Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

The Walmart Family Mobile SIM Card Activation Kit includes everything you need to activate wireless service with Walmart Family Mobile. Use this kit to begin receiving Unlimited Talk, Text & Web service, with unlimited calling across the U.S. -- all with no annual contract and no credit check. The Activation Kit can be used with Walmart Family Mobile phones, or any unlocked GSM phone that takes a standard SIM.
Average Customer Rating:
3.791 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation74%32 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Wow, what a DEAL!

12/23/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Walmart Family Mobile is a fantastic product. Left T-Mobile for this and what I got... T-Mobile again, just for $75 or so less per month, running on my iPhones, and working great. Even ported all of my T-Mobile numbers over. The experience start to date has been perfect, the shared data pool is great as well. Went from paying almost $300 month for 3 iPhones with AT&T and getting poor service to $180 with T-Mobile and getting excellent service, to about $100 with Walmart and also getting excellent service. not sure why T-Mobile would allow this, surprised everyone in America is not jumping ship on T-Mobile to this, since it is the same thing, but essentially almost half the price. Thanks Walmart, this is a true value!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
how did you get ur iphones to work?
Posted 11/27/2011
help no one will unlock my iphones!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

customer service

12/30/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought three Family Mobile phones and activation kits for myself and my two college-aged kids. For whatever reason, we had some extended difficulty getting the third phone activated, which entailed numerous calls to the customer service number and another 40 mile trip to the Walmart store to exchange the activation kit for a new one. It was a big headache that went on over 4 days. But the GREAT thing was, the problem was a technical one that was no one's fault, but the customer service throughout was fantastic. No long phone waits to talk to a customer service rep, they always called back when they told me they would, all were very nice and knowledgeable. Honestly, I have never dealt with tech support that was as prompt and easy to communicate with. So thanks, Walmart. Who would have thought such a huge company would be the first I've dealt with to have really excellent tech support and customer service? Thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Review 3 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
02/15/2011
By ,
Superior, WI 1447
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got it activated about a month ago.. It works great around where I live and work. I have not yet to go anywere else yet.. For $45 for unlimited talk and text, WHAT A DEAL!! $25 for any aditional lines (up to 5). I got the $40 webpak along with the activation kits, and i dont have to keep paying for webpaks per month.. Just only the talk and text. If I am running out of data I can 611 or go online and refill the data. Also, you dont have to use a Family Mobile cell phone to use the service! Get the Activation Kit and find a UNLOCKED gsm phone (phone that takes a sim card.. I.E - NOT iphone 4--> = mini-sim) and stick your sim card in it and you should be all set to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Harrisonburg, VA
iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S will work with this, if...
Posted 02/10/2012
Get the iPhone 4 and iPhone 4S to work with this if you buy a 'sim card cutter', like a hole punch, from amazon for $7. It cuts the sim into a 'micro SIM' so it will fit the new phone. BE SURE your iPhone 4 or 4S is unlocked from AT&T first before you can use it on T-mobile.
BUT WAIT A MIN! As of February 2012 you can get Unlimited Talk, Text AND DATA for only $45 a month and also from Walmart!
Order a new SIM from Straight Talk for $15. Choose regular size SIM or Micro SIM and choose the AT&T network OR the T-Mobile network!
http://www.straighttalksim.com/
These plans are $45 per phone but you get the added benefit of bringing any smart phone with you and using UNLIMITED Data!
That makes Straight Talk a WAY better deal than T-Mobile family but only if you are interested in data/internet. If you are not interested in using much data AND you are signing up more than one phone, than T-Mobile Family would be a cheaper option.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Great value, but you may want to check coverage.

03/13/2011
By ,
Rome, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been on t-mobile for a year now, I do not have family mobile but they operate through
t-mobile. Their services are great, but indoor coverage can be ify. Their phone selection is great, I am assuming you can use any t-mobile branded phone. As for their data, if you are a heavy data user, or have an android or other smartphone (blackberry will not work for web or mms because family mobile just runs off of t-mobile coverage, does not have access to the BIS servers though, unless family mobile sells blackberries) you may want to try simple mobile, they still run through t-mobile, but is better for one person because they do not have the family plans, but have unlimited everything for $60. Blackberry web and mms will not work on there either. Over all family mobile is a good investment because t-mobile plans to cover more than at&t does in the coming years, along with 4g in almost all locations on their network.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
+5points
Review 5 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Activated over phone and was not that difficult.

06/28/2011
By ,
Concord, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I was a little hesitate to leave Verizon and try Walmart Family Mobile. It has been a week and I am impressed. I did this to save money and have no regrets. There are no drop calls, internet is good via WiFi and 3G, and customer service speaks clear English and is polite. Instead of buying Walmart phones, I purchased mine, used on Ebay. Be sure the phones are unlocked. You can either purchase them unlocked on Ebay, find a business that can do it for you, or purchase the code from an honest business and later follow instructions for that particular phone posted on Youtube. The “Cliq XT” and “Cliq MB200” both work great on their network. I activated both phones on the Walmart Family Mobile network through their customer service and found it to be easy. I live in Concord CA and have no issues with calls or internet here. Hope this reviews helps those like me considering trying another network to save money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Great Value and so Easy to set up!

