Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of preparing dinners in a hurry. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. This 5-quart slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves you time and energy as it lets you make flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional preparation usually demands. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.555 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(688 Reviews) 576
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
129
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation94%648 out of 687reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
85 Questions | 463 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
129
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Cooking Slowly

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Afte returning a factory defect pottery crock, we love the replacement one. Having used it twice since we bought it, everything works great. We had a smaller crock and
wanted a larger capacity one. The 5 qt. is perfect, not too big (heavy, capacity) but larger than the 3 qt. we previously used. Now we get two meals out of the capacity,
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Basic and so far great

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is about as basic as they make them....no fancy buttons rather a simple knob to turn. The ceramic bowl is heavy and fits in the unit well. The lid has what seems to be a sturdy gasket. Unit didn't get real hot either. I have used it once and talk about a super pot roast loaded with onions, carrots, potatoes and a fairly nice piece of beef. I didn't follow a specific recipe and added a cup of water which was not necessary. Next meal I will know better. I suggest larger chunks for veggies because they retained better flavor and no reason not to use meat with bone in.
Expect a full 7 to 8 hours if cooked on slow however the lid can be lifted to check on cooking time. I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone and the price is another plus - providing it lasts a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great Value

03/28/2015
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used it a few times since purchase. Love the fact that the porcelain part can be removed from the metal part for easier cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Takes too long to heat up

11/05/2012
By ,
Penna
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you turn this on low to cook a beef roast for example, it will take forever to cook. I generally turn mine on high and it takes over 3 hours for it to barely get hot and over 10 hours to get the meat tender. Not a very good cooker for meats but may work as vessel to keep foods warm. Thankfully this was a gift but I am definitely getting a better quality one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

There's an unidentified VENT in the lid!

09/02/2012
By ,
Villa Hills, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement, and was shocked to take it out of the package and find
a vent in the lid. There's no mention of it on the package (you can see it on the package picture if you know what you're looking at). The enclosed book doesn't mention it, and there is nothing included to plug the vent if desired. I used it one time, and had to add additional water twice during cooking, which defeats the purpose of a slow cooker! I'm returning it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

hamilton beach slow cooker

01/27/2014
By ,
midwest city, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it, just what I wanted, perfect, thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Not recmmended

05/15/2012
By ,
Roseburg,Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Rubber strap that keeps the lid on broke the first time I used it.
The metal on the outside of slow cooker is made of light tin and will dent easy.
Product Attributes:
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Red Slow Cooker

03/14/2012
By ,
Knox City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase I have ever made!! Highly recommend this product to anyone. Have used it at least weekly since I got it in Dec. Works great and you can't beat the price!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Amazing

03/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i would totally recommend this to someone who is cooking for 5 or so. It fits everything perfectly! I cook for 3 and we eat enough for 5 and still have some left overs. Cooks everything fast, you want to turn the temp from low to warm like half a hour to a hour before you are ready to eat or it will be to hot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

nice cooker

01/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid only 16 dollars for this cooker. It performs great, is beautiful, and was well worth the money. I have no complaints. Cooks like it should. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Good Crock Pot BUT.....

02/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just received my new pot and was very disappointed to pay extra $$$ for "Purple" and it is actually dark, dark burgundy, -not sure if I was sent the wrong one or if manufacturer is color blind but wasn't the shade advertised nor shown. Would cost too much in postage to exchange so I will just keep it as I need one anyway.
I used my new pot yesterday to make wings and I have no complaint about its functioning and worked as expected, love the rubber lid seal.
I recommend not to pay extra for the "purple" as it is not the color you get.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Look elsewhere

02/22/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for the larger size than my current Hamilton Beach manual slow cooker. This unit has a gasket seal on the lid that my smaller cooker does not have. No matter how I positioned the lid on the stone wear, I could not get a good seal while cooking. My food ended up being cooked on the bottom but not completely on top. In fact, it barely even got warm. Perhaps my unit is defective. I don't know but I did read of others who had a similar problem. I am returning it and buying a different brand. I am very disappointed with this product.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great value for the cost

12/19/2011
By ,
Stanley, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful crockpot that produces excellent results. The chicken we cooked in it a couple of weeks ago was fall off the bone perfection! The outside did seem to get a bit warm but this pot actually boils the contents...something our other pot didn't do.
One negative: We took the crockpot with us to church last week and did experience some leaking of the liquid inside. Not sure if it was just too full but I expected the seal around the lid and rubber closer to work better than that.
Al in all a great item and is currently $10 less online compared to the recent in store price I saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

crockpot was for son away at college

03/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT crockpot my son has been sending me all the new dishes hes able to cook while away at work and class at IUPUI.No more starting dinner at 9pm.He walks in and dinner is done and smelling good.. Crockpot was shipped right to him in a few days after ordered! Thanks Walmart
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Well worth every penny

07/29/2014
By ,
Levittown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really awesome slow cooker. Besides how pretty it is it cooks very well, and I love that it comes with the strap to carry if you are traveling with it or to secure it in the fridge. Only 1 draw back and that is the outside does get very hot so watch hands and arms but really that is such a small thing. I love that it has the ceramic piece that you take out and serve. The price is really unbelievable, I couldn't go out and buy a frying pan for what I paid for this and I cooked a whole meal in it. Well worth the money and I will be buying this if I ever have to go to a wedding shower or house warming etc. I got the Damask Pattern and it is quite beautiful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Did Not Disappoint!

02/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this slow cooker for its larger size and love the oval shape. Cooked my spaghetti sauce over night and all the next day and it was a hit with my family. Also purchased this cooker because I like color and bought the green slow cooker. Just want to mention that the color I chose is really more hunter green and not a bright green as pictured.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

value

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Price anywhere , Oval lid has a gasket attached to seal really well and includes a large band to secure the lid when traveling. Also has a three temp setting HIGH , LOW , KEEP Warm which my old one did not ,so improvements over older models
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Excellent value :)

02/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the dishwasher friendly ceramic portion of it. Easy to use and clean. The outside seems very weak, and it gets pretty hot (not insulated). I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes slow cookers.
I put frozen chicken wings in cold water, turned to high and waited 6 hours. Took them out, and allowed the cooker to cool down for 2 hours. Then could get rid of the water and put on dishwater. Wings were perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker
09/30/2013
By ,
nyc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
no matter how you turn the lid it doesn't fit the pot - there's always a space. I called the company and they say it's designed that way. when I asked why, the phone rep said: because that's how it's designed. kinda silly since there's a whole in the lid already for the steam to escape. so if getting this, perhaps use more liquid than u regularly would.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

It might be slow, but it gets HOT

01/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The slow cooker works fine; it can roast a whole chicken in 4 hours on the high setting, but the outside is metal, and the metal gets really hot, like don't touch it you'll get burned hot. I don't know why I didn't think of that before purchasing, but it's so hot I don't like leaving it sitting on the counter for an entire day with no one watching it, which sort of defeats its purpose.
If you're going to be home and can watch the cooker, make sure no children or pets go near it, then it does the job it was intended to do, but I would not leave this on for an entire day unattended.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 577 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  29 Next