Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Meade Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Digital wireless technology eliminates common interference. Wireless set up means easiest installation and no tangles. Functions: Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, Current-to-Average Speed, Speed Tendency, dometer, Trip Distance, Trip Timer, 12/24 Hour Clock, Calories Burned, Fat Burned, Scan, Outdoor Temperature, Freeze Frame Memory, Backlight, ETA. Large, backlit screen lets you see speedometer readout in low light riding conditions. No tools install. Batteries included (2 CR2032).
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation57%16 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 29 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Great computer for the money

09/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this computer for about 3 months and my son has had the same one for over a year. It's a great computer for the money. It has always worked for us and is the biggest bang for the buck when compared with computers from bike stores which start at $40-$50 with the same or less functionality, and are not wireless. I give it five stars. It was just a little difficult for me to learn to cycle through the modes and reset a trip or time without having to reset the whole computer. Having owned other computers this is not unusual. Once I got it though I can do it no problem. (Use the left button to cycle through modes. You can reset your information for another trip easily: Once you are viewing "DST" (trip distance) or "TM" (trip timer) hold down the right button and it will reset for a new adventure. (It won't work if you are viewing DST or TM in scan mode because it will want to just scan to the next view) You can also reset your odometer (total miles) the same way if you ever wanted to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Be aware of incorrect user manual

07/19/2012
By ,
WHite Hall, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I installed the product successfully on my hybrid bike, however I could not go by the instructions. The version of the manual that I received, omits some basic information and some of the pictures are incorrect. The manual omitted that the "Set" button is on the left and the "Mode" button is on the right. In Step 4 (Install Magnet) the picture displays the sensor in the opposite (incorrect) position. The magnet is also shown in the opposite direction. Same problems with the picture in Step 5. A little frustrating at first but not a big of a deal once you figure it out. Although the following step is not in the instructions, I'm including here for reference. I added a single drop of crazy glue to the back end of the stud on the magnet after I installed it on the spoke. I did'nt have any thread locker or loctite. I read reviews on other web sites where it was common for the magnet to vibrate lose. Only tested on payment so far and it works a designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Baltimore, MD
Don't recommend using glue for magnet
Posted 04/10/2013
I have ridden up to 63 miles non-stop occassionally reaching 35mph pedaling on declines and I have never had an issue with the spoke magnet. I don't like paying more than I have to, so I have a similar Bell computer on a 1000+ dollar road bike. Tighten down properly, and just recheck every few rides.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Can't reset

09/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't get mine to reset. Tried right and left buttons. Everything. The only way I can reset it is to hold down both buttons and re-enter everything - the wheel code, my age, time etc from scratch. The plastic packaging it came in was really hard to open so I shredded it up pretty good and threw it all away. Now I have nothing to return it in. I am going to stay away from Bell products because of this bad experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Functions as advertised, accurate, easy to use.

04/24/2012
By ,
Charleston SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed easily and functioned as advertised. After about 6 months, it got hot in the sun one day and the backlight ceased to work. Batteries lasted more than a year in daily service. Good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

All is all....this is a good item

11/12/2012
By ,
Starke, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After setting the speedometer up, I hit the trail and was pretty surprised at how well it worked. I was a little taken back by not having better instructions on the basic functions of operation. For example, there are no instructions on how to clear the miles traveled or calories burned. I have since been able to figure out how to reset these functions before every ride, but I couldn't give you a detailed how to right now. I just hit buttons until it erases. My only real complaint, which I read in other reviews, is that if you have any other electrical devices near this unit it seems to interrupt it a little bit. Meaning, the speedometer jumps from a normal speed, i.e. 14 mph to 21 mph, and then back to the 14 mph. Overall, I still enjoy using this product to see how many miles I have ridden and the average speed per ride. I would definately recommend this item and already have to several people.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Good speedometer, don't use an LED light near it.

05/19/2012
By ,
Delmont, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this device a lot. Is very accurate, however do not use an LED light right next to it. When the LED was flashing it threw off the accuracy. I move the light over about 4 inches and the goofy reading cleared up. Would give a 5 if I could put the light where I wanted it. Did not have this issue with wired unit I used before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sun Prairie, WI
dlmcookie
Posted 06/25/2012
I have gotten the machine to function, but how do you set it? Neither one of the buttons works to let you set the machine. I know that it is working, because the timer worked and the thermometer, but I couldn't get anything to set.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Needs HELP from the buyer

11/22/2013
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Bell 200 from Walmart 3 weeks ago. It only lasted about half an hour before the magnet on the front wheel fell of due to the CHEAP plastic bracket the magnet screws into BROKE and fell off along with the magnet. IF you decide to buy this unit, you NEED to do TWO things. When you attach the magnet to the front wheel spokes, you NEED to apply a little EPOXY to the magnet, the plastic bracket and the spoke of the wheel. This will solve the problem with the cheap piece of plastic breaking and losing the magnet. Second thing I'd recommend is that you apply a little epoxy UNDER the sensor unit that mounts on the front wheel fork. If you DON"T, the sensor will MOVE around and get out of alignment with the magnet, and your unit will NOT work very well and you will have to re-adjust it. With the EPOXY between the sensor and the fork, the sensor WILL stay in alignment and you'll have no more problems.
IF you do these two things when you mount the computer on your bike, I don't think you'll have any problems with it and you will be happy with it's performance. If not you will NOT be a happy customer. I gave this computer a 3 out of 5 rating. IF you use the EPOXY as I recommend, I think a 5 rating would be accurate, If you don't a 3 star rating is being nice. I had to contact Bell to have them ship me a replacement magnet ONE day after I installed the computer on the bike and the magnet fell off. Since I re-attached the second magnet using the EPOXY it's been working perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Lasted 3 days

