Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bell Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Bell Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

The Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up carries one or two bikes of almost any size. Just attach the Bell Sports bike rack to the back of your car or camper to take your bike wherever you may be traveling. This hitch bike rack features a quick-attach bolt for easy installation and a padded U stabilizer. A durable, powder-coated finish over an e-coated frame will help keep your Bell Sports bike rack looking like new. The hitch bike rack features a one-step folding process for nearly effortless storage when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation88%14 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

A Bike Rack that Saves the Back & Actually WORKS

08/09/2012
By ,
Los Angeles County
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After buying two bike racks, one for the roof, another for the tow-hitch, and spending hundreds of dollars on name-brand equipment that only worked with a mountain bike but not a cruiser or only worked with one car but not another car or only carried a man's bike frame but not a women's, I can finally say the search for a decent "universal" bike rack has ended with the purchase of this Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack "Right Up". There are two flaws in that it should come with a locking mechanisms to keep people from trying to rip off your bikes if it is necessary to make a stop somewhere while transporting them, and it should have reflectors on each of the far ends (or reflective tape) to help other drivers remain at an adequate and safe distance at night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Review 2 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Great buy

02/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised by the quality of this product, I looked at Sport Authority and Dick's Sport. The comprable items where in the $200 range and more. It is easy to to put togather (just use your own tools rather than the one they provides) It holds the bike realy tight and good. The straps are strong. It is easy to hook-up to the car. And easy to un-hook fold and I put it insdie the my SUS so no one would seal it :). For the price it is great deal
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Review 3 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Very functional rack for the price.

07/03/2012
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After over a month of use several times a week, very pleased . Rack secures the bikes so they don't bang together like my old hanging rack. It takes a couple minutes to load, just slightly longer to load than my old rack, but well worth the protection to the bikes. The rack is sturdy and functional at 1/2 to 1/3 the price of other up right racks. Was easy to assemble in less than 30 minutes. Be sure to tighten the bolt that goes through the receiver or the rack will rattle inside the receiver and drive you crazy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 4 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Practical ... even my grandma could use it.

06/22/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hardest part of this setup is getting the nylon straps through the metal where you tire attaches to the rack. However, once that is accomplished, this is the most easiest bike rack to use.
One review talks about the plastic grove that holds the tire braking, this is diffidently use error. The plastic is hard ABS plastic that is made to withstand abuse. I cant see how it is breakable with attaching a bike to it unless its modified. The straps hold extremely and provided you read the instructions, and TIGHTEN THE BOLT on the hitch so the rack doesnt move side to side this rack will ensure your bikes go cross country and back with out issue. I ride an $1800 cross bike and trust that this will hold just like Thule or any other product at a third of the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

very disappointed in Bell products.

05/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this would be a good bike rack for me ......on my truck......assembled it and put it on . Went to use it for the first time to haul my bike back from a ride . I live only 8 miles from where I put the bike on the rack and the place that holds the tire in place broke. I dont have the box anymore to take it back..... this is the third bell product i have bought in racks and all have broken..... they seem to make a cheap product in price but their stuff is also cheap......wouldnt recommend them unless you want to loose your bikes.
+10points
Review 6 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Pleased with product.

10/24/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The assembly instructions left me scratching my head a time or two but I managed to complete it in about 30 minutes. Mounting and dismounting bikes is much easier than my older rack and I don't have to lift the bikes so high. Bikes ride well with little movement. I am happy with the product and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 7 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Good value

06/23/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very sturdy. Takes a while to assemble, conncet to hitch and fasten bikes to the rack.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 8 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

wobbly

04/29/2013
By ,
Eastern Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The assembly instructions are not very clear. Once assembled and loaded with 2 bikes it seemed unsteady. The straps did a good job securing the bikes to the rack but the rack itself seems cheaply made and the rack wobbled to the point I was afraid the bar coming out of the hitch would snap where it bends upward, but it hasn't yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Not bad for the price.

