Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Access over two million eBooks, newspapers and magazines on the Nook eBook Reader with Wi-Fi + 3G. Carry your library wherever you go.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation86%19 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Practical and Affordable

11/11/2010
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched every offering of E-readers on the market from Kindle from Amazon to Sony to Kobo from Borders before purchasing. Well, I've had my NOOK for almost 3 months now (purchased through Best Buy before Walmart offered it) and I love it. With room for 1500 books and more if using expandable memory, there's never a want for something to read. The size is smaller than any hardcover book and it's as thin as a magazine, making it easier to carry in a purse or even the glove compartment of a car. I love the 3g which allows me to go to the B&N website anytime I need a new book to read (punch 0.00 into the search engine on the site and you come up with a long list of their free offerings) and it's great that I can hook it up to the computer and get great classics from Gutenberg or my local library. To be honest, I have yet to try the wi-fi function as I live in an area without it but I bet it'll be as great as everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+50points
Review 2 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble
11/03/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine about a month ago and I love it. I done all the research and went back and forth between the Nook and the Kindle. I am very happy with my choice. With this I can not only buy books, but I can borrow books from the library. Also every Friday Barnes and Noble has Free Friday's where they give away a free download. They have a lot more free books than I thought they would. You just have to look through and find the one's that are worth downloading. I love this so much, I hardly ever use paperbooks anymore. I prefer reading with this. Also if you know somebody else that has a nook, if you buy the lendable books, you are able to lend your books to eachother. I thought that was a cool feature, although I don't know anybody else with a nook, so I have not used that option yet. They are going to have another large update some time this November. They are promising even faster page turns. I don't really think that is neccessary, but I have seen some people complain on the forums about the page turns. Honestly, this is a wonderful product and if you love to read, you will love this reader. It is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+150points
Review 3 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Awesome!

01/01/2011
By ,
Athens, Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance purchased this for me for my Christmas present this year (2010). I am in love with this product. I am an avid reader and was really uncertain at wether I would enjoy this product. Because face there is just something about holding a book in your hand. Smelling the scent. Feeling the pages as you turn them. Its almost addictive. So I wasn't really sure if I would enjoy it as much as a paperback. But I was suprised at how easy it is to get accustomed to. The e ink technology makes it easy to read, just like the pages of a book. There is no backgound light on the screen so it isn't as straining to the eyes as if reading on a computer. Although you will have to use a light to read in the dark we all have had to do it before ereaders ever existed.
Definately worth the price. Especially since I have run out of room for physical books!
The 3g works fairly well. Haven't had too much problem with it. I do live out in the middle of nowhere. We don't have high speed internet where I live and it still gets reception to search and downloads ebooks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Previously purchased epub books not transferable

11/23/2010
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was extremely excited to get my new Nook. I have used a Sony ereader for the past year and wanted to switch to the Nook because of the affordable 3G. I chose the Nook because it uses the same file format that Sony uses (epub) and I have an extensive library that I've purchased over the past year that I still wanted to use. It's true that both devices use the same file format, but I could not transfer the files to my new nook. Due to copyright laws, the ebook has to be "authorized" by the store where you purchased the book to be allowed to "read" that book. The Sony store would not recognize or authorize the Nook because it was a different name brand. I could use a conversion program to change all of my files into pdf's but they would not be as legible and it is a time consuming process since I own over 150 books. In short, I returned my Nook and was forced to buy another Sony book so that I would not lose my library. If this had been my first ebook and I didn't already have a library established I would have loved the Nook.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Review 5 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Nook3G/Wifi review

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product for nearly a year. If you do not turn OFF the wifi/3G and you live in an area with sketchy service, it will very quickly run down your battery, so I leave mine off till I need it. Also, once your battery dies, it takes awhile of being plugged into the wall to begin to recharge. It's frozen on me ONCE and that was a couple of days after I got it. I think I did something, but not sure what. Power off/on worked to fix it.
I have had no issues with this, had no problems, and I buy books, put my school .pdf files on it, I've uploaded my own photos to use as backgrounds, I have used every feature multiple times.
That said, for anyone NOT tech savvy, it may be harder for you to navigate some quirks like the battery issue. The Nook forum boards were filled with answers, so be sure you google them and read them before you decide what to do with the nook.
Additionally, I put my nook in padded places all the time. There are reports of the side buttons cracking and I have never had that problem. I think it takes care and not just tossing it unprotected in a bag with school books and stuff.
All in all, this has been one of my favorite electronic purchases of all time. I can honestly say I use it daily and have felt it truly worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 6 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Nook

10/27/2010
By ,
New Ulm, Mn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item from Barnes & Noble after the first update had been installed.
I had done a lot of research before choosing. This by far beats the kindle and any other type of ereader. It is easy to read and has easy access to all areas within the Nook. You can purchase on line, play a couple of games so far, has wifi capability and has expandable memory. you can also read several books at one time ( as i do) and it book marks your pages in all of the books at the same time. It also has an archiving system to back shelve things you might want to re-read in the distant future. There is also access to over 100 books for free. I use mine every day in the break room on my lunch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+89points
Review 7 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

