Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 33155 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of cooking dinners in a hurry. This portable slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves your time and energy as it lets you cook flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional cooking usually demands. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.616 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(469 Reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
353
4 stars
84
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation95%444 out of 468reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 387 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
353
4 stars
84
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

christmas gift

12/22/2012
By ,
ashland ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered and sent this to my daughter who lives out of state.She loves it!Its great price,quick shipping and she uses it all the time!Works very nice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great product and price.

12/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,works well.I love the oval shape and the spacious inside.Easy to clean and store
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
12/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have been using the product non stop since I got them home. They are AWSOME!!! Easy to use. Great on power use. And cooks food in the right amount of time & keeps it good and warm. Would buy more when it wears out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

RewiewIWishIReadBeforeIShopped4TwoWeeks

12/27/2010
By ,
Beverly Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped for about two weeks trying to decide which crock pot to buy. They range from $16.00 (this one) to over $150.00. I took a heck of a chance buying the least expensive one out there but my gut told me my roast beef will be great no matter how little I spend. I WAS RIGHT!!!!! I know the manufacturer of this product makes much more expensive crock pots and I hope they don't delete this but here's my tip I wish I could have found when I was searching: DON'T SPEND ANOTHER PENNY MORE that the $16.00 this one costs. This crock pot cooks perfectly. Roast beef is tender and cooks perfectly after 10 hours of cooking (I could cut it with a plastic butter knife). So if my food comes out perfectly and tastes great what more would I have gotten for an extra $30, $40 or $100. Nothing! I would have just felt more fancy because I spent more money. Don't do it, if this is about your stomach and not impressing someone with how much money you spend, buy this crock pot. Food comes out perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+266points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
St Louis County MO
Lid problems?
Posted 01/08/2014
Have you had problems with the lid fitting well? One reviewer took hers back because of the lid not fitting. Thanks!
0points
Customer Avatar
Cleveland Ohio
Was looking for feedback ..
Posted 12/12/2013
Thanx so much, I'm buying as a gift for my mom, & was scared to buy a cheaper model thinking it may not work properly. Your review helped reassure me .. =)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Overrated

12/27/2013
By ,
Weaverville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was really excited to buy this slow cooker after seeing the hundreds upon hundreds of positive reviews. When I couldn't find it in my local Walmart, I even went to a neighboring city that had them in stock. This slow cooker works okay, but I am completely unsatisfied, disappointed and put off by the lid. This lid does not close tightly at all. It's as if it doesn't even really fit. Placing it down leaves misshapen gaps on both sides of the cooker which can barely be remedied by using the glorified rubber band that's included to hold it down tight by putting pressure on it. It feels as if the lid just isn't quite wide enough and shaped the same. It will sit on top and not fall down into the ceramic portion, but there's open area on both the front and back while using it. That in itself was enough for me to return it. I also concur with other users that the outside of the cooker isn't very thick/sturdy. Expect some dents (easily!) if you drop it or bang it on something by accident. I would have happily kept using it if not for the issues with the lid.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Not meant for the quicker 4-5 hour recipes

09/13/2013
By ,
oklahoma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because of the great reviews and price. Decided to try out a recipe in the instruction booklet. Used a 5.5 lb whole completely thawed chicken. The vent in the lid is great for sticking a meat thermometer through. After a hour on "high" setting, broth was barely warm. After 2 1/2 hours, broth got up to 190 degrees and meat was 140.At 3 hours on high, it finally started cooking with the broth being 200 degrees and the breast meat at 150.It took a total of 6 hours to cook the "4 hour" chicken recipe with about a hour and half for the veggies. It never got hot enough for steam to come out of the vent. I can't comment on low or warm settings. It seem to be smaller than 5 quarts. The chicken, small amount of carrots and 1 onion, put it past the 3/4 recommended level. I had to boil the potatoes separate.I cleaned it up and took it back to Walmart the next day in exchange for a larger 7 quart one for a few dollars more. Walmart is always great about returns when their customers are not happy with their purchases.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Good Value - Poor Delivery

07/18/2013
By ,
Brooklyn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooker is a very good value at the price, though it does seem to cook a bit on the hot side. Even on low, my meats are finished an hour or so sooner than the recipes would indicate, in one case leading to quite dry turkey thigh meat. I won't be cooking anything while I'm at work, and won't be sleeping late on mornings when I cook overnight recipes. Using during waking hours, when I can monitor how well done my dishes are, seems the way to proceed. It's attractive and a good size but did have some trouble with the delivery in NYC. Since there are no Walmarts here, I was offered the option of free shipping to a FedEx office, rather than a store, but when it arrived, Fed-Ex sent it back, as the Fed-Ex office Walmart's website offered as a pick-up site, does not hold packages. This caused a one week delay in getting it sent, Free, to my home, and a LOT of frustrating time on the phone. Still.....I like this pot very much and am looking forward to using it more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Slow cooking all my nom's