06/28/2011
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We switched from T-Mobile to the Walmart Family Mobile to save money. We were worried about the customer service and keeping our phone numbers and we heard that it could take up to 24 hours for our number to be switched over, so we would be without a phone for a full day.
When we activated our new Walmart Family plan there were no problems at all. It was so easy and they walk you thru it step by step. It took maybe 5 minutes and our new phones and plan was up and running with our same phone numbers. no issues at all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Super Value

05/14/2011
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This service (T-mobile) saves lots of money on an annual basis. I used to be a T-mobile customer and this easily saves over 30%. The webpak never expires which is great if you don't use data on a consistent basis. This is no Frills and you should consider bringing your own unlocked t-mobile phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
idaho falls, id
Posted 04/02/2013
virgin mobile has Sprint towers for 35 a month.. it's cheaper.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

I love Family Mobile

03/10/2011
By ,
Chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was with Tmobile for 10 yrs and never had an offer that Family Mobile has given. They are the same carrier but at a much lower price. I have no problems with dropped calls or no signals. I made the switch last month and ported over 5 numbers with no problem. 5 lines plus 1000 mb of data is $185 thats only $37 per line. I'm loving Walmart helping out the average hardworking family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Are the customer service reps based in the states
Posted 08/01/2011
I was wondering if the customer service reps are based in the united states?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
05/06/2011
By ,
Camby, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To get unlimited talk & text for $45 is a great deal. with great coverage in my area through T-Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 10 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

No Web for Blackberry

03/13/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this product to use with my new Blackberry cellphone. Called T-Mobil and started going through the activation process and when almost finished the customer service person asked what kind of phone I had. Told him a Blackberry. And he stated that I could only use call & text, no web. That was one of the main reasons I purchased the SIM card. If you do not want web, it is probably a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 11 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Excellent Product Easy to Configure

11/22/2011
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought my own unlocked phones and ordered these activation kits. Once I received them I followed the excellent instructions on the website and activated online. Had my old numbers ported over and active in a few hours. Important thing is to pay up your account with the provider you are coming from BEFORE doing the transfer since once they port your numbers your old accounts (e.g., at AT&T, T-Mobile etc) will be closed and you won't be able to access them via their websites anymore. Haven't noticed any difference in service whatsoever from the t-mobile service I had (at much higher cost) for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Don't buy this product - ZERO stars

10/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I signed up with this service, ported our numbers from AT&T, and began the worst customer service battle we've ever dealt with. After numerous calls with tech support, we finally discovered that "Good" service on the coverage map means that you MIGHT be able to place and recieve calls from inside a building. We had to stand on the front porch of our home in downtown Lexington Kentucky to get enough signal to make a call. It would drop calls all the time and the call quality was terrible. We even bought my wife one of their phones because we couldn't port her number. So, we canceled the service after having it only 22 days.
Then, after paying the $25 activation kits for two phones ($50) and paying for the first month of service ($70) we got a bill in the mail threatening to ding our credit if we didn't pay for a SECOND month because 6 of the 22 days were in another billing cycle. When I called, I asked if it was possible that I could have service for just two days (one in two seperate billing periods) and be charged for two entire months. The customer "care" rep said, "Yes, it would seem so." We had to pay another $70 so they wouldn't hand us over to a collectin agency and then she told me that we would have to pay a $5 processing fee because we were paying over the phone which was the only option at that time.
So, we paid almost $200 for 22 days of terrible service. If you want a similar expirience, buy this product. If not, go somewhere else for your wireless service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+13points
Review 13 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Nice phone options.

07/15/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Hidden $30 service fee after paying for activation. Customer service is India.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 14 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Family Mobile

05/06/2011
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Service is fantastic! Real people speak clear English, answer the phones quickly, answer questions efficiently and have obviously been well trained. I am soooo happy we changed to this plan. It's a bargain and the phones we got (Samsung Highlights) are great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 15 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit
02/02/2011
By ,
Raymondville TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been with every national cell company over the past several years. One thing I learned is choose what works in your area. You can not always go by the company's coverage map. In my area, Walmart Family mobile does very well. I have used my unlocked att and t-mobile phones with no problem. The price is good. The only down side is if you use a lot of data that will put a dent in you wallet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 16 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

