Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker helps you make hot delicious meals in advance and reduce the stress of preparing dinners in a hurry. Just plug it in, choose the right settings, put in the ingredients and let it do the work of cooking the food for you. This 5-quart slow cooker is easy-to-use and saves you time and energy as it lets you make flavorful and tasty food without the hassles of the constant attention traditional preparation usually demands. Once cooked, the Keep Warm feature will ensure that the food stays at the optimum temperature until you are ready to eat. Slow cooking has been shown to keep the nutritional value of the food intact as it does not expose the food to high temperatures, which can destroy nutrients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(663 Reviews) 551
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
484
4 stars
125
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation94%625 out of 662reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 453 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
484
4 stars
125
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Bears dad

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think for the money it's a great buy , made great pot roast ,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great

01/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice crockpot!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great slow cooker, Great price

01/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a 5qt Hamilton slow cooker to replace another we have had for years. It does everything it should. More expensive models have more bells and whistles, but don't cook any better than our manual model. I like the new design of the lid seal and the hole in the lid not only works as a vent, but can be used to check the temperature without removing the lid. Great idea! I only wish that it included a plug for the hole for transporting. Using foil on the hole works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

I'm disappointed and will be returning it.

12/09/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm disappointed with this crock pot. I read many reviews and researched many different brands and models. Initially, the first one I bought was unopened and taped shut. However, when I opened it, I notied a long scratch on the front approximately two inches long. I exchanged it at Wal-Mart with no problem. I had purchased 2 cook books to cook many of my meals over this holiday season but I have used it only once and it did not get hot enough to cook a small pot of chili after 3 hours and the recipe had said only 2.5 hrs. The band popped right off and I have no idea how that's supposed to hold the lid on in transit. The lid itself barely seals when you place it on the pot. I'm planning on returning it as soon as I have a chance.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great!

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Already have another like it. Got it on sale for 18.00! Great product @ at great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

SORRY I WAS SLOW IN PURCHASING THIS SLOW COOKER !

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THE 5-QUART OVAL SLOW COOKER IS PERFECT FOR OUR 2 PERSON HOME.
UNLIKE OUR FORMER ROUND COOKER , IT COOKS JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF FOOD FOR US AND ALLOWS US TO PREPARE A WHOLE CHICKEN OR SLAB OF RIBS WITHOUT HAVING TO CUT THE MEAT UP BEFORE COOKING , RESULTING IN A MORE MOIST AND FLAVORFUL MEAL .
WE SHOULD HAVE PURCHASED THIS SIZE EARLIER !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Smells Awful!

02/28/2014
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product gives off a horrible smell when it is cooking that transfers to the food. When I first got it I followed all of the cleaning instructions, and used it to make pulled pork. It smelled so bad that I was sure that I must have used rancid pork! I just tried the crockpot again -- this time with just water inside -- and the smell came back. I wish I could return this product, but unfortunately I threw out the box and receipt as soon as I received it -- I was fooled by all the great reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/11/2014
I have the same problem. The black rubber on the lid smells awful. I wraped the lid with aluminum foil and it works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 88 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

great

12/27/2010
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my son so he could have some meals done when he got home from work. He is the single father of two growing boys and it has worked out great from him. Size is great and being able to take the center out and wash it.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Love my red slow,cooker!!!!

01/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size. Cooks great. Easy to handle
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great Cooker with AUTO setting and a bungee cord

12/28/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rival actually invented this appliance category with their "Crock Pot", but Hamilton Beach appears to have perfected the form. This is a great (larger) slow cooker.
The oval shape allows it to more easily accommodate a whole chicken or a pot roast. So cooking these longer shaped entrees is a cinch. Of course it is still great for soups, stews, and chili, but it excels at the preparation of entree meats.
The addition of a bungee cord is very nice (it slips over the handles and holds down the lid) and the rubber gasket on the lid creates a better seal. But this is not really a very good travel cooker since the power cord just dangles down and gets in the way.
This model has the Auto setting as well. That's a very nice feature. For those who don't know about it, most slow cookers have only LOW or HIGH heat settings. And most cooker recipes call for setting the cooker to HIGH for the first couple of hours and then shifting it to LOW for the remainder of the cooking time. That's just fine if you are at home and able to attend to the cooker; but if you are preparing a meal in the morning to be ready when you get home in the evening, then that isn't ideal. The AUTO setting fixes that problem. Just set the cooker on AUTO and it will begin the cooking cycle on HIGH and then automatically shift it to LOW a couple of hours later. That's a big help. Of course, the LOW and HIGH settings are also available.
ALL and all, this cooker is a great model and a fine value as well.
Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

value

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Price anywhere , Oval lid has a gasket attached to seal really well and includes a large band to secure the lid when traveling. Also has a three temp setting HIGH , LOW , KEEP Warm which my old one did not ,so improvements over older models
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Bad product

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Best thing ever!

01/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I read the reviews before purchasing this one and I love it! We've used it a lot in the short time we've had it. It's super easy to use. I thought it would be a cheap version I'd have to replace later, but it's pretty sturdy and just great. I love it and I would recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great product

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the low price. Attractive coloring . Sturdy .Simle and does the job . Only complaint was manual did not address cleaning instructions. Had to call custumer service to find out if lid could be put in dishwasher as it has a soft rubber gasket.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Nice Crock for the Buck

01/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It warms up nicely. It cleans easy and was a nice size at 5 Qts
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Hamilton Beach Slow Cooker

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my crock pot for years and decided to get one for my daughter as a gift. She loves it as much as I do. Easy to use and easy to clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Great slow cooker, great price!

09/09/2014
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this slow cooker online and received almost three weeks ago. I finally had the chance to use it yesterday. I put a pork roast with carrots, potatoes, celery and onions. Set the cooker on low and let it go for 11 hours. Oh it smelled so good cooking all day! The roast was super tender as were the veggies. The cooker worked perfectly. I have no complaints so far. I even got it in my favorite color of green!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

Spend little, get a great product

12/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this slow cooker. I gave thought to buying an expensive model with all the bells and whistles. But after reading a lot of reviews, many of which, recommended not buying the luxury ones, I chose this one. Expensive doesn't always mean better. This product is simple to use, cooks evenly, has a warm cycle and cleans easily. I recommend it to anyone looking to purchase a crock pot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

What can I say he LOVES red!

12/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We gave this crockpot to our 21 year old Grandson who is attending college at Ball State. He loves to cook and we thought a crockpot would be ideal for a working college student. We bought the Hamilton Beach Crockpot because we have had Hamilton Beach kitchen appliances before and liked them for their look and quality-besides our Grandson loves red!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Hamilton Beach 5-Quart Portable Slow Cooker

The Perfect Crock Pot

03/16/2011
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This crock pot is perfect. I just wanted a basic one with a removable crock for cleaning. I got this to replace an aluminum/Teflon type one that never did heat right. This one cooks great and even though there is a tiny vent in the glass lid it does not lose too much liquid when cooking all day. I love the color. It really brightens up my counter top.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 552 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  28 Next