10/22/2013
By ,
Mooreville, N.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The straps are a little on the cheap side, but I have other straps. It tilts up not down a little strange but overall a good product for the price.
Beach bum
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Perfect for a heavy electric bike

11/17/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were thrilled when we found the Bell Right Up 2 Bike Rack. Prior to that, it seemed that the only receiver hitch style bike racks that could accommodate my wife's electric bike (56 pounds with the battery removed) were in the $400+ price range. The Bell rack was about 1/4 of that price, yet it seems sturdy enough and well designed.
We like that the center post swings out of the way when loading the heavier bike on the side closest to the car trunk. Also, because the center post uses a strap to holds the bike upright, you can attach that strap to any part of the bike frame. This helps because my wife's bike is a women's step through frame that has no horizontal frame bar. Therefore, there was no need to buy and install an adapter to create a horizontal cross bar, which would be necessitated by the design of many other racks I've seen.
We have only used the rack once so far, to transport the electric bike to the shop for a tune-up, and the bike seemed to hardly move during the drive. I'm sure the rack will work great when we include my much lighter road bike, since the rack specs indicate it could handle two 60-pound bikes.
We also bought and used a "required" stabilizing strap ("Curt Manufacturing 18050 Bike Rack Stabilizer Strap") which we were lucky to find on Amazon for under $6. Both Bell and Curt, the manufacturer of our receiver hitch, recommend using this strap. It attached easily between the rack's center post and the hinge edge of the car trunk lid. It did seem to add additional stability, which was comforting with the heavy electric bike on the rack. Curt's hitch instructions warn that their hitch warranty is void if a strap isn't used, although the hitch shop that installed our receiver hitch said they had never heard of anyone actually using such a strap with a bike rack.
Instructions for assembling the rack were relatively clear (though I had to measure some of the bolts to make sure I was using the correct ones for a couple of steps), and assembly went much faster than it looked like it might. The rack folds easily if left on the back of the car and also when storing it.
I'm not sure that it will possible be to make the entire rack theft proof, because proper rack attachment to the receiver hitch requires the heavy, threaded bolt. Therefore, using a hitch lock would also require that the lock have identical threads. In addition, because all of the other parts of the rack are simply bolted together (the rack includes a metric wrench so no other tools are needed for assembly), a thief willing to steal everything except the locked tongue portion of the rack still could do so with only an adjustable crescent wrench. We will probably unbolt the rack from the hitch and put it in the car trunk while out biking. Leaving the bikes sitting on the rack - using a cable lock to secure the bikes directly to the "ears" on the receiver hitch - is probably also very risky in a high theft area, because I don't think there are locking cables that can withstand large bolt cutters. Overall, however, the Bell rack is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 11 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Over my expectation

01/22/2014
By ,
Lighthouse Point Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money, light, easy to install and solid. I definitively recommended this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

NOT to be used on a RV or travel trailer

04/13/2013
By ,
Arizona
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I seldom buy without seeing the item/reading specs/reading 'cautions'. I purchased this time without knowing much about the bike carrier except for price and the manufacturer. I felt I needed it and I needed it in a hurry. I didn't know that this rack wasn't to be used on a travel trailer until I read it on the shipping box after I had received it.
This was my fault for buying like I did, but Walmart should have described it better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 13 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

Sturdy Rack for an electric bike

08/29/2013
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to mount the electric bike (heavy) and supports it well by the wheels. The wheel straps must be buckled when not transporting a bike or they will fall off (done that). The post straps are captured even when not buckled. The rack folds up and down and enables the hatchback on the car to be opened.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up

just what was needed

08/15/2013
By ,
Appleton, Wis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this rack a year ago, very satisfied. Use it to carry two comfort bikes across the state and never had a problem. Is adjustable so the grandkids' bikes also fit.Tighten the bolt when mounting and it never sways, rock solid! You'll like this rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bell Sports 2-Bike Hitch Rack Right Up
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5