BEST Ereader on the Market

12/31/2010
By ,
Omaha, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like many others, researched all e-readers; Kindle, Sony, Kobo, etc. and ended with the Nook. I couldn't be happier - I read the other reviews prior to writing mine -- all 'faults' could actually be done - including moving the library. Would it take time, yes -- would it have been worth it - yes! And, actually, there are over 200,000 'free' books thru bn.com. Music converts and loads easily from Itunes or any music library - pics for personalization; checking out library books, etc. This is a top notch product.
Make sure you read blog sessions or talk to your local B&N - they offer free usage classes on your Nook and it is well worth the time. If you are a reader and buying a product to read - this is DEFINITELY your product. Only item that didn't work absolutely great - was the beta web. You can search, do email, etc. but it is cumbersome and slow. Easier on a phone. Everything else -- AWESOME!!!
As far as being 'slow' - the new software fixed any slow issues AND... with B&N all software updates are free. Along with the 3G service - absolutely free and never a charge. You are at the mercy of AT&T on this one but free is free.
B&N hit a home run with this product!! Hands down the very best e-reader.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Great Product!!!

12/18/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been for the past year on the market for an e-reader and I so happy I choose the Nook. I was very undecided rather I should get the Nook or the Kindle. After doing a lot of research on both amazon and barnes and noble..I decided to go with the nook. I am so happy with the free 3G service the nook gets making it an endless book store. I would recomment this product to whom ever it out there looking for a great e-reader. The only bad thing is ever since I got it..it doesnt seem I can put it down.. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Surprisingly Impressed

11/24/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most consumers I was skeptical about the hype surrounding the nook. After finally deciding to purchase the product, I was both surprised and impressed with the ease of use and the performance. Since I love to read, I was desperately searching for an ereader. This product is affordable, provides great product choices and the support teams at Barnes & Nobles are both courteous and professional. I would highly recommend this product to any avid reader.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 10 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble
11/24/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, just wish I would have waited to buy the new one, but for the price it is a great deal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 11 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble
12/31/2010
By ,
Philadelphia Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this ereader color is Awsome
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

A great birthday gift

01/04/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Nook eBook Reader for our high-tech daughter (after some hints). She was so surprised and pleased with her Bday/Xmas gift. She said it was the "best gift ever" since we finally bought her a small TV for her own bedroom when she was a teenager. She and her husband now has five children of their own!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

A Nice Reader, BUT.....

02/13/2011
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had this model for one day, and I really like the ereader concept. I bought it for the Wi-Fi AND 3G capabilities. Everything worked exceptionally well; however I have one big caveat...
One of the reasons I bought the B&N Nook was the better selection of magazines. Only AFTER I purchased the unit and tried to download magazines did I discover that most of the magazines offered can only be downloaded to the Nook Color. You simply cannot download most of the magazines to the black and white Nook. It goes back tomorrow to be upgraded to the Nook Color. I just wish the color model had the 3G capabilities, but it only comes with Wi-Fi.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 14 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

NOT COLOR AFTERALL

12/10/2010
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
IT MAYBE THAT I FAILED TO READ THE WHOLE DESC. WHEN I READ "COLOR", I ASUMED IT MEANT THE SCREEN WAS INCOLOR "NOT".
I NOW HAVE THE "NOOK COLOR" AND IT IS FANTASTIC. AND THE PRICE, ONLY A $'S MORE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-3points
Review 15 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi+3G by Barnes & Noble

12/18/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very disappointed in the response of this reader. It is very slow and cumbersome to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 16 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Above the other ebooks

02/06/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase the Kindle 3G for my wife but after she saw a Nook Color commercial, we wanted to see the difference. Well, the Kindle was okay but the Nook Color is light-years above it. The colors are so vivid and brilliant. The upgrade was well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Was Not Impressed....

12/27/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I did not like this product at all. It did not offer any free publications or books and it was difficult to work with - it does not have touch screen capabailities like other e-readers. I returned it the same day I received it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 18 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

Love It!!!!

12/20/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my Nook!!!!!
The only thing abot it is when you turn it on it takes a bit to come on, could be faster. Other then that it is wonderful. Easy to carry when we travel, I have all my books with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble

A very helpful product

01/13/2011
By ,
Clyde, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. I bought this for my Mom who is NOT electronic friendly, but she CAN operate the NOOK. She loves it! You know what they say-if Mom ain't happy, them no one is. haha
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for NOOK eBook Reader w/ Wi-Fi + 3G by Barnes & Noble
01/14/2011
By ,
Raymore, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for my wife. I'm impressed with how much she uses it. Plus, she says, she really likes it. She uses it so much, I'm glad I got it for her.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next