Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Enjoy a terrific HDTV experience with the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Watch conventional and digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available with the ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(604 Reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Recommendation64%387 out of 604reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

RCA TV

12/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item showed up broken. They sent a replacement and it was broken. So I would say this item is junk. I also would like to thank the people that reviewed this item and said other wise. That was the reason I order the TV, the few great reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 22 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Disappointed

01/20/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
recieved the product in a timely manner which wa great..took it out the box very unhappy..screen was all broke up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 23 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

broke after one week

12/18/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had it for one week and it broke. Nothing else needs to be said.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 24 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

never got to use it

03/12/2011
By ,
columbus,ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when the product came to the store it was damaged bad.I did not order another one.A lot of people had this problem so i should have checked it before i left the store.Walmart should have a meeting with whoever is handling there tv's.Hate i didnt get to use it a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 25 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

RCA CUST SVC

02/14/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm satisfied with the product except for one thing. In the box is a "bottom cover" that I can't for the life of me figure out where this thing goes (no diagram/written instructions anywhere!). THIS is where my problems began. RCA Customer Service is the WORST!!!!!!!!!!!!! I started with their worthless website. Then the customer service number. The first number I called there must've been an after-hours party going on in their call center. I could literally hear the loud cursing and laughing better than I could the kid on the phone. He gives me another number to call because he didn't have an answer and god-forbid he even try to get one for me! The second number I sat on hold for 13 minutes, only to be given a 3rd number. The 3rd number didn't recognize my model number (??????????????????????????????????????). The TV is fine; the brain damage from RCA customer service - I will NEVER, EVER buy an RCA product again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Horrible- don't waste your time!

01/02/2011
By ,
Cleveland, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this online, looking more at the price and size. The picture is SO BAD that people look almost like cartoons! How could this even be sold?!?! Terrible tv. This was boxed up and returned! My old "dinosaur" fat box tv had a much better picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

never tried out

12/18/2010
By ,
CROSSHILL SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I OPENED TOP OF BOX AND LOOKED AT TV---TV SCREEN WAS CRACKED VERY BAD ALL OVER----NO DAMAGE TO OUTSIDE OF BOX----BECAUSE OF THIS,I NEVER UNBOXED TV---- i am sure walmart will make good---just lots of trouble to take back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 28 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

A Disappointment

01/01/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was right, but the TV arrived with the screen completely shattered. I didn't bother ordering another one....too many other people with the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 29 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

another broken one sent out

12/18/2010
By ,
washington state
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
they must not have learned the lesson on how to ship these yet as ours was received crushed on one end, 3 cracks in the screen, etc. etc. IF you don't want to wait for thepick up and chance of another broken one you can go to the store. They won't have one of these or the same price so plan on spending more $$$$. ALL my time on Black Friday to find the best deal and I so wish I'd have paid more attention to all the broken ones mentioned in reviews. Lesson learned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

DO NOT PURCHASE THIS ITEM!!!!!

01/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for the parents and inlaws for Christmas! They both arrived with cracked screens!!! A replacement came for both and they both had cracked screens again!!!! Thats 4 TV's with crack screens! Good thing this TV is now out of stock! Walmart should take them all and steam roll them over! PLEASE SPARE YOURSELVES THE DISASTER AND DONT PURCHASE THIS ITEM... Just go to the store if you want a Flat Screen! Not a good idea to buy these online!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 31 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

nice tv

03/14/2011
By ,
boston, ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get such a large tv at such a good value, until i tried hooking up my dvd player, wii, and my HD cable box....only to have the cable guy inform me that the HD port on the back of the tv was already broken...straight out of the box and broken is never a good thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 32 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

another shattered screen

12/16/2010
By ,
Spartanburg, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ship to home truck driver met me at night along an interstate exit to deliver me the TV, AWESOME delivery guy!!!
However...... when i got the TV home and took it from the box, just like it seems every other person who bought this TV, the screen was shattered. I guess this one will make its way back to the store tomorrow. Good thing the shipping was free, I guess they are shipping broken screen TVs for free and keeping the trucking companies in business??
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 33 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

broken TV

04/06/2011
By ,
Lexa,Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really like to idea of a TV cheaper online than the store and ordered it due to the store not having the size TV I needed but when I got the TV home I got it out of the box and half the screen was black so I brought it back to the store with not too much problem getting my money back but I had to go ahead and buy another TV at the store and pay more for it so that was the downfall besides not having a TV
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 34 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Do Not Have This Product Delivered

01/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this television CRACKED... TWICE! I am a very unhappy customer. I ordered this television online, had it delivered, and it had many cracks in the screen. I returned the tv and ordered another one. The same thing happened again.
I dont know if its the TV or the delivery company, but this was a horrible experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 35 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Disappointed

12/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unpacked TV to find same problem expressed by a number of others. Screen was cracked and broken. Returned to Walmart. It was fast and simple but having to repack and return was disappointing. Was supposed to be a Christmas present so I am glad I checked after seeing previous reviews. Expected a better product from RCA.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 36 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Not So Lucky

12/31/2010
By ,
MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Well I pick mine up today, got it home and found the
screen was shattered. This one was shipped from the
warehouse to the store by Yellow Freight. I wonder
how many times they dropped it before it got to the store. Now it's out of stock, I guess I wait for the next
sale on something similar. VERY DISAPPOINTED
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 37 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i had the tv delivered twice and both times the screen was cracked
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 38 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

broken like all the rest

03/12/2011
By ,
stoneville nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was really looking forward to getting this tv but cant really review it. saw all the reviews where the scren was broken but thought maybe i would get lucky. not so much! got it home and opened the box and guess what, screen was cracked. will be taking back this morning,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first one had a cracked screen and the next one, the color was washed out. Mostly likely shipping troubles, but not worth a third time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 40 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

This T.V isn't worth buying

04/12/2012
By ,
Fort Worth,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't think anyone should buy this T.V because I only have had it for 13 months and my picture is going out already.Waste, Big waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 500 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next