Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Tons of Features! Headache trying to Use them!

02/08/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As a long time Straight talk user, I really started to miss the quality & versatility of my Verizon phone. So because of the huge amount of money I am saving with straight talk, I refuse to pay those high prices from the big mobile company's and decided I would upgrade to this smart phone offered by straight talk. Yes this phone is packed with tons of features!!! The service and price are impeccable, cannot be beat!! However, I have owned several smart phones in the past, and this is by far the most complicated to use! I can't find so many of things I want to. You have to open several different categories and folder's to get the most commonly used things like texting, its just ridiculous to me. Forget trying to find new ring tones! There should be a link to download them from the online music store, but there isn't! There is no option anywhere in this phone to get new ringtones! And the several times I try to log onto the music store it asks me to choose a country, AND FYI* the USA IS NOT AN OPTION!!!* So stupid! So no music downloads, most of the apps are quite pricey, not alot of variety with the apps and the help menu's are not that helpful! It took me 2 days to figure out how to turn the volume up or down for the ringer. It's not right on the side like most phones, the volume keys that are on the side works only the volume for when you are on a call! You literally have to open 3 different menu functions to find it! I really would not recommend this phone to anyone. Nothing is where it should be in the menu's, too many folders and menu's to go thru to find what you want. The phone itself is sleek and stylish, but overall it's just a headache!!!!!!!! Buyer Beware! I am retuning it and looking for a different option!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newark, OH
It is hard to use at first.. but can be learned
Posted 06/21/2011
It's taken me about a week to get used to the features of this phone and how to navigate them. They could have made it much more user friendly, I agree. But for the price and features (they are available once you get used to navigating them) I am willing to steep the learning curve. It is also possible to add any commonly used feature to any of 6 custom icons on the home screen for quicker access. It took me a while to figure that out, but I suggest googling "e71 user manual" which leads you to a pdf file that will help explain the various features and how to access them or change them around.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/15/2011
By ,
grand rapids, mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
honestly when i baught this phone everything seemed fine it worked great until 2 months after i got it didnt work. all my pictures, videos, contacts, and music got randomly deleted and still does. the memory and sim card wouldnt work and then it would, my texting stopped and couldnt text or make phone calls, ever since i got this phone i have had nothing but problems and still am. i would never buy another phone like this one ever again and i feel bad for who ever buys this phone... It may look like a good phone but trust me it isnt. I suggest you save your money for a phone that will actually work. Its so not worth 200 dollars
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Service is fine, phone is lame

09/27/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had no problems at all with call quality, and have had no dropped calls in the two months I've used this phone. HOWEVER, the phone itself is pretty disappointing. The web browser seems to have insufficient memory, and it can't handle loading most of the websites I try to visit, and it almost always locks up before the pages are fully loaded. At that point it takes several minutes for the phone to clear it's memory (or whatever it's doing while it's locked up and not responsive) in order to get back to the main menu. I've tried clearing the cache and privacy data but it doesn't seem to help. Another problem is the GPS... I made the mistake of leaving my Garmin nuvi at home because I thought I'd be able to use the Nokia instead. The Nokia's GPS simply does not work. It can tell me where I am, but it can't give directions to find a location. It had me going in circles around a shopping center, trying to find a road that wasn't even there. Luckily it was during the daytime because it was a very unsafe location, and I'd hate to have been driving through there at night or by myself. My friends and I thought it was hysterical that the Nokia kept insisting that there was a road located back behind the dumpsters in the parking lot.
The camera works okay. The radio loses its signal. Texting works fine. Email is fine, although it only loads 2000 characters in a message and has to reload if you want to read more than that. If you have a lot of graphics or html in your email it will probably lock up. It does sync with my gmail account. Haven't been able to get my google calendar to interface, though.
The interface on this phone, having to tab around with the little arrow is so, so clunky and feels like I'm stepping back in time, maybe back ten years. If you've used an iPhone, you'll feel like this is an antique that should be in a museum somewhere. It's awful.
If you're looking for a very basic cheap phone, this might work for you. If you're expecting easy and intuitive use, you won't find it here. This phone just promises more than it can deliver.
I plan to ditch this phone as soon as my budget allows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
04/24/2011
By ,
northeastern corner of NYS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really loved this phone but was unable to get the tower strength to use it effectively in my geographic location. There were too many places that the phone didn't work including in and around my home, or just dropped a call. It broke my heart to have to return the phone and buy a Straighttalk phone which operated on Verizon towers instead of ATT. .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/07/2011
By ,
illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I give only 2 stars because the phone service is good but the phone freezes a lot and when this happen do not turn off I have to open the phone and take off the battery put it back and turn on the phone. another issue is the price this are refurbished phones no brand new $200 dollars is too expensive for a second hand phone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

