Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

The Walmart Family Mobile SIM Card Activation Kit includes everything you need to activate wireless service with Walmart Family Mobile. Use this kit to begin receiving Unlimited Talk, Text & Web service, with unlimited calling across the U.S. -- all with no annual contract and no credit check. The Activation Kit can be used with Walmart Family Mobile phones, or any unlocked GSM phone that takes a standard SIM.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation76%32 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Rough start - nice service

05/13/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I started activation on-line. Apparently, something went wrong and I was not able to complete the activation. When I finally managed to reach the correct customer service person, he was very polite and kind, but could not help. I had to call back during business hours (which is very difficult for me most days). But once the activation was straightened out, I have been totally happy with the service. Have been using for past 5 weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 22 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Horrible product, even worse customer service.

01/25/2012
By ,
Upland, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the family mobile sim kit at the Wal-Mart that I work at, and have never been able to make a single call. It's now been 15 days.
Day 1: they tell me that my phone wont be on until the next day because I was porting my phone from MetroPCS
Day 2: My phone gives me a "Calls cannot be made at this time" error when I dial out, or when somebody dials me. So I call customer service and they say that MetroPCS will sometimes hold numbers when porting for 48 hours.
Day 3: Still getting error message and they let me know that they will file a "help ticket" and that it will take up to 72 hours to get my phones up and working, and that there's nothing I can do about it.
Day 6: The help ticket has been "resolved" and the phones should be working fine, is what I'm told when I call them back, which I do because the phones aren't working. They decide to file a second "help ticket" and that it will be another 72 hours.
Day 8: Phones still aren't working I figure I'll call back and find out what's going on, and they tell me that I was rude, and hung up on the last person I spoke with, and they didn't file the second help ticket. (Untrue, I stayed on the line until she asked if there was anything else I needed, and she wished me a good day, and thanked me for calling.) So it will be another 72 hours. I speak with a supervisor who says he will personally call me in 48 hours himself.
Day 11: Phones not working, they tell me that filing a help ticket won't work and that they need to file a trouble desk ticket. This will take up to 72 hours, and they ask me not to call back until then.
Day 14: Phones still aren't working... They will call me when they are working
Day 15: Nothing yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 23 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

easy activation

02/28/2011
By ,
Newton NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really easy to activate your cell phone on the wallmart family plan and it costs me about $100. less per month to more popular plans.
you only need to use the sim card and activation once unless you change your phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Review 24 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Not Clear

03/30/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The activation kit itself is not hard to install. I actually find the aftermath the most confusing. The activation kit comes with 100 mb of usage (which is $5.00) worth of time. I explored this before purchasing but thought this would be alot simplier. On walmart/my family website, it appears it is $45 mo unlimited usage for one person, however when you try to purchase that plan, you are directed to walmart's website where you can purchase a $40 refill card. I'm not sure yet how much time I will use, but this is not what I expected if that $40 refill does not last me a month. Since I have paid for the activation, I will purchase the refill card, but not sure at this point if I would purchase or change services at this point until I see how long the refill card actually last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 25 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
08/11/2011
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not the best connection but a good choice for families with teen boys
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

works well, easy setup, transferred number OK

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setup was easy. I just called the company number, told them the numbers from my package, and then they transferred my old phone numbers from AT&T to the new sim cards. All I had to do then was put the new sim card into my unlocked GSM phone and I had full service for my phone number within 24 hours.
The internet setup was a little annoying. It didn't work right away and I needed to find information online to setup the proxy connection for T-mobile-Walmart. It would have been nice to have the associate just tell me the setup information when I was on the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
please help
Posted 12/13/2011
I have an unlocked phone from at&t also, talk and text on family mobile seem fine, but can not figure out how to configure for web. As you stated, their customer service doesn't help at all with this! Can you please let me know what you entered and where on your at&t phone to get the internet working? TIA
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

some good some bad

11/19/2013
By ,
eagan, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I transfered from t-mobile today, it would not work online so i called and they got it working in a few minutes ( thanks god, i use the phone for work ) the problem i have had is that the person signed me up for phone,text and web ( and i dont want web ) but the guy i called said it was fixed, it was actually my second call as the first call i made to customer service the dude told me that my account didnt exist, i was like " but i am talking to you on it right now" so i hung up and called again. Now the problem i am having is that i cant get the online account set up, i know i need this so i can pay my bills, will have to go to the stora, boohoo.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

useless

01/10/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I checked the coverage of T-Mobile before choosing the Wal-Mart Family Mobile plan. It said we had good coverage in our area. After purchasing new phones and paying for the activation, plus buying a $40 data card, I found that we didn't have service half the time in our own home!! When I called T-Mobile about the issue, I got someone who told me the issue had been reported and I should check back in 3 days. when I called back, I got another person who didn't have a clue what I was talking about. I asked for a supervisor who finally told me that's just the way it is in your area. I went back to the coverage area info and found IN SMALL PRINT................. good coverage from T-Mobile means you may have to go OUTSIDE to use the phone! How ridiculous!! So now I'm out $110 for the fees, and am going back to my previous carrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-5points
Review 29 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Activated our Family Mobile Online

03/01/2011
By ,
Tuscaloosa, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the two Samsung T139 s and the activation kits and I went through the activation process online, and was up and running in short order. We are enjoying our Family Mobile service and are getting better signal and call quality than we were getting with the ATT which I had been using for many years. Worked great for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 30 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

solid service

03/22/2011
By ,
topeka, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you wont regret it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 31 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

stay away from it!

