Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of preparing dinners in a hurry. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. This 5-quart slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves you time and energy as it lets you make flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional preparation usually demands. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(691 Reviews) 579
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
505
4 stars
129
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation94%650 out of 690reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
85 Questions | 464 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
505
4 stars
129
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Not recmmended

05/15/2012
By ,
Roseburg,Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Rubber strap that keeps the lid on broke the first time I used it.
The metal on the outside of slow cooker is made of light tin and will dent easy.
Product Attributes:
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great slow cooker, great price!

09/09/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this slow cooker online and received almost three weeks ago. I finally had the chance to use it yesterday. I put a pork roast with carrots, potatoes, celery and onions. Set the cooker on low and let it go for 11 hours. Oh it smelled so good cooking all day! The roast was super tender as were the veggies. The cooker worked perfectly. I have no complaints so far. I even got it in my favorite color of green!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Love it ..... Actually went back and bought anothe

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hate to admit but I 'm a single male and never owned a crockpot , an old friend from high school had me over for dinner a few months ago and she she cooked up a meal that had me shopping for one the next day .
I went through my buying ritual of eBay, amazon. Craigslist ( hoping for a new one still in an unopened box) and Walmart. ( all online of course)
The nice thing about Walmart is there's always one close by so you can actually see what your buying in person.
I ended up buying one up the street in Brockton and have cooked about 8 different meals in it so far from recipes I took off YouTube ( venison, chicken , ribs , etc.)
My nephew whose 27 just moved out to Colorado and his birthday was last week so I went online and bought the same exact crockpot ( also the stainless model) and had it delivered to his doorstep for under $25
Long story short ... He loved it ( but living in Colorado he can legally indulge in some food tasting enhancements ...lol)
But all and all seriously ,..... Really happy with the crockpot the inside ceramic bowl pops out for easy cleaning in the dishwasher,.. I like the little Bungee cord to keep the lid down if ya wanna travel ( gonna bring some venison down to Ct to my brothers for Thanksgiving for those that venture to try it)
I would recommend this to anyone looking for an inexpensive great working crockpot !
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

hamilton beach slow cooker

01/27/2014
By ,
midwest city, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it, just what I wanted, perfect, thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Red Slow Cooker

03/14/2012
By ,
Knox City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase I have ever made!! Highly recommend this product to anyone. Have used it at least weekly since I got it in Dec. Works great and you can't beat the price!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

nice cooker

01/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid only 16 dollars for this cooker. It performs great, is beautiful, and was well worth the money. I have no complaints. Cooks like it should. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great value for the cost

12/19/2011
By ,
Stanley, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful crockpot that produces excellent results. The chicken we cooked in it a couple of weeks ago was fall off the bone perfection! The outside did seem to get a bit warm but this pot actually boils the contents...something our other pot didn't do.
One negative: We took the crockpot with us to church last week and did experience some leaking of the liquid inside. Not sure if it was just too full but I expected the seal around the lid and rubber closer to work better than that.
Al in all a great item and is currently $10 less online compared to the recent in store price I saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach 5 qt slow cooker

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very nice cooker. Although I wish I would have gotten a 6qt instead of the 5gt. I like that it has a way of locking the lid on for carrying in car. But think the way of this
locking is not the best way it could have been made. I am 78 yrs old, and it is very hard
for me to stretch the rubber thing to hold the lid on. I t could be somehow made easier for older people who have trouble with their hands opening and etc things. It takes me a long time to get the locking mechanism on the lid. Otherwise, this is a great
product. It is definitely better for younger people than older people. If I were to
purchase another it would definitely have a better way of locking the lid on for carrying.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Cooking Slowly

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Afte returning a factory defect pottery crock, we love the replacement one. Having used it twice since we bought it, everything works great. We had a smaller crock and
wanted a larger capacity one. The 5 qt. is perfect, not too big (heavy, capacity) but larger than the 3 qt. we previously used. Now we get two meals out of the capacity,
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Basic and so far great

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is about as basic as they make them....no fancy buttons rather a simple knob to turn. The ceramic bowl is heavy and fits in the unit well. The lid has what seems to be a sturdy gasket. Unit didn't get real hot either. I have used it once and talk about a super pot roast loaded with onions, carrots, potatoes and a fairly nice piece of beef. I didn't follow a specific recipe and added a cup of water which was not necessary. Next meal I will know better. I suggest larger chunks for veggies because they retained better flavor and no reason not to use meat with bone in.
Expect a full 7 to 8 hours if cooked on slow however the lid can be lifted to check on cooking time. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone and the price is another plus - providing it lasts a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

purchased as a gift

04/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item as a gift and also had it shipped. It arrived early and was perfect. Great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Red is not Red

