Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Elgin Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

This Elgin portable alarm clock is a classic battery-powered alarm clock with a single purpose: to get you up and going in the morning.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation82%45 out of 55reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Has unique features

01/21/2013
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good product, and I think that WalMart should carry it in their stores. I would like to thank the people who did the previous reviews and explained how the features work.
I looked a lot for a new alarm clock that had these features, and this clock had them all:
1. No ticking sound - I hate a clock that goes tick, tick next to my bed and bothers sleep (this clock has a sweep second hand, meaning there's no tick)
2. A dial light that I can turn on when I want to see the time, but is not lighted all the time (I hate it when motels have a clock next to bed with bright numbers constantly lit - I always throw clothes over it)
3. Battery powered - takes 3 AA batteries.
4. An old fashioned dial face that is big enough to see from a distance
5. A snooze button and gentle sounding alarm.
6. If you turn the dial light down all the way, there is just a tiny glow that is enough to find the clock in the dark so you can push the light to check the time, but it is dim enough that it does not bother sleeping.
I like my clock and hope it lasts for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Very Good Alarm clock

04/01/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large dial...sweeping second hand no ticking...you can switch on lighted face or push the snooze button on top of clock to illuminate....time and alarm set by two ez turn wheels on back....activate alarm with switch on side...one C battery....love this clock. Caution: Not a small typical travel alarm clock, its more of a bedside clock even though I travel with this clock constantly. Will buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Pleased with this clock

07/29/2011
By ,
Fitchburg, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this clock for a short while but so far I really do like it. It's got a gentle, quiet beeping for the first 7 seconds, then becomes more rapid after that. I like this because it only wakes me up and not my wife [which is ideal].
With a digital alarm clock, where if you set it for 4:23 am, it goes of at exactly that time every single day. This clock is a lot like the old wind up clocks of yesteryear, in that it is set mechanically with knobs, not electronically. So one day it may go off at 4:22, the next day maybe 4:23 or 4:24. But that's not a negative, it's just how things used to be and I'm happy with it. Don't know about battery life yet as it's too soon to tell.
Very happy with this purchase.
Thanks,
MR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Good Alarm Clock

07/03/2014
By ,
Hernando, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Silent...no ticking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

just what I was looking for!

10/17/2011
By ,
New York, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was just what I was looking for...the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is a little too shiny plasticy- but for the price (around $10) you can't beat it!
I read all the reviews on goggle for bedside clocks - I was looking for something to replace the clock I had that finally died...luminous face in the dark, no tick, no jarring alarm, and, most important, a big snooze alarm on top that lit up the face when I touched it. I have had a regular clock face all my life and HATE fiddling with electonic digital things.
This has all that I was looking for. It has an illuminous face and a dial that you can turn up for constant illumination if you want that, or dimmer, or none. That is green. When you press the snooze alarm it illuminates the face blue - The alarm starts slow and staggered - beep, beep - for maybe 20 seconds and then a little louder & quicker- bee,bee,bee,beep, -for another 20 secs and then the continual -beeeeeeeep. The snooze alarm goes off every 5 minutes - perfect - sometimes, that's all I need. It has very clear legible hands, numbers and second hand -all visible with the back light at night and very clear in the day also. It is a good size (5") similar to the old Baby Bens but the alarm in not so jarring. And it is SILENT. No tick or buzz at all. The dial to turn it off is on the right side of the face. It is a little confusing which is on/off so I put some red nail polish on the "ON" side to remind me. It takes 3 AA batteries (not included). At the back, the dials are easy to turn - they are similar to the old metal dials on the old clocks except they don't have the 'wings) Again, a little confusing which is which, so more red nail polish on the alarm!
Even though it is black plastic, it is a solid clock.
So if those are the features you are looking for, and a clock should cost $10, this is for you. I love it!
I tried and returned 4 clocks from a store and Amazon before I bought this one! I should have STARTED with Walmart - I will next time! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

I really needed this

02/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had been shopping around for a battery operated alarm clock, and they were few and far between. So I ordered this one from Wal Mart and am truly satisfied with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Works Great

02/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock is easy to use and looks good too. You don't have to wind it and just a flick of the button and the alarm is on. Easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Excellent Alarm Clock

07/11/2011
By ,
Amherst, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock is Great!! It is easy to set the alarm and I LOVE the fact that the lighted dial can be turned on or off and not on continuously. I cannot sleep with a light on at night so being able to accomplish this is wonderful. If you need to see the time, a button pressed lights the dial
or if a light at night does not bother you, then you can leave the lighted dial on.
Marvelous clock! Thank you Walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Great Clock (Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock)

