Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Generic Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Transform your patio into a cozy, outdoor space with the Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place. This Blue Rhino fire pit features a slide-out cooking grid that comes in a chrome finish. The cooking grid allows you to not only use your fire pit for entertainment, but to also cook food in the open air. Constructed using steel, this wood outdoor fire pit is finished in cool black for durability and style. The Blue Rhino Wood Burning Fire Pit features a mesh spark guard to offer maximum protection to you against the fire sparks. Cleaning your Blue Rhino fire pit is as easy as loading it with fire logs. Simple assembly required. 1-year limited warranty included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.257 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%31 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

great item bad instructions

04/25/2011
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
fire pit over all is very nice.
looks good
has a cooking grate so you can cook on it too.
down falls:
mine was missing a nut, no big problem it was at the top corner and fits really tight anyways.
instructions are very short on description.
"This goes here. This is how many screws/nuts it takes"
well that's good and all. but there is a door on the front. and you have to make sure you put the correct corner piece where it goes so the door closes right. The instructions do not tell you about the door. and what piece is the right one.
also reading through the other reviews i saw one that said the top did not have the hole for the door.
I found this problem too. but I also found out why. This is square, so the top goes on 4 possible ways. one of the corner brackets has an extra hole in it. that is the side that goes on the same side as the base with the extra hole it in. that makes the two spots you need for the door to fit in. again this is not in the instructions. but a little looking around and you can find it your self.
I had to move a corner piece. then after i had the top on, I had to take it off and turn it the right way so the door would go on. added about 10 mins or so more time to build it.
Hope this helps out the next person so they know what to look for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Large and convenient

04/26/2011
By ,
Bronson, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchase this Firepit online because it was large enough for what I wanted and the shipping to my home was cheap enough that I would have burned more gas and spent more time going to the store to get it. Very nice firepit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

LOVE IT!!

05/03/2011
By ,
WARE,MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This met my expectations,more then expected,I put river rock all around underneath it looks so nice
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Nice Fireplace

01/15/2011
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just bought this fireplace 2 days ago. We have used it both nights and it's been quite nice. So far so good. The only issue with ours is the frame gets hot so I wouldn't use it on a wooden deck, we use ours on the concrete patio area outside.
We love it and I feel like we got a good deal on it. I would recommend it to anybody who loves an outdoor fireplace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mn
door questions
Posted 06/11/2011
I bought this product last year preassembled last year I seen the photo of the top of the door but mine has nothing to hold the bottom on not sure if a part is missing or just put together wrong If you could post a photo of the bottom of the door it would be helpful thakyou
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Great firepit, but instructions need work

