Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

The Walmart Family Mobile SIM Card Activation Kit includes everything you need to activate wireless service with Walmart Family Mobile. Use this kit to begin receiving Unlimited Talk, Text & Web service, with unlimited calling across the U.S. -- all with no annual contract and no credit check. The Activation Kit can be used with Walmart Family Mobile phones, or any unlocked GSM phone that takes a standard SIM.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation74%32 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
02/15/2011
By ,
Superior, WI 1447
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it activated about a month ago.. It works great around where I live and work. I have not yet to go anywere else yet.. For $45 for unlimited talk and text, WHAT A DEAL!! $25 for any aditional lines (up to 5). I got the $40 webpak along with the activation kits, and i dont have to keep paying for webpaks per month.. Just only the talk and text. If I am running out of data I can 611 or go online and refill the data. Also, you dont have to use a Family Mobile cell phone to use the service! Get the Activation Kit and find a UNLOCKED gsm phone (phone that takes a sim card.. I.E - NOT iphone 4--> = mini-sim) and stick your sim card in it and you should be all set to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrisonburg, VA
iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S will work with this, if...
Posted 02/10/2012
Get the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S to work with this if you buy a 'sim card cutter', like a hole punch, from amazon for $7. It cuts the sim into a 'micro SIM' so it will fit the new phone. BE SURE your iPhone 4 or 4S is unlocked from AT&T first before you can use it on T-mobile.
BUT WAIT A MIN! As of February 2012 you can get Unlimited Talk, Text AND DATA for only $45 a month and also from Walmart!
Order a new SIM from Straight Talk for $15. Choose regular size SIM or Micro SIM and choose the AT&T network OR the T-Mobile network!
http://www.straighttalksim.com/
These plans are $45 per phone but you get the added benefit of bringing any smart phone with you and using UNLIMITED Data!
That makes Straight Talk a WAY better deal than T-Mobile family but only if you are interested in data/internet. If you are not interested in using much data AND you are signing up more than one phone, than T-Mobile Family would be a cheaper option.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Great value, but you may want to check coverage.

03/13/2011
By ,
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on t-mobile for a year now, I do not have family mobile but they operate through
t-mobile. Their services are great, but indoor coverage can be ify. Their phone selection is great, I am assuming you can use any t-mobile branded phone. As for their data, if you are a heavy data user, or have an android or other smartphone (blackberry will not work for web or mms because family mobile just runs off of t-mobile coverage, does not have access to the BIS servers though, unless family mobile sells blackberries) you may want to try simple mobile, they still run through t-mobile, but is better for one person because they do not have the family plans, but have unlimited everything for $60. Blackberry web and mms will not work on there either. Over all family mobile is a good investment because t-mobile plans to cover more than at&t does in the coming years, along with 4g in almost all locations on their network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+5points
Review 3 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
05/06/2011
By ,
Camby, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To get unlimited talk & text for $45 is a great deal. with great coverage in my area through T-Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Excellent Product Easy to Configure

11/22/2011
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought my own unlocked phones and ordered these activation kits. Once I received them I followed the excellent instructions on the website and activated online. Had my old numbers ported over and active in a few hours. Important thing is to pay up your account with the provider you are coming from BEFORE doing the transfer since once they port your numbers your old accounts (e.g., at AT&T, T-Mobile etc) will be closed and you won't be able to access them via their websites anymore. Haven't noticed any difference in service whatsoever from the t-mobile service I had (at much higher cost) for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
08/11/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not the best connection but a good choice for families with teen boys
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Activated our Family Mobile Online

03/01/2011
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the two Samsung T139 s and the activation kits and I went through the activation process online, and was up and running in short order. We are enjoying our Family Mobile service and are getting better signal and call quality than we were getting with the ATT which I had been using for many years. Worked great for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

solid service

03/22/2011
By ,
topeka, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you wont regret it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 8 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

easy activation

02/28/2011
By ,
Newton NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really easy to activate your cell phone on the wallmart family plan and it costs me about $100. less per month to more popular plans.
you only need to use the sim card and activation once unless you change your phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Review 9 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Good value for cell users

01/04/2012
By ,
SF, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a second purchase for our unlocked cell phones & it's easy to install & easy to activate. Very helpful when you are not tech friendly like me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Great Value and so Easy to set up!