05/02/2014
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This clock met my needs...
- Battery powered (low EMF's and safe to sleep next to than corded clocks)
- Silent/Quiet (No ticking sound)
- Adjustable lighting of dial (from no background light to highly lit)
- Reasonably priced
The only improvements I would want is a smaller sized clock and to have the alarm stay at the lowest beeping sound longer before ascending.
Now, can Elgin make a battery powered alarm clock radio?
Buy this clock! Walmart's "Site To Store" made the transaction easy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin Alarm Clock

03/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The clock itself was bigger than I expected which was great because it is very easy to see. Good control over night lighting - I have it set so you can't see the clock at night but that can be changed if you want to see the clock hands. Best of all - it doesn't tick. Don't know about battery life yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Two clocks and they both were defective.

04/02/2014
By ,
Jacksonville,fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have purchased six clocks in total. Three of these clocks are in use, one I trashed, and the other two I returned to WalMart. My experience is they have a 50% defective rate. One ate batteries every week, the second the backlight worked poorly, the third the backlight did not work at all. The other three I own work great and I like them.
I recommend strongly that you keep your receipts in the event the clock fails.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Better than expected

02/27/2011
By ,
Denville NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
better quality than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Battery Powered Alarm clock

01/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an old fashioned battery powered clock with hands and numbers to use where there was no electric outlet available. It had to be visible at night. They are very hard to find....everything is electric, and digital. I found this one and it fit the bill perfectly. It is a nice size, the face is nice and big and glows in the dark, and there is a button on top to light the whole face. It is reasonably priced and well made. Ordering it was simple, and I picked it up at the store. I am very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Clock NEVER worked!

12/01/2013
By ,
Medina, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got clock - tried to put fresh batteries in - had a very hard time installing them - clock NEVER worked. I even checked batteries - they were fresh & good. Had to take clock back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

perfect for my Mom

02/26/2014
By ,
Sanborn NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a replacement clock for my 89 year old mom; she has difficulty manipulating objects after suffering 2 broken wrists in a fall. This works perfectly! The alarm is gradual but still loud enough so it doesn't startle her and the numbers are large and clear. She can adjust the dials without much trouble, and she likes it - whew!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Better than expected

02/28/2014
By ,
Centereach, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is very fussy when it comes to clocks and he really liked this one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Elgin battery clock

09/26/2013
By ,
cape coral,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this clock has wonderful features, you can shut the light off so that you can sleep , or leave it on dim so you can see time, love it and would recommend to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Failed to go off the first morning I used it!

08/15/2011
By ,
L.A.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading all the reviews, I thought it would be at least be half as great as was described.
I would check the alarm before trusting it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock

Stopped working after 2 weeks

10/31/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my mother. She loved it for 2 weeks. Backlight on face was dimmable, plus brighter light to read at night by hitting snooze button. Clock was silent - didn't have an annoying tick. Alarm started quiet, got progressively louder. However after just 2 weeks of use, the clock stopped. Batteries were still fine, the light still lit. Returned clock. Value would have been rated highly if clock had worked for more than the 2 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Elgin Battery Analog Alarm Clock
10/31/2011
By ,
Gulfport, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this clock! I was worried when I ordered it that I may not be able to see the face of the clock very well without my glasses but I can see it perfectly! Because it is made with black numbers on a white background it is very easy to read even in the dark with no illumination. When I got it and took it out of the box I was surprised and pleased that it was much bigger than I had imagined and was impressed with the overall look of the clock including the nice size of the numbers which make it easy to read. I was worried that the alarm might be too quiet to wake me so the first night I used it I also set my phone for a back up alarm 30 minutes after this one but I heard it perfectly and didn't even need my back up alarm which is a relief because it is so annoying compared to the alarm on this that gently wakes you. I don't really care for the bright blue illumination that comes on when I press the snooze button because it is so bright but considering everything else it is something I can overlook since I am not usually looking at the clock when I press snooze anyway. I also bought one for my 11 year old son who loves the bright blue illumination because he uses it for a flashlight in the night to see in the dark!!! He just picks up the clock, pushes snooze, and he has a handy little flashlight! Wow! I bet Elgin didn't know it served more that one purpose :) This clock is also great for Feng Shui...no emissions, no noise and, no light since the light can be turned off. Love it! The item description says it takes 1 C battery but it takes 3 AA batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next