Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lodge Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Lodge Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Producing quality cast iron cookware since 1896, we proudly carry on the legacy started by our great grandfather, Joseph Lodge, as the sole American manufacturer of cast iron cookware. Our Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle is foundry-seasoned and ready to use right away. This grill and griddle combo is reversible and will cover 2 burners on a standard stovetop with ease or take it camping and throw it on the fire. The smooth side on this reversible griddle pan can be used for cooking sandwiches, eggs and pancakes. Use it for everything from crispy crusted pizza to moist, chewy cookies. The ribbed side is of the Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle is wonderful for grilling food like fish, chicken or etc. Conveniently hangs and can be carried easily with the help of the handles. No other cookware has the same heat retention as cast iron. Proudly made in the USA since 1896! Now let's eat!
Average Customer Rating:
4.472 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation91%83 out of 91reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Excellent. Works exactly as their web site says.

07/27/2011
By ,
Easton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using it almost every day for the past month, sometimes both sides in a day.
I'm still getting used to how much oil to add and so far using less and less. Generally I use canola oil as it seems to tolerate a higher temp than olive oil.
Warming it slowly--a few minutes at low-medium heat seems to work--and then bringing the temp up and letting it go for another couple of minutes has been giving me good results.
I really like being able to sear meat and have the fat drip away (with the lined side.)
So far I've done eggs, beef, lamb, vegetables, french toast, burgers, hot dogs, and fish--all with excellent results.
It's hard to resist the impulse to clean with soap, but just scrubbing off with a rough cloth works fine. It's heavy so needs some care to move around the sink and some muscle to scrub--nothing outrageous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Difficult to Clean, Rusts Easy

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item is EXTREMELY difficult to clean due to the angle of the grooves, as well as how close together they are. Every time I made grilled burgers or chicken, small bits of the meat would get down in there and solidify. This happens with all stove grills, but note that most grills have enough space for you to get into the grooves and clean efficiently--this one doesn't. It would take me 45 minutes with a scrub brush and just water (you never want to use detergent on cast iron) to try to get it clean--then I'd invariably have to use steel wool every single time to try to get the rest of what was baked down into the tiniest grooves out. There was still gunk in there whenever I was done--no matter how minimal (because the grooves are too small!!!) and I tried to get in there with a towel to get the water out and thought I had gotten all of it. Two months after I bought it I noticed it was rusting on the grill side with the grooves. Had to just throw it away. IMO this is not worth the money--splurge a little and get a grill with straight grooves, that are wider and easier to clean between.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

just what I wanted...

07/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used it twice. It's basically amazing. Have made steak and chicken on it. Both came out perfect. It gets super hot and does take a little time to get the temperature right. Careful, it does get a little smokey so open a window. The grill side can be tough to wipe down as well so try to get at it while it is still a little warm. Oh and this thing is a bit heavy despite its size. But it is pretty much exactly what I wanted.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Love this reversible griddle!

01/14/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first grill/griddle and I am loving it. I have cooked steaks and burgers on it. My food turns out beautifully. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking to buy a grill/griddle. It is definitely worth the money. I did a lot of research before making my purchase because I have an electric stove and wanted to be sure I purchased the right grill/griddle to use. I am glad I chose to purchase this brand. It works very well on my electric stove. The reviews helped me a lot and hopefully my review will help someone else in the market to purchase this type of product. I used it over 2 small burners and then over a small and large burner. It works well on either side, but is better on the large and small burner as long as you control the temperature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Cast iron is great and so durable!

10/02/2011
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new range and it has cast iron continuous grates and an oval shaped burner in the middle. The Lodge grill/griddle that I bought fits right on the middle grate as though it were made for the range. I have used both sides and it has worked great. I love that it came "pre-seasoned". It is very heavy, though. This was the first time that I shopped on line and went to the store to pick it up. That was great, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Like it a lot

02/19/2013
By ,
Winter Park, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot more manageable than the 16 pound one and very little surface area difference...the design allows for more cooking room because the little handles are in either corner, not along each end. Learn how to use it before hand. Allow to heat up but don't keep it on high and use extra grease until you learn what sticks and what doesn't. Food is cooking quickly on the underside so a lower heat will avoid burning and ruining the seasoning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Good grill

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very heavy cast iron grill that is excellent quality. For the price I rate it a five. This will last for many years to come.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

A winner!!!

