Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Elgin Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

This Elgin portable alarm clock is a classic battery-powered alarm clock with a single purpose: to get you up and going in the morning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation84%53 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Has unique features

01/21/2013
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product, and I think that WalMart should carry it in their stores. I would like to thank the people who did the previous reviews and explained how the features work.
I looked a lot for a new alarm clock that had these features, and this clock had them all:
1. No ticking sound - I hate a clock that goes tick, tick next to my bed and bothers sleep (this clock has a sweep second hand, meaning there's no tick)
2. A dial light that I can turn on when I want to see the time, but is not lighted all the time (I hate it when motels have a clock next to bed with bright numbers constantly lit - I always throw clothes over it)
3. Battery powered - takes 3 AA batteries.
4. An old fashioned dial face that is big enough to see from a distance
5. A snooze button and gentle sounding alarm.
6. If you turn the dial light down all the way, there is just a tiny glow that is enough to find the clock in the dark so you can push the light to check the time, but it is dim enough that it does not bother sleeping.
I like my clock and hope it lasts for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Quitness of Alarm Clock

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This alarm clock has a sweeping second hand and is very quiet so as not to disturb even the lightest sleeper. It also has a back light so that it can be easily read in the dark. It's a good size, not too small or too big. I really like it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Nice alarm for the money

04/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this alarm clock is just right for the price. It is not a high quality alarm clock, but for the price it does the job and does have a few nice little extras. It does have a snooze alarm and you can choose whether or not you want the clock visible at night or not. If you like it dark, but want to see the time for just a second all you need do is push down on the snooze alarm and it lights up and when released goes dark again. The knobs for settings are all small and plastic, a bit cheap looking and do not expect it to stand the test "of time" (sorry) It is not as precise as a digital. It runs on 3 AA batteries (not included) This alarm clock is the perfect example of "you get what you pay for." I am happy with it and I find it very easy to see. It is also silent. No ticking even with the third hand. I'm happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Pleased with this clock

07/29/2011
By ,
Fitchburg, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this clock for a short while but so far I really do like it. It's got a gentle, quiet beeping for the first 7 seconds, then becomes more rapid after that. I like this because it only wakes me up and not my wife [which is ideal].
With a digital alarm clock, where if you set it for 4:23 am, it goes of at exactly that time every single day. This clock is a lot like the old wind up clocks of yesteryear, in that it is set mechanically with knobs, not electronically. So one day it may go off at 4:22, the next day maybe 4:23 or 4:24. But that's not a negative, it's just how things used to be and I'm happy with it. Don't know about battery life yet as it's too soon to tell.
Very happy with this purchase.
Thanks,
MR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Very Good Alarm clock

04/01/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large dial...sweeping second hand no ticking...you can switch on lighted face or push the snooze button on top of clock to illuminate....time and alarm set by two ez turn wheels on back....activate alarm with switch on side...one C battery....love this clock. Caution: Not a small typical travel alarm clock, its more of a bedside clock even though I travel with this clock constantly. Will buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

just what I was looking for!

10/17/2011
By ,
New York, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was just what I was looking for...the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is a little too shiny plasticy- but for the price (around $10) you can't beat it!
I read all the reviews on goggle for bedside clocks - I was looking for something to replace the clock I had that finally died...luminous face in the dark, no tick, no jarring alarm, and, most important, a big snooze alarm on top that lit up the face when I touched it. I have had a regular clock face all my life and HATE fiddling with electonic digital things.
This has all that I was looking for. It has an illuminous face and a dial that you can turn up for constant illumination if you want that, or dimmer, or none. That is green. When you press the snooze alarm it illuminates the face blue - The alarm starts slow and staggered - beep, beep - for maybe 20 seconds and then a little louder & quicker- bee,bee,bee,beep, -for another 20 secs and then the continual -beeeeeeeep. The snooze alarm goes off every 5 minutes - perfect - sometimes, that's all I need. It has very clear legible hands, numbers and second hand -all visible with the back light at night and very clear in the day also. It is a good size (5") similar to the old Baby Bens but the alarm in not so jarring. And it is SILENT. No tick or buzz at all. The dial to turn it off is on the right side of the face. It is a little confusing which is on/off so I put some red nail polish on the "ON" side to remind me. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included). At the back, the dials are easy to turn - they are similar to the old metal dials on the old clocks except they don't have the 'wings) Again, a little confusing which is which, so more red nail polish on the alarm!
Even though it is black plastic, it is a solid clock.
So if those are the features you are looking for, and a clock should cost $10, this is for you. I love it!
I tried and returned 4 clocks from a store and Amazon before I bought this one! I should have STARTED with Walmart - I will next time! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

