Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ematic Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Ematic Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

A must-have for every avid book reader, the Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader can store up to 2,300 songs, 20 hours of video, or thousands of e-books with its built-in memory of 4GB. You can even expand the storage capacity of this TFT color e-book reader as it features a microSD card slot. Insert an SD card and enjoy the convenience of storing up to 40,000 e-books. This e-book reader supports most popular e-book formats, such as TXT, PDF, EPUB, DOC, and much more. It features a built-in MP3 player, so you can read your favorite book while listening to your favorite song. The 800 x 480 pixel color display not only ensures strain-free reading, but also enables you to view movies and videos in high clarity. This Ematic 4GB e-book runs on a rechargeable lithium battery. With the high speed USB cable, you can quickly and easily transfer your files to your MAC or PC and vice versa.
Average Customer Rating:
3.48 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation68%50 out of 73reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
21
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Me no likey

03/09/2011
By ,
Newburgh, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this for $79 and usually I'm so stingy that I will place value on price rather than product. This time I couldnt. I had to return this product. It works well enough as an ereader. I synced it with my PC and loaded my books. I liked the fact that you could zoom text, change the light etc. I also liked the fact that i could load photos of my four month old as well as my music. Pretty convenient. That's where the "like" stops. The usuability of the device is rather poor. The menu and navigation buttons are difficult to grasp. The device is rather poorly designed in general. I found myself getting very annoyed with navigating through the menu and processes of the darned thing, that I just gave up. Also, it doesnt hold a charge for very long. I would charge it at work, synced to my PC, and the battery would DIE in the middle of a really interesting page turning portion of the book on the train on my way home...forcing me to find the page and try to read the book on my trusty i phone. Not good. Sorry. Not for me.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Review 2 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

A good product

03/08/2011
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works very well. You need to reset the settings: So the screen doesn't keep going black (I suggest setting it to "no automatic shut down") and to preserve the longevity of the battery (I suggest turning the brightness down to the "1" setting, it's set at "5" by default).
If you download something onto the E-Reader that you want to delete, you connect it to your computer open the files on your E-Reader, right click on what you want to delete, and click on delete.
You can listen to music you download onto E-Reader, but you need to use a program like Windows Media Player. Unfortunately you can't listen to the radio and read a e-book at the same time, for some reason you have to set the screen to shut off before you can get a signal for the radio stations.
Over all this is a very good product, we bought three at one time and haven't had any problems with any of them. We've also ordered another one recently, to give as a gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Not happy at all

03/13/2011
By ,
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second Ematic eReader that I have bought in the past year. The first one that I bought I got for my 10year old daughter. She loves it and has read so many books since I bought this for her at christmas time. I decided I wanted to have one for myself. I figured I could put my college texts on it also ... maybe. I was so disappointed when I recieved it. The box itself was torn up and none of the paper work was in with the product and on top of that the product didnt work at all. I tried to call Ematic and recieved no answer when I called the half a dozen times inbetween the times that the only paperwork that was in with the box suggests. I even left a voicemail and still have not recieved a call back. I was so fed up with waiting to talk to the company that actually makes the product that I finally took it back to walmart and got my money back. I am very disappointed with Ematic and would suggest spending the extra money and just getting a knook.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 4 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Great product!

04/19/2011
By ,
Lowell, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this ereader for @ 3 wks and I love it. You can't beat the price for what it has and does. An avid reader, I began collecting ebooks that interested me for months while I was saving for the new Kindle. I found this and jumped on it. Easiest thing to do is download 'Calibre' (freeware, beleive it or not) a powerful ebook database, add your ebooks to the prog on your pc and then just click once to transer to your ematic (must attach with cable provided to usb port)any or all your books. Your PC will recognize the device and give it a drive letter, treat it just like another drive. Copy, paste or drag and drop. I've listened to music, and played a movie already. 4 G is a lot of space for text--Right now I have @2900 books on the main drive and a movie and music on a 4 G micro card. Will soon get a $ gig. One thing I'd like to see changed: the manual is too small and sorely lacking. I still can't use the search function. If anyone knows how, please, please contact me or send me a link to get a >16 page user manual.
One other thing, that battery doesn't last a month like the Kindle but the Kindle doesn't do as much. One more thing, tho it has a speaker, the ear phones give a far better sound. I hope this will be helpful to prospective buyers.
So far I haven't purchased any ebooks directly to the device, but I'd rather do it the way I am anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 5 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Excellent Value

