taken me about a week to get used to the features of this phone and how to navigate them. They could have made it much more user friendly, I agree. But for the price and features (they are available once you get used to navigating them) I am willing to steep the learning curve. It is also possible to add any commonly used feature to any of 6 custom icons on the home screen for quicker access. It took me a while to figure that out, but I suggest googling "e71 user manual" which leads you to a pdf file that will help explain the various features and how to access them or change them around.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WiFi Unreliable

10/19/2011
By ,
Phx, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit has software problems connecting with WiFi routers even with the latest upgrades from Nokia! Read about it on the Nokia's web site. Nine out of ten times it can not establish a connection with your router in the same room. It pings the router (My router has signal strength LEDs), then drops the connection in less than 0.25 seconds resulting in an error message "WiFi not Found". If for chance it connects, it works excellent. ...So forget using Skipe if you’re not subscribed to the cell towers.
---THE GOOD---
It has nice form factor ...very condensed, and rugged.
Nice keyboard.
Sensitive GPS receiver (5 sats) + A-GPS + Bluetooth GPS (all at once)!!!
Sensitive FM radio (monaural).
Good battery life.
No hassle PC connection.
Nice apps.
---THE BAD---
You need a microscope to see what’s on the screen.
It gets very warm (almost hot) when being use.
Totally unreliable WiFi ... and thinking about roaming an airport hotspot LOL.
Talked to Tracfone about one day in CA then hop a flight to NY, and they indicated issues.
Going to Mexico? Forget that! Trackphone will deactivate you permanently. OUCH
I returnd it 10 days later before commiting to Tracfone.
If WiFi worked, I would have keept it.
FYI: Walmart gives only 15 day to return cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this, however it does not support other programs. Additionally, when it is warm outside it freezes or turn its off. Oh!! the battery only lasts for a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

ok

12/28/2011
By ,
72401
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we purchased 2 Nokia e71s one worked fine the other had a firmware error that kept it from showwing caller ID or text message ID or number. Nokia needs to address the problem and replace thousands of phones. you can download from ovi store programs SymSMS and True Caller and eliminate the problem but the phones need a bug fix. It will then show the IDs with no problem may also need Psiloc Magnifier because text ID is small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

menu is difficult and it got hot during use

08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
menu is difficult and it got hot during use, battery works only 2 days, actions are slowly
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/09/2011
By ,
Kennewick, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty easy to use and navagate your way through. Sound quality is good as is picture quality. The battery does not last any where near the 10 hours promised, and the phone gets really hot when you make a long phone call or down load something.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice phone, wrong service provider

08/17/2011
By ,
Reidsville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my daughter and she loved the phone but we ended up returning it because this phone runs off of AT&T and has very limited service in our area. I bought her another Straight Talk phone, which isn't as nice and doesn't have the features that this phone has but runs off of Verizon; therefore, she has much better service. I would only recommend this phone if you have AT&T service now and you are happy with it.
Pros - Attractive phone with handy features
Cons - Runs off of AT&T, heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Good for the more tech savy

06/11/2011
By ,
Newburgh, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are an average cell user and like simple one click steps this may not be the phone for you. It took me awhile to get used to navigating it and the volume buttons drove me nuts because I wanted to change the volume of my ringer, but you can only do that by going to your personalized settings and then selecting the tones category. It's instances like that, that drove me a bit nuts for awhile, but then I got used it. good phone. Great use, nice loudspeaker, efficient for responding to e-mails and a good balance between business and home. I work as a school teacher, but don't have a computer in the classroom. This phone made checking and responding to faculty e-mail a dream.
Its calendar is simple and easy to use. I really have no complaints about this phone other than getting used to navigating around it. So once again, if you're not tech savy get a more user-friendly phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

01/07/2012
By ,
missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very disappointed with this phone. I had researched many models, and felt this one would be best for my needs, and I liked the design. The reception is good, but it is not user friendly. It's very complicated and there are not many apps available. I do like the keyboard because I was previously using a touchscreen and prefer buttons. I also don't like that it does not thread Text messages. Also, the first week, the camera quit on it, and I had to send it off and have it repaired.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Already taking it back.

