Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Seagate Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Seagate Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

The Seagate External Hard Drive is an ultra portable hard drive which makes it easy for you to store, backup, encrypt and access your files anytime and anywhere. The portable external hard drive both USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 plug-and-play interfaces for fast data transfers. You can store up to 120 HD movies, 444 standard definition movies, 250,000 four-minute MP3s, or 500,000 four-megapixel photos in the hard drive. The FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB hard drive includes pre-loaded, easy-to-use backup software which allows you to get started with minimum effort. Equipped with software encryption technology, the drive keeps your sensitive data from falling into wrong hands. This software is compatible with Windows 7 and works with most of the contemporary operating systems. When used with other GoFlex devices, you can use the disk as a wireless hard drive and access its content on your TV, network or on-the-go. The built-in energy saving feature turns the drive off when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.261 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%56 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Third Seagate

12/24/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
About 4 years ago I bought a Maxor external hard drive (160gb) and I still use it. Once I ran out of room I wanted to get another Maxor but after doing some research, I found out they were bought out by Seagate so I checked out what they had to offer. I purchased one with 1tb and it was great until I dropped it which is why I had to get this one. I expect it to be as good as my Maxor and my first Seagate. I'd recommend it to anyone who is looking for an external at a decent and affordable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED!!!!

06/28/2012
By ,
Outside the U.S.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in Army and have been on multiple deployments. ALL my fellow soldiers have portable hard drives. I finally caved in a decided to buy one. I had absolutely NO idea which one to get. Most of the people I know either have the Seagate or the Western Digital 1 TB. I looked at both and and read several reviews. After scouring the internet, I decided on the Seagate, which was on sale at Walmart.com for $97 (plus $4 S/H). It arrived in less than a week (and I am overseas).
It was too easy to use. I took it out of the box and plugged it into my laptop. Within minutes I was good to go. I haven't had any issues. I didn't get the case with it and I travel quite a bit (on helicopters mostly). This thing has taken quite a beating and works perfect. Some people complain that the USB cord it too short. Not an issue!
I love it and would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone looking for the most bang for their buck!!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Nice Drive

01/09/2011
By ,
El Paso, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Seagate 1 TB external drive is pretty nice, although I would have expected for WalMart to have it better priced than the competition but WalMart didn't. But the drive is pretty nice and does exactly what I need it to do. Too bad it came pre-loaded with all the stupid unneeded movies that I don't need and that I would have to buy in order to view. Just get rid of it and save yourself that space.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Review 4 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Handy Device

02/10/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace another SeaGate external hard drive that is less portable, requiring an AC adapter. This drive is powered by the USB and is faster than the older one. I am in the process of moving data from the old to the new which is taking longer owing to the older drives lack of speed. The new one is more compact and is just slightly larger than drives with lesser capacity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 5 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

2 in 1 tool

11/25/2011
By ,
springfield, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a computer tech i am always looking for that one tool that will make my job a little easier and with the purchase of this drive i found one for you not only get a superb portable hard drive you also get a usb sata connector that allows you to connect any sata hard drive to it and pull data off of it if klyou have the right software to do so but i have done many data recovery jobs to where i had to plug it into a desktop to do the job but with the connector on the hard drive i can now go anywhere to perform this service so i will just go ahead and say coming from a tech of more than 15 years now wow on this product and you will not be disappointed for getting it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 6 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Great product

02/18/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and reformatted it to work on my PS3. I am very happy with it, I put my whole movie library on it. Now I can watch all my movies through my PS3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 7 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Seagate is still Seagate

12/11/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seagate has been making world-class hard drives for longer than most of their customers have been alive. The FreeAgent GoFlex is just another perfect Seagate product. I removed it from the package, briefly scanned the instructions, plugged it in, and it worked. It couldn't be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Seagate FreeAgent

07/08/2011
By ,
Loda Il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just bought my Seagate and it was really easy to install. I can't complain about the price because at Best Buy the same product was Forty dollars more. Everything moved over really easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 9 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Works great with Linksys E4200 Router

12/12/2011
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Seagate 1Tb USB drive to serve as a network drive with the Cisco Linksys wireless router. The older 500Gb Seagate Freeagent drive was not supported, but this new drive works great with the router. The included trial Memeo backup and autosync software make the backup process automatic. Too bad that full versions of each are not included with the drive purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Review 10 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, NOT WORTH THE FRUSTRATION

