Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Meade Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Easy to install wired bike computer. Large digital readout, weather resistant. Battery included (1 L1142) Functions: Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, MPH/KPH speed and distance, speed tendency, odometer, trip distrance, trip timer, 12/24 Hour clock, Scan, Auto Stop/Start.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%37 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Worked for my purpose.

06/14/2012
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to use on a dirtbike that just happened to have a 24 inch wheel. It works great. It looks nothing like the picture Though.
It was very easy to set up and the instructions were somewhat helpful. Really like the tie it gives you because you can undo them!. Overall a good product in the lower price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Bell Speedometer Great value

03/28/2011
By ,
Western New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are few items in life that come with the warrenty this little gem does.
Having looked at the ages of the reviewers and the responses (I'm the far side of 65)it's quite obvious we 'boomers' arn't as up on techno speak as our kids and grandkids.
Harris Cyclery .com has a great page on mm sizing for bike rims which should get everyone thru the setting up of the computor (yep..it IS a computor)
700 series wheels are 622mm
27" are 630mm
26" between 580 and 587mm
All I wanted was something that accurately read out the speed and distance and time.
This baby does all that.
Color me happy:o)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Two big tips on this product

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK. First of all, I really love this product for the price. You will NOT be disappointed, I am having a blast with it. It also comes in a monochromatic black color if you don't like the red.
OK. Two big tips to ensure you will be happy. Number one: As others have previously stated, YOU MUST add a bit of glue to the magnet on the spoke or it will fall off and you will lose it. This magnet has to be on the spoke nice and secure. Number two: The operating instructions are WRONG. If you want to reset your trip distance or trip time, the instructions say to hold down both buttons for three seconds. THIS WILL RESET EVERYTHING, INCLUDING ODOMETER, WHEEL SPECS AND CLOCK! Instead, just hold the LEFT button down for three seconds to reset just what you want to.
All in all, for $11, it's pretty killer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Works Great So Far

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For such a low price I am very pleased with this product. It does what I want it to and is easy to use. The instructions aren't great but adequate if you read all the reviews and watch the installation video. A few notes about other reviews: my instructions had the tire size settings in them so maybe they added it later. Holding down both buttons for 3 seconds or removing the battery will reset everything (including the tire size setting so don't lose the instructions#. However you CAN reset the trip meter without resetting the overall odometer. Set it to the trip meter and hold down just the left button for 3 seconds, this resets the trip meter, average speed, and timer. Doing this will not reset the odometer, max speed, and time. Also I had plenty of good quality zip ties. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the battery didn't sit in its compartment very well at first which made the screen fade in and out #losing settings). It hasn't happened since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

good for the price

07/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install. The odometer is accurate, I drove my car over a 4.5 mile route that I take on my bike ride and the odometer had the same 4.5 mile reading. The speedometer also seems to be accurate. I read some reviews about the device not being accurate, I suspect this is caused by the faulty reset function. In order to reset the odometer you have to press both buttons and hold for 3 seconds. Problem is, this also resets the wheel value to the default. If the wheel value is not set correctly the device will not be accurate. You get what you pay for and this device was only $12.00 so I am happy with it. I just don't reset it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Odometer

09/14/2014
By ,
Lewisville , Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't get it to work. A little more complicated than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

a very helpful product.

09/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great product
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Great and only $12.00

08/08/2014
By ,
douglasville, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bell Dashboard 100 is all I expected. It is easy to clear out and start a new trip.
It can come off holder if not locked in. I am very satisfied for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Does what it claims, color might not be best...