09/29/2011
By ,
Clarksville, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really liked the phone when I got it. I have had it about two or three weeks and it's dropping calls, it constantly pops up a packet data notification(don't know what that is) and suddenly I can't access my online banking anymore. When someone calls me and I answer, there is about a 30 second delay before they can here me. I use to have an iPhone and really missed all the apps, so I love that you can load apps on it. I seems to be built very well, not made of cheap plastic. I am taking it back to exchange it for another phone tomorrow. I hope it's just a fluke that mine is malfunctioning. Walmart was very cooperative when I called, they said just bring it in with your receipt and we will give you another one. I also bought the 18 month warranty with it. I will add to my review after trying the new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

small keys on qwerty keyboard

03/02/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before purchasing this phone. If I had been able to handle it before the ship to store, I would have opted for another phone. The keys are very close together, making txting/typing difficult. I have small hands, I sincerely doubt that anybody with large fingers would be happy with this phone. Also, the guide given with the phone, is vague at best- especially for the "new to the smart phone market people", I had to go on-line and look at an extended version of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

great phone

08/24/2011
By ,
co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great phone still ahve not figured out how to post longer youtube viedos but it is a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

the best phone straight talk has

08/24/2011
By ,
standish michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well it makes calls great gets great reception and texts really fast. love the screen quality unless ur in the sun, you can still see it though but its lite. has a great map/gps feature. if you tether it to a computer even for an hour a day they will eventually shut down your internet service and when they give it back(by calling in and having it reset) then it will time out your connection after 2 minutes its very annoying. if you just call and text its great but when you read the fine print from straight talk you will laugh or cry depending on you personality. it says unlimited internet but in reality it is VERY limited you can get away with checking your email and updating your cityville and fb and getting off when you tether it to a computer but any more than that and you will be shut down. btw the fine print strictly forbids tethering and streaming of anything. and it says that if you use too much data they will shut it down, at their discretion of course and they decide what too much data is. also by blackberry used conversation style texts this doesnt its like a big step backword for texting love the ten hour talk time though went a whole weekend without charging, again however if you tether it to a computer the battery drains fast. if the phone was a hundred dollars less i probably wouldnt complain. its thru tracphone/at&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Phone ok, but?

05/04/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think the phone is OK, the problem is it's on the GSM Network. Where I live the GSM Network is not the best coverage. So, if you are looking for a nice older version 'Smartphone', this one is a fair buy. Just make sure the coverage where you will use your phone the most this phone / coverage is acceptable. Where I travel GSM is probably the best Network, where I live CDMA is the best Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WAS AWESOME...... Not so much anymore.

10/05/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had my E71 for about 2 or 3 months and when I first got it, it was AMAZING!!!!! It was like a little computer in the palm of my hand. The keys were a little small and hard to get used to but I could put all of my e-mail accounts on it and be able to stay current with my work e-mail. I loved the fact that it connected to my wireless internet and coupled with my 16GB memory card I had unlimited possibilities for music downloads. NOW - - It won't let me open my text messages, my applications, my calendar, it has erased all of my e-mail accounts and deleted my contacts, pictures, videos, and half of my music (I had 544 full MP3 songs now I have 247#. It is iffy on wanting to charge, it gets almost too hot to touch when I am in a call and I am never on the phone for more then 15 minutes. On average I send 6000 to 8000 text messages a month#mostly work related# so I know I am hard on phones and most other phones wouldn't have lasted 2 weeks but I really thought Nokia had quality products. I am now going back to a Samsung #previously owned a Samsung Memoir through T-Mobile great phone horrible monthly payment#. My previous Samsung lasted me 3 years with the same usage as with the Nokia. I had very high hopes for the E71. I'm going for the Android Samsung Galaxy Precedent now...hopefully its everything it says it is. :#
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not for vision impaired!

06/20/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Talk only has 2 smart phones. Interestingly enough, both are appear to be discontinued by Nokia! I started with this one, reading rave reviews. They were probably all correct. I had problems as a 50 year old with slightly deteriorating close up vision that I could not see the numbers on the keypad! Way too small! So, I returned this in favor of the Nokia 6790. From what I have done with the features, both seemed fairly equal to me, but the 6790 has a keyboard I can see! Really, it was a good phone, just things were too small for me! Walmart was great about returning it - no questions asked - ok, I did have to admit it was getting old that was the reason for the return -- but besides that, I had no problems returning it to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next