08/29/2011
By ,
redmond, oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every once in awhile you come across a plroduct that really does excell one's expectations. This grill arrived just in time for a 6 day river trip and it turned out to be the best item going. Whether grilling steaks on one side to hash browns eggs and pancakes on the other we all were amazed at how the heat is even and the surface easy to work with. Several of the group said they were ordering one as well as soon as we returned. Super grill. Thx.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Perfect for the Camp Stove!

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After using a much lower quality thick aluminum camp stove griddle for many years, I finally found this one. I couldn't be happier with it! Much easier to regulate heat, much better, more consistent cooking, this thing is perfect! If only I'd found it years ago.
Wholly recommend to anyone who might be in the market for a good, quality griddle, whether for camping or home use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

great grill

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits perfect on my camping stove and is dual duty so less I have to take in the camper.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Lodge is the BEST !

05/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You cannot beat Lodge cast iron, and the newer pre-seasoned ones even make them better, they are great at being non-stick without the chemical coatings. Lodge will last forever, you can hand them down to your kids and grandkids, and they are AMERICAN !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Cast iron

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love cast iron
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Lodge cast iron reversible griddle

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well for cooking some things on the grill, frying
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

great product

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great I would recommend it to everyone who like grilling.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Perfect Fit

03/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for my gas grill. my gas grill has three cooking sections and i replaced the middle one with this. i am sure it will fit many other grills as long as it is at least 16 and 3/4 of an inch deep. mine is a snug fit but i like it because it does not slide around when i clean it.
i am not sure which side i like better. the smooth side is great for breakfast, eggs, bacon and pancakes and the ribbed side is great for things i would normally cook on the grill because it prevents flareups and food cannot fall through.
you do have to warm it up for a few minutes before cooking as cast iron takes a while to heat up. once warm it will retain a steady even heat.
i very rarely ever wash it. i just make sure to wipe it clean before it completely cools down. if you forget to wipe it down you will either have to warm it up again or wash it in the sink with hot water. i've heard people say the ribbed side is hard to clean. lodge sell a plastic scraper to make it a lot easier. i don't make a point of getting every single bit of crud out of the channels as long as the ridges are clean. that is where the food rests.
many people spend way too much time cleaning it. the best tip i can give is don't dare use any soap or anything abrasive or you will probably have to re season it. bacon grease works best for me. whenever i cook bacon i just use a few paper towels to soak up the excess grease and leave a light film. after a while it will take on a SOLID black patina. you can tell foods won't stick just looking at it.
for less than 30 bucks it will transform a mediocre grill into top of the line.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

From Campfire to Stovetop!

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I schlepped this griddle from Virginia to California for a camping trip in Redwood Forest. It performed beautifully over the campfire, it's small enough to use with a camp stove, and I would feel confident using it on my gas range at home. I look forward to many years of continued use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Great, typical cast iron grill.

04/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a 2 sided, grill and griddle. It is a perfect size to fit over both burners. It cooks great, just like all good cast iron. It is heavy-again, just like cast iron. You can make pancakes on the grill side or steaks on the griddle. Good purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

Great for our RV stove.

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our griddle for about a week now have used it for panini sandwiches on the grid side and breakfasts on the smooth side. The griddle fits across the back burners perfectly and even fits under the top cover for travel. The griddle works great for our needs, with the only downside being the two hotspots caused by uneven heating over the two gas burners. We are working around the problem by moving food around - we have yet to try pancakes, however, which may not lend themselves to this method.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

This is better than the Factory version offered.

02/11/2012
By ,
Oak Hill, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After the purchase of a new Gas Range, I wanted the Griddle for the center burner. Thier version would have cost $170.00, Plus S/H an Tax. This version fit right in place and has two options to cook with and only 1/3 the cost or less. In addition, I didn't have to wait 6-8 weeks for their version to come from a foregin manafacture, Wal-Marts' version was made over in TN and here in less time tan stated on the order form. Best deal over all. The only differance was the color match between my units and the one from Lodge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lodge Logic Double Play Cast Iron Reversible Griddle

A Very Good Product to purchase

01/19/2013
By ,
Chula Vista, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the perfect item I needed to add to my camping equipment. I haven't tried it yet at a camp site over an open wood fire. But works great using gas burners. Just have to be patient to heat up. However, the manufacturer should enclose a booklet that shows the different ways to utilize this product and proper care and things to avoid. Most griddle/skillets also have a modest "Cookbook" like the Lodge Camp Dutch Oven has included. I really recommend this item as top notch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next