06/29/2014
By ,
california
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Some what a easy insall,I like the sleek look,I
had everything set up and it work good for 3 days but when I got back from a ride i notice that it was still going mph 9.5 ? what?, I turned the wheel trying to get it to stop finally it stop but each time you turned it on it would show mph,distance everything like you were riding but not.
it did it everytime it turned on, I tryed taking out the battery,reset it,finally i'm just going to return it and get a differant one......
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

it's ok if you have low expectations.

08/24/2012
By ,
Casper, Wy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted this computer to work so badly. I really did. I use a bell helmet and gloves and I like most things they make. I read a bunch of reviews of how this computer just doesn't work, period. I set to prove them wrong, as I did hear some reviewers happy with it (a small minority). I set up all the clearances even more carefully than usual as I *knew* that if I set mine up perfectly, it wouldn't be a dud like most. It worked very well, and I appreciated features such as temp, avg speed, and a calorie counter that took age and weight into consideration. These are features of a much more expensive product. Two weeks went by and the problems began. I was riding ~15 mph on my favorite path and all of a sudden, the computer decided I was going 38, then 51. I'd like to think I'm the fastest cyclist ever, but I wasn't moving any faster than before. The temp, which has read between 60-85 (seemingly accurate), now usually reads well over 100 if I'm outside and this week is just barely hotter than the last 2! I'm returning it today and feel that if just a little more time and money went into this thing, we'd all have a winner that we could pay a few more bucks for, but as is, it just doesn't serve my purposes. I want to note that I had no electronics (phones, mp3 players, lights, etc.) anywhere near this product, so I don't think interference was to blame. Also I moved the magnet and sensor around a little, but no luckthere either. Oh well, nice try Bell but better luck next time. I'm glad walmart has a good return policy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Easy to Program!

05/29/2014
By ,
port st lucie florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby purchased a cheap bike computer on line and It was almost impossible to program. I ran to Walmart store and picked up this one and it was easy for me to program and I took it out for a spin this morning and it worked perfectly. The one tip in the many reviews was very helpful to me, and that was you can't make any changes while it is in the scan mode. I found directions very clear and precise. Glad I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

good product

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the computer was easy to set up and easy to install on my bike. does everything it says it will do. I did use some elmers glue on the threads of the magnet to make sure it would not come loose easily worked so far [about a 100 miles so far]. is it accurate? I have no true way of knowing but it works for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Great accessory

07/26/2013
By ,
Kernersville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is awesome. Lots of useful information at your finger tips. I'd say..go get ya one..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Bell Console 200

09/19/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointed this product. The speed is very inaccurate and is constatantly displaying random speeds. It does this if it's on the bike or not. If I could give it a score less than one I would. My next step is to notify the manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

You get what you pay for.... again

06/29/2013
By ,
USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit may work fine on a silky smooth track. But is very eratic on asphalt or concrete and will not work while riding a gravel surface. I rode a known 10 mile trail, this unit indicated 4.8miles. I re-adjusted, added new batteries, readjusted, re-set both the spoke magnet and computer sensor several times, and no good luck.
Don't waste your time with this unit. Just too low of quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Works great when it works

08/14/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like this cyclometer when it's working properly. It's accurate, easy to use, easy to read without glasses. On occasion, this thing flakes out on me and the display is garbled; it has the symptom that the battery compartment is too large/not tight enough. After I tap on it awhile, it starts working again. If it didn't do this I would give it 5 stars for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Did not work

05/28/2013
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before even mounting it on the bike, it showed my Max Speed was 49 mph ???
Returned it for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Nice Speedometer, except

10/21/2012
By ,
Fulton, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this speedometer once I got it working. Some of that was operator error. My only complaint was how easily it came off the holder. I have now lost it and have no idea where it is because it slipped off on the trail. I will buy another this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Easy to install

03/03/2014
By ,
Atwater, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product! Easy to use and full of tons of information.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Bell Bike Computer Review

08/21/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The setup was not intuitive. Had to read the manual carefully. Tried every combination of buttons but could not reset my time and distance without resetting the entire unit. That then required setting up the unit all over again including wheel size, etc. Suspect I got a defective unit. Took it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
60423
Posted 05/19/2013
Pressing the set button mid ride caputures the current ride information (distance, time, average speed). If this happens, the numbers will be blinking instead of the normal solid. You can press the mode button (right) to scroll through them still, but they may not reset. To reset, press the set button (left) again to get them to be solid and then press and hold the set button (left) for a few seconds and it should reset.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Bell Console 200 Speedo BL

Excellent!

01/28/2014
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations. Easy to install, no wires, lots of functions including a thermometer! Great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next