Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of preparing dinners in a hurry. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. This 5-quart slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves you time and energy as it lets you make flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional preparation usually demands. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(531 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
398
4 stars
97
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation95%503 out of 530reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 437 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
398
4 stars
97
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Truly a mess saver

12/31/2010
By ,
Kent OH.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this cooker to be one great cooker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Excellent slow cooker

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second slow cooker I've owned. I love its size and especially the ease of cleaning the removable pot. The outside of the cooker does get rather hot so make sure you are aware of its location and if there are any children in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Use it a lot

04/12/2013
By ,
Lompoc, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've made several stews. It cooks evenly as expected and the three temps (high, low, warm) are consistent. I like its looks; the black/silver model blends well in my kitchen. The oval shape eases the use of counter space. My reason for giving it a 4 for durability is that the metal shell is lightweight and a bit fragile. The crock, however, is heavy and handsome. I advise to stir with a soft spoon or spatula to keep the crock surface intact. The lid has a rubber edge (careful with that, too) so the lid seals well. A vent in the lid releases steam. The cord is short, about 16 inches. All in all, works well, cleans easily, don't throw it around :) and it should last. Good buy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Does the job if 5 QT is big enough for you

12/06/2011
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice non-fancy slow cooker. A 4 pound pot roast fits with room to spare, but a 5 or 6 pound would be pushing it. Easy to use, set it on low in the morning and come back in the evening to a fantastic meal. I like the convenience of the removable stoneware that is easy to clean - also lets you pre-make a meal the night before and leave it in the fridge to cook the next day. This Slow Cooker is simple and cheap, but gets the job done. Made in China of course.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

poor heating controll

12/26/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heat control not reliable. Set it on low and cooker overheats spoiling dinner. Tried cooking turkey breast for Christmas, followed recipe high for two hours and low for 7 to 9 at end of eight turkey was way overcooked and spoiled dinner as turkey was inedible, Glad today is garbagy day. Unit is going back. Do not recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Did not use it yet

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hope it is going to be a GREAT ADDITION TO MY 8 AND 2 QT COLLECTION OF SLOW COOKERS.
What I did not like is that the low low price showed a red SC,but when I wanted to order,the price was higher.Eventually,I got the low low price on a B/W pattern SC...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Perfect Gift!

06/22/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been on my friend's Christmas list forever, and it's never been received. So when she watched my dog for me while I was at disneyland I knew it'd make the PERFECT gift!
She loves it, It's a win win! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great kitchen helper

06/25/2014
By ,
Des MOines
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hadn't had a large crock pot for a long time so was anxious to get this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Worthless

05/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this slow cooker to make bone broth. After 2 days of using I found that the lid wasn't fitting snug. The gasket is too thick and didn't seal on the oval side. The broth never jelled. I wasted a very expensive bone ($8.00).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Nice size for price

06/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used it yet but it's nice size for the price. looks very durable and cute
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

slow cooker

06/25/2014
By ,
north fort myers, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharp looking
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Awful Smell

12/19/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The rubber rim around the lid has this awful smell and you can not get it to wash out. Not only is it nausiating to smell when something is in the crock pot but that smell gets into your food. The rubber rim is a permanent feature and can not be removed. I would not suggest this pot to anyone. I guess I got what I paid for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

a mom's. must have

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a valuable kitchen tool for parents. It allows you to get dinner done safely. The pattern is also very chic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Not recmmended

05/15/2012
By ,
Roseburg,Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Rubber strap that keeps the lid on broke the first time I used it.
The metal on the outside of slow cooker is made of light tin and will dent easy.
Product Attributes:
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

There's an unidentified VENT in the lid!

09/02/2012
By ,
Villa Hills, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement, and was shocked to take it out of the package and find
a vent in the lid. There's no mention of it on the package (you can see it on the package picture if you know what you're looking at). The enclosed book doesn't mention it, and there is nothing included to plug the vent if desired. I used it one time, and had to add additional water twice during cooking, which defeats the purpose of a slow cooker! I'm returning it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Red Slow Cooker

03/14/2012
By ,
Knox City, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase I have ever made!! Highly recommend this product to anyone. Have used it at least weekly since I got it in Dec. Works great and you can't beat the price!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

nice cooker

01/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I paid only 16 dollars for this cooker. It performs great, is beautiful, and was well worth the money. I have no complaints. Cooks like it should. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

works fine

06/12/2014
By ,
baltimore, md.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's actually a little smaller than I thought it would be. It cooks well, I just don't like this rubber banding that's connected to the underside of the lid. I've made homemade beef stew and let it cook 4 hours and it was very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Practical For A Bachelors

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker turned out to be the perfect match for my lifestyle considering a strict budget, early onset illnesses and other circumstances. It fits perfectly into my routine and being able to remove the ceramic dish for refrigerator storing is a bonus feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great value for the cost

12/19/2011
By ,
Stanley, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful crockpot that produces excellent results. The chicken we cooked in it a couple of weeks ago was fall off the bone perfection! The outside did seem to get a bit warm but this pot actually boils the contents...something our other pot didn't do.
One negative: We took the crockpot with us to church last week and did experience some leaking of the liquid inside. Not sure if it was just too full but I expected the seal around the lid and rubber closer to work better than that.
Al in all a great item and is currently $10 less online compared to the recent in store price I saw.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 420 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  21 Next