11/10/2012
By ,
Brownsville, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I was getting a bargain when I bought this Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1 TB hard drive. What could go wrong? I was buying a reputable brand. I was wrong. Since day 1, I had problems. I connected the hard drive to my laptop and nothing. I had to wiggle the connection for it to be detected on my laptop. I thought I could let this slip, no biggie, since I was just going to store my pics and music. Well, I started using it to play my Wii backups and now, it'll lose connectivity and that has really started to bug me. The game freezes and I have to restart the Wii. It is either connector problems, or the hard drive goes into a sleep mode. I should have done some research before buying this. I was suprised to see a lot of people having the same exact problem . Well, word of advise... DO NOT BUY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Great Product

05/15/2011
By ,
South Hill, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this drive for three months now and so far it has been excellent. The included software is a pile of junk so I recommend using something else. That doesn't have anything to do with the performance of the drive itself. This is my 6th Seagate drive and none have let me down yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Useless

05/19/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The preloaded software is basically advertisement to buy other seagate software. It does the same as drag and drop or copying except slower! Also, the backup software won't recognize the drive even though my computer recognizes it. Every five minutes or so I would get an error while trying to back up my other external hard drive and would have to start over. So then I tried to just drag and drop which worked. Now less than half of the time will the hard drive be recognizes by my computer even. The fact that it will not be recognized and crashes repeatedly makes this product useless. Do not rely on this for storage. Luckily I had not deleted everything from the other drive. I will be taking this one back this weekend as well as the one I bought my mother.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 13 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Waste of money

03/30/2012
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this hard drive in order to transfer my pictures, videos, and documents. I had a large volume of these. There is a lack of information on the package and the instructions. Upon hooking the device up, there was no opportunity to selectively choose what to do. It automatically began to back up my entire computer system. I decided to let it do so, which took over 20 hours, it continually had error messages, and had to be restarted. I do have a lot of files, but not 20 hours worth. After the completion of the backup, I had difficulty finding the files. I wanted to double check to see if they were there before I deleted them on the computer. They were not. Only the file folders were there with no content. I then manually with the advanced option backed them up and were able to confirm their presence. After taking a few days off, I returned to the computer. Everytime, I turned the computer on, it started to reback up again. It would not stop unless I paused scanning. Letting it continue would slow the computer to a crawl. I then attempted to proceed to delete the files on the C drive. When I did so, they would also erase on the new hard drive. Although, it was not supposed to do so. I even consulted their web site, which stated the same thing. I attempted to go through the support, which strangely is unable to connect with on their help line. Their is no customer chat, no on line email, or telephone. I would not buy this product for any reason. It is terrible. I have now wasted my money and time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Software is SLOW

01/11/2012
By ,
28273
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
36 hours to back up 556 gig is crazy. I emailed tech support and asked is there any way to speed it up. No reply from tech support. After I clean this thing off it's going on Ebay to try and get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 15 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Great Portable External Hard Drive !

08/27/2011
By ,
Brazil,Curitiba Parana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is simple and easy to use and save your archives!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Not as PC and Mac compatible as advertised!

08/26/2012
By ,
Melbourne, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Seagate drive so that I could use it interchangeably. I am a mac user and my photography friend is a pc user. It did not work as stated out of the box. It would read files but not write to the drive. Only with a lot of internet research (and Seagate's website is not very user friendly), was I able to discover that I had to install a different driver to get the Seagate drive to both read and write files to both mac and pc. A lot of wasted and frustrating hours spent to finally get the "out of the box" usability I had expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

TB For A Small Fee - Worth The Price

10/07/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your average portable 1 TB Hard Drive goes from $89 to about $149 depending on where you go. Seagate has always been my recommendation to others who ask me which brand I would recommend. I buy by reviews online and spoken. This product I've had for a few weeks now but with it's USB 3.0 Feature I was able to save over 300 GB from my desktop to the Seagate 1TB In under 3 hours. USB 2.0 would have tooken me over 9 hours to achieve. What it comes with is the device + USB 3.0 Cable so take advantage of the 3.0 feature if your computer supports it trust me it's worth it.
Anyways conclusion. I recommend this product to anyone and everyone especially if your going to do back ups or system images from several computers.
I'd buy this product again in the next year or so once I fill the current one up :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Seagate 1TB

10/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought to backup my data. Very light, cheap and easy to use drive. I had it picked up at the store to save on shipping and since I wanted immediately. Placed the order at around 12.30 pm and had it picked up at 5.30 ! Awesome deal !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 19 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black
08/21/2011
By ,
Florissant, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hard drive is easy to use. I didn't have any problems setting it up. It works as it says in the description.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 1TB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable External Hard Drive, Black

Click of death

08/12/2012
By ,
Hermiston Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice for the price, and even better if you could trust it. From the beginning it has been clicking at random times. Doing some research on this issue tells me it will NOT survive long.
My friend bought one at the same time I did, and hers is doing exactly the same. Click, click, click.
Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next