04/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just so you know, the red color is not actually red. The 'red' color is more of a coppery candy color. Difficult to describe the color but it really is gorgeous! There are some nice features with this slow cooker such as the rubber seal attached under the lid. It's the first time I have ever known of such a feature under a slow cooker lid and it's also a feature that is much needed. There is a nice small hole in the lid for venting but it also has a nice material such as rubber and makes it easy to recognize the venting escape. The handles are very cute as the inside of the handles are sort of a heart cut out shape. There is the included durable rubber band that aids in holding the lid secure when traveling.....a feature I will never use but great for those that want to take the slow cooker to a banquet, etc. The crock appears to be the standard heavy duty crock. The outside metal is thin and light weight. I have at this moment a very expensive slow cooker with digital settings and it worked only a short period of time. I have yet to toss it out because I figure I might as well look at it since it cost almost $200. The slow cookers from many years ago, lasted and lasted and lasted....in fact, you would get tired of looking at them long before they stopped working, if ever. Now, it's difficult to get a slow cooker to last a couple of years and many seemingly have a much shorter life span. 'Hamilton Beach' is a good name in slow cookers and I have much better luck with them than 'Crock Pot'. Today, I tend to stick with less expensive slow cookers and not because I can't afford a little more expense, but because I want a slow cooker that lasts longer than a few weeks. I can't vouch for the longevity of this particular item but for a 5 quart slow cooker, under $20 isn't bad.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Well worth every penny

07/29/2014
By ,
Levittown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really awesome slow cooker. Besides how pretty it is it cooks very well, and I love that it comes with the strap to carry if you are traveling with it or to secure it in the fridge. Only 1 draw back and that is the outside does get very hot so watch hands and arms but really that is such a small thing. I love that it has the ceramic piece that you take out and serve. The price is really unbelievable, I couldn't go out and buy a frying pan for what I paid for this and I cooked a whole meal in it. Well worth the money and I will be buying this if I ever have to go to a wedding shower or house warming etc. I got the Damask Pattern and it is quite beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great Value

03/28/2015
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used it a few times since purchase. Love the fact that the porcelain part can be removed from the metal part for easier cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Excellent value :)

02/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the dishwasher friendly ceramic portion of it. Easy to use and clean. The outside seems very weak, and it gets pretty hot (not insulated). I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes slow cookers.
I put frozen chicken wings in cold water, turned to high and waited 6 hours. Took them out, and allowed the cooker to cool down for 2 hours. Then could get rid of the water and put on dishwater. Wings were perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
09/30/2013
By ,
nyc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
no matter how you turn the lid it doesn't fit the pot - there's always a space. I called the company and they say it's designed that way. when I asked why, the phone rep said: because that's how it's designed. kinda silly since there's a whole in the lid already for the steam to escape. so if getting this, perhaps use more liquid than u regularly would.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Good Crock Pot BUT.....

02/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just received my new pot and was very disappointed to pay extra $$$ for "Purple" and it is actually dark, dark burgundy, -not sure if I was sent the wrong one or if manufacturer is color blind but wasn't the shade advertised nor shown. Would cost too much in postage to exchange so I will just keep it as I need one anyway.
I used my new pot yesterday to make wings and I have no complaint about its functioning and worked as expected, love the rubber lid seal.
I recommend not to pay extra for the "purple" as it is not the color you get.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Look elsewhere

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for the larger size than my current Hamilton Beach manual slow cooker. This unit has a gasket seal on the lid that my smaller cooker does not have. No matter how I positioned the lid on the stone wear, I could not get a good seal while cooking. My food ended up being cooked on the bottom but not completely on top. In fact, it barely even got warm. Perhaps my unit is defective. I don't know but I did read of others who had a similar problem. I am returning it and buying a different brand. I am very disappointed with this product.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Bad news!

01/16/2013
By ,
Eureka, Mt.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this cooker works, the outside front has scratches, the insert (cooking part) has a ding on the lid area, and when it was being washed for the first time to be used, it had 5 different areas that had unpainted surfaces on the outside of the insert. Unbelievable that this was sent to a customer! Sending back!! This had to have been done before it was boxed up. Won't buy this one again!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Amazing

03/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i would totally recommend this to someone who is cooking for 5 or so. It fits everything perfectly! I cook for 3 and we eat enough for 5 and still have some left overs. Cooks everything fast, you want to turn the temp from low to warm like half a hour to a hour before you are ready to eat or it will be to hot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 580 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  29 Next