01/27/2014
By ,
Gary, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, works beautifully. Food was so good, made me want to slap somebody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great for the price

10/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I paid $14.88 for this at my local Walmart. It truly holds just a little over 4 quarts. The rubber seal does hold odor but I can't imagine it interfering with the taste of the food. I plan to wash it by hand as I believe the harsh dishwasher detergent is what deteriorated my previous lid's handle and it broke. I will also try adding little vinegar to the dishwater and see if that helps with the odor. Storing the lid upside down on the crock will also help to air it out and not trap odors in the pot. It works fine, I've had no problems with it and having a smaller sized pot for dishes that don't require a large roast or other big cuts of meat is nice to have to avoid burning. There is a steam hole vent on the glass lid and that's unlike anything I've had in the past but it's just a different way to let the steam out. Many people think the traditional lids don't fit "tight"...they aren't supposed to as they need to let steam out. This one has the rubber seal which allows a tighter quieter fit therefore the steam vent hole is required. It was a bargain and overall I'm happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oak Creek, WI
Cover Lid
Posted 03/12/2014
Thank you for clarifying the lid issue. I almost passed on this because some of the people where saying that the lid did not fit properly! By your review, I see why they said that the lid did not fit correctly. I'm going to take a chance it buy this Hamilton-Beach slow cooker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

BEAUTIFUL!

01/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the black and white print. Its so beautiful I don't want to put it away. You can't beat it for the price! I personally don't mind the rubber band type closure but I'm sure it could be a hassle for some. My only issue is that for whatever reason, it gets more hot on one side as opposed to the other. So one side will be boiling and the other not as much. Nothing a close eye can't fix, definitely not issue enough to return. It's not as large as I thought it might have been but it was my first time purchasing a crockpot and I didn't quite know what to expect as far as size but I have fed 4 adults and 2 children of that helps anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Zero Durability

12/27/2011
By ,
Arlington, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have never used a slow cooker before so I didn't want to invest a ton of money until I had decided if it was right for me. The shipping was SUPER fast - I paid the regular 97 cent shipping and got it a day and a half later, in the midst of holidays, when I was told it would arrive a whole week later. Nice. The red color is very nice and cheerful, without being too, too bright. HOWEVER, it came with a dent in it! Whether I pay $15 or $50, I expect a new product to be just that. It was packaged well so I don't think it was shipping. It's just not well-made. Now I have to either hassle with return shipping and wait 2-3 weeks, or drive an hour round trip to my closest Walmart, which is what I wanted to avoid in the first place. Very disappointing. I did try out a recipe - simple whole chicken, onions and potatoes with just enough water to cover the vegetables. After six hours on the low setting, it came out wonderfully. Still very, very disappointed in the questionable durability of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

A Great Value

12/21/2010
By ,
Shelby, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace a much smaller slow cooker. I've used it several times and I'm very satisfied with the results. It has a rubber seal around the lid which is great when you want to transport food to another place. There is also a rubber type band that you can put over the top to keep the contents from spilling when you are transporting the food. It's very easy to put on and keeps the lid secure. The seal is tight and what I especially liked is it keeps the aroma of the cooking food from being over powering. I don't like for my house to smell like what I'm cooking all day and this seal does help prevent this. The seal on my crock pot did not have any odor or change the taste of my food like one commenter complained about. The lid also fits very well. It has a nice "keep warm" feature which is great for a dinner or buffet where you just want it to stay warm and not continue to cook. The crock is thick and very durable. It is removable and cleans easily in the dishwasher. I bought the red one and love the color and the way it looks. It holds 5 quarts easily and cooks very well. I also noticed that the outside did not get very hot to touch like my old one. I'm very happy with this product and look forward to using it for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+271points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Good Slow Cooker!