03/03/2011
By ,
Terrell , Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is nothing I don't like about this.
Unlike the Sony that this replaces it can be used in the dark with the lighted screen.
I have loaded several movies & music cd's on it.
The built in speaker is not easy to hear but with the included ear buds you get plenty of sound.
I wish I found this one first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Review 6 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

just O.K.

06/02/2011
By ,
fairmont , wv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this to be able to read E-books without carrying my laptop everywhere. The E-books have to be downloaded in E-pub format to be read well.
when you use the large font half the page is lost and when you go to the next page you it starts ON THE NEXT PAGE. you can't scoll down like on a laptop. and even though it claims you can turn text so it's wider it still is hard to read I like my laptop Way better.
The music part of this E-Reader works really well, it comes with earphones and the display is easy to read.
Downloading is pretty easy and the plug & play connection is great.
Battery life is really good and you can do a lot of different things with this e-reader
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lynchburg
hELp!!
Posted 06/19/2011
this was a present from my son. I'm so excited but one thing..I've downloaded 2 books from BN but I can't read it on the reader. I keep getting "valid active info"!! what do i need to do?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Excellent Purchase

11/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am thrilled with my purchase. Most of my courses require tons of research paper downloads, and this is saving me tons from not having to print those out. The sound quality for the mp3s is great. It is very easy to use and I haven't had any problems downloading ebooks. I Very highly recommend it. I will be ordering another for my mom later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Review 8 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

very good e reader product

02/06/2011
By ,
Metairie, Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
outstanding product for the price. has all the features you need for a good e reader. pleasantly surprise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 9 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Excellent product.

03/17/2011
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure I was throwing my money away at first, especially after seeing the directions. I got a magnifying glass out to read those useless directions. Realized I didn't understand any of it. But after spending some time using and learning to use the E-book reader, I am quite happy with it. First of all, you can print out the directions in big enough letters to read them from the file that comes up on the drive you plugged it in to. Although it still didn't do me much good understanding how to download things to it.
After trying several E-book companies, down loading books and finding out they wouldn't open. I found one that loads easy to the reader and works quite well. It's Boarders E-books. I found quite a few free ones. Didn't want to buy any until I found out if it would work. It loads them in EPub. After telling it to down load and then pressing the Sync button where it shows the device is recognized, off to the bottom left. Bingo, there they go. Disconnect it from the computer opened E-Matic up and went to E-Book, Digital Edition and there they all were. All six of them.
Next to try and learn how to load pictures and music. Well, to make a long story short here, you have to look at the E-reader as a jump drive. When I plugged it into one of the empty USB ports, mine showed up as J drive. Just go to where you have your music and pictures stored on your computer and you can drag them into the drive it's plugged into, or you can copy and past them from one to the other. It puts everything in the right places.
Next I tried to load a video. But it said I didn't have enough memory for that. I guess in order to do videos, you need that small memory chip. I'll buy one of those later.
But everything works as stated. I turned down the back light to help keep the battery up as I hear they don't stay charged that long.
When you consider what this E-matic does and what they give you with it. This thing is a heck of a buy. My Sister paid $35.00 just for a cover on her book reader and you get one free with this one and it does a heck of a lot more than many readers at three times the price.
The color is good and the back light is great. Once you learn how to use it, you got to know your getting your monies worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 10 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black
03/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product on line for Christmas. Day of Christmas tried charging it but it would not charge, i jumped it from the computer but then it would not turn off had to use the reset button the back. because it was pasted the 15 days to return I had to send back to ematic. They roped me around and around till I threatened to let Walmart know that they would not help me. I finally got a return number which I sent right out to them. They say i sould have a responce in 15-21 day. I have called and they give me the run around. I still do not have my ebook back and I am getting rather mad. If they don't stand behind their product any better than this I will not recommend it to anyone. Walmart needs to re evaluate the company they deal with and the fact that you cant get it fixed or replaced in a timely manner. Here it is 3 months later and still can not use it because i do not have it. very unhappy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 11 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Good for Beginning to Use Readers

