Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Seagate Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Seagate Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

This Seagate 500GB portable hard drive is a versatile external hard drive delivering a truly customizable experience. The FreeAgent hard drive gives you the flexibility of taking all your data wherever you go. The 500GB capacity provides space to store your collections of favorite movies, songs, photos, and more. It has a powerful software encryption technology that keeps your files private. The automatic backup software maintains automatic continuous backup of all your data. This GoFlex external hard drive can be connected to a PC or Mac interchangeably without any reformatting. It comes with a dashboard management tool to manage backup schedules, file encryption, and more. It also includes a USB 3.0 interface for faster data transfer. With pre-loaded software, getting started with this external hard drive will be a breeze. This versatile Seagate 500GB portable hard drive lets you access your files anytime, anywhere.
Average Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation92%73 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Good Product - Good Price

01/13/2011
By ,
Harpers Ferry, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had this hooked up and backing up in seconds flat and have had no trouble with it at all. The instant back up was a little annoying until I figured out how to turn it off - I like to back up when I'm done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 2 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Good Purchase

05/11/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good buy. Product easy to use, works well and is reasonably priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 3 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black
04/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its holds so many files..amazing. v ery fast downloading. love the price. recommend it to everyone! Doesa lot to be so l ittle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 4 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black
06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great and transfers information fast! I am very satisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Creedmoor, NC
Seagate Free agent
Posted 08/15/2011
I already have 2.......I have a 1TB one for the main home computer just for family photos and videos. The other is a 500 MB I use on my laptop also for photos and files
Going to get a third 500MB one for the home computer again just for a complete backup
Very easy to use and setup it will last a long time if you only use it every now and then.
I assume the more you leave it on and running constantly its like any machine and will break down on you. So use them sparingly and when need be.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Included software is no good.

09/01/2011
By ,
Temecula, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this $49.99 at Walmart store. For the price...it's a deal. But the included software for backup was terrible. Just didn't work with my Dell laptop using Windows 7. Tried backing up my 150gb drive with the automatic software included and it was doing it for past 24hours! Got rid of the program and used another program and manually backed up. Works better that way. If you want to back up manually...for the price this is good. But there are better products out there....I miss the Maxtor external portable drive...that had better backup program and seemed faster. Now that Seagate owns Maxtor...you'd think they would have better products.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Curious
Posted 09/26/2011
How is the price of the Maxtor external portable drive in comparison though?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Affordable and Great

04/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to set up and easy to put files on. Durable and easy to connect. Plus the file transferring between Macs and PCs is great! :) Great product that I would most definitely buy again and recommend to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

500GB for $50!

09/11/2011
By ,
Clarksville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking at 16GB Flash Drives that were priced at $24, but then I saw a 500GB External HDD, by Seagate, that was close to half of the same price or $49; I was stunned. I took it home and found that it works well, and it comes preloaded with software for use with this device (Which you can erase if you want, but be careful because it can be useful so you may want to back it up; you can redownload the software through Seagate if that data does get erased). The unit is formatted in a NTSF file format, so it works well for Window computers, but it needs to be formatted with use of a Mac (Which means "yes" it does work with make, you just need to reformat it in a compatible file format a Mac can read). The only problem I encountered was that since it was in NTSF format, the Playstation 3 cannot read the unit and you can only create NTSF or exFat through a computer. You can however download a tool kit from seagate that can create partitions for the unit for use with multiple devices. This allows you to create a NTSF file format (which is more common in newer Windows computers), you can create a FAT32 file format (more common in Windows 95 computers), and FAT16 (Older 16-bit Model Computers). To get this External HDD to work on a Playstation 3, you need to partition in a FAT32 file format which you can choose however much data the system to can read out of the drive; 1GB-192GB or More. If you want to use this HDD for an XBOX 360, you need to partition the drive also in FAT32, but the system will only read 1GB-16GB, depending on the system updates (No Matter Even If The Drive Was fully in FAT32 file format).
Playstation 3 - Partition in FAT32; I was able to get the system to read 165.8GB to 192GB.
XBOX 360 - Parttition in FAT32; you can only get the system to read 1GB to 16GB through this drive, unless Microsoft has given the system an update that allows it to read further.
Windows XP/Vista - Reads fine doesn't need formatting, does not need to be partition for use with computers that can read NTSF file formats, but can be Partitioned and still be read.
Mac - Needs to be formatted if it was not read.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 8 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black
05/27/2011
By ,
Lexington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a photographer and this is perfect for backing up client files and pictures!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Hope you don't get the defective USB 3.0 cable