service

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have no problem with the phone itself. Straight Talk customer service is not great. Had a great deal of problem transfering the phone number and adding service period. Perhaps it would be better if some of the customer service was done in the USA. At least when you ask to speak to a supervisor. For close to the same price I can walk into an ATT store and buy their service with a lot less hassle and wasted time. Tnx Don
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Customer Service
Posted 01/17/2012
Transferred my number in less than two hours! I had fouled up my lock code, but when I called the Straight Talk customer service, the rep answered on the 2nd ring and got the coding squared away in about 5 minutes! Oh yes, she had an Indian accent, but that did not inhibit her ability to help me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Good for the more tech savy

06/11/2011
By ,
Newburgh, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are an average cell user and like simple one click steps this may not be the phone for you. It took me awhile to get used to navigating it and the volume buttons drove me nuts because I wanted to change the volume of my ringer, but you can only do that by going to your personalized settings and then selecting the tones category. It's instances like that, that drove me a bit nuts for awhile, but then I got used it. good phone. Great use, nice loudspeaker, efficient for responding to e-mails and a good balance between business and home. I work as a school teacher, but don't have a computer in the classroom. This phone made checking and responding to faculty e-mail a dream.
Its calendar is simple and easy to use. I really have no complaints about this phone other than getting used to navigating around it. So once again, if you're not tech savy get a more user-friendly phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Horrible phone

04/08/2011
By ,
Upstate ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had nothing but issues with this phone. I got it as I upgraded from my cheap phone. 2 wks in I got an error message was told it was the phone I had to get a replacement. Replacement comes not even a month having it same error message, told its the phone yet again get a replacement. At this point I got a refund. Not worth the time or energy if you ask me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

great phone

08/24/2011
By ,
co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great phone still ahve not figured out how to post longer youtube viedos but it is a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

the best phone straight talk has

08/24/2011
By ,
standish michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well it makes calls great gets great reception and texts really fast. love the screen quality unless ur in the sun, you can still see it though but its lite. has a great map/gps feature. if you tether it to a computer even for an hour a day they will eventually shut down your internet service and when they give it back(by calling in and having it reset) then it will time out your connection after 2 minutes its very annoying. if you just call and text its great but when you read the fine print from straight talk you will laugh or cry depending on you personality. it says unlimited internet but in reality it is VERY limited you can get away with checking your email and updating your cityville and fb and getting off when you tether it to a computer but any more than that and you will be shut down. btw the fine print strictly forbids tethering and streaming of anything. and it says that if you use too much data they will shut it down, at their discretion of course and they decide what too much data is. also by blackberry used conversation style texts this doesnt its like a big step backword for texting love the ten hour talk time though went a whole weekend without charging, again however if you tether it to a computer the battery drains fast. if the phone was a hundred dollars less i probably wouldnt complain. its thru tracphone/at&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this, however it does not support other programs. Additionally, when it is warm outside it freezes or turn its off. Oh!! the battery only lasts for a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Phone ok, but?

05/04/2011
By ,
Cleveland, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think the phone is OK, the problem is it's on the GSM Network. Where I live the GSM Network is not the best coverage. So, if you are looking for a nice older version 'Smartphone', this one is a fair buy. Just make sure the coverage where you will use your phone the most this phone / coverage is acceptable. Where I travel GSM is probably the best Network, where I live CDMA is the best Network.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

menu is difficult and it got hot during use

08/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
menu is difficult and it got hot during use, battery works only 2 days, actions are slowly
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/09/2011
By ,
Kennewick, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty easy to use and navagate your way through. Sound quality is good as is picture quality. The battery does not last any where near the 10 hours promised, and the phone gets really hot when you make a long phone call or down load something.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

ok

12/28/2011
By ,
72401
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we purchased 2 Nokia e71s one worked fine the other had a firmware error that kept it from showwing caller ID or text message ID or number. Nokia needs to address the problem and replace thousands of phones. you can download from ovi store programs SymSMS and True Caller and eliminate the problem but the phones need a bug fix. It will then show the IDs with no problem may also need Psiloc Magnifier because text ID is small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not for vision impaired!

06/20/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Talk only has 2 smart phones. Interestingly enough, both are appear to be discontinued by Nokia! I started with this one, reading rave reviews. They were probably all correct. I had problems as a 50 year old with slightly deteriorating close up vision that I could not see the numbers on the keypad! Way too small! So, I returned this in favor of the Nokia 6790. From what I have done with the features, both seemed fairly equal to me, but the 6790 has a keyboard I can see! Really, it was a good phone, just things were too small for me! Walmart was great about returning it - no questions asked - ok, I did have to admit it was getting old that was the reason for the return -- but besides that, I had no problems returning it to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WAS AWESOME...... Not so much anymore.

10/05/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had my E71 for about 2 or 3 months and when I first got it, it was AMAZING!!!!! It was like a little computer in the palm of my hand. The keys were a little small and hard to get used to but I could put all of my e-mail accounts on it and be able to stay current with my work e-mail. I loved the fact that it connected to my wireless internet and coupled with my 16GB memory card I had unlimited possibilities for music downloads. NOW - - It won't let me open my text messages, my applications, my calendar, it has erased all of my e-mail accounts and deleted my contacts, pictures, videos, and half of my music (I had 544 full MP3 songs now I have 247#. It is iffy on wanting to charge, it gets almost too hot to touch when I am in a call and I am never on the phone for more then 15 minutes. On average I send 6000 to 8000 text messages a month#mostly work related# so I know I am hard on phones and most other phones wouldn't have lasted 2 weeks but I really thought Nokia had quality products. I am now going back to a Samsung #previously owned a Samsung Memoir through T-Mobile great phone horrible monthly payment#. My previous Samsung lasted me 3 years with the same usage as with the Nokia. I had very high hopes for the E71. I'm going for the Android Samsung Galaxy Precedent now...hopefully its everything it says it is. :#
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

it's ok

01/02/2011
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this cell phone and thought i would be satisfied. I wasn't because for a few more dollars a month I could get a touch screen and more than double the screen size. SO, I took it back for a refund. However, I did buy the two (2) 401c straight talk cell until I can decide if I want to pay MORE $'s a month for a contract cell.
PROS: This cell does what it suppose to do
very well.
cons: PRICE too high for non'touch and small screen.
These Straight Talk cell phones are excellent and very easy on the pocket book.
I say buy with confidence :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

small keys on qwerty keyboard

03/02/2011
By ,
Binghamton, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wish I had done more research before purchasing this phone. If I had been able to handle it before the ship to store, I would have opted for another phone. The keys are very close together, making txting/typing difficult. I have small hands, I sincerely doubt that anybody with large fingers would be happy with this phone. Also, the guide given with the phone, is vague at best- especially for the "new to the smart phone market people", I had to go on-line and look at an extended version of the manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/29/2011
By ,
Tucker, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well- I'm little on the "phone illiterate" side so this is a love/hate relationship.
I love phone but have had ut 2 wks and still cant figure out all it can do. : )
It also does not work very well in my home. Works fab everywhere else. very
slow load up with things like FB, myspace, but that isdefinetely not a requirement.
Phone was cheaper on line than store & have enjoyed ease of getting messages,
email, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next