01/16/2011
By ,
Wyoming
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This reader will not read protected documents - which is the format that purchased ebooks are in. Otherwise, it's a decent product. I've found many classic novels for free that work brilliantly. And the integrated speaker is nice. The size also works well- I have half of my music library plus approximately 50 ebooks on it, with still more than 1.5 MB left
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 12 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Not Happy

02/15/2011
By ,
Baltimore
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the product for the color display and price but after using it for a few days, I was a little disappointed. First the user manual is very tiny and it doesn't tell all the functions of the keys. The menu is not user friendly. I'm not a big reader but I thought I'd jump into the ereader bandwagon. Color display wasn't what I thought it would be. Most pictures in ebooks are black and white. I couldn't download ebooks from Sony or Amazon. Wouldn't read some ebooks. But the thing that really bothered me about this product is the fact that I charged the battery on the computer and it says it's fully charged. I turn the product off for later when I want to read for lunch. I turn it back on, it doesn't turn back on. It's like it has to be plugged in. I'm not happy with it. I guess it's true you get what you pay for.
I'm going to exchange this (if I can and pay the difference) for the Sony EReader. It may not be color display but at least Sony is more reliable than this product. I already have a Sony Mp3 and I'm satisfied with that. At least Sony stands behind their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Just what I wanted and a bit more!!!

12/28/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading a couple of reviews I got a bad a feeling about this product, so my expectations were low. Once I picked up my e-reader from the store, I was surprised at how light and slim it was, I connected it to my computer and it worked just like an external hard drive, I transfer photos, music, video, pdf books and I was blown away....It works beautifully, the photos look nice and the video is amazing. It reads txt files and pdf books easily. This is one of the best purchases I have made by far. I am planning to get a couple more for my wife and brother, the only minor thing that did not work well was the radio but this makes no difference to me since all the other features are great!!.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 14 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

great product great price

05/17/2011
By ,
Madison, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been spending a lot of time in waiting rooms and lobbies past several months. So I had decided I wanted something to help me pass the time and this was perfect option instead of carrying a bag of books and music player every where I went. This had almost every thing I wanted at a price I couldn't pass up. The screen is larger than many readers up to 5 times it's price. Can not compare how well others look outside of stores, but have used this inside and out in bright sun as well as pitch black nights. It is a little bright in low light, but can turn the brightness down. The processor is not super high powered so with some larger files it will freeze up so not a bad idea to keep a small paper clip or safety pin around to hit the reset button. Controls may give folks with larger fingers an issue, but overall it is fairly easy to use. It does not have Internet capability so you have to download files from your computer instead of Internet. Since it can not connect to the Internet there is no way for it to use DRM protected files because it can not unlock them. The 4gb hard drive lets you put quite a few files on it. Add a few 16gb Micro SD cards and you can have more music, movies and books than you could finish in a year.
This is more than just an ebook reader this is a multi media player. Again as with books it can not play protected audio or video files and there are a few file formats that will not work, but you can keep several hours of mp3 music, a few high quality movies and a good library of ebooks to keep you busy for days. It is fairly fast when transferring files with included USB cord. You can also use the USB to charge the internal battery or the included power supply. When you first get the reader the battery lasts up to a few hours, but after draining and recharging a few times the battery power is extended to where a solid charge can last most of a day. No clue how long the battery will last and how much of a hassle will be to replace the battery when it does die, but I have been averaging 3-6 hours of use per day for over a month and have only let it run out of power a few times. It uses a trickle charge method so from zero to full takes an hour or more, but it pulls so little power as charging that after the April 27, 2011 storms when we were without power for almost a week I was able to use a weak UPS Battery backup to charge it up and transfer a few video files from pc before computer ran out of power and had to go to sleep. Not only would I recommend the Ematic EBook Reader I already have to several people and truly love it. Add in a car charger or inverter along with few memory cards and you are set for a cross country trip. Biggest complaint I have had about it was when first got it the instruction manual is so small it is hard to read so turning it on was a bit of a challenge as the switch has to be held in for a few moments. The manual is also stored on the internal drive so you can read it on it or by connecting to your computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

