Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Enjoy a terrific HDTV experience with the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Watch conventional and digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available with the ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(604 Reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Recommendation64%387 out of 604reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

problems with tv.

12/25/2010
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tv came to me with the screen broken on all four corners. It would have been too heavy to hang on the wall. It probably would have been ok to sit on the stand had it not been broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 22 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

DONT GET!

02/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this tv on Saturday night, and by Sunday night it didn't work. The screen just went black, and after a little while it finally turned on, only to be blotchy. Finally the screen went to normal, and a few minutes later, it went black again and wont work at all anymore, the only way you know it's on it the little blue light. DO NOT GET!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Very disappointed

05/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality on this tv is of poor quality..i adjusted the settings on it several times and it still looked blurry, at first i thought it was just me but my son noticed it as well. what really set me off was the fact when i turned the tv on there is a big black bar on the bottom of the screen (defect), i tried changing the picture setting but to no avail. So at this point i was going to return the television bk to walmart but then i thought to call RCA for assistance with the black bar. RCA sent a tech to come out to my house and he couldnt fix it..soooo today UPS is suppose to come out and come get the tv and my money will be refunded through on oncorpus (I think thats the name of the company)...needless to say i am very upset with the product and now i have to wait about a week to get a refund, which means i cant buy another tv in the meantime..ugh so FRUSTRATED!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 24 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Do NOT purchase!!

12/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My girlfriend bought this TV for me as a early christmas gift. We picked it up at a local walmart because it was site-to-store. When we got home we put a stand together to put the TV on. When i went to pull the TV out of the box and take the clear protection film off, the screen was cracked all over and busted! The same walmart is letting us bring the TV back and getting another that is the same price plus a few dollars more. Im sure waiting on another to be shipped would take weeks! From reading the reviews up above i see that the TV was not good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 25 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken Screen

12/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered it for site to store. Picked it up in a week and the screen was shattered.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 26 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/16/2010
By ,
Greenville, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lasted 1 hr. and the screen blew out. or somthing went "pop" and all was black, no sound or nothing. have returned it to walmart and have had it replaced with a different model. (yet to be received).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 27 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Sad Christmas

12/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
All the kids and grandkids chipped in this year to get my mom the TV she wanted. She was so excited. Although the TV was well packaged, once unwrapped, there were cracks along both sides of the screen and I guess the plasma all leaked out. We took it back to our local Walmart, got our money back, but all the TV's were $100 more than on-line, and they were all out of the TVs within our price range. A very disappointing Christmas for my mom. I was very unhappy with the sub-contracted delivery service, SEKO, also.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 28 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

CRACKED SCREEN

12/29/2010
By ,
Petal, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ORDERED THIS TV AS A CHRISTMAS PRESENT FOR OUR FAMILY. WE JUST OPENED IT TONIGHT AND THE SCREEN IS CRACKED IN SEVERAL PLACES. WE WILL HAVE TO RETURN IT AND WAIT FOR ANOTHER ONE TO BE DELIVERED OR TRY TO FIND ANOTHER TV IN THE STORE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 29 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

My Christmas TV

01/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It arrived at my door just before Christmas with a cracked display screen. We never even took it all the way of of the box. We took it back to the local Wal Mart store where my money was courtesly refunded. Next time, I will not have it shipped to my home, but to the store instead! It was so disappointing. I have another one just almost like it same brand, size, etc. It is just over a year old and has red streaks all in the picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

The product was broken

01/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was first noticed that the box was seriously broken. We took it home anyway. But when it was opened my husband noticed that there were "spider web veins " on the screen. But he hooked it up anyway, and since there was no picture, sound,or anything. We took it back and got our money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 31 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

nice tv

03/14/2011
By ,
boston, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get such a large tv at such a good value, until i tried hooking up my dvd player, wii, and my HD cable box....only to have the cable guy inform me that the HD port on the back of the tv was already broken...straight out of the box and broken is never a good thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 32 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

BEWARE!!!

05/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item back in December when they had a great one day deal for $379.00 and free shipping.Had it shipped to my house(which my brother warned me NOT to do).I didnt open the box immediately but when I did,the screen was shattered in a million pieces!I understand things happen and Walmart did eventually fix the problem..4 TELEVISIONS LATER..each were shattered.I wont go into the ordeal in between each of sending them back.I still dont know whether this was a Walmart problem or RCA problem but Walmart claims they got back over 10,000 of them back broken..make that 10,004!!!!BEWARE!!!!!I cant attest to much of the quality of the tv since I have only had mine 2 days..5 months after my first order! Good price if you maybe have it shipped to store and make sure its not broken before leaving.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 33 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

damaged t.v.

11/23/2010
By ,
Plainfield, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this t.v and it came with the screen completely cracked. Fed Ex picked it up and another one was shipped to me and the second one also came with the screen cracked in multiple places. I have no idea when or how the damage happened, but needless to say we do not want anything to do with this t.v. or having another one shipped from Walmart.com to our home.
Very disappointing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
-2points
Review 34 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken

11/29/2010
By ,
Brunswick, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived for in-store pickup today. Went home and unpacked TV. Screen smashed in. Took back to store. Refund given. Oh well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 35 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/12/2010
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
delivered with broken screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 36 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

DOA

12/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this product from the website. It was delivered to my local Walmart. Box in good shape so it did not look like it could have damaged in shipping. Took it home and hooked it up to HDMI. To my surprise and disappointment the bottom 4 to 5 inches of the screen did not work. I tried the aspect feature and even different settings on the cable cox with no luck. This is not like having to take a toaster back to the store. The box is huge and I will have to get help in order to return it. Getting something else home will not be easy as well. I will not be getting another one. To bring something home and have it fail right out of the box will keep me away from RCA. To many other manufacturers out there. I bought an RCA because of the name recognition and it appeared to have some good reviews. Just not from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 37 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

another shattered screen

12/16/2010
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ship to home truck driver met me at night along an interstate exit to deliver me the TV, AWESOME delivery guy!!!
However...... when i got the TV home and took it from the box, just like it seems every other person who bought this TV, the screen was shattered. I guess this one will make its way back to the store tomorrow. Good thing the shipping was free, I guess they are shipping broken screen TVs for free and keeping the trucking companies in business??
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 38 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Arrived Damaged

12/29/2010
By ,
Rock Island, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this on Nov 21 and was home when it was delivered a few days later. My husband opened the box Xmas day and the screen was cracked in the corners. We just got home from the local Walmart, where they returned the TV with no problem. BUT we were VERY disappointed to have received a broken TV and I cannot believe all the other reviewers who have had the same experience! What the heck happened at the RCA warehouse?!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 39 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

RCA 42" TV

12/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I finaly recived the TV 1 day late the screen was totaly shattered, had to return it to the nearest wal-mart for exchange
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 40 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Shipping Disaster

01/03/2011
By ,
Dupo, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am unable to rate this product due to the fact that the TV was purchased as a Christmas gift however, the item was received with a broken screen. I feel that the defect was one caused by the shipping company (Seko Worldwide). Luckily I was able to return the item to the local Walmart store and received a full refund on 12/24/10 and fortunately found a suitable replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
21-40 of 500 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next