$5 fees for payments & not all phones will work

01/22/2011
By ,
Roy, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First they said it would work on all unlocked GSM phones, but on my blackberry nothing would work besides calls and text. No web, apps, picture messages, etc...
So I canceled my account after 3-4 weeks, after that time I could no longer make payments online or in the store. They also said they do not accept checks or payments by mail.
The only way to pay my final bill was to call in, and they charged a $5 service charge. So I paid it off, then got a bill a month later for the $5 charge, the only way to pay the $5 fee is to call in and pay another $5 to pay for the last fee. By doing this they can charge you $5 a month forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2011
Ok, But BB requires Service Books for Internet etc. To work on all carriers, its not Walmarts fault, Maybe you should have looked that info up. So do be writing bad reviews, its your own fault.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Good deal, doesn't work with Blackberry

09/09/2011
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like that this setup is easy, fast, no contract, no credit check, and a fraction of the price of other carriers. Cell phone reception is good except for at our home, where calls always drop off, but that is just because we live in a low-coverage area. (Refer to Tmobile coverage maps for more info). We originally had the regular TMobile service and we cancelled it and brought our two Blackberry Smartphones over to the Walmart family plan. Because all of the data goes through the Blackberry system first, as opposed to the mobile network (this is how it was explained to me), we are unable to access the data plan features such as email, web browsing, etc, as the services are incompatible. I am disappointed with that, but just need to find a compatible phone with the right price tag and that issue will be resolved. By the way, the phones available at Walmart are a joke, as far as cost, unless you are signing up for a contracted service. We are, however, actually now paying half as much as we were per month, for essentially the same TMobile service. A couple of little glitchy things I have noticed- the voicemail- about once a month, will freeze up. I will receive a voicemail and when I try and play it, the recording says, "You have One-Thirty", instead of saying, "You have one new voice message" and I am unable to access my voicemails for about 24 hours when this happens. Also, if you enjoy getting special offers via text (i.e., Redbox) this service is blocked, via the network, and you won't be able to send or receive promotional text messages. I need to look into this, to see if there is a way to change this. Finally, if you are able to request a number that is brand new- do it! I am annoyed all day, every day, by the previous owner's bill collector and ex-boyfriend calls. The rep that helped us said he had no way of knowing which ones were new numbers and which were not, but some mobile reps in the past have had a way of checking this. Doesn't hurt to ask. Overall, this is a good price for what you are getting, service is good, you can make payments on your bill at any Walmart, and this is fast and simple set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Impressive array of simplistic features

01/15/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product has definitely come up to my expectation and offers good value for the money with no surprises on hidden costs. The trade off is the signal quality does not hold very good all the time and every part of city yet the product packaging and what is bundled suited me perfectly. Easy access of voice mail substituted for missed calles and dropped signals.
I enjoy the service and would gladly recommend this product to other people as it frees me from the yoke of long contracts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

So Far So Good-Actually Great

08/16/2011
By ,
Cleveland Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had Sprint for over 7 years, in the year after visits to one of their centers for service at least 6 times, numerous phone calls due to drop calls, voice mail arriving 3 days later etc., we were told by them that the tower, or whatever mailbox was full and thats what the problem was.They could of told this 6 months ago, but every rep at Sprint we talked to had a different story. What good is a phone when you cannot call out? What if it were an emergency, could we hold that company responsible ? We researched all the major companies and when my husband said Wallmart, I started laughing, now the laugh is on me, the service has been wonderful, no dropped calls, everything that was stated in the plan brochure seems to be true. Customer service was wonderful also. We should have done this a long time ago. We couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Family Mobile SIM Card & Activation Kit

Horrible product, even worse customer service.

01/25/2012
By ,
Upland, Ca.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the family mobile sim kit at the Wal-Mart that I work at, and have never been able to make a single call. It's now been 15 days.
Day 1: they tell me that my phone wont be on until the next day because I was porting my phone from MetroPCS
Day 2: My phone gives me a "Calls cannot be made at this time" error when I dial out, or when somebody dials me. So I call customer service and they say that MetroPCS will sometimes hold numbers when porting for 48 hours.
Day 3: Still getting error message and they let me know that they will file a "help ticket" and that it will take up to 72 hours to get my phones up and working, and that there's nothing I can do about it.
Day 6: The help ticket has been "resolved" and the phones should be working fine, is what I'm told when I call them back, which I do because the phones aren't working. They decide to file a second "help ticket" and that it will be another 72 hours.
Day 8: Phones still aren't working I figure I'll call back and find out what's going on, and they tell me that I was rude, and hung up on the last person I spoke with, and they didn't file the second help ticket. (Untrue, I stayed on the line until she asked if there was anything else I needed, and she wished me a good day, and thanked me for calling.) So it will be another 72 hours. I speak with a supervisor who says he will personally call me in 48 hours himself.
Day 11: Phones not working, they tell me that filing a help ticket won't work and that they need to file a trouble desk ticket. This will take up to 72 hours, and they ask me not to call back until then.
Day 14: Phones still aren't working... They will call me when they are working
Day 15: Nothing yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next