12/20/2010
By ,
Encinitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does everything it claims to do and I've been using it on a daily basis for about two months now with no major complaints.
A few considerations for potential buyers...
1) The color scheme... it looks nice on MY bike because I've got a Schwinn and the red color matches my frame perfectly. If your bike is different then you may want to get a speedometer with a more neutral color scheme (grey/black).
2) The wire ties used to attach the thing to the bike are the generic WHITE type. If you've got black shocks then a trip to the hardware store might be a good idea. Wire ties are cheap (about $2 for 100) and black ties are much less noticeable.
3) When setting this up, be sure to read the manual. Specifically, the value that you need to enter for your proper wheel size requires some math. Basically, you need the circumference of your wheel in millimeters. Measure the diameter of your wheel and then multiply by 3.1416 (PI Have this information ready BEFORE you turn it on for the first time, because it will ask you.
4) Have the unit in hand and keep an eye on it when you install the sensor & magnet on your fork & spokes. As close to the center of the wheel is better. Also be careful not to get the magnet TOO close to the sensor, as you don't want them banging against each other while you're riding. You want it just close enough to pick up a reading and no closer than that.
Features of Note:
1) There is an odometer to track your mileage and a trip-meter. The trip-meter can be reset but the odometer stays that way until you have to change the battery - at which point you can set the odometer back to the actual mileage IF you've got a record of it someplace. Nice if you want to know just how many miles you've logged on your new bike... okay not just "nice" but handy for maintenance purposes too... just how long has it been before you repacked the bearings in your axles?
The main reason I didn't give a five-star rating is because the magnet part that attaches to the spokes could have been made a little bit better. That and a few extra wire ties just in case something got attached in the wrong place - with the six ties provided there is really no room for error.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Difficult to use

08/07/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted something that would track my miles and have a trip odometer to track each trip separately. You can't reset the trip odometer without resetting everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/31/2014
Holding down both buttons for 3 seconds or removing the battery resets everything but if you set it to the trip meter and then hold down just the left button for 3 seconds it will only reset the trip, average speed, and timer. The overall odometer, max speed and time will not reset.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo
03/04/2011
By ,
North Fort Myers, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been using it for over a week now.
Works great, accurate and helpful. Display is visible even in bright sun. Shows MPH, and distance. Easy to set up. Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Does what it says.

08/15/2014
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says so I like. Very cheap device and simple install.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Doesn't work

08/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not been able to get it to work.
I have purchased many BELL products before and have been very satisfied.
I purchased this because it had the BELL name.
I did not do any research.
I WOULD NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE AGAIN.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

For the money, best wired speedometer!!!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought one for each of my boys' bikes. Easy installation. Much better product than expected. Ordered the red, but got the black ones (like them better anyways). They work great. For around $12 you can't beat it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

for starters like my self it is one useful tool!

06/03/2012
By ,
sacramento, ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great to keep time im pedaling distance, speed, and speed im traveling.plus distance,in mile or km.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Could be good value.

01/08/2011
By ,
Flower Mound, YX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The installation instuctions are terrible and you will have to go out and purchase all new zip ties. The ties that came with the unit were so brittle they broke in my hands when I tried to use them. Fortunately I had some on hand and used those. The instructions do not tell you where to place the sensor on the wheel. Follow the advice in the other reviews and you will do just fine. It seems to be accurate, but you will have to work with it for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

The cable broke the 2nd day

07/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I think it's probably a good product and it worked great for one day, but then the cheap, weak cable snapped and I couldn't splice it back together. I would like to get another one but I'm afraid the same thing might happen again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Works great and it's a bargain also.

03/07/2014
By ,
Boynton Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wanted to know how far I biked, so I looked at price and good reviews. This Bell fit the bill and it works great. It was fairly easy to install, but I have installed 4 or 5 of them from different manufacturers on family bikes over the last few years. On a measured mile it was accurate to within 15 feet so no complaints there. It shows speed also and that's about all I cared about but it has other features. The display is clear also. For about $12 it deserves a very good rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Installs easily

06/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a snap to put on my bike and works perfectly! Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to track their progress without investing a ton of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

GREAT DEVICE

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what I wanted It does everything I could ask for and more for just under $10.
I have logged over 50 miles in the two weeks that I had it. It shows speed, miles traveled, time traveled. It then will show hi, average and low speed for the past ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next