Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of preparing dinners in a hurry. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. This 5-quart slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves you time and energy as it lets you make flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional preparation usually demands. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(623 Reviews) 511
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
459
4 stars
117
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation95%588 out of 622reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 453 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
459
4 stars
117
3 stars
16
2 stars
7
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Smells Awful!

02/28/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product gives off a horrible smell when it is cooking that transfers to the food. When I first got it I followed all of the cleaning instructions, and used it to make pulled pork. It smelled so bad that I was sure that I must have used rancid pork! I just tried the crockpot again -- this time with just water inside -- and the smell came back. I wish I could return this product, but unfortunately I threw out the box and receipt as soon as I received it -- I was fooled by all the great reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/11/2014
I have the same problem. The black rubber on the lid smells awful. I wraped the lid with aluminum foil and it works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 82 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Slow Cooker

12/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this slow cooker to do a turkey breast for the first time. Best one yet! Fall off the bone tender and had great flavor. Clean up was very easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

great

12/27/2010
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my son so he could have some meals done when he got home from work. He is the single father of two growing boys and it has worked out great from him. Size is great and being able to take the center out and wash it.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great Cooker with AUTO setting and a bungee cord

12/28/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rival actually invented this appliance category with their "Crock Pot", but Hamilton Beach appears to have perfected the form. This is a great (larger) slow cooker.
The oval shape allows it to more easily accommodate a whole chicken or a pot roast. So cooking these longer shaped entrees is a cinch. Of course it is still great for soups, stews, and chili, but it excels at the preparation of entree meats.
The addition of a bungee cord is very nice (it slips over the handles and holds down the lid) and the rubber gasket on the lid creates a better seal. But this is not really a very good travel cooker since the power cord just dangles down and gets in the way.
This model has the Auto setting as well. That's a very nice feature. For those who don't know about it, most slow cookers have only LOW or HIGH heat settings. And most cooker recipes call for setting the cooker to HIGH for the first couple of hours and then shifting it to LOW for the remainder of the cooking time. That's just fine if you are at home and able to attend to the cooker; but if you are preparing a meal in the morning to be ready when you get home in the evening, then that isn't ideal. The AUTO setting fixes that problem. Just set the cooker on AUTO and it will begin the cooking cycle on HIGH and then automatically shift it to LOW a couple of hours later. That's a big help. Of course, the LOW and HIGH settings are also available.
ALL and all, this cooker is a great model and a fine value as well.
Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great product for the price

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift and a great one at that.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Dinner made easy

12/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's so easy, and nice to get crock pot ready in the morning, and then in the evening it's ready to eat when you want to.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Might Have Been Useful If Not Delivered Damaged

10/14/2014
By ,
Elgin, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Large dent right front. Was shipped without secondary shell box. Feels flimsy. Returning and will not repurchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

THIS WAS AN EXCELLENT CHOICE

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THE SIZE AND THE PRICE
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Perfect Crock Pot

03/16/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This crock pot is perfect. I just wanted a basic one with a removable crock for cleaning. I got this to replace an aluminum/Teflon type one that never did heat right. This one cooks great and even though there is a tiny vent in the glass lid it does not lose too much liquid when cooking all day. I love the color. It really brightens up my counter top.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Unbelievable deal

10/09/2012
By ,
Oroville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this slow-cooker on the 4th of July 2012. I live on a fixed income, so every penny I spend is important. I research what I buy for days, but this buy was easy. I picked the Silver one 'cause I'm a guy [and I have no sense of style]. I love it! The rubber ring on the lid is great even if I don't take food anywhere else. The steam vent is a great idea too. A lot of folks mentioned it stops the rumbling lid syndrome. The one thing I noticed is the ceramic insert moves around a lot, but that actually helps with the 'hot spots' that other slow-cookers have because the insert is too close to the heat elements. Great buy, great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

It's been a long time

12/03/2011
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a crock pot when I was first married 38 years ago and used it a lot. Now, as a widow, I want to make large quantities of soups and stews to freeze. This is perfect for me. This cooker is the right size, attractive, and easy to clean. I shopped around alot and this was the best buy for my buck. This would be a great wedding gift to be used by husband or wife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Good basic Slow Cooker, has low, high , warm / off

11/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good size holds 8 Chicken Breasts.
bluecar
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

great item i have bought

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this item is great and it cooks great it makes a whole chicken so juicy even the white meat was good and I don't like white meat.so I will buy another one and give one to someone for xmas this year
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

A good crock pot

11/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this crock pot, as a gift, for my son and daughter-in-law. They love it and have been using it, every day, for their blended family of 7.
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
10/18/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pot is big enough for a roast and all trimmings. Cooks very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Just what I wanted!

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the gasketed lid and easy to use lid holder. Cooking is great and cleanup is easy. Just cannot beat the features at this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great Slow Cooker

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great and just the perfect size.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Well worth every penny

07/29/2014
By ,
Levittown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really awesome slow cooker. Besides how pretty it is it cooks very well, and I love that it comes with the strap to carry if you are traveling with it or to secure it in the fridge. Only 1 draw back and that is the outside does get very hot so watch hands and arms but really that is such a small thing. I love that it has the ceramic piece that you take out and serve. The price is really unbelievable, I couldn't go out and buy a frying pan for what I paid for this and I cooked a whole meal in it. Well worth the money and I will be buying this if I ever have to go to a wedding shower or house warming etc. I got the Damask Pattern and it is quite beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Nice slow cooker

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice slow cooker. Like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Christmas gift for mama

12/13/2010
By ,
Glenwood, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is very durable, nice to look at and a good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 512 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  26 Next