I really needed this

02/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been shopping around for a battery operated alarm clock, and they were few and far between. So I ordered this one from Wal Mart and am truly satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Works Great

02/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock is easy to use and looks good too. You don't have to wind it and just a flick of the button and the alarm is on. Easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Excellent Alarm Clock

07/11/2011
By ,
Amherst, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock is Great!! It is easy to set the alarm and I LOVE the fact that the lighted dial can be turned on or off and not on continuously. I cannot sleep with a light on at night so being able to accomplish this is wonderful. If you need to see the time, a button pressed lights the dial
or if a light at night does not bother you, then you can leave the lighted dial on.
Marvelous clock! Thank you Walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Battery Powered Alarm clock

01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an old fashioned battery powered clock with hands and numbers to use where there was no electric outlet available. It had to be visible at night. They are very hard to find....everything is electric, and digital. I found this one and it fit the bill perfectly. It is a nice size, the face is nice and big and glows in the dark, and there is a button on top to light the whole face. It is reasonably priced and well made. Ordering it was simple, and I picked it up at the store. I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin Battery Analog Clock

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock is a great clock for beside the bed. No ticking to keep light sleepers awake and the alarm starts off softer and builds if you don't wake up and turn it off. It's the first clock that has the whole face illuminated so you can actually see it without fussing with it. It even has a feature to dim or brighten it to your preference. It also has a momentary brighter light to illuminate the face if it's really needed. While this clock can travel with you, it's not the normal travel size. This is not a problem for me but it might be good to give the face diameter. While height and width is a good measure, I think some people would relate to this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Better than expected

02/27/2011
By ,
Denville NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better quality than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Perfect Time (clock)

02/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use, bold numbers, illuminated dial, graduated alarm (increasing soft to loud) and finally no movement (ticking) noise, it's as quiet as a mouse. Perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Glowing Alarm Clock

01/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty easy to use Alarm clock that just performs the basics. Love the luminescent glow at night. Giving this only four stars because you have to manually manage the Alarm clock. If you set the Alarm for 6, it will ring at 6am and 6pm. You have to turn it off at 6am, then remember to turn it on again after 6pm.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

The Only Real Clock I Found!

12/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock has all the features that I expect of an alarm clock. But all the other name brands were cheaply made and had no features. This ELGIN has two posts for setting the alarm and setting the time. It has lighted face when you need it and which can be controlled. It is a decent size. It is quiet and works well. Until I looked for a new clock, I thought all clocks had these features. But no longer.....the new day has arrived. Try setting the time and the alarm with the same post....no fun. Thank goodness for this ELGIN clock. I hope it lasts a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Alarm Clock broke on arrival.

03/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It came in damaged. The second hand was off the axle of the clock. I repaired it since it was a simple thing of putting it back on the top of the axle.
It never worked! The clock would get to 6 and then it would stop working.
Had to take it back to the store and get the money back.
The clock is very light. It looks nice. Sad that it was broken.
I got an even cheaper model from somewhere that has the product on the shelf . . . hint to WalMart and their put everything online management.
The one from the store that actually has the product has worked fine now for a week.
I understand shelf space. I understand you cannot carry everything. But I remember a Walmart that did have a nice selection of a good variety of items. Maybe you should go back to that management instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Failed to go off the first morning I used it!

08/15/2011
By ,
L.A.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading all the reviews, I thought it would be at least be half as great as was described.
I would check the alarm before trusting it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Bigger than I thought and low tech

11/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well, this sort of hogs my nightstand, but I'm totally happy with it. Just what everyone has said earlier:
Dim nighttime illumination so as not to disrupt your sleep
Totally low tech. No taking 10 minutes to set it, only to have it go off at the wrong time, or not at all
Really nice illumination when you do push the top button
Only 3 dials on the back to set it, and they're easy to use
You can read it from anywhere in a bedroom I hope it lasts!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin Alarm Clock

03/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clock itself was bigger than I expected which was great because it is very easy to see. Good control over night lighting - I have it set so you can't see the clock at night but that can be changed if you want to see the clock hands. Best of all - it doesn't tick. Don't know about battery life yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Stopped working after 2 weeks

10/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my mother. She loved it for 2 weeks. Backlight on face was dimmable, plus brighter light to read at night by hitting snooze button. Clock was silent - didn't have an annoying tick. Alarm started quiet, got progressively louder. However after just 2 weeks of use, the clock stopped. Batteries were still fine, the light still lit. Returned clock. Value would have been rated highly if clock had worked for more than the 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 58 total reviews
1 2 3 Next