Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Microsoft Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Packed with features, the Microsoft LifeCam HD Webcam is designed to deliver clarity, focus and vivid color. The LifeCam HD-5000 Web camera utilizes Microsoft TrueColor Technology to deliver an accurate and realistic picture. The true 720p HD video, auto focus feature and 16:9 widescreen format make this Microsoft LifeCam a perfect fit anywhere from the home office to the dorm room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%110 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 144 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
77
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Performs great

12/26/2010
By ,
Belen New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have used several web cams in past but this webcam performs very good with video & audio use. I write & record Demo's for different artist, & the only slight problem I found with this webcam is when recording audio there is a slight background noise & I had to lower webcam volum down to about 25% when recording because of distoration (very sensetive) Will pick up sound from outside of studio with windows & doors closed. Very clear resolutation with low light situtation's. All In All very good webcam & for price would recommend this product. Installation on windows 7 program was a snap took 5 minutes & was up & running however if I purchase another microsoft webcam I will purchase the 1 with the noise canceling mic
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Very Nice High-Def Web Cam !!!

12/26/2010
By ,
Western NC, USofA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pictures & video for the price. Much better than the older Logitech cam I had a couple of years ago. If comparing with another cam, be sure that the other one is a HD (720 or higher) resolution.
This MS HD-5000 LifeCam works great with SKYPE or YouTube. I enjoy creating "off-line" videos, and then uploading them to the internet.
Video conferencing is very clear. It has a built-in mic that is very clear as well. The software that's included has a funny app that lets you add "character" to your face. It's kinda like Photoshop effects. My kids love it! The auto focus & True Color features are really a BIG plus. People that complain about the AF are simply moving around in their chair apparently. I have no problems with it at all. If a small object is held in front of the cam while you're still sitting there, it will automatically focus in on it. So great!
One of the few true high-definition (HD) webcams on the market that sells for a decent price. I paid $19.00 for mine (different online store) last month. They sell for up to $70 at various stores...
This camera will produce very good still photo's as well as 720 HD video's. I realize that the latest & greatest HD is in 1080+ resolution, but I don't play that silly "gotta have the best now" game...
Check-out some of the reviews on YouTube for sample videos if you're still wanting more info.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Amazing!!

11/04/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was searching through the website looking for a camera that could meet it's given expectations and this one did! It's beyond what i could imagine. It's quality is equivalent to my friends $100 Logitech webcam and i paid a fraction of the price. It's by far most the be webcam i've purchased so far. If you don't believe me watch youtube videos with people using this camera it's great. It even comes with a little studio with effects so you don't have to purchase one. If you're looking this is the one for you. Its sound quality is amazing as well, below is a video to demonstrate.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

great color USB camera got on sale for $30.

11/23/2012
By ,
Tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works fantastic. There is a 5 ft USB cable attached to camera. I would suggest buying a USB extension cord for this if you want to place pc a distance from your pc. You can install the CD sftware (ver 3.5) for this camera but get online and search for Microsoft HD-5000 software download and get ver 3.6 for this camera to work with a digital surveillance software call Digi-Watcher (at digi-watcher.com) Only $39 for the licensed version but they let you download a test program you can use for a 30 minute recording session, at a time ...so you can try it with whatever camera you buy).
Easy to setup, great design with a sturdy, flexible , black rubber like support band that can cinch/grab whatever ledge you set this camera on/by. Love it for the price/value
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

LOVE IT!

05/21/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking at this product online and decided to go to the store to make the purchase but it was $44.95 at the store! So I decided to go with a Logitech web cam for about $20 bucks. Well, after I got home I got online again and realized that all I had to do was purchase this web cam online and pickup at the store for only $28.95! So needless to say I never opened the Logitech web cam package, and returned it for this one instead!
I am VERY HAPPY with this product! I live in NC & my boyfriend lives in WI. We talk more than we EVER have before! This was the BEST INVESTMENT I've made in an electronic purchase! Very happy! Thanks Wal-Mart or providing so many options and low prices! Keep'em coming!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/01/2012
why only 28.95?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

PRODUCT REVIEW

04/30/2011
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound & photo quality is excellent. I bought this mainly to keep in touch with my friends in other countries. I am not into the whole webcam thing, but this one is excellent, I love the auto focus feature & it captures even if your 5 feet away, your still crystal clear lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Va. Beach, Va
AUTO FOCUS
Posted 07/08/2011
I don't know how anybody can rate this product a 5 star when your pic goes out of focus every 10-15 sec. Not even a 1 star. You have to turn off true color just to get it to stay somewhat in focus, but then you lose other features. I am returning ASAP. Just google hp-6000 auto focus problem and you will see I am not the only one with this problem and MS knows there is a problem but still is selling it.
-2points
Customer Avatar
Gunnison, CO
Disappointed
Posted 06/18/2011
Bought this cam to replace my old Intel Pro which wasn't compatible with new OS. What a shame. While this cam has a clear picture, thats all it does. Can't get close-ups, change zoom, won't fit on a tripod. Software is a joke....It was the most expensive my Walmart had @ $44 +.
A good cam for Grandma sitting in front of the monitor.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Blind Squirrel and Nuts

10/16/2011
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been an IT professional for 22 years but had never, ever been interested in the world of webcamery. Stumbling into buying this camera was the best stumble ever. It's terrific.
NOTE: If you have less than 2 gigabytes of memory, the LifeCam software that ships with this webcam will suck the pep out of your computer's performance. Not to worry. If you are using a third-party application, you don't have to use LifeCam. But the camera is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001
08/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this webcam! It's cheap, easy to use and has a very good clear video. It comes with easy to use software for easy configuration. I like it since it has good video at 30fps while still being a clear one. This is especially handy for me as I use it during with my live internet tv show. The software that is provided allows you to take pictures or record videos with the cam. It has a built in mic that also works great.
PROS - built in mic, universal stand, good quality output. works great with Skype
CONS - the software settings reset after you shut down the camera. The autofocus should be turned off in order for it to not lose you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Excellent camera for the price