11/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the sim card is JUNK! the company's policy is stupid!
the sim card has BAD reception in most area, where Tmobile and ATT works fine.
the company will charge you the whole month for a few days usage!
After your account cancelled, you have to pay extra $5 dollars for processing fee, just because your account is deactivated!
So, I had to pay about $90 for like 5 days usage(2 lines).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 32 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Nice Product

03/21/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in West Tn and this service works great for me. I already had a tmobile phone so just ordered the activation kit w/sims card. I will probably end up getting a walmart family mobile phone soon bc I can only talk and text on the tmobile phone. I can't get pic text or internet bc that portion is not compatible w/Walmart family mobile. So if you are wondering whether or not to purchase a Walmart Family Mobile phone, go ahead. It will be worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 33 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Would not get this plan again!

01/02/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this product thinking it was going to be T-Mobile. However, it is through a company called Amerilink. Half the time, I have to turn off my phone and turn it back on to get signal. If I hang up on a call and try to call someone else right away, it tells me that I have NO service. Although I made sure that there was coverage where I lived before I purchased this, it is spotty at best. SO disappointed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 34 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

great for singles

05/28/2011
By ,
mt airy,north carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
great for someone who is single,if you have a family i do not prefer this phone.it cost to much to add a line.otherwise it is a nice phone that why i returned it i have a fmily plan pretty cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 35 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

STAY AWAY

09/30/2011
By ,
Aitkin, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent 250 on the phone and activation and it still don't work I called there number 4 times now and it still don't work every time its either we fixed it and now it will take anywhere from 2 hrs to 24 hrs to activate so here i am no phone and i am out the 250! They have made no attempts to compensate me for any of this I had to borrow a colleges phone to finish my business so its been a nightmare to say the least when you call tech support its you teaching them about how this works not the other way around so far this has been very very very bad i would stay away at least till they grow up as a company. So just to summarize I spent more than $250 and this product has never worked and there tech support is a joke!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 36 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

SIM card only $15 and get unlimited DATA for $45!

02/10/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As of February 2012 you can get Unlimited Talk, Text AND DATA for only $45 a month and also from Walmart!
Order a new SIM from Straight Talk for only $15 per SIM. Choose regular size SIM or Micro SIM (for iPhone 4 and 4S users) and choose the AT&T network OR the T-Mobile network!
http://www.straighttalksim.com/
These plans are $45 a month per phone but you get the added benefit of bringing any GSM smart phone with you and using UNLIMITED Data!
That makes Straight Talk a WAY better deal than T-Mobile family if you need internet on your Android or iPhone. If you are NOT interested in using much data AND you are signing up more than one phone, than T-Mobile Family would be a cheaper option. But remember AT&T has better coverage than T-Mobile in some areas, that would be another reason to go with Straight Talk. The good news is in most cities the 2 carrier coverage areas overlap. So coverage will be the same.
Straight Talk is set to 3.5G speeds (HSPA+). T-Mobile calls their HSPA+ network 4G and AT&T calls this same network 3 and a half G (3.5G). Don't worry about the details, if you bring a newer phone on either network that is HSPA+ compatible you will receive speeds that match 4G and/or 4G LTE. That is becuase HSPA+ Speeds max at 42/mbps and LTE max at 50/mbps. Carriers are putting in speeds on both that are much less, usually 4-10mbps on average. So long story short, it doesn't matter if you have an older 3.5G phone or a newer 4G LTE phone, your internet speed will be the same!
Give Straight Talk a try, I've been using a Nokia E71 (GSM PHONE ON 3.5G) and I travel coast to coast and have never had any problems with coverage. Once the tower in my neighborhood went bad and started dropping calls at my house but Straight Talk customer service sent a tech out with in 3 days and fixed the issue. They are great
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Good value for cell users

01/04/2012
By ,
SF, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a second purchase for our unlocked cell phones & it's easy to install & easy to activate. Very helpful when you are not tech friendly like me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 38 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Good for saving money, but limited

01/21/2013
By ,
Crosby, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off this plan saves me $25 a month from at&t and that was without a data plan, but the coverage is not a good as at&t's coverage. Also this plan doesn't support sending or recieving shortcode text, and that is something they don't explain on their plan description or website.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21-39 of 39 total reviews