Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Western Digital Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Carry your digital data where ever you go with the Western Digital 1TB Portable External Hard Drive. The My Passport Essential SE now features more storage capacity than ever before. With a huge space of 1 Tera bytes, you can store all your data, music, and entertainment. Create a back up of existing files from your laptop or desktop on to this portable hard drive and stay tension free. The USB 3.0 portable hard drive comes with advanced security features, which keep your data protected throughout. With its sleek and compact design, you can load up this Western Digital 1TB portable hard drive and take it with you anywhere. The Western Digital SmartWare Control Center lets you customize your data, create extra security, run thorough diagnostics and a lot more. The external hard drive has a 256-bit encryption which ensures that only authorized person with password accesses the data in it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%34 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Servicable, Reasonably Fast Little Drive.

07/15/2011
By ,
North Bend, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 1tb portable hard drive was purchased to do drive image backups. So, the USB3 speed is important, as is the size. It is my 3rd such drive, the first that is USB3.
The drive itself I found very servicable. No issues there.
Their software leaves something to be desired. I'm disappointed with that coming from Western Digital. Problems are that it creates a startup program that monitors for the drive. Since the drive is rarely attached, its wasteful to have a permanent monitoring service that wastes CPU time. Further, the drive encryption software is primitive & amatuerish; after assigning the drive to the letter "P", their software made "P" the encrypted drive and a new letter, "S", that could be written to & read. Thus, none of my backups would work. Further, this new software does NOT work with my prior two Passport drives. Pretty dumb if you ask me.
I got a competitive price at Walmart ($100), and was able to use a gift card on top of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 2 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Great drive

12/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing is great. Smaller than expected, fits in your back pocket. Very easy to use, just plug and play. Security on the drive is easy to set up and files transfer very fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+40points
Review 3 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Excellent price!

12/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We use these drives to move video from our computers to the flat panel TV in the living room. The portable size of these USB powered drives makes it ideal for watching edited and downloaded video on the big screen.
Walmart's online price couldn't be beaten by dozens of on-line retailers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 4 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Just what I needed

12/21/2010
By ,
Lithia, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheWestern Digital 1TB hard drive was exactly what I was looking for. The price was the best I could find. Free shipping to my home was certainly a plus as well. And the hard drive was easy to set up and has worked flawlessly since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 5 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Great product for mobility

06/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have two at work for backing up all my files and have friends that swear by them. It is a tough little external that can fit in your pocket until ready to use. I finally caved in and bought one for personnal use and am very pleased so far (granted it has only been a month of use and has not been really tested in an extreme environment yet). It has great file transfer speed even on USB 2.0. I was able to transfer a lot of information relatively quickly compared to some of my older model externals.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 6 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Complicated with a Mac!

06/24/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Mac, and knew I should have to reconfigure to meet the settings of this hard drive, but I never knew it would be so complicated! I'm pretty tech-saavy and this took 2 days to figure out how to work. Once I called tech support and a few friends, it worked and works well so far!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 7 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Not a fan

01/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always used Western Digital portable hard drive products and loved every one of them so far (both quality and price), until this particular model. This was my first 1TB model and I had high expectations. I have multiple computers for work and home - 3 laptops and 1 desktop, 4 different operating systems. It turned out that this device was only recognized by the desktop and 2 of my laptops. In addition, on 1 of the 2 laptops that did recognize the device, the drive would magically disappear in the middle of a file transfer - this did not occur every time, but did happen a few times when I transfer larger files. I ended up returning this 1TB model and went back to smaller sizes. One other thing I don't like about My Passport products in general is that there's no case that comes with the product. You'll have to spend extra to purchase a case, otherwise the device gets scratched up pretty quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 8 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Wow! The most exciting product I've seen long time

