Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Enjoy a terrific HDTV experience with the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Watch conventional and digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available with the ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(604 Reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Recommendation64%387 out of 604reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

check upon arival

11/29/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not check out reviews before purchasing this RCA TV. It was delivered today and while unpacking, found the screen was broken. Returned the unit in original packaging to my local store without any issues. Read the reviews after getting back home and decided to purchase a different brand, same size and selected site to store. Hope to have better luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 22 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

would not buy

12/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this TV with the expectation that it would be a good product. Have owned RCA tvs in the past and they were good. Took the tv out of the box and set it up, when I turned on the power all I got was a buzzing sound. Called the service center and was told that they only have the contract for the lcd models. Asked me to look on the back of the tv for the manufacturer as it could be one of several. Told me there is no RCA anymore just manufacturers who pay to use the name. I just took the tv back, got my money and went and bought a vizio which workedperfectly out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 23 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken on Arrival

12/02/2010
By ,
York, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this tv online. Delivered to my home by FedEx. When we opened it it was still in good packaging, everything was in place, but...the screen was SMASHED!! It looked like something had been dropped right in the middle of the screen but the box was not damaged. Maybe they are shipping them this way! We returned it to the store with no problem and went somewhere else and bought a Samsung! Now we have a good tv!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 24 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken!

12/03/2010
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When this first arrived, the screen was shattered, so I requested an exchange. After a week of waiting, the replacement arrived shattered too! Getting a refund this time around.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 25 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Bad display

12/03/2010
By ,
Peoria, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box the bottom third of the viewable area was black. Had to wait 5 days for the RCA repair man and he could not fix it and advised to return it (which I did).
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 26 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/03/2010
By ,
Zanesville, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived Broken...Package not damaged, TV packed very well, however screen shattered. After reading all the reviews deceided not to reorder, great price but not a good product, the only star is for a non -hassel return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 27 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Do NOT purchase!!

12/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My girlfriend bought this TV for me as a early christmas gift. We picked it up at a local walmart because it was site-to-store. When we got home we put a stand together to put the TV on. When i went to pull the TV out of the box and take the clear protection film off, the screen was cracked all over and busted! The same walmart is letting us bring the TV back and getting another that is the same price plus a few dollars more. Im sure waiting on another to be shipped would take weeks! From reading the reviews up above i see that the TV was not good quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 28 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken Screen

12/05/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered it for site to store. Picked it up in a week and the screen was shattered.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 29 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one had a cracked screen and the next one, the color was washed out. Mostly likely shipping troubles, but not worth a third time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 30 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

broken!!

12/07/2010
By ,
alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this T.V because of the price. I got it shipped to my house for free. Sounds great? When I get it out of the box the screen is in 10 different pieces. I took it back to local Wal Mart without any trouble. However, they did not carry this brand so they told me I would have to reorder off the website again. I go to reorder and Walmart has jumped the price up $20.00. So needless to say I did not risk it getting sent to me again broken at an even higher price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 31 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

RCA 42" Plasma TV

12/09/2010
By ,
Spicer, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our TV was received with the screen having lines in it. Plugged it in and there was nothing. Apparently the tv was damaged in shipment OR was defective before it was shipped.
I returned the TV to the Walmart Store in Willmar, MN.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 32 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/12/2010
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
delivered with broken screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 33 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

DOA

12/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered this product from the website. It was delivered to my local Walmart. Box in good shape so it did not look like it could have damaged in shipping. Took it home and hooked it up to HDMI. To my surprise and disappointment the bottom 4 to 5 inches of the screen did not work. I tried the aspect feature and even different settings on the cable cox with no luck. This is not like having to take a toaster back to the store. The box is huge and I will have to get help in order to return it. Getting something else home will not be easy as well. I will not be getting another one. To bring something home and have it fail right out of the box will keep me away from RCA. To many other manufacturers out there. I bought an RCA because of the name recognition and it appeared to have some good reviews. Just not from me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 34 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Cracked scfeen

12/13/2010
By ,
Morgan City, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thank goodness for walmart's easy return policy. That' s the only good thing I can report.
I ordered and received this product twice and both times it arrived in a box with no external damage. However, on opening the box, we discovered a cracked screen.
So twice we repackaged and returned to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 35 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken Screen

12/13/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the TV in 2 days which was great. However, when I opened the box, and pulled the TV out, I noticed the screen was cracked the full length of the TV. Returned it and bought a differnt TV from the store after verifying it wasn't broken. Though this wasn't necessarily a Wal-mart issue as the TV was probably broken in shipment, the way the TV's are packaged lends itself to this happening as there is nothing protecting the screen from being hit inside the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 36 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Stand and Screen Cracked

12/13/2010
By ,
Stillwater, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This seems to be a reoccuring problem as of late so I'm guessing a pallette of these were dropped. As such I'm not sure if this is a warehouse problem or a product problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 37 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Disappointing

12/13/2010
By ,
Decatur, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my mother. Did not read reviews, as I have known RCA to be a very good company with quality products. I had arranged for a family friend to set it up. When he took it out of the box, it was cracked in several places. He took it back to a local store and got a refund. I then went to your website to read reviews tor this TV. About 75% of reviews complained about cracked or broken TV's. Should have read reviews before making purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 38 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/13/2010
By ,
Northeast Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product came. The screen was shattered. The company that ships the new product must do it before 3pm in my area because they must return to Shreveport by 5pm. I am very dissatisfied because I have paid for this product and no one has made the exchange of the product easy on me; rather, I had to bend my schedule to the company. I do not plan to order another TV from Wal-Mart over the Internet again. I would not recommend purchasing this product over the internet to anyone. A very good friend ordered the TV at the same time I ordered. She experienced the same nightmare I did. I am uncertain as how the TV performs. It has been over two weeks and I do not have a TV, yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 39 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

damaged goods

12/15/2010
By ,
barboursville, wv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tv was busted!! very disappointing!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 40 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Another one bites the dust

12/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like so many others my tv arrived with the screen completely shattered. There was no sign of damage to the box anywhere and nothing to indicate why it was broken. I returned it to my local Walmart and as soon as I brought the tv to the Customer Service desk the young lady said "let me guess...busted screen?". Apparently this must be something they have seen enough to expect. They refunded my money and I picked up a Vizio LED tv instead. Wish I had ordered it to begin with and not had to waste the time and trouble with the junk RCA. I would say that the Walmart customer service people were very helpful which made a bad situation more tolerable.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
21-40 of 500 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next