Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meade Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Meade Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Easy to install wired bike computer. Large digital readout, weather resistant. Battery included (1 L1142) Functions: Current Speed, Average Speed, Max Speed, MPH/KPH speed and distance, speed tendency, odometer, trip distrance, trip timer, 12/24 Hour clock, Scan, Auto Stop/Start.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation84%53 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Worked for my purpose.

06/14/2012
By ,
Kingsport, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to use on a dirtbike that just happened to have a 24 inch wheel. It works great. It looks nothing like the picture Though.
It was very easy to set up and the instructions were somewhat helpful. Really like the tie it gives you because you can undo them!. Overall a good product in the lower price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Bell Speedometer Great value

03/28/2011
By ,
Western New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are few items in life that come with the warrenty this little gem does.
Having looked at the ages of the reviewers and the responses (I'm the far side of 65)it's quite obvious we 'boomers' arn't as up on techno speak as our kids and grandkids.
Harris Cyclery .com has a great page on mm sizing for bike rims which should get everyone thru the setting up of the computor (yep..it IS a computor)
700 series wheels are 622mm
27" are 630mm
26" between 580 and 587mm
All I wanted was something that accurately read out the speed and distance and time.
This baby does all that.
Color me happy:o)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Two big tips on this product

06/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK. First of all, I really love this product for the price. You will NOT be disappointed, I am having a blast with it. It also comes in a monochromatic black color if you don't like the red.
OK. Two big tips to ensure you will be happy. Number one: As others have previously stated, YOU MUST add a bit of glue to the magnet on the spoke or it will fall off and you will lose it. This magnet has to be on the spoke nice and secure. Number two: The operating instructions are WRONG. If you want to reset your trip distance or trip time, the instructions say to hold down both buttons for three seconds. THIS WILL RESET EVERYTHING, INCLUDING ODOMETER, WHEEL SPECS AND CLOCK! Instead, just hold the LEFT button down for three seconds to reset just what you want to.
All in all, for $11, it's pretty killer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Great product

07/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked as advertised, was confused about resetting to zero when reading reviews. Product worked great, it reset all readings except odometer which is how it is suppose to work. To reset, just go to each functional mode except odometer mode, press the left reset button for three seconds, the numbers will reset to zero. I did receive a different model then the one advertised on the web page, received a all black model with two push buttons at the bottom of the screen. Product is accurate, as I measured a 2.5 mile distance using a GPS and car mileage indicator.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Works Great So Far

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For such a low price I am very pleased with this product. It does what I want it to and is easy to use. The instructions aren't great but adequate if you read all the reviews and watch the installation video. A few notes about other reviews: my instructions had the tire size settings in them so maybe they added it later. Holding down both buttons for 3 seconds or removing the battery will reset everything (including the tire size setting so don't lose the instructions#. However you CAN reset the trip meter without resetting the overall odometer. Set it to the trip meter and hold down just the left button for 3 seconds, this resets the trip meter, average speed, and timer. Doing this will not reset the odometer, max speed, and time. Also I had plenty of good quality zip ties. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the battery didn't sit in its compartment very well at first which made the screen fade in and out #losing settings). It hasn't happened since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Erases all information

06/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When you clear your trip (total distance, tire size, time etc.)_
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Does what it claims, color might not be best...

12/20/2010
By ,
Encinitas, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does everything it claims to do and I've been using it on a daily basis for about two months now with no major complaints.
A few considerations for potential buyers...
1) The color scheme... it looks nice on MY bike because I've got a Schwinn and the red color matches my frame perfectly. If your bike is different then you may want to get a speedometer with a more neutral color scheme (grey/black).
2) The wire ties used to attach the thing to the bike are the generic WHITE type. If you've got black shocks then a trip to the hardware store might be a good idea. Wire ties are cheap (about $2 for 100) and black ties are much less noticeable.
3) When setting this up, be sure to read the manual. Specifically, the value that you need to enter for your proper wheel size requires some math. Basically, you need the circumference of your wheel in millimeters. Measure the diameter of your wheel and then multiply by 3.1416 (PI Have this information ready BEFORE you turn it on for the first time, because it will ask you.
4) Have the unit in hand and keep an eye on it when you install the sensor & magnet on your fork & spokes. As close to the center of the wheel is better. Also be careful not to get the magnet TOO close to the sensor, as you don't want them banging against each other while you're riding. You want it just close enough to pick up a reading and no closer than that.
Features of Note:
1) There is an odometer to track your mileage and a trip-meter. The trip-meter can be reset but the odometer stays that way until you have to change the battery - at which point you can set the odometer back to the actual mileage IF you've got a record of it someplace. Nice if you want to know just how many miles you've logged on your new bike... okay not just "nice" but handy for maintenance purposes too... just how long has it been before you repacked the bearings in your axles?
The main reason I didn't give a five-star rating is because the magnet part that attaches to the spokes could have been made a little bit better. That and a few extra wire ties just in case something got attached in the wrong place - with the six ties provided there is really no room for error.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Great Unit