05/03/2011
By ,
Wentzville, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First things first. Once the Blue Rhino Outdoor Fireplace is put together, it’s a really nice looking piece and it’s very sturdy. For basically $100, it’s really quite functional and enjoyable. Our family really likes it.
However, having said that, putting it together is a bit of a battle. A little forethought, or even having someone actually follow the enclosed instructions, before release would likely have led to some basic design changes and instruction changes that could have made the assembly of this unit much easier and a much more pleasant experience.
Should you decide to purchase this unit, I have a few words of advice to try to help make the construction go a little smoother than it went for me:
First, have a screwdriver (preferable adjustable angle, if you have one), a wrench and a drill with a ¼ inch titanium bit (for drilling through metal) on hand. Also, be sure not to lose any pieces as there aren’t any extras in the kit. Nut “C” is packaged attached to either end of the Frame Posts.
In step (2) Attach Handle, although it doesn’t show this well, make sure that the long end of the latch plate is facing away from the center of the door.
In step (4) Attach Topper and Finial, you will need to drill two ¼ inch holes in the Hood Assembly as these were omitted on my unit during the manufacture process. I assume this to be a flaw in all of them since someone else mentioned having to drill them as well.
In step (5) Attach Frame Posts, be sure to get the orientation correct on this. The front left corner of the base is the one with two holes pre-drilled in it. A simple note here mentioning that would have been immensely helpful. There should be two pre-labeled posts in your kit, although I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that the labels fell off in shipping as they aren’t the best glued labels. The front right post will have a small strike plate for the door latch in addition to the hook for the grill grate. The back left post has the grill hook in the same position as the one on the front right. The other two posts (front left and back right) are interchangeable. Be sure that, when you are attaching the posts, the grill hooks all face up and do NOT tighten the post nuts to the base all the way yet.
In step (6) Attach Frame Panels, the frame panels go on the sides and back of the unit. You will have trouble here unless you have a right angle screwdriver. This step would have been one hundred times simpler had they welded the screw heads to the Frame Panels. That said, if you can hold the screw head with the tip of your finger while tightening the nut down with your wrench, it seems to be enough to hold the whole thing together. Tighten them down as much as possible. It might still be a touch wobbly at this point, but once it’s all together, the unit is pretty sturdy.
In step (7) Attach Hood Assembly, orientation is again important. The front left corner of the hood is the one with two holes drilled in the corner piece. Once you have the Hood Assembly on the Frame Posts, tighten all the nuts from this step and from step (5).
All in all, as I wrote above, I think that it’s a nice looking unit and pretty sturdy when complete. It’s light enough that moving it around isn’t too much trouble, although you might want to be wearing some rag clothes when doing so, as it’ll be pretty sooty after few fires. Also, keep in mind that it’s metal, so it’s going to get really hot to the touch when you are burning or even just sitting in the sun too long. Lastly, although another reviewer mentioned that it’s built to weather the elements, I would still recommend buying a small grill cover (as I can see it eventually rusting without some sort of protection) as well as something to set it on if you are using it on a deck (four properly placed concrete stepping stones would likely be enough).
Hopefully this has been useful. If I’ve missed anything that you think might be useful to others, please let me know.
Thanks for your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Recommendation for Use on Wooden decks

01/30/2011
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To those who have wooden decks. It has been mentioned in reviews here the flame gets too hot for use on wooden decks. I recommend placing a slab of slate underneath this or any fire pit or portable wood burning fire place. This well make it much safer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

11/13/2011
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I bought this because we wanted a fire pit and a grill. We have only used it one time. We had it for a little over a month. It is completly rusted!!! Not only the bottom that catches the ashes, but all of it the screws and all. This item is junk. The limited warrenty does not include rust.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

GREAT PRODUCT

04/08/2011
By ,
Medfield, Md.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is better than the other fire pits. It catches flying embers so as not to catch anything on fire which is great if you live closely to other homes. Good price/value. Only drawback we can see is, theres only one door that opens to the fire. If you have several people roasting marshmellows it becomes difficult to do and thus not everyone can do it at the same time. Took one star away because the unit tends to smell after heating up and you'd rather smell the firewood instead. Was told the smell will eventually go away with usuage. We will see.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Assembly is Horrible!!!

05/30/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The pre-drilled holes were located in the wrong spots. They didn't line up at all for the top little square. We put the four corners on wrong twice. It didn't specify in the directions which ones went where. We had to figure it out. We had to leave two of the screws out of the large top piece since the holes came no where close to lining up as well. If it came preassembled I would recommend it. Otherwise it's not worth the aggravation. My previous firepit was just like this one but a different brand and we had no trouble putting it together. Wouldn't have bought this one if the previous one hadn't rusted out over the past 4 years. Also, we have two children so are pretty skilled in putting things together with instructions (bikes, furniture, swingsets, etc.).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

decent size fire pit

11/18/2012
By ,
mass.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i purchased this on line with the fear of buyers remorse. i usually like to see things in person before i buy. first off, i gotta be honest, assembly was not all sunshine and puppies to say the least, you gotta be patient and a little flexible because the hardware is in awkward places to reach. having said that, i really like this fire pit, it is a good size for some nice toasty fires. i have had at least 25 to 30 fires in this and my only complaints are, the ash pan at the bottom could be a little more beefy, i will probly end up having a better one made for cheap, and the wire log grate is whimpy, i put another one i had on top of it and it helps. and finally the thing that i have read about in a lot of reviews is the rust,,, are these folks that dumb? when you heat painted thin metal, it burns off and as soon as it gets wet it rusts, well. duuhh! thats the nature of the thing, of course its gonna happen! who cares, its just a fire pit not a BMW! i would recommend this pit to anyone who just wants to have some beers and friends over and chill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Outdoor Fireplace