10/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most exiting thing I've seen in computers for a long time. I highly recommend one to use for data or backup. It has a password feature I find very appealing. If anyone steals or "borrows" it, they can't possibly ever access your data as opposed to all other ways to backup.
You can use it attached to you computer all the time if you want. I'm buying another one so I have: One for data on the computer and one for backup storage in a safe, etc. What's neat about using it externally is that if you want to use the data on another computer, it's so fast and easy to do so. Also if the house is burning down or you have to leave very fast for emergency, you can just pull it in a second.
Another neat thing is since it's password protected (optional), you can let someone else use your computer and they can't access your personal stuff (except browsing history, etc. that is on the C: or operating system drive).
I don't trust my data inside the computer on the C: with Windows. That's scary.
It works with USB 2.0, but if you don't have 3.0, you can get this: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hubs-USB-Gagets/15539742
if you motherboard has a PCI express slot (all do if not more than about two years old).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive
04/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Terabyte for under $100 is unheard of...Add to the fact of Western Digital's reliability is a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Great for anyone to use.

07/09/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to backup my computer files and it works very well. Will probably never use all the memory but can rely on the fact that it will be ready anytime I need to add files and pictures. Very easy to use - just plug it into the USB port and it's ready to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 11 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

punkineddie

11/18/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Caught it on sale for $99 in the store. Plug and play - no software to install. Quick and easy - a powerful little tool for backup - just a little bigger than my ipod. Wal-Mart also has the carrying case to protect it for about $10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive
04/22/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my WD 1TB Portable HDD. It does the job the way it's supposed to, it's lightweight and a nice size. I bought it for $129 just a couple weeks ago. So sad to see it went down on price to $112!! So, I would advice that if this is what you're looking for, you buy it now! I used it on 3 laptops: 1 with Windows Vista, 1 with Windows XP and 1 with Windows 7 and I had NO problems whatsoever. It DOES NOT come with a cover, however, I bought the Case Logic QHDC 101RED Portable HardDrive Case, which also went down in price! It fits perfectly and the red color of the case makes it easier to spot. I recommend this item (and the case).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive
11/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. I was able to transfer all of my pictures and movies to this drive, so now I can take them with me anywhere I go. When I purchased it, Walmart was cheaper by $3 and it included free shipping. This is where the problem was. It took nearly 3 weeks for me to receive this item, when it normally takes right at one week to get things here (Iraq). I consider myself somewhat lucky though. There are a few people that have been waiting for items for 2 months. Walmart needs to improve the shipping process if they want to continue to get my business on things other than food and laundy products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 14 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

satisfied

02/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i have nothing to complain about =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Awesome Product Delivered by a great company

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been a fan of Western Digital. After 25 years in building mainframe, servers, and PC's I found the WD product line the most reliable. Now, that WD has compacted their technology into this power package it's like having the best of 4 worlds. Portability, Reliability, Cost, and up to date technology. The cost factor is only due to Wal-Mart’s purchasing power. Thank you Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart also delivered on their promise of a rapid reliable convenient delivery.
All in all this is a great product priced and delivered by a great company. I recommend this product to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 16 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

small and lightweight. easy to use!

03/21/2012
By ,
temple, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this for my laptop to store movies and other large downloads. plug it into a usb port and it does the rest. very easy to transfer my downloads. much smaller and lighter than what my friends and family have invested in for the same amount of memory. can fit into a back pocket. very glad i purchased this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive
11/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A top notch, high capacity portable hard drive that fulfills all my data tranfer and storage needs. I feel the price was quite reasonable for the capacity. I purchased this hard drive for music, photos, and other personal uses and I am considering buying a second unit to utilize for my business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

very fruststating

03/10/2011
By ,
bonifay fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!! IT IS VERY FRUSTSTRATING TRANFERING FILES. I WISHED I BOUGHT THE TOSHIBA i had very good service with the toshiba hard drive. the only reason i did not is this was 5o dollars cheaper and i wanted to try something new.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-95points
Review 19 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Western Digital 1TB External Hard Drive

04/28/2012
By ,
Kent, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This 1 Terabyte hard drive is very small and portable, just about fits in a shirt pocket but with the capacity to hold a great deal of data. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Western Digital My Passport Essential SE 1TB USB 3.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Nice Hard Drive

05/01/2012
By ,
Afghanistan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a compact 1TB hard drive that does not require a power plug which makes it completely portable. Nice buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next