a very good product

03/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it does read the e boo,k i put on it. also has a great speaker, does video. also u can see it in the daylight also night a very bright screen, that is adjustable. amazine color on everything saves the pages you are on for every book automaticly, takes u right back to the last page you where on. it does not take an regular sd card but a micro sd card. lightweight, slim and coustumisable, for instance u can change the back round of the pages from different colors and also the letters just not the pictures great on pitures also. battery is good for everything comes with two ways of charging wall or usb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 16 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

I wish their software was better

04/19/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery time still on a shorter side even after 4 full discharge cycles, but that was expected - at this price level. I use it mostly as an eBook reader, and I wish the reader software were more sophisticated - such as showing book titles rather than file names, fixing paging discrepancies after resizing the font, properly displaying footnotes in FB2 format. To jump to a certain page number, you have to enter it backwards - very annoying.
Poor button quality makes movie navigation a bit tricky, but maybe it's just me.
Calendar application looks useless.
Overall - decent value for the price, but nothing exciting.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Great reader

06/04/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reader! Downloads are easy and fast. All around approval of this item. Definately recommed if you're going to buy one that can download books from several sites. Going to buy one for my sister's Birthday.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Better than expected!

06/17/2011
By ,
monson, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After hearing rather so-so reviews i was a little apprehensive in getting this, but after toying with it for an hour am thrilled i did!
I did expect some things to be missing in the package and a less than wonderful manual.
Like others i did not receive any conversion software but after looking into it it didn't seem like anything I'd use anyway since the unit plays all the formats already. they do offer an early version of the software online but you could probably find better.
The manual was small but I'd seen worse but the manual i got didn't match the product! http://blog.the-ebook-reader.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Ematic-eBook-Reader-Manual.pdf (this is a link to the matching manual!)
They do not give you a warranty card but the documentation is found in the device. E-matic warranty.txt under the e-book setting.
In the bio of the product Walmart says there is no recording function. Yes there is Walmart made a mistake.
at first my pc didn't want to recognize the product but after a few tries they were introduced.
my issue is the inability to change the time format from 24 hours to 12. i mean really does anyone non military know what the heck 14:00 o'clock is?
overall this was an awesome deal. the pics come out beautiful, the video is amazing and the sound is much better than i expected without the earphones, and i was honestly blown away. still have yet to see how the battery life is as it came ready with a full charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 19 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

Fantastic Starter Reader

06/08/2011
By ,
Brookly, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something cute in color that would allow me to pack up a few good books and mags and go and the Ematic E-reader has allowed me to do just that. Even though it does not have wifi, it still does an amazing job to me. It was super easy to learn and is very easy to operate.. It's a really good buy, an amazing value.. The only regret I have with this reader is that, i didn't order it in pink!...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Ematic EB101B 7" E-Book Reader, Black

No way

12/23/2010
By ,
Brandon, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter to help her bring up her grades in reading. The ereader turned on and worked ok until the battery died. Then it would not charge with the usb or ac adapter provided. So I went online to find support for this thing since the manual was useless and they have no info on this thing online. It was also missing the cloth, disc, and free mp3 download inserts as well as the warranty card. I wasn't very fond of the layout of it when it did work either. I plan to spend the extra money to get a kindle or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next