02/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just put this together in about 2+ hrs. I think the directions don't actually give you the EASIEST way to assemble. I think I would try putting the three sides together first next time, and then place it on top of the bottom frame. I say this because it is very TIGHT trying to get the screws and bolts in and kind of hurt my back bending down so much. I think building the three sides first, I could have raised it to table height (bench height) to work on. Also the kit DOES NOT have the tools to assemble it (you know the throw away kind0. So I used a 10 mm size for the larger bolts and an 8mm for the smaller. I also happen to have one of those funny wrenches that are basically a metal rob with a 90 deg bent tip and have a phillips head. Using this it allowed me to get in between the rails of the metal pieces to hold the screw while turning the bolt with the appropriate wrench. Take you time and do it right. Don't over tighten because the metal frame will bend.
I hope it stays pristine for years to come--I haven't tried it out yet but comparing prices everywhere, this was absolutely the best buy for this type of fireplace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place
04/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have it in my backyard patio. It makes me feel like I'm living in the country again. I used to love sitting around a campfire of an evening, drinking coffee, talking and just having a good time. The kids would roast wienies or marshmallows. It just brings back a lot of good memories
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Don't buy..

06/01/2011
By ,
Whitesboro, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Was very pretty till after the first rain.. It is now all rust.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place
06/06/2012
By ,
peabody massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Took about an 1hr:45min to assemble, flimsy when putting together not the easiest to put screws and nuts on when putting panels in place. Tools needed for mine were phillips head as stated but I used 5/16and 10m wrench. I found direction to be adequate but the labeling of frame posts were misleading I had three marked left rear leg. The hooks on each leg will not position the same direction and all of them need to be facing in the up position. Remember to place top in position for door there is two extra holes for top and bottom one on base and one on top left corner it does'nt show to good on directions it can slip past your reading. Drill a hole in ash pan so water can drain when left outside. When trying to tighten screws on panels hold the screw head with phillips driver on angle and turn nut.... It looks good when assembled but still is cheap I thought it would be heavier gage metal
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Great bargain for the money

04/11/2011
By ,
Sandusky, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this fireplace to replace our chiminea. Wasn't expecting such a nice unit for the money. Went together easily and seems to be sturdy enough. The ash tray is kind of small, so needs to be emptied often, but there is enough room under that we could try a different tray under the entire unit to slide in & out as needed. For now, though, we're very pleased with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

great cheep fire pit

04/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this fire pit is the lowest price, and best i could find on the internet after searching there hours or more. I recommend, and should get another for my camp also..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place
04/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was great, but all the screws and trays are rusting! Not good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Very well likes

03/14/2011
By ,
Kansas City, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this a couple weeks ago. It didnt take long to put together, about and hour. Will be using it for the first time this coming weekend. I would buy another one. We have priced them for sometime now. And this is a great value for the price. I would recommend this to all my friends. We have gotten alot of compliments and friends are going out to buy one for themselves. But hurry they go fast. Dont wait becuase they will be gone. It took us about a week to find it at a store near us. Happy Spring to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place
04/03/2012
By ,
Wymore, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have used once and looking forward to using again. Great value for the price. Rated a 3 on expectations because the actual product did not match the picture online. The online picture is black and blue but what I received was all black.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Blue Rhino 28" Outdoor Wood Burning Fire Place

Sturdier than it looks-

05/07/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first glance, once the pieces are all out and you start to put it together, you wonder if it's going to be sturdy. But it is! This looks wonderful, and bigger than I expected. Great value.
Our ONLY issue was we were missing parts (nuts and a bolt) which we just winged it and bout some of our own. It will be a tricky assembly! Lots of small spaces and awkward angles. Just warning you. But once it's finished, it's worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next