11/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used the slow cooker last night to make beans and smoked turkey dinner for my family. The food was delicious! The slow cooker is designed very well. The heavy crock on the inside is removable and easy to clean. The glass lid is rubberized along the edges which makes it easy to sit it on top of the crock without the clanging noise. The vent in the top of the crock helps with letting steam out and the keep warm feature is also a plus. The shell of the crock is lightweight, would have liked it to be a little sturdier, but overall a good value for a good slow cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Doesn't have on/off light

11/14/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I probably would have liked this slow cooker more if it had an On/Off light, but it does not. Sorry, but you don't realize how nice that little light is until you don't have one. I have never purchased a product that didn't have some form of illumination whien the power was on. You just have to plug it in and wait until you feel it get hot, and then you know that the power is working.
Anyway, with that aside, It appears to be well built and is easy to clean. Switch moves from OFF / Low heat/ High Heat. This is my first slow cooker and I guess Low Heat and High heat is all you need. I cooked a pot roast and it came out very nicely.
In all good for the money, but I still miss that light.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Do not pick this out based on color.

07/25/2013
By ,
Menomonee Falls, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am slowly decorating my kitchen with red appliances and fixtures. It is a labor of love. The picture shown of the red crock pot is much nicer than it looks in person. Being Hamilton Beach I expected it to be the same drop dead gorgeous shade of red their toaster is. The truth is, it is pale and washed out, faded I'm afraid it will have to settle for just being another crock pot and not a fashion piece for me kitchen. But then for the money spent it serves it's purpose well. At least the stone comes out so it can be used in the dishwasher. Just store it in the closet. It is a let down considering the beautiful picture that was shown. This is my 4th red appliance from Hamilton beach. It is the only one that disappointed me. As a crock pot it works great and has a strong cord to fasten down the lid for transportation, I'm just disappointed in the color. Not bad enough to send back just not proud enough to display with my other red products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Pays for itself in a single meal!

12/02/2013
By ,
Auburn, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a dorm, and the on-campus food is ungodly expensive. I decided it was time to take control of what I'm eating and bought this slow cooker.
Size: 5 quarts is very large for one or two people, but it's great for fixing huge batches of stuff to freeze and use later. I'd recommend this size more for a family, but if you have room for leftovers, it could work for you.
Operation: Keep Warm, Low, High, Off. There's nothing fancy here and no timers, so you will need to be around to switch to "Keep Warm" when your stuff is done cooking. It's so easy a monkey could do it.
Style: The lovely robin's egg blue I got mine in at my brick and mortar Walmart isn't available online it seems, which is a shame, because I adore the color. The other colors I saw that were available were lovely as well. The ceramic insert is plain white (black on some models) and will go with anything on your table.
Quality: The rubber gasket on the bottom of the lid makes me a little nervous. I'm used to my mother's slow cooker lid that settles in nicely no matter how you put it on, but the rubber on this one's lid grips the ceramic insert so you have to make sure it goes on right or steam will escape. That said, it's not too hard to put it on right. It heats nicely. Like all newer slow cookers, it cooks much hotter than older ones, so if you have older recipes, you may want to pay attention the first few times you cook so your meat won't dry out. The build quality is nice, and the giant rubber band that was supplied for moving the cooker with the lid on is surprisingly durable feeling and does its job - no spills during transport yet!
Value: Between slow cooking being a traditional way of using cheap cuts of meat and this cooker costing less than a meal for four at McGreasy's, you'll make back money super fast. Did I mention it's convenient? Time is money, and the meals I've prepared so far in this have taken about 15 minutes, tops, to prepare in the morning, and they're ready to eat by suppertime.
Final word: If you work away from the house all day, you might want to look into a programmable slow cooker instead. Otherwise, this is the perfect choice for students, work-at-home employees, and stay-at-home parents.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

CLASSY & CUTE❤️

03/20/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...never did I ponder finding a slow-cooker that matches my decor...totally cool...lovin' the travel mode...size...price...delivery speed & every other little nuance involved in this product...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

200+ reviews can't be wrong!

09/10/2013
By ,
Albany, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this item SOLELY on the reviews. A few disgruntled posts are to be expected, but 95% of the ratings were 5 star! I bought in and like it. I had a smaller one by another maker, but it boiled on low and had only high and low settings. This has a KEEP WARM setting, and I go home for lunch and supper and the food is ready to eat with no microwaving needed! I read a complaint about the vent hole, but personally have no issue with there being one at all. Nevermind the fact that this thing costs less than a two person supper in town. The price is astonishingly low. I am completely thrilled all the way around.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

hamilton beach slow cooker

01/27/2014
By ,
midwest city, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it, just what I wanted, perfect, thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great slow cooker.

04/12/2014
By ,
Tucson,Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for making dinner when I don't feel like it, just toss in the ingredients and let it cook or making extra for the freezer. Love the flexibility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 358 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next