02/20/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll join the chorus of those saying that this Web camera is an exceptional value for the money. I'll also agree that the autofocus is pretty awful -- constantly updating -- out of the box. However, if you install this camera properly, you should be prompted to do a firmware upgrade shortly afterward; if you do as instructed (download the firmware, run it, unplug the Web cam, then plug it back in), the constant autofocus issue should be largely resolved.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001
09/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Focuses way too much. The audio cracks, pops and lags. When I put on to YouTube, the quality looks bad. However, the resolution is pretty good when editing in windows movie maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
in Texas
My bad...there is no inappropriate comment
Posted 11/29/2012
It must be the time of day...Lilyah's comment is not inappropriate, it was if fact very helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Not bad for the price.

01/04/2012
By ,
Montville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first webcam. Other reviews I read said the auto focus is annoying. They are right. You can and should turn if off. My daughter has found that if you record video with sound then play it back the voice does not match the sound. I have not played with this to see if I could correct it yet. The picture quality is great. The special effects you can do are cool. I can not compare those with other webcams if the even have the feature. The set up and use out of the box was simple. No issues at all. Definetly order this from Walmart.com vs getting it in the store. Much better value on line. Yes there is/was a price difference when I purchased.
I would recommend this webcam for the fun of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Nice Webcam

10/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, this is a very good webcam. I agree with others that the auto focus can be a bit annoying at times however it displays an extremely clear picture. Walmart.com had the best price around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001
06/18/2011
By ,
N Cal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cheap looking webcam doesn't work. Don't be fool by all the positive reviews. Bought one and it was easy to set up, just load the CD and plug it in. The problem is it just kept adjusting the focus, zooming in and out every few seconds or so even if you don't move. Can't get it to work will return to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
patterson ca
Posted 06/30/2011
you can turn off the auto focus and adjust the focus manually bu simply going to setting, and no there's no auto zoom that's just what a camera looks like while focusing
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001
07/13/2011
By ,
Hemet CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Camera works well but I regret ordering one with auto focusing. Camera keeps making bothersome adjustments.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Excellent quality and features for this webcam.

11/02/2011
By ,
Las Vegas,NV.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did research on webcam's before I came across the LifeCam Hd-5000.So I was surprised that the cost was only $30.82 after taxes.Having read the reviews of others who purchased this one,I found that the focus problem that was mentioned wasn't nearly as bad as they implied.If you move around a lot yes it does tend to repeat focus adjustments but hey,sit there and use it,you'll be fine.You get some cool features with it too.Funny hats/faces and picture pinch-warp and others.Change the hue-tone etc.Snap shot is nice,30fps and 720 HD is nice.It's a nice cam!BTW,it has panoramic { wide lens }view that isn't on most similar webcams as well as a LED light that lets you know it's on and works in low light really good.Built in mic that isn't so great but works none the less. * The focus issue can be disabled in the options *
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

buy online - cheaper then in store

10/01/2011
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this online and did store pickup. Saved nearly $15 doing it this way compared to my local store pricing. Web cab works great with Skype - thats the only reason I bought it, and has fun features to it. The only thing we really dont like is that its constantly re-focusing even with very little movement so the people on the other side of a video chat do not see a constant clear view of us, its like watching a camera auto-focus on a subject that never locks in.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Great Camera but annoying

08/13/2011
By ,
New York
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
If you were looking to purchase this webcam for any reason it is a great deal.
The quality is nice, The price was amazing for the standard, but it is annoying.
The auto focusing feature activates every 5 seconds and it can be disabled but that's just a hassle of it's own.
All in all I recommend this camera for it's price and I would buy it again in a flash but i don't have to because of the lifetime warranty. (:
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Great camera for the price

01/24/2012
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this camera for an elderly customer. The customer was not very tech savvy, and needed the camera to work without much hassle. I installed the camera and did the initial configuration myself. The install was fairly painless, although I was very disappointed to learn that the disc included in the packaging didn't actually include everything for the install. The installer program still needed to download a significant amount of data from the web. I mounted the camera to the customer's flatscreen TV, and noticed that the camera didn't really hold on very well... it basically just kind of sat on top. It's sufficient if you don't jostle the cables or monitor around, but I don't think I would recommend it for a laptop. Several people who have reviewed this camera have noted that the autofocus tends to be annoying. Yes, it does seem to autofocus more often than necessary, but I haven't heard any complaints from my customer. The onboard microphone works exceptionally well. I tested it prior to installing it on my customer's computer, and I was able to sit across the room (approx 12ft away) while video chatting, and the other person was able to hear me loud and clear.
The video quality on this camera is in my opinion a bit lacking. It says it's an HD camera, however it doesn't have HD functionality in most video chatting programs. Skype, for example displayed a mediocre resolution. The color quality and automatic brightness adjustment, however, worked exceptionally well. Even when backlit, the subject is very clearly visible and well lit.
Overall, this is a very decent camera for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Simple Use

08/26/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this webcam mostly for the price. As an initial camera it does everything I want it to do and more. It is everything I need for what I use the camera for. Works great on skype and other video messaging systems.
The only con is the auto focus I had to shut it off or else it would keep trying to focus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Microsoft LifeCam HD-5000 USB HD Webcam 7ND-00001

Good Value but the auto focus is a little annoying

10/01/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the camera, very easy installation just install and plug and play. Works with skype and no glitches just focus needs to be improved on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next