09/30/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought two for my church. Both had defective USB plugs. Returned them to Seagate and got new cable adapter plug-ins. Looks like a manufacturing defect. If you pushed the USB plug in all the way to the computer, it wouldn't work. You had to wiggle the plug out a bit to make contact. Seagate admitted their fault. I paid no shipping either way. They made good on their problem. Just hope nobody else has to go thru this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 10 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Don't waste your money.

08/09/2011
By ,
Eagle Pass, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to backup and keep my pictures and music. Yeah right, after I transfered some music with a lot of difficulty it just stopped working. Completely! No computer will pick it up at all. It's like non-existent according to my computer. What?!! I totally DO NOT recommend this product. I will be returning ASAP. I only bought it 2 days ago!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Not bad for the price

08/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought to back up laptop. Hopefully, I will never have to see how well it works in that regard. Nice, small and sleek device. Slightly larger than an average smartphone. Easy plug and play hookup.
I do not regret purchasing the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 12 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black
10/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. Took me at least a week to work out how to get it to connect to my Mac. In the end I couldn't configure it to work with Macs and PCs so it is just configured for my Mac which is a big let down.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 13 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Perfect Size

08/17/2011
By ,
Grand Junction, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great buy so far, but my only complaint is the USB cord is too short & it tends to move a little from the plug & make the drive loose connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Small package, lots of storage

09/18/2011
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent storage for a reasonable price and compared to my other external 300 GB and 1 TB drives this one is about an eighth of the size. Plug and Chug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Review 15 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Works well!

01/02/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hard drive is easy to use and to install. Also, backing up my files weren't a problem at all. I recommend this product for anyone to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Good product but don't bump the hard drive

08/15/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The hard drive works great, unless you bump it while it's writing. It is very sensitive to bumps, but overall seems to be a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 17 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Great product. Outstanding value.

09/01/2011
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using it for Time Machine on my MacBook Pro. Seagate hard drives are quality products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Love it!

06/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great backup program.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

DO NOT BUY SEAGATE PRODUCTS

08/13/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MY husband has bought 3 external hard drives from seagate. One 500, 1TB and 1.5 TB. The 1Tb has stopped working after about 6 months. He took it to a PC specilaist and he was told it would be anywere from 150-2000 $ to retrive the data on it.
He has recently purchest the 500 one as a present for our annyversary. I have pluged it in today and it will not even start. I have already tryed it on 2 different computers with Windows 7 and Vista but it is not working.
We are now left with the 1 tb product and I fear it is just a metter of time untill this will stop working. I have never beem more dissapointed with any electronic brand.
I will NEVER EVER by Seagate products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-8points
Review 20 for Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex 500GB USB 3.0 Ultra-Portable Hard Drive, Black

Great little portable HD for the price

10/02/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a great portable HD for the price. No problems with using it on multiple platforms. I've only found 2 problems. The first is the HD makes a squeaky noise as it is starting up. It's kind of loud and lasts for a while. It eventually quits, but it's not silent. The second problem is not being able to use a USB hub. I've tried the device on several diffferent computers and platforms and have yet to find a USB hub that will work with the device. Overall, I like it. I think Seagate is a good product (much better than WD, imho) and am happy with the purchase. I think there could be better customer support for this device along with slightly better instructions (single sheet).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next