Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Enjoy a terrific HDTV experience with the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Watch conventional and digital broadcasts, including HDTV programs where available with the ATSC digital/NTSC analog tuner. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(604 Reviews) 499
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Recommendation64%387 out of 604reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
251
4 stars
120
3 stars
29
2 stars
22
1 star
182
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

DONT GET!

02/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this tv on Saturday night, and by Sunday night it didn't work. The screen just went black, and after a little while it finally turned on, only to be blotchy. Finally the screen went to normal, and a few minutes later, it went black again and wont work at all anymore, the only way you know it's on it the little blue light. DO NOT GET!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Beware

11/20/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife and I both ordered this TV. When the first arrived, we discovered that the screen was broken. I packed it up and returned it to my local Walmart without any problem. I then reordered another TV. Upon arrival, I told the Fedex driver that the first one he delivered was broken. He said that he had delivered three to a different address. I opened the box and immediately checked that the screen on this was also broken. Again, I returned the TV to my local store. I did not order another. I emailed Walmart.com about this issue. Perhaps this this why the price is so low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 23 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Cracked scfeen

12/13/2010
By ,
Morgan City, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thank goodness for walmart's easy return policy. That' s the only good thing I can report.
I ordered and received this product twice and both times it arrived in a box with no external damage. However, on opening the box, we discovered a cracked screen.
So twice we repackaged and returned to the local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 24 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken Screen

12/13/2010
By ,
Rochester, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received the TV in 2 days which was great. However, when I opened the box, and pulled the TV out, I noticed the screen was cracked the full length of the TV. Returned it and bought a differnt TV from the store after verifying it wasn't broken. Though this wasn't necessarily a Wal-mart issue as the TV was probably broken in shipment, the way the TV's are packaged lends itself to this happening as there is nothing protecting the screen from being hit inside the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 25 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Not worth the money

02/20/2011
By ,
Little Rock,AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV and had it shipped site to store due to all the problems I heard seen online. My TV arrived within less then a week which was great! I get the TV home hooked it up to my DirecTV box and PS3 picture but no sound. I went through trouble shooting with DirecTV and RCA. I opted to return the TV and purchase a LG which was $179.00 more then this device but to me better quality and I have sound and the picture is better! I would say speand the extra money if you have it and don't even purcahse this device it not worth the time to fiqure if you got a good or bad set!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 26 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Stand and Screen Cracked

12/13/2010
By ,
Stillwater, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This seems to be a reoccuring problem as of late so I'm guessing a pallette of these were dropped. As such I'm not sure if this is a warehouse problem or a product problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 27 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Disappointing

12/13/2010
By ,
Decatur, Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a Christmas gift for my mother. Did not read reviews, as I have known RCA to be a very good company with quality products. I had arranged for a family friend to set it up. When he took it out of the box, it was cracked in several places. He took it back to a local store and got a refund. I then went to your website to read reviews tor this TV. About 75% of reviews complained about cracked or broken TV's. Should have read reviews before making purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 28 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/13/2010
By ,
Northeast Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product came. The screen was shattered. The company that ships the new product must do it before 3pm in my area because they must return to Shreveport by 5pm. I am very dissatisfied because I have paid for this product and no one has made the exchange of the product easy on me; rather, I had to bend my schedule to the company. I do not plan to order another TV from Wal-Mart over the Internet again. I would not recommend purchasing this product over the internet to anyone. A very good friend ordered the TV at the same time I ordered. She experienced the same nightmare I did. I am uncertain as how the TV performs. It has been over two weeks and I do not have a TV, yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 29 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Very disappointed

05/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality on this tv is of poor quality..i adjusted the settings on it several times and it still looked blurry, at first i thought it was just me but my son noticed it as well. what really set me off was the fact when i turned the tv on there is a big black bar on the bottom of the screen (defect), i tried changing the picture setting but to no avail. So at this point i was going to return the television bk to walmart but then i thought to call RCA for assistance with the black bar. RCA sent a tech to come out to my house and he couldnt fix it..soooo today UPS is suppose to come out and come get the tv and my money will be refunded through on oncorpus (I think thats the name of the company)...needless to say i am very upset with the product and now i have to wait about a week to get a refund, which means i cant buy another tv in the meantime..ugh so FRUSTRATED!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 30 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

RCA 42 Inch

12/13/2010
By ,
Pensacola, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Second RCA TV I had shipped from Walmart.com & after we put it together, just like the first one the screen is cracked, The first one down the middle & second one along the edges. Could someone from service dept please call me on 12/12/2010 at home phone number. This was a 20th wedding anniversary present to my wife which was on 11/30/2010. I don't know where the problem lies but there is a problem. We always shop Walmart & Walmart.com lately. PLEASE. You have my info on file>
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 31 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broke

12/13/2010
By ,
Tecumseh, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first TV that was sent was broke...The replacement TV they sent was broke. Had to get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 32 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/13/2010
By ,
Norristown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TV was broken was delivered so I really can't review product but I included a gift receipt and when it was taken to the nearest Walmart it was replaced immediately, just not the same brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Didn't get a chance

12/13/2010
By ,
salt lake city, utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The TV came with a shattered screen. Probably because it was plasma and was left in the cold. The store I returned it to was very helpful in finding me a comparable product at the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 34 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
01/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went on walmart.com to order the product. When the tv was delivered the screen was shattered. I had it replaced and the second was shattered as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 35 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Worked well for 2 months then broke.

05/08/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was enjoying this TV for 2 months when while I was watching TV, the TV went out and I could not get it to go back on again. Dragged this TV back to Walmart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 36 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken!

12/03/2010
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When this first arrived, the screen was shattered, so I requested an exchange. After a week of waiting, the replacement arrived shattered too! Getting a refund this time around.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 37 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Bad display

12/03/2010
By ,
Peoria, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box the bottom third of the viewable area was black. Had to wait 5 days for the RCA repair man and he could not fix it and advised to return it (which I did).
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 38 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Broken

12/21/2010
By ,
Dunnellon Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After 2 weeks of waiting. The TV arrived(Damaged)
I beleave Walmart needs to do buisness with a diferent shipping company. It will be another couple weeks before the replacement will arrive. Now I still have a large broken tv in my house in the way, Waiting to be returned. I sure hope this was worth buying on line.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 39 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ
12/03/2010
By ,
Zanesville, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arrived Broken...Package not damaged, TV packed very well, however screen shattered. After reading all the reviews deceided not to reorder, great price but not a good product, the only star is for a non -hassel return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 40 for RCA 42" Plasma 720p 600Hz HDTV , 42PA30RQ

Bad Buy

02/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this TV 1 year ago and per RCA there is a glich they are working on(ha) Cox does not have a code to program vol control or on and off on the remote, RCA has not responded to any of my e-mails
their rep is the one who told me about the glich; I
would not recommend anyone buy any RCA product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 500 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next