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has all needed functions to keep track of your bike ride.
Bonus-- When you come to a stop, the computer stops much quicker than another bike computer I have from a high-end Company-- making for more accurate results.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Good product but not without its quirks

10/13/2014
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using the Bell Dashboard 100 for a couple of weeks now and have come to appreciate its functions and accuracy during that time. It should be said that I received a black and silver model that has two buttons at the bottom instead of the black and red, one button configuration pictured on the Walmart.com site. Like others, I thought the product didn't work right out of the box in spite of competent installation. No matter how closely I positioned the spoke magnet, the computer didn't register the wheel's revolutions. On the theory that the magnet wasn't strong enough, I added a 1/4" diameter by 1/8" thick rare earth magnet (Neodymium) to the existing magnet and that solved the problem. Also like others, I've ended up erasing all the settings by trying to clear the trip information as directed in the manual. To clear the trip info, just press and hold the left button until the display shows a zero value. All in all, a good product for the price, but it's not a hassle-free, out-of-the-box experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo
03/04/2011
By ,
North Fort Myers, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Been using it for over a week now.
Works great, accurate and helpful. Display is visible even in bright sun. Shows MPH, and distance. Easy to set up. Great price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Great Features

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a birthday gift for my husband and he hasn't ridden his bike yet, but he is ready to try it out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Bell bike speedometer

06/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Came missing a part and I ended up spending 40% of the price AGAIN returning it to the company. Instructions so complicated I haven't yet installed it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

excellent price

06/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A little difficult to program
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

good for the price

07/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to install. The odometer is accurate, I drove my car over a 4.5 mile route that I take on my bike ride and the odometer had the same 4.5 mile reading. The speedometer also seems to be accurate. I read some reviews about the device not being accurate, I suspect this is caused by the faulty reset function. In order to reset the odometer you have to press both buttons and hold for 3 seconds. Problem is, this also resets the wheel value to the default. If the wheel value is not set correctly the device will not be accurate. You get what you pay for and this device was only $12.00 so I am happy with it. I just don't reset it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

for starters like my self it is one useful tool!

06/03/2012
By ,
sacramento, ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great to keep time im pedaling distance, speed, and speed im traveling.plus distance,in mile or km.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Could be good value.

01/08/2011
By ,
Flower Mound, YX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The installation instuctions are terrible and you will have to go out and purchase all new zip ties. The ties that came with the unit were so brittle they broke in my hands when I tried to use them. Fortunately I had some on hand and used those. The instructions do not tell you where to place the sensor on the wheel. Follow the advice in the other reviews and you will do just fine. It seems to be accurate, but you will have to work with it for a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

it does NOT look like the picture.

04/15/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you are selecting this model based on the picture shown by Wallmart, be aware that Bell no longer makes the Dashboard 100 Speedo with the red border and bottom. The updated design is solid black with two silver colored buttons on the bottom, and even the Bell logo (which was moved up to the top) is no longer in red.
I ordered this model rather then the more expensive wireless version mainly because it would have looked better on my bike (which is also black with red accents). I called Bell up to find out if they had different color options, and was told that they changed the look a few years ago and no longer have the red and black ones available.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

dashboard 100

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install works great!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

took it on road acted weird

04/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
put on in the shop and tested it, it worked great. took it on the road and it started to act weird after about ten miles, then by the time was back at shop, less than 20 miles, it stopped. turn it in to Walmart and got different one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bell Dashboard 100 Speedo

Fantastic for the cost.

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For only about $13 this thing is great.
PROS
-fairly easy to set up and install.
-pretty darn accurate (provided you type the correct rim diameter in)
-only $13
-cool features
CONS
-wish there was a better way to reset things like the odometer (when you reset this it resets everything)
-if the battery dies you lose all stored info but I believe you can reenter old data
For what it's worth, this thing is awesome. It obviously isn't anything special and lacks some cool features and ease of use but hey it $13 what can you expect. Obviously a $60 one would be far superior but they all work fundamentally the same, meaning an expensive one isn't even more accurate than a cheap one if your rim size isn't correct. This little guy has all the basics and would work for most people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next