06/28/2011
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We switched from T-Mobile to the Walmart Family Mobile to save money. We were worried about the customer service and keeping our phone numbers and we heard that it could take up to 24 hours for our number to be switched over, so we would be without a phone for a full day.
When we activated our new Walmart Family plan there were no problems at all. It was so easy and they walk you thru it step by step. It took maybe 5 minutes and our new phones and plan was up and running with our same phone numbers. no issues at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Super Value

05/14/2011
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This service (T-mobile) saves lots of money on an annual basis. I used to be a T-mobile customer and this easily saves over 30%. The webpak never expires which is great if you don't use data on a consistent basis. This is no Frills and you should consider bringing your own unlocked t-mobile phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
idaho falls, id
Posted 04/02/2013
virgin mobile has Sprint towers for 35 a month.. it's cheaper.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

I love Family Mobile

03/10/2011
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was with Tmobile for 10 yrs and never had an offer that Family Mobile has given. They are the same carrier but at a much lower price. I have no problems with dropped calls or no signals. I made the switch last month and ported over 5 numbers with no problem. 5 lines plus 1000 mb of data is $185 thats only $37 per line. I'm loving Walmart helping out the average hardworking family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Are the customer service reps based in the states
Posted 08/01/2011
I was wondering if the customer service reps are based in the united states?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

So Far So Good-Actually Great

08/16/2011
By ,
Cleveland Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had Sprint for over 7 years, in the year after visits to one of their centers for service at least 6 times, numerous phone calls due to drop calls, voice mail arriving 3 days later etc., we were told by them that the tower, or whatever mailbox was full and thats what the problem was.They could of told this 6 months ago, but every rep at Sprint we talked to had a different story. What good is a phone when you cannot call out? What if it were an emergency, could we hold that company responsible ? We researched all the major companies and when my husband said Wallmart, I started laughing, now the laugh is on me, the service has been wonderful, no dropped calls, everything that was stated in the plan brochure seems to be true. Customer service was wonderful also. We should have done this a long time ago. We couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

works well, easy setup, transferred number OK

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was easy. I just called the company number, told them the numbers from my package, and then they transferred my old phone numbers from AT&T to the new sim cards. All I had to do then was put the new sim card into my unlocked GSM phone and I had full service for my phone number within 24 hours.
The internet setup was a little annoying. It didn't work right away and I needed to find information online to setup the proxy connection for T-mobile-Walmart. It would have been nice to have the associate just tell me the setup information when I was on the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
please help
Posted 12/13/2011
I have an unlocked phone from at&t also, talk and text on family mobile seem fine, but can not figure out how to configure for web. As you stated, their customer service doesn't help at all with this! Can you please let me know what you entered and where on your at&t phone to get the internet working? TIA
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Wow, what a DEAL!

12/23/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Walmart Family Mobile is a fantastic product. Left T-Mobile for this and what I got... T-Mobile again, just for $75 or so less per month, running on my iPhones, and working great. Even ported all of my T-Mobile numbers over. The experience start to date has been perfect, the shared data pool is great as well. Went from paying almost $300 month for 3 iPhones with AT&T and getting poor service to $180 with T-Mobile and getting excellent service, to about $100 with Walmart and also getting excellent service. not sure why T-Mobile would allow this, surprised everyone in America is not jumping ship on T-Mobile to this, since it is the same thing, but essentially almost half the price. Thanks Walmart, this is a true value!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
how did you get ur iphones to work?
Posted 11/27/2011
help no one will unlock my iphones!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

customer service

12/30/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought three Family Mobile phones and activation kits for myself and my two college-aged kids. For whatever reason, we had some extended difficulty getting the third phone activated, which entailed numerous calls to the customer service number and another 40 mile trip to the Walmart store to exchange the activation kit for a new one. It was a big headache that went on over 4 days. But the GREAT thing was, the problem was a technical one that was no one's fault, but the customer service throughout was fantastic. No long phone waits to talk to a customer service rep, they always called back when they told me they would, all were very nice and knowledgeable. Honestly, I have never dealt with tech support that was as prompt and easy to communicate with. So thanks, Walmart. Who would have thought such a huge company would be the first I've dealt with to have really excellent tech support and customer service? Thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 17 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
02/02/2011
By ,
Raymondville TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been with every national cell company over the past several years. One thing I learned is choose what works in your area. You can not always go by the company's coverage map. In my area, Walmart Family mobile does very well. I have used my unlocked att and t-mobile phones with no problem. The price is good. The only down side is if you use a lot of data that will put a dent in you wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Family Mobile

05/06/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service is fantastic! Real people speak clear English, answer the phones quickly, answer questions efficiently and have obviously been well trained. I am soooo happy we changed to this plan. It's a bargain and the phones we got (Samsung Highlights) are great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 19 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

No Web for Blackberry

03/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this product to use with my new Blackberry cellphone. Called T-Mobil and started going through the activation process and when almost finished the customer service person asked what kind of phone I had. Told him a Blackberry. And he stated that I could only use call & text, no web. That was one of the main reasons I purchased the SIM card. If you do not want web, it is probably a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 20 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

some good some bad

11/19/2013
By ,
eagan, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I transfered from t-mobile today, it would not work online so i called and they got it working in a few minutes ( thanks god, i use the phone for work ) the problem i have had is that the person signed me up for phone,text and web ( and i dont want web ) but the guy i called said it was fixed, it was actually my second call as the first call i made to customer service the dude told me that my account didnt exist, i was like " but i am talking to you on it right now" so i hung up and called again. Now the problem i am having is that i cant get the online account set up, i know i need this so i can pay my bills, will have to go to the stora, boohoo.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next