Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

The Straight Talk Nokia E71 Cell Phone is packed with many different features to keep you connected in style. This GSM cell phone will only work with the $45 Unlimited Plan (card must be purchased separately). It has the WiFi antenna that enables you to connect to wireless Internet service to surf the web. With built-in Bluetooth facility, you can use the phone even without picking it. The GPS facility enables you to communicate with GPS satellites. This GSM cell phone even lets you watch full-motion YouTube videos. Listen to your favorite music with the FM radio. Featuring a full QWERTY keyboard, this cell phone lets you type messages faster. This prepaid GSM phone comes with a 4 GB micro-SD card and a 3.2 MP camera with built-in flash. Check your mails from Yahoo or Gmail with the e-mail applications and also keep in touch with your office mails through Microsoft Outlook-based email.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(452 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation85%385 out of 452reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
281
4 stars
97
3 stars
27
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WiFi Unreliable

10/19/2011
By ,
Phx, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit has software problems connecting with WiFi routers even with the latest upgrades from Nokia! Read about it on the Nokia's web site. Nine out of ten times it can not establish a connection with your router in the same room. It pings the router (My router has signal strength LEDs), then drops the connection in less than 0.25 seconds resulting in an error message "WiFi not Found". If for chance it connects, it works excellent. ...So forget using Skipe if you’re not subscribed to the cell towers.
---THE GOOD---
It has nice form factor ...very condensed, and rugged.
Nice keyboard.
Sensitive GPS receiver (5 sats) + A-GPS + Bluetooth GPS (all at once)!!!
Sensitive FM radio (monaural).
Good battery life.
No hassle PC connection.
Nice apps.
---THE BAD---
You need a microscope to see what’s on the screen.
It gets very warm (almost hot) when being use.
Totally unreliable WiFi ... and thinking about roaming an airport hotspot LOL.
Talked to Tracfone about one day in CA then hop a flight to NY, and they indicated issues.
Going to Mexico? Forget that! Trackphone will deactivate you permanently. OUCH
I returnd it 10 days later before commiting to Tracfone.
If WiFi worked, I would have keept it.
FYI: Walmart gives only 15 day to return cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 42 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

e71

05/05/2011
By ,
chesapeake ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
had phone for two weeks.... lost internet capabilities and gps... stayed on line for several hours with tech support still not working... love the phone but taking it back .... hope you have better luck for 200 bucks
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 43 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

service

01/08/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have no problem with the phone itself. Straight Talk customer service is not great. Had a great deal of problem transfering the phone number and adding service period. Perhaps it would be better if some of the customer service was done in the USA. At least when you ask to speak to a supervisor. For close to the same price I can walk into an ATT store and buy their service with a lot less hassle and wasted time. Tnx Don
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Customer Service
Posted 01/17/2012
Transferred my number in less than two hours! I had fouled up my lock code, but when I called the Straight Talk customer service, the rep answered on the 2nd ring and got the coding squared away in about 5 minutes! Oh yes, she had an Indian accent, but that did not inhibit her ability to help me!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not as expected

12/07/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone last summer to replace on older straight talk phone that had died. I bought this one on a friend's recommendation. I hate this phone. It is constantly freezing. There are a number of things it claims it can do that it simply cannot do. The phone, although hoooke up correctly, will not allow me to post pictures to the internet. It times out and freezed within seconds of attempting. Maybe I got a lemon; I don't know. I do know, however, that I would tell everyone to stay clear of this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern California
Nokia E71 Freeze/Lock up
Posted 12/08/2011
I would check your Firmware, make sure you are on the newest version. Also, make sure onboard RAM/ROM is not maxed out (i.e. you have a ton of contacts, music, or photos store locally). The phone needs to be turned off periodically for an extended period and then turned back on so it can automatically download any updates. I hope this helps you. It really is a good phone if you give it a chance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
08/15/2011
By ,
grand rapids, mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
honestly when i baught this phone everything seemed fine it worked great until 2 months after i got it didnt work. all my pictures, videos, contacts, and music got randomly deleted and still does. the memory and sim card wouldnt work and then it would, my texting stopped and couldnt text or make phone calls, ever since i got this phone i have had nothing but problems and still am. i would never buy another phone like this one ever again and i feel bad for who ever buys this phone... It may look like a good phone but trust me it isnt. I suggest you save your money for a phone that will actually work. Its so not worth 200 dollars
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 46 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Service is fine, phone is lame

09/27/2011
By ,
SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had no problems at all with call quality, and have had no dropped calls in the two months I've used this phone. HOWEVER, the phone itself is pretty disappointing. The web browser seems to have insufficient memory, and it can't handle loading most of the websites I try to visit, and it almost always locks up before the pages are fully loaded. At that point it takes several minutes for the phone to clear it's memory (or whatever it's doing while it's locked up and not responsive) in order to get back to the main menu. I've tried clearing the cache and privacy data but it doesn't seem to help. Another problem is the GPS... I made the mistake of leaving my Garmin nuvi at home because I thought I'd be able to use the Nokia instead. The Nokia's GPS simply does not work. It can tell me where I am, but it can't give directions to find a location. It had me going in circles around a shopping center, trying to find a road that wasn't even there. Luckily it was during the daytime because it was a very unsafe location, and I'd hate to have been driving through there at night or by myself. My friends and I thought it was hysterical that the Nokia kept insisting that there was a road located back behind the dumpsters in the parking lot.
The camera works okay. The radio loses its signal. Texting works fine. Email is fine, although it only loads 2000 characters in a message and has to reload if you want to read more than that. If you have a lot of graphics or html in your email it will probably lock up. It does sync with my gmail account. Haven't been able to get my google calendar to interface, though.
The interface on this phone, having to tab around with the little arrow is so, so clunky and feels like I'm stepping back in time, maybe back ten years. If you've used an iPhone, you'll feel like this is an antique that should be in a museum somewhere. It's awful.
If you're looking for a very basic cheap phone, this might work for you. If you're expecting easy and intuitive use, you won't find it here. This phone just promises more than it can deliver.
I plan to ditch this phone as soon as my budget allows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 47 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nice phone, wrong service provider

08/17/2011
By ,
Reidsville, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this phone for my daughter and she loved the phone but we ended up returning it because this phone runs off of AT&T and has very limited service in our area. I bought her another Straight Talk phone, which isn't as nice and doesn't have the features that this phone has but runs off of Verizon; therefore, she has much better service. I would only recommend this phone if you have AT&T service now and you are happy with it.
Pros - Attractive phone with handy features
Cons - Runs off of AT&T, heavy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 48 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71

08/16/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read the reviews, which persuaded my purchase of the E71. However, I didn't need the phone for business purposes, and I'm not real phone savy/educated. Maybe for others the E71 is great, but I didn't care for it. To start with, it's too heavy!! If you carry your phone in your (shirt) pocket like I do, you won't like the weight of this phone. I didn't like the small size of the keys or the font, and several of the settings. I went to the Nokia site which did not have the E71 listed, and my numerous attempts to update the phone were unsuccessful. This phone was not user friendly for this casual phone user. **However, setting up the phone to include porting my phone number with Straight Talk was very easy. I t took less than 30 minutes to activate the new (E71) phone with my existing phone number.
I tried the E71 for about a week and ended up returning it at my local Walmart. The return was very easy. I bought a Nokia E5 as a replacement for the E71, and I like the E5 a lot. Easier to use, lighter weight, it's very similar to a Blackberry. NOTE: If you want to keep your existing phone number, you must buy the new phone and activate it BEFORE you return the other phone.
Overall, very pleased with Straight Talk and the Nokia E5, not a fan of the Nokia E71.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 49 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/17/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this, however it does not support other programs. Additionally, when it is warm outside it freezes or turn its off. Oh!! the battery only lasts for a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 50 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Not for vision impaired!

06/20/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Straight Talk only has 2 smart phones. Interestingly enough, both are appear to be discontinued by Nokia! I started with this one, reading rave reviews. They were probably all correct. I had problems as a 50 year old with slightly deteriorating close up vision that I could not see the numbers on the keypad! Way too small! So, I returned this in favor of the Nokia 6790. From what I have done with the features, both seemed fairly equal to me, but the 6790 has a keyboard I can see! Really, it was a good phone, just things were too small for me! Walmart was great about returning it - no questions asked - ok, I did have to admit it was getting old that was the reason for the return -- but besides that, I had no problems returning it to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 51 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Low end smart phone

08/21/2011
By ,
Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is an okay phone for those not needing all the bells and whistles of a decked out phone like the iphone. Screen is okay for messages but not good for looking at websites and some phone apps have to use magnification to see clearly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 52 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

ok

12/28/2011
By ,
72401
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we purchased 2 Nokia e71s one worked fine the other had a firmware error that kept it from showwing caller ID or text message ID or number. Nokia needs to address the problem and replace thousands of phones. you can download from ovi store programs SymSMS and True Caller and eliminate the problem but the phones need a bug fix. It will then show the IDs with no problem may also need Psiloc Magnifier because text ID is small.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 53 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

WAS AWESOME...... Not so much anymore.

10/05/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had my E71 for about 2 or 3 months and when I first got it, it was AMAZING!!!!! It was like a little computer in the palm of my hand. The keys were a little small and hard to get used to but I could put all of my e-mail accounts on it and be able to stay current with my work e-mail. I loved the fact that it connected to my wireless internet and coupled with my 16GB memory card I had unlimited possibilities for music downloads. NOW - - It won't let me open my text messages, my applications, my calendar, it has erased all of my e-mail accounts and deleted my contacts, pictures, videos, and half of my music (I had 544 full MP3 songs now I have 247#. It is iffy on wanting to charge, it gets almost too hot to touch when I am in a call and I am never on the phone for more then 15 minutes. On average I send 6000 to 8000 text messages a month#mostly work related# so I know I am hard on phones and most other phones wouldn't have lasted 2 weeks but I really thought Nokia had quality products. I am now going back to a Samsung #previously owned a Samsung Memoir through T-Mobile great phone horrible monthly payment#. My previous Samsung lasted me 3 years with the same usage as with the Nokia. I had very high hopes for the E71. I'm going for the Android Samsung Galaxy Precedent now...hopefully its everything it says it is. :#
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 54 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

it's ok

01/02/2011
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this cell phone and thought i would be satisfied. I wasn't because for a few more dollars a month I could get a touch screen and more than double the screen size. SO, I took it back for a refund. However, I did buy the two (2) 401c straight talk cell until I can decide if I want to pay MORE $'s a month for a contract cell.
PROS: This cell does what it suppose to do
very well.
cons: PRICE too high for non'touch and small screen.
These Straight Talk cell phones are excellent and very easy on the pocket book.
I say buy with confidence :)
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 55 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

great phone

08/24/2011
By ,
co
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great phone still ahve not figured out how to post longer youtube viedos but it is a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 56 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

the best phone straight talk has

08/24/2011
By ,
standish michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
well it makes calls great gets great reception and texts really fast. love the screen quality unless ur in the sun, you can still see it though but its lite. has a great map/gps feature. if you tether it to a computer even for an hour a day they will eventually shut down your internet service and when they give it back(by calling in and having it reset) then it will time out your connection after 2 minutes its very annoying. if you just call and text its great but when you read the fine print from straight talk you will laugh or cry depending on you personality. it says unlimited internet but in reality it is VERY limited you can get away with checking your email and updating your cityville and fb and getting off when you tether it to a computer but any more than that and you will be shut down. btw the fine print strictly forbids tethering and streaming of anything. and it says that if you use too much data they will shut it down, at their discretion of course and they decide what too much data is. also by blackberry used conversation style texts this doesnt its like a big step backword for texting love the ten hour talk time though went a whole weekend without charging, again however if you tether it to a computer the battery drains fast. if the phone was a hundred dollars less i probably wouldnt complain. its thru tracphone/at&t.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 57 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Nokia E71 is

08/22/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone is not as user friendly as some of the previous phones I have owned (Blackberry). The phone can be used as a wifi spot with a free app from Nokia app store. I'm glad I don't have a contract because I abuse phones and once this one dies I am going back to a touch screen phone. Not a bad deal for unlimited everything but I don't use the phone enough to justify having unlimited everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 58 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

Horrible phone

04/08/2011
By ,
Upstate ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had nothing but issues with this phone. I got it as I upgraded from my cheap phone. 2 wks in I got an error message was told it was the phone I had to get a replacement. Replacement comes not even a month having it same error message, told its the phone yet again get a replacement. At this point I got a refund. Not worth the time or energy if you ask me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 59 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone

thinkin bout it

11/28/2011
By ,
anderson, in
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it's like this folks...
i am planning on buying a smart phone in the very near future... mainly pre-paid internet access...
have been doing research on several pre-paid phones and i still haven't come to a decision...
why? it's all about technology advances verses the $$$.... for example, think bout your home computer.... how old is your computer and what os do u have installed?.... windows 95, 98, millinium(?), 2000, xp.... etc... u get my drift there right?
obviously, the older the os is the less remaining time it will be supported.... think bout that b4 u decide to shell out your hard-earned dollars....
therefore, u should consider purchasing one with an upgradeable operating system..... this phone can not be upgraded as far as the firmware/software os is concerned.... so, in fact, u would be buying an already obsolete piece of electronics....
contrasting to that tho.... all electronics are almost obsolete when u buy them... just something to think about...
this phone obviously has many fine features and is somewhat moderately priced... not to mention several fine reviews from existing owners.... i am almost ready to buy this thing just from reading the reviews....
i am probably confusing a lot of people.... but i've been looking at the specs, os (upgradeable?), onboard ram/rom, phones features, checking out the apps available, service, etc... and so should u.
i might be inclined to spend the extra bucks for a more-supported, more advanced phone.... but somebody said that yesterday bout the obsolete phones of today
so my ending advice is start from the top end and work your way down to your balance of price vs. technology that u can afford... it helped me just writing it!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-12points
Review 60 for Straight Talk Nokia E71 Prepaid GSM Cell Phone
06/29/2011
By ,
Tucker, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well- I'm little on the "phone illiterate" side so this is a love/hate relationship.
I love phone but have had ut 2 wks and still cant figure out all it can do. : )
It also does not work very well in my home. Works fab everywhere else. very
slow load up with things like FB, myspace, but that isdefinetely not a requirement.
Phone was cheaper on line than store & have enjoyed ease of getting